• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The OTHER forum is HERE so please stop asking.

Local Trainee Pilots Got Screwed After Paying $140K For Course

SNAblog

Alfrescian
Loyal
Local Trainee Pilots (Dummies) Got Screwed After Paying $140K For Course

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC100513-0000071/My-career-cant-take-off

$140,000 spent on pilot's licence but I can't land a job with local carriers

Letter from James Tan

05:55 AM May 13, 2010

I AM a cadet pilot who has graduated from the flying college which trains all of Singapore Airline's pilots, be it for the main fleet, cargo division, or SilkAir. I belong to a group of about 20 Singaporeans who were willing to pay for the training course at the Singapore Flying College (a subsidiary of SIA).

This training course cost me about $140,000 to complete.

Even though no promise of a job was made, I was still willing to go through the course hoping for at least an interview for consideration for an SIA job.

But the carrier seems to prefer to take in foreign nationals (including some from Malaysia, India and Hong Kong) over the current crop of local Singaporeans, who have coughed up a large amount of cash and have graduated with a Commercial Pilot Licence - only to be bypassed by this group of foreign nationals SIA has hired with zero hours of flying experience, and provided with training from scratch.