• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Local Trainee Pilots Got Screwed After Paying $140K For Course

James is caught in a bind. He went to SIA flying school and therefore all international reputable airlines won't touch him because he was obviously rejected by SIA.

Its better to take it overseas which is so much cheaper.

His only hope is to fly at all cost even if its 3rd rate. Important to clock hours and a reputation. SIA and other airlines generally take in pilots across age groups and experience. They will test you on their simulator and they make their assessment.

Best to move on.

LOL envy.. Your ang moh really powderful. You envy a pilot cader loser who can't get a job? You must be worse than him to envy him.. Are you really a SQ pilot? Which country do you fly to? Stop lying leh. Tell us more about your job.

I also have reservation on Sin educational policy because it clearly produced rubbish if you are a Sporean. I think the IMH should come and catch you before you drive around in your imaginary car and live in your imaginary condo.

HAHA you said you have 1.5 mil condo? Which one? Farking liar lamer

laidback

It's true that FTs are displacing Singaporeans everywhere in SIA, even as cadet pilots. That's because SIA doesn't care, as long as they find somebody who fits the profile of a pilot that the company wants. And it's not in sinkies advantage that we are known as a whining and unappreciative lot.

If a FT is employed as pilot, even better! The company saves money on CPF contributions. You can tell this fact to the idiots who say Singaporeans and FTs on local terms have the same salary package in SIA. No FT in his right mind would give up his citizenship to be a Singapore PR just to get some miserable CPF when his salary in Singapore can buy him easily a mansion back in his country (boleh land). So it is much cheaper for SIA to employ FTs on local terms than Singaporeans and many of them remain on work permits even after being promoted to captains.

For cadet pilots, they generally look for some kind or hint of achievement in your resume even before they call the guy in for the interview, i.e. involvement in sports, uniformed groups, debate team, charity work etc etc. Yeah, and having good grades help. They want to make sure the guy will make it through the training proper and not some joker who will get chopped anyway.

So for guys who went to the interview with SIA and didn't make it, unfortunately it means you do not fit into the profile that SIA wants. It is pointless to then try to buy your way in by paying through your (or your parents) nose for a private license.