• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Manchester United Season 2011-12

losing Phil Jones is critical. They miss out a central defender & central midfielder. Also, because of this, Smalling have to play central defense with Evans (who is still unconvincing) - Ferdinand is injury prone.

With this, Valencia play right back - which is the weakest link because he sucks at being a right back.

The running & defending of Phil has been crucial for Man U....ashley young is nothing of concern since they have Valencia & Nani.

They need some cover for central defence and midfield. Rodwell or someone else.
I think Valencia will start at right back against Wigan on boxing day. Rafael is still not match fit.
Hopefully he will be more careful against his former club. :o

They need some cover for central defence and midfield. Rodwell or someone else.
I think Valencia will start at right back against Wigan on boxing day. Rafael is still not match fit.
Hopefully he will be more careful against his former club. :o

yes, solace is that vs Wigan we are at home...Wigan is becoming a draw specialist lately...i would hate that.

i am pleasantly surprised this morning that Giggs slid in some very good tackles, crisp, no nonsense and timely...

wonder if Fergie made him play the destroyer role...

unlike Scholes whose tackling is akin to asking for cards.

yinyang

Giggs slid in some very good tackles, crisp, no nonsense and timely...
Scholey was never same after his eyes job. Raised his probability of seeing yellow (even red). But his kicks towards goals outside box was legendary

Gallego99

i think fergie won't normally intervene...but this time i believe Keane has hit the raw nerve.

- he is right , the youngsters need to buck up. De Gea - so far, his performance has not been mighty - yes, he made some good saves but far from showing the assurance that he can take over from VDS.
- Young, he was superb in the first few games, then he faded ...
- Phil Jones, from the body language, I gather Fergie treat him differently. Hence when Keane criticize Jones, Fergie jumped to his aid and lashed back at him. And Fergie is known to be protective of his players in front of media, Keane shld know it, back when he was in Man U's squad.

i recalled during his episode with that Leeds bugger (where he admitted to stamping on him), Fergie backed him. And Fergie valued him until his performance started to dip (after an injury) and suddenly he was shipped out.

Keane has a grudge to bear with Fergie. He shld know better than to ruffle Fergie's feathers. Look at Giggs, he toed the line and despite his messy private life, Fergie still treat him good. Ditto for Rooney.

Those that ruffled his feathers suffered ...Beckham, Horse-face RVN, Ince, Stam

Keane will tell it like it is and it will definitely not sit well with old fart. I thot Fergie could have handled the situation better by not engaging with ex-players on matters related to the current team. If you look back on what was said by the parties involved, its almost hilarious. Fergie could definitely use Keane's no nonsense attitude in his coaching team. You're right about De Gea, Young and Jones.

Who is that player? Tell us leh.................
I haven't got a clue but suffice to say those earning 150,000 pounds and above, ie. the tier 1 super income group are simply not willing to move unless their contracts are due for renewal or they're not wanted by the clubs anymore. Any marquee signing this Janauary looks highly remote and when summer comes, I very much doubt if United will any 'big' players to their squad.
The Portuguese League teams are cash strapped. The clubs are willing to sell and the players are willing to leave. A couple of Portuguese players have been mentioned on tribal.com n the rumour is expected to gain momentum as the year approaches an end. I believe one of the players is United's target. I won't be surprise if the recommendation came from Queiroz.

Gallego99

Rodwell had a lousy 2010/2011 season. If he doesn't show any improvement this season, I won't be surprise if Utd passed up the opportunity to sign him for good.
BTW, Morrison was not given a new contract because of his 'criminal' past. I dun know what the fark the boy did.:confused: Very impressive in the youth team but then again so was Macheda.

Gallego99

i am pleasantly surprised this morning that Giggs slid in some very good tackles, crisp, no nonsense and timely...

Scholey was never same after his eyes job. Raised his probability of seeing yellow (even red). But his kicks towards goals outside box was legendary

Giggs was easily the most impressive midfielder in the team and still is. Alamak, what happen to the rest? Scholes has a presence like no ther player when he commands the midfield. He can do the short pass,ballistic pass and shoot-anything but TACKLE.

