• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to generate monthly $1k using $300K

Yes. 35-40% monthly interest and usually 1-2k only for risky clients. 15% very hard to find. Most dont do monthly. 5 wks 25% seems the norm.

I mean at least 15% roi after deducting overheads etc.
Before they tighten the regulations....a mutual friend offered me to join venture with promised of 9 months break even....business was so good it broke even within half that time. And his outfit is only a small 3 men operations with 250 sqft office...low profile small time doing by intro and no walk-in customers.

Brubeck

Not trying to punch holes....
But where to find a 300k hdb flat that can be rented out for 1.8k per month?
Note also the hdb laws governing rental of flats.

http://services2.hdb.gov.sg/webapp/BB33RTIS/BB33SComparator

Lowest price transacted about 4 months before Feb 2014 is $270,000 - Blk 103 Yishun Ring Road.
Next is $275,000 - Blk 123 Yishun St 11

HDB flat 3-room rental yields are the best, beating even many private properties.

Of course there is the HDB (5-year occupancy) restrictions but many people are renting out illegally collecting $ 1500 per month.

I have friends who live in private properties and are currently renting out their HDB which they bought long ago before the current restrictions.

I mean at least 15% roi after deducting overheads etc.
Before they tighten the regulations....a mutual friend offered me to join venture with promised of 9 months break even....business was so good it broke even within half that time. And his outfit is only a small 3 men operations with 250 sqft office...low profile small time doing by intro and no walk-in customers.

Most choose a central location to be visible. Pay high rent also no problem. To survive well just depending on intro and not having walk-in clients, your friends must be smiling to the bank. This is one biz need not jio. People in need will look for you even if you are based far away.

lifeafter41

where to find out when the ocbc 5% expire date?
their 4.5% one already expired

Here it is:

OCC 5.1% Non-cumulative Non-convertible Guaranteed Preference Shares
Level (currency)
Shares issued Liquidation preference Issue date
Additional Tier 1 (SGD)
15,000,000 S$100 27 August 2008
Dividend
Payment date
Before 20 September 2018: 5.1% p.a.
Thereafter: floating rate equal to 3-month Singapore swap offer rate plus 2.5% p.a.

On / before 20 September 2018: 20 March & 20 September
Thereafter: 20 March , 20 June, 20 September & 20 December

Issuer
Guarantor Maturity date
Credit rating

OCBC Capital Corporation (2008)#
OCBC Bank Perpetual Moody's
A3 (hyb) Fitch
BBB S&P
BBB+

Redemption

OCBC Bank may, at its option, redeem in whole, but not in part, the preference shares on:

1. 20 September 2018
2. each payment date after 20 September 2018

Here is the link:http://www.ocbc.com.sg/group/investors/Cap_and_Reg_Disclosures.html#row-header-3

Bro... I dont get you. I just got my dividend from a stock i bought in SGX. I didnt have to pay any GST. Also, I dont trade actively, so the shares i bought in Dec 2012 has not been sold off yet. And i have not paid the $12/month that you mention. :confused:

Had a brokerage account with OCBC. Whenever I received a dividen they would credit the dividen minus the GST portion for taxes. Since I was not an active trader, they would charge me $12 each month, for each counter that I held.

This was years ago & it is because of all the extras charges that I divested from Spore. I don't know if the rules have changed or if your broker is not providing you with the necessary paper work:confused:

My CPF investment bank DBS also charges a monthly fee for the unit trusts I hold.

Any average quality REIT can get you back dividends S$500/month from a S$70,000 investment. So if you put in your S$300K, you should be getting back S$2,000 a month minimum.

But from what you post, you are probably not an experienced investor. So you need to find a good advisor. Because the REIT price can fluctuate up or down according to the times, giving the Greenhorn/Rookie/Newbie a serious Heart Attack. Who is a good advisor? I suggest BossSam. :biggrin:

REIT are stable in the US market. Avoid Asian equities.

GoldenPeriod

*shrugs*

Dividends or Bonds, maybe corporate bonds. If consistency is paramount, pick up a simple financial book and construct your own bond ladder to give yourself a consistent stream of income. Take note of Yield to maturity instead of yield. Remember a rate hike should be coming worldwide in 2015.

Umm. Me as retiree, simi lj investment also tried b4. One bro did mentioned about agriculture, umm..imho, there's risk too. Mainly from tin gong. Fx I also touch before. Again, can be big good also big bad. Do proper biz is best. I suggested lml in earlier threads since It's legalised in sg now. Personally, I won't do this biz, yes, wallet get thicker, but heart become smaller. That's why when this lml biz legalised in sinking land, me also shocked! Pappies really no heart left liaoz. I admit I not too highly educated but I do want to sleep well at night.

