• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I cried - The Koh Poh Koon Story

Kohliantye

Gosh, that makes Koh Poh Koon a GREAT LIAR!!!!

Dear readers,

I wish to take this opportuinity to categorically deny that the above-named is related to me, Kohliantye, in any way.

However, I truly feel kohliantye for Koh Poh Koon after reading his "kohliantye" background as a kohliantye son of a kohliantye farmer / cum bus-driver living in the kohliantye kampong of olden days Lorong Cheng Lim.

Reading about his so-called poverty-stricken background with only $11.50 in his and his wife account, I feel more kohliantye for him.

However, his wish to repay the kohliantye society that he hailed from by becoming a candidate in Punggol East truly make him into an "honourable" man.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Quick look at Koh's cv n it wld look like either he is superman or those university appts dont count for much, just looks gd on paper...

Overall looks like pap really laying it on thick wif Koh...n tat pic of Chan Chun Seng in bkgrd looking out at Koh, real creepy, sort of like a gestapo chief!...

Best joke thus far though has to go to dear nmp prof. Eugene...who called LHL an "exemplary PM" for calling the election so soon, putting the country before party interest:biggrin::rolleyes:...

chilakak

The papers meant that Koh's farmer and his wife (i.e. the farmer's wife, Koh's daughter) had only $11.50.

Oi moron, what have u been smoking? How come Koh has a farmer? And then Koh has a daughter who is married to a farmer? Are all you PAPIB kias primary school dropouts?

I am sure everything that has been stated over the years are factual including the zinc roof. The issue is not the authenticity but is the picture that has been painted accurate, a true reflection of the individual.

The fact that Ong Ke Yung's wife was a major property developer is material but only surfaced when one of the development that she involved in hit the press over the margins.

Old man told parliament that Nassim Jade was his first property purchase since taking office in 1959. Technically and factually he is right. What he did not reveal is the properties owned by his wife and her company.

This sort of information is done and people get away with it when the population is either ignorant or when there is no 4th estate or both.

From what I gathered, Ong Ye Kung's claims of humble beginnings are suspect, but Chan Chun Sing's are not.

Kohliantye

This is a supplement to Reply #41.

My Knowledge About The Lorong Cheng Lim Of Old Singapore In The Late 60's.

Let me jolt the memories of certain readers in my age group who may have some knowledge about the above kampong where Farmhouses were inhabited by filthy rich farmers. These farmers were owners of modern Datsun pick-ups, cars like Cortinas and huge Humber Hawks (one even had an open-top Chevrolet), motorcycles, wheel barrows and all the mechanical gadgetry available in those days. They had direct access to telephone lines, piped water, electricity and water-pumps which those living close to the river used for their vegetable plots within their extensive gated and fenced up farms. Some even had German Sheppards as watch-dogs and even owned hunting rifles with permits granted by the local police, to enable them to shoot flying foxes that damage their fruit orchards. The farmers also owned large Black & White Telefunken, Erres, Grundig, Metz and Phillips television sets. So how can they be poor and forced to take on jobs as a bus driver to augment or supplement their meagre living? It just don't make any sense!!

As a youngster I would accompany my kampong buddies of mixed races on bicycles during our school holidays for an "incursion" into these kampong. In all honesty, our main aim was primarily to "curi fruits" to feed our hungry stomaches. But we had to be careful as we did not want to be "mistook" as a musang and become a target of the farmer's rifle.

These farms at Lorong Cheng Lim had fruit orchards (durians, MANGOES, rambutans and many others, as well as vegetable plots on which they grew chillies, chye sim, kang-kong and many other leafy stuff. Forbidden fruits are always the best. Hehehe. The farmers also reared poultry, not as meat but for eggs and live-stock like pigs. These was NOT for self-consumption but was sold to the markets patronized by our dear mothers. Some of the more "enterprising" ones even brewed illicit samsu (peh-chiew) and toddy (from coconut trees) which they sold to those in need for a "swing". Many farmers smoked opium as could be detected by the smell of burning opium wafting in the atmosphere. If this sort of commercial activity is considered as poverty, I have no choice but to scratch my baldy head!!. I really no understand leh...