Rodwell had a lousy 2010/2011 season. If he doesn't show any improvement this season, I won't be surprise if Utd passed up the opportunity to sign him for good.
BTW, Morrison was not given a new contract because of his 'criminal' past. I dun know what the fark the boy did.:confused: Very impressive in the youth team but then again so was Macheda.

its a shame that Morrison is not given a chance...i watched him vs Crystal Palace...there were flashes of brilliance.

He grew up in a complicated background ...which is why, there was a report comparing him with another young fellow - cannot remember who - both touted to be talented but need to be tutored to maximise their potential.

they suggested Rio Ferdinand as a good mentor to Morrison since he too, came through a complicated background.

I would think Fergie is a good mentor as well for pai-kias - look at Keane, Cantona.

Gallego99

Harry Redknapp wrote a column for the SUN on the promising talents of 2012. Morrison was single out as one the most promising player to have emerged from the Youth Academy since Paul Scholes. He could possibly be one of the most impressive strikers United has ever produced.

*************************************************************************************************************

SOME wonderful young talents have broken through to light up the Premier League in 2011 — and I'm hoping that next year will be just as productive.

There's a lot of great young kids around but for every Phil Jones or Jack Wilshere there are dozens more hot prospects who don't live up to expectations.

One of the most exciting youngsters causing a stir is a left-sided attacker at Manchester United called Ravel Morrison.

By all accounts he really is something special.

But search the internet for details of his career so far and you'll probably come up with more about the lad's ability to get himself into trouble.

I just hope Morrison sorts himself out because there is nothing worse than seeing great talent wasted.

The problem with so many young players today is they sign a contract with a Premier League club at 17 and think they've cracked it.

But that is when the hard work is just beginning. And if you don't have character to go with natural talent, you've got no chance.

The rewards for being a Premier League footballer are there for all to see — big houses, fast cars, diamond earrings and all the attention you could want.

But this game demands commitment, discipline and big sacrifices.

For me, it's a no-brainer that someone being paid more in a week than his parents could hope to earn in a year should be prepared to give up the nights out with his mates in return for a fabulous lifestyle.

That's why predicting which young players are going to make it big is always such a risky business.

As well as the obvious distractions off the field, there is also the risk of injury derailing a player's progress.

Plus there's the problem of giving kids enough first-team action without damaging your team's prospects.

A lot of people slag off the Europa League but it was a real opportunity for lads like Danny Rose, Andros Townsend, Harry Kane and Tom Carroll to gain valuable experience.

Now we are out of Europe, I will be looking to loan some of these lads out in the New Year, so they can get the competitive football they just can't get playing in the reserves.

But here are my six players to look out for in 2012.

Hopefully, they will all live up to my expectations and make our game even more exciting in the New Year.

THIS lad could be the great success story of 2012 — or the saddest waste of talent.

All the talk out of United is this 18-year-old wide player is the best young talent to emerge from the club's academy since Paul Scholes, and that really is saying something.

But it seems there is a major problem with his attitude. So much so they're not even sure if he they will be giving him a new contract at Old Trafford in the summer.

He's already had a couple of run-ins with the law and a lot of people at the club are questioning his desire to become a top professional.

But Alex Ferguson raves about this lad whenever I talk to him. And if anyone can sort Morrison out, then it's Fergie.

I don't know the kid and he's only made a couple of Carling Cup appearances but I really hope he can sort himself out and fulfil everyone's expectations of him.

[URL="http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/sunsport_columnists/4020547/Harry-Redknapps-six-to-follow-in-2012.html"

in England.............

Man Utd now like Chelsea............... a step behind Man City......................

Arsenal, Spurs and Liverpool..............2 steps behind......................

in Europe..................

Man Utd also 2nd class team...............fast becoming 3rd class.............

1st class............Real Madrid and Barca.............

2nd class.................Man City, PSG and other rich clubs................

3rd class................Man Utd, Juventus, Milan...............

Gallego99

in England.............

Man Utd now like Chelsea............... a step behind Man City......................

Arsenal, Spurs and Liverpool..............2 steps behind......................

in Europe..................

Man Utd also 2nd class team...............fast becoming 3rd class.............