And, anything that u have no control is never 100%. Shares and all the fx, futures, bonds, all no control.

Personally, I will buy gold now. Keep buying.

GoldenPeriod

Umm. Me as retiree, simi lj investment also tried b4. One bro did mentioned about agriculture, umm..imho, there's risk too. Mainly from tin gong. Fx I also touch before. Again, can be big good also big bad. Do proper biz is best. I suggested lml in earlier threads since It's legalised in sg now. Personally, I won't do this biz, yes, wallet get thicker, but heart become smaller. That's why when this lml biz legalised in sinking land, me also shocked! Pappies really no heart left liaoz. I admit I not too highly educated but I do want to sleep well at night.

what's LML?

And, anything that u have no control is never 100%. Shares and all the fx, futures, bonds, all no control.

Personally, I will buy gold now. Keep buying.

Very smart.. and that is why my earlier post, i suggest that he learn to invest first and get the real idea of what it is about before putting in real money.

It has maturity date if you go to the individual bank website to take a look.
From what I understand it's up to the bank discretion to redeem the preference shares after a X number of years.

Speaking of which, 300k from sudden windfall? Strike lottery!!!
If it is good for you:smile::smile::smile:

yes think I will look further on this ocbc dbs pref shares :smile:
Windfall to me is just a dream, I never had windfall in my life, only downfall, donated big portion of my $ to turfclub and sg pool and casino. The 300k is hard earned savings, that's why I told ZhiHau I will not hesitate to chop him if he don't return me my money :biggrin:

yes think I will look further on this ocbc dbs pref shares :smile:
Windfall to me is just a dream, I never had windfall in my life, only downfall, donated big portion of my $ to turfclub and sg pool and casino. The 300k is hard earned savings, that's why I told ZhiHau I will not hesitate to chop him if he don't return me my money :biggrin:
Ok. I know now. Hard earn money . Go for properties and gold then. Swee swee boh zhao zui. Alternatively, pay me a visit. We can talk.

if you have 300k and do not know how to generate more income from it.

it means your learning on business and investment is not there yet.

Take 10 to 20k to learn it,

then take about 50k to try it over a few years and learn it well, then you are ready to invest..

if you ask sinkie fucktard here how to invest, be ready to lose money, they are sinkies, remember that.

I have zero knowledge on investments. The only thing I know how to do now is to put the $ in FD and earn a meagre sums. For the past I always hear people losing $ in investment that's why I didn't bother to find out more. But from SBF investments seem like a sure win thing, and there are so many investment experts here. I do believe they are all experts, that's why they don't need to work so hard, got so much free time to come SBF.

Have to agree that In Spore $300,000 is not going to last you very long. Even if you have already paid up for your home & don't own a car the on going cost of living in Spore is expensive as long as the PAP is in control e.g. property tax, GST, ever increasing utilities, ......

If possible diversify, don't put all your eggs in one basket. Don't limit yourself to only investing in Spore.

Exactly..I am not confident of having $300k at all, even my flat has been paid. Once I don't work, $300k will not last long. I need to find a safe method to grow my money :smile:

Poomer

I have zero knowledge on investments. The only thing I know how to do now is to put the $ in FD and earn a meagre sums. For the past I always hear people losing $ in investment that's why I didn't bother to find out more. But from SBF investments seem like a sure win thing, and there are so many investment experts here. I do believe they are all experts, that's why they don't need to work so hard, got so much free time to come SBF.

The banks preference shares sounds pretty good in this current economic climate.

Any average quality REIT can get you back dividends S$500/month from a S$70,000 investment. So if you put in your S$300K, you should be getting back S$2,000 a month minimum.

But from what you post, you are probably not an experienced investor. So you need to find a good advisor. Because the REIT price can fluctuate up or down according to the times, giving the Greenhorn/Rookie/Newbie a serious Heart Attack. Who is a good advisor? I suggest BossSam. :biggrin:
This one $2k monthly really makes my saliva drop. If I know how to invest and get $2k I will consider to quit the job that I hated and just live happily with $2k. You are right I have never invested in anything so consider newbie. When I placed $500 $1k $2k bets on soccer I got heart attack but those are the $ that I am prepared to lose. Whereas this $300k is like represent my life, so I cannot afford to have this kind of heart attack lor.