Now compare this with us, the genuinely-poor, malnourished and penniless kids with runny noses. None of us even owned a cockerel, hen or chick, just forget about a piglet or a billy goat, etc.. Even eggs to us was "manna" from heaven. We lived in attap-huts with leaky roofs. At times we had plain white rice with sauce. Our electricity was from a private operator via noisy generators that "chugged" from 6.30 pm to 12 midnight daily.

Now I leave it to dear readers. Some local movie producer may end up buying such a story churned and make a disastrous movie. We are NOT STUPID.

cunnilaubu

I am sure everything that has been stated over the years are factual including the zinc roof. The issue is not the authenticity but is the picture that has been painted accurate, a true reflection of the individual.

KPK living in a HDB flat is a fact, albeit in Dover Rd instead of Telok Blangah. Did he have a private property I don't know. Having being a specialist for 14 years, I'm sure he can afford it. He drives a BMW. The Toyota he droves to the MPS with Sir Fcuk belonged to his wife. The aim clearly was to portrait a humble background.

sense

Reading about his so-called poverty-stricken background with only $11.50 in his and his wife account

Combined account of $11.50, how sad. How about his and his wife individual bank account back then, $0 or none?

Now that he has this inclination to review his bank account information, what about now? $11.5m or is it $115m in his and this wife account?

As honest as he may look, by stopping at half-truth, it only lead to more questions - people need to learn and look beyond the surface.

tip_of_the_iceberg.jpg

Kohliantye

The papers meant that Koh's farmer and his wife (i.e. the farmer's wife, Koh's daughter) had only $11.50.

This poor liittle truly kohliantye KOH must introduce a banner stating, "I Succeeded With Only $11.50"

Let me share with you an old tale of the "Brave Little Tailor", who killed seven flies and proudly made a vest for himself with the words, "Seven At One Stroke". The simple village people adored him as they thought he was a brave little man who may have eliminated 7 people.

During this time, the villagers were terrorised by two notorious giants. The villagers told the little tailor about these two trouble-makers and pleaded with him to save their village from further harm.

The witty little tailor promised to do just that. Now he was more intelligent then the villagers who were all simpletons and country bumpkins. One night he climbed the tree underneath which the two drunken giants were sleeping below. He had some large stones with him. He waited patiently atop the tree. When he heard the two giants snoring away to glory, he threw down a stone which hit a giant on the forehead. The giant screamed in pain and started shouting at the other giant, who told him to go back to sleep for it could be a dream The stupid giant did as was told. The tailor did it again and the same giant was hit on the head once again. This time the two giants started to fight with one another and in so doing eliminated one another. The little tailor came down and stood at the heads of the two dead giants. In the morning the villagers came to the tree and saw the little tailor proudly standing at the heads of the slain giants. He was declared a hero and carried around. He became the leader of the village and remained so till his last day.

Certain people can be swayed by sorry stories and preposterous claims.

cunnilaubu

Combined account of $11.50, how sad. How about his and his wife individual bank account back then, $0 or none?

Now that he has this inclination to review his bank account information, what about now? $11.5m or is it $115m in his and this wife account?

As honest as he may look, by stopping at half-truth, it only lead to more questions - people need to learn and look beyond the surface.

If a pair of doctors were in this pity state after moving into a 4-room flat, what about the ordinary people?

What does he see in modern day SG society that makes him think he can contribute more by joining the pap?

Many will claim it is easier to change the party, policies etc when they are IN the party. Believable?

Many have entered, yet none had the power, the influence to do anything other than to nod their heads.

Many will claim it is easier to change the party, policies etc when they are IN the party. Believable?

Many have entered, yet none had the power, the influence to do anything other than to nod their heads.

2 days ago, when he was asked whether he would be the candidate, his reply was he "had not received the green light from the top".

Let's not harbour too much hope for people who talk like that to be great change agents.

kingrant

Nice guy. But when you mix with an un-nice party, you get the un-nice label stuck to you.

I picked up this bad habit of labelling people for guilt by association by a very Old man from PAP...