1st class............Real Madrid and Barca.............

2nd class.................Man City, PSG and other rich clubs................

3rd class................Man Utd, Juventus, Milan...............

Thanks for the reminder but like all TRUE Champions we will rise from the ashes and be THE Team that others can only dream of.

Man Utd ended the game against Wigan with a back four of Valencia at RB, Fryers at LB, Evra and Carrick at CB.

In Fergie's post match interview, he said that Smalling and Jones were suffering from "illness".
Evans had to go off with a knock at half time.
Ferdinand may have been fit to play but he suffered a recurrence of a back problem. :rolleyes:

If this is not a defensive crisis, don't know what is. Lucky it was only Wigan.

Man Utd ended the game against Wigan with a back four of Valencia at RB, Fryers at LB, Evra and Carrick at CB.

In Fergie's post match interview, he said that Smalling and Jones were suffering from "illness".
Ferdinand may have been fit to play but he suffered a recurrence of a back problem. :rolleyes:

Where's the Silvas?

yinyang

Thanks for the reminder but like all TRUE Champions we will rise from the ashes and be THE Team that others can only dream of.
Well put. Class struggle is only personal (maybe vested or sour?) opinion

Gallego99

I thot he took Evans out becos he picked up an early yellow card. Evans will cave in if under pressure. Smalling and Jones 'illness' was probably due to too much partying. What can I say about Ferdinand-back ache,balls ache-KNN! Keane should tell this fella to 'wake up his idea'. He picks the most opportune time to stay out of the game.

You said it bro-lucky it was just Wigan. I can't believe Wigan is playing in the Premiership.

Gallego99

Here's wishing ALL Man Utd bros a Merry X'mas and May the New Year bring the 20th EPL title and the 12th FA Cup trophy to the Theater Of Dreams!!! Cheers!!!!:biggrin:

I thot he took Evans out becos he picked up an early yellow card. Evans will cave in if under pressure. Smalling and Jones 'illness' was probably due to too much partying. What can I say about Ferdinand-back ache,balls ache-KNN! Keane should tell this fella to 'wake up his idea'. He picks the most opportune time to stay out of the game.

You said it bro-lucky it was just Wigan. I can't believe Wigan is playing in the Premiership.

we are lucky and definitely helped along by the referee...2 dubious decisions cost Wigan the game.

To be fair to Wigan, they drew Chelsea and Liverpool. They are not a bad team given the budget (see Blackburn).

we won't be so lucky next time. Sammon was all over Carrick, he is physically bullying Carrick and had he been on the field, the game might not be won by such a great margin.

Kudos to Berbatov, hopefully he can get to play more often and Rooney can drop back into midfield until Cleverley is fit again or Fergie go sign a midfielder in Jan. At minimum, I believe now, a centre-back is a MUST.

Ferdinand should not be relied on anymore. With only Smalling and Jones, we are threading on thin ice. Evans is not up there at all. its a joke to see Evra playing centre back towards the end of the game.

Now, why on earth he sell O'shea?

Where's the Silvas?

Silvas? I saw one of them on the bench but I believe Rafael (or Fabio) will play against Blackburn and Fergie will push Valencia up.

he will still put up a second-string side against Blackburn...hopefully Pogba and Cleverley can play.

Well put. Class struggle is only personal (maybe vested or sour?) opinion

when Real madrid embarked on building the Galacticos, Barca still beat them during El Classico and won the La Liga - showing that money does not buy you the title.

even today, Barca is being labelled the best team, with budget significantly less than Real madrid, Man C and Chelsea.

I begin to see, as well, Fergie moulding his team to pass like Barca...wtf...Man U should have her own style of play...Man U is well known for their wingers and strong midfield, they ought to develop their style of play.

yinyang

building the Galacticos, Barca still beat them during El Classico and won the La Liga - showing that money does not buy you the title.
even today, Barca is being labelled the best team, with budget significantly less than Real madrid, Man C and Chelsea.
Man U is well known for their wingers and strong midfield, they ought to develop their style of play.
We do. It's in our DNA to press on with more goals even if we up by initial scoreline. Unlike some others who put on brakes if they ahead by odd goal.