• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fascinating stories of the Ultra Rich in Singapore

The 3.2 million foreigners all have money to spend or remit. Take advantage of that fact.

At the expense of sinkees. The bulk of these foreigners didn't bring money in ...they suck the money out. If the money goes to sinkees, consumption capacity increases, not so with foreigners.

If the government have the interests of sinkees at heart, then it should level the playing field at least by:
1. Banning all remittances - force the foreigners to spend the money they earned in sinkapore here;
2. Requiring the employers of foreigners to pay CPF (on top of their levy);

Two simple measures that can be implemented swiftly.

Re: Wealth Over the Edge: Singapore

These cheebye ang moh show offs think that they are somehow more high class and atas compared to the chinese towkay even if the towkay spends more money on hanging flowers.

Ang Mos, majority bo standard. Tip small small. Bet also small small but behave as if big time gamblers.

Must understand that many who are working here have their expenses such as rent, car, international school fees, etc are paid by the company. In angmoland these "talents" are just your every day joe six pack. Many are not really true talents but are well connected to the angmo boys club.

Any true talents will quickly be spotted & they will be transfered back to HQ in some 1st world country e.g.US. You see everyone is looking for talent, even in the 1st world. I know this personally because we had a really good angmo boss & within a year he was transfered back to the US & given a promotion.

Must understand that many who are working here have their expenses such as rent, car, international school fees, etc are paid by the company. In angmoland these "talents" are just your every day joe six pack. Many are not really true talents but are well connected to the angmo boys club.

Any true talents will quickly be spotted & they will be transfered back to HQ in some 1st world country e.g.US. You see everyone is looking for talent, even in the 1st world. I know this personally because we had a really good angmo boss & within a year he was transfered back to the US & given a promotion.

Succinctly, a real talent will not come here or be posted here?

At the expense of sinkees. The bulk of these foreigners didn't bring money in ...they suck the money out. If the money goes to sinkees, consumption capacity increases, not so with foreigners.

That's not necessarily the case because the bulk of the money that I made as a Sinkie was transferred to Australia when I left Singapore so you can't assume that foreigners suck money out and that sinkies bring money in.

As long as transaction take place, there is money to be made. Foreigners need to spend money while they're in Singapore. They can't live on love and fresh air.

kingrant

Four legs good; two legs better.

During the British colonial era, locals had a different rate of pay, was not allowed into whites only establishments, but the locals were hired to be cooks, amahs, drivers, assistants, clerks and junior executives. The best amongst the locals therefore chose to go into structured professions such as medicine, law, etc and it was them that forced the British out.

Now the PAP has completely brought back the same system where the white man was king to one where all foreigners are king and the locals become aides and assistants to these foreigners. Its common knowledge that these clubs are highly selective and no different to Tanglin Club of yesteryears where there is a small number of locals for appearances while most of the locals are bar tenders and waiters. Interestingly these locals are well paid. Know a senior waiter there that drives a BMW.

How the old times have returned. Kudos to the PAP.

Anyone Singaporean keen to wash a ferrari on a contract basis? Anyone remember the Indian car washers with a pail of water in the back of the bicycles washing cars. Well thankfully it is now open to local malays, chinese and Indians unless the Bangladeshis and the Filipino maids have their way.

Last time we kowtow to Englishmen....basically all angmos.
Now pap want us to kowtow to all wealthy FTs.
Prepare your chidren to work to serve these people....son can be servant and daughter if lucky can become concubine.

kingrant

Last two paragraphs from the book Animal Farm by George Orwell.

"But they had not gone twenty yards when they stopped short. An uproar of
voices was coming from the farmhouse. They rushed back and looked through
the window again. Yes, a violent quarrel was in progress. There were shoutings,
bangings on the table, sharp suspicious glances, furious denials. The source of
the trouble appeared to be that Napoleon and Mr. Pilkington had each played
an ace of spades simultaneously.

Twelve voices were shouting in anger, and they were all alike. No question,
now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked
from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already
it was impossible to say which was which."

Succinctly, a real talent will not come here or be posted here?

It will be a quick visit to ensure that the local office is running smoothly. Then it's back to HQ. This is what Tim Cook did before the death of SJ. You would often see him around the Spore Apple office at Angmo Kio.

Asterix

That's not necessarily the case because the bulk of the money that I made as a Sinkie was transferred to Australia when I left Singapore so you can't assume that foreigners suck money out and that sinkies bring money in.

As long as transaction take place, there is money to be made. Foreigners need to spend money while they're in Singapore. They can't live on love and fresh air.