Guys, I'm going to be honest with you. I saw his introduction video. He looks like a decent chap. Not the smooth auntie killer like Desmond Choo where everybody can see that he's an actor. He's not a dumb bitch like Tin Pei Ling or Foo Mee Har.

I don't know how much a colorectal surgical practice can pull in these days. OK, it's Mount E so he's not living hand to mouth. But he's not a cosmetic surgeon either.

This is a guy who comes across as a humble respectable person, pretty likeable considering he's from the PAP. Then again he hasn't been with the PAP for long. This is a guy who could easily have been from the SDP instead and I mean that in a nice way. With all due respect to Lee Li Lian, I think the opposition opponents of this guy aren't going to have an easy time.

KPK living in a HDB flat is a fact, albeit in Dover Rd instead of Telok Blangah. Did he have a private property I don't know. Having being a specialist for 14 years, I'm sure he can afford it. He drives a BMW. The Toyota he droves to the MPS with Sir Fcuk belonged to his wife. The aim clearly was to portrait a humble background.

With HDB flat selling for a million nowadays, living in a HDB flat does not indicate one is modestly endowed. He could still have properties in Australia.

Fook Seng

I cried in envy when I crossed the dots and realised that he must be getting all those govt rebates for GST etc. and at a higher amount because of his HDB address. Is he also parking his Merc or Bentley at the HDB's MCCP? I am so heartbroken when I imagine him laughing next to Zorro Lim when he reads his CPF statement every month.

I was born and grew up in Chinatown, played and fought with street urchins among the Samsui and cantonese hoi polloi who sold vegetables and salted eggs on the roadside, and food and drinks on carts and rickety makeshift stalls, the smelly rat-infested drains, the sputum and cigarette butts filled pavements, and often got frightened by the Hawker inspectors who came occasionally with the police in shorts and overturned and seized carts, but I never never had the opportunity for the newspapers to call me the "son of Chinatown". That must be another crying shame. Lim Yew Hock, Lee kuan Yew, Lim Chin Siong and Fong Swee Suan were all big names then, and we would hear them everyday on our Redifusion boxes. Hardly anybody called them sons of anything.

I remember singing a song about being a "son of Singapore" but cannot remember anything about Punggol. By the way, why do you guys get to read your CPF statement every month? I only get to read it once a year and normally I would just put it aside without reading.

Charlie99

Pardon me for making the following suggestions:

"The Toyota he droves .... "
Either [ He drives a Toyota or The Toyota he drove ]

"The aim clearly was to portrait a humble background"
I believe it should be [portray]

Fook Seng

Thanks Mick for letting us know. Red flags tend to come up when you see a Cv like this and he does know or has the ability to control what is released to the press. I also find it freakish that a man of his position is occupying a 5 room HDB flat. I would like to confirm that he has no other properties or assets.

Many years ago, a couple created a company and purchased 5 bungalows and rented it out. The couple primary residence was the HDB flat.

The biggest issue is his duty to his patients. How does he do it with so many appointments and got time to even RC work. There are 24 hrs in a day and he has 2 kids of tender age.

It will be good if he can tell us what his wife does.

We might have an issue similar to Ong Ke Yung, born in a zince roofed hut but his wife is a major property developer and plays in the HDB space.

There are people who earn a lot but don't see a need to move out of their HDB. Normally these people are also not very active in investing their money, just save, save and save. The exact opposite is someone who counts every cent and comes to the conclusion that staying in a HDB flat is a most cost effective way and invests his money in the most revenue generating instruments. Both types are extreme and I doubt they can contribute much to the general public.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Any one who joins the PAPzis thinking that they are in it to help SIngaporeans must be an idiot or capable of being in a perpetual state of denial.

The fact that the PAPzis recruited someone only a few weeks ago shows that the PAPzis do not attract calibre. 50 years in power and the best that they can do is find a newbie? :oIo:

foot soldiers, foot soldiers and yes-men... the bulk amongst their ranks are mere foot soldiers and yes-men. if too many leaders amongst them, kena usurped of power then how??? :p:p:p