In a globalised world, there will always be inflows and outflows of money. This has been occuring for a long time, even before the 20th century. The Opium War had its roots in the outflow of silver (which was used as a medium of exchange i.e. money back then) from Britain to China. The Brits had to pay cold hard cash (silver) for tea, silk, porcelain, etc and the Chinese did not covert anything that the Brits offered. Opium grown in India was the Brits' saviour and the Chinese's nemesis.

Back to the topic. I assume that you left Sinkieland because you were unhappy about the political situation, the typical Sinkie's attitude, blah, blah, blah. In other words, you and your money might have remained in the Little Red Dot if the situation was different. Your somewhat "loyal" money fled. The Sinkie Government instead of reforming things to keep and attract "loyal" money, decides to take the easy way and attract hot and footloose money.

Yes, as long as there is a transaction, money flows, but there are many types of transactions. Upon advice and guidance from an eminent Dutch economist named Winsemius, first generation MIW attracted the right type of transactions - foreign money that came in and sunk roots by building factories, training local workforce, etc. It is not that easy to balik kampung when you have already sunk in millions into building a factory. On the other hand, it is very easy to withdraw money from an account kept at a private bank. You can do it the moment you no longer feel at ease leaving your money in Sinkieland. Even if that moment occured while you are partying with a group of pretty young things in a little rock called Monaco. Just pick up your mobile and call the private banker to quickly transfer everything from your Sinkie UBS a/c to your Swiss UBS a/c.

Cheap foreign labour (including those at the PMET level) that is physically in Sinkieland spends money too. However, they are not likely to be spending big money. The reason why they are imported in the first place is because they are cheaper than locals. The collateral damage is big - they will be taking job or advancement opportunities away from the native population who can be presumed to be more loyal and rooted had the Government not pissed them off with crap policies. The quality PMETs amongst the locals, like you and me, will see the writing on the wall and flee, and like you and me, will take the bulk of their money to their new place. So, a virtuous cycle is replaced with a vicious cycle. All due to Sinkie government's short term obsession with GDP growth to which ministerial salary is pecked. Recycling votes (fussy Sinkie PMET votes replaced with new citizens' temporarily "grateful" votes) is another prime motive behind all these.

What is good for an individual at a micro level is not necessarily good for an entire nation or economy at a macro level. Economist Milton Keynes realised this decades ago. Ministers who are paid out-of-this-world salaries should know this too or they are not worth the money.

Foreigners need to spend money while they're in Singapore. They can't live on love and fresh air.

If the job is held by a sinkee, most of his income is going to be spent in sinkapore. For the foreigners who work here, many remit a huge chunk of their income home. Those remittances are consumption capacity lost.

Last time we kowtow to Englishmen....basically all angmos.
Now pap want us to kowtow to all wealthy FTs.
Prepare your chidren to work to serve these people....son can be servant and daughter if lucky can become concubine.

PAP kowtows to all foreigners ...even the PMET. That's why the foreign PMETs can hurl insults at sinkees (eg. the Pinoy Seagate engineer) and blatantly discriminate against sinkees and the PAP government just ignore those actions.

If the job is held by a sinkee, most of his income is going to be spent in sinkapore. For the foreigners who work here, many remit a huge chunk of their income home. Those remittances are consumption capacity lost.

That would be the case if every foreign arrival displaced a sinkie and caused unemployment but in reality, the foreigners merely ADD to the workforce which means the volume of trades increases with every new arrival.

Consumption by sinkies is still happening and the presence of foreigners is a big bonus.

LeMans2011

Back in the days when we were clubbing, a group of us used a standard trick at the clubs.
"A" would chat up some girls and in the conversation point to "B" a distance away, boasting to them how rich and successful "B" is.
"B" would point "C" to the girls saying the same thing... and "C" in turn does that to "A".
The mutual promo approach definitely improved our chances of scoring.

The owner of Pangea obviously grossly blow the wealth of his clients out of proportion. These people live and breathe marketing... i will take everything they say with a pinch of salt.

watchman8

Back in the days when we were clubbing, a group of us used a standard trick at the clubs.
"A" would chat up some girls and in the conversation point to "B" a distance away, boasting to them how rich and successful "B" is.
"B" would point "C" to the girls saying the same thing... and "C" in turn does that to "A".
The mutual promo approach definitely improved our chances of scoring.

The owner of Pangea obviously grossly blow the wealth of his clients out of proportion. These people live and breathe marketing... i will take everything they say with a pinch of salt.
You are probably right. I think many of the local models offering their pussies to these patrons will be sorely disappointed with their "catch" eventually.