• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cheng Bock: Division among S'poreans and PAP

MarrickG

20110828.204834_tcb-presscon.jpg

A presidential election to find a Head of State to unite Singaporeans has ended up splitting the electorate.

And a lot of effort is needed to close up the deep division, said Dr Tan Cheng Bock who lost by a razor-thin margin of 0.34 per cent against Dr Tony Tan, who captured 35.19 per cent of votes and is Singapore's seventh President.

Speaking to the media at his home, Dr Tan Cheng Bock said: "You see, you must never run away from the issue. If it's divisive, you can't say oh cannot do. All the more you have to make the effort. That will make people wake up to have that aim for the whole of Singapore."

Dr Tan told reporters that the new President-elect will have to re-examine the focus of his six-year presidency.

"You have to watch over the couple of months how he's going to convince the other 65 per cent who didn't vote for him. Knowing that his strength is in the economy, he has to put some effort into the ground, because you can't just look after the external area - you have to concentrate on your people."

Dr Tan, who was a member of PAP until May this year, also said that the ruling party needs to take a good hard look at itself.

"There's definitely a division in the PAP. I can see many of the grassroots openly come and tell me they support me in spite of being told by others not to. They obviously abandoned that expected stand and it's reflected in the votes. The PAP split is right down in the middle. But I'm no longer in PAP.

"The party will need to take a critical look at their own way of doing things. They have to learn how to fight again. They have lost their fighting skills. They must learn from me." His comment was greeted with laughs from around the room.

Dr Tan said he will not return to the PAP but he will give advice to the party if his advice is sought.

congo9

If Singapore is clever, they should not have voted Tony Tan into.Give the PAP a fucking slap on their face ! But daft Singaporean keep voting in PAP to screw them. Singaporean and PAP is truly made for each other. Stupid Singaporean !!!!

hairylee

If Singapore is clever, they should not have voted Tony Tan into.Give the PAP a fucking slap on their face ! But daft Singaporean keep voting in PAP to screw them. Singaporean and PAP is truly made for each other. Stupid Singaporean !!!!

Don't blame Singaporeans.
Our school culture enforce absolute respect of authority without dissent right from primary school.
This election shows that 25% of the populace have gotten out of this mentality, 35% of them are on the way, 35% of them are still stuck in this pyschological fear and the rest them are just passing their days and waiting to die.

batman1

What more to say ,Singapore is a nation of cowards and morons.Those 35% who voted for TT do not understand what they are voting for.Do they really want to be sodomised again and again by the PAP Govt and PAP Puppet President ???
Even Heaven have given up on Sinkees !!!

Maybe 35% are civil servants, staff of SPH, staff of GIC, grassroots and their family members?

Can make up 35%?

Don't blame Singaporeans.
Our school culture enforce absolute respect of authority without dissent right from primary school.
This election shows that 25% of the populace have gotten out of this mentality, 35% of them are on the way, 35% of them are still stuck in this pyschological fear and the rest them are just passing their days and waiting to die.
I would think its 30% who have gotten out of the mentality.....adding the 5% for TKL.....those waiting to die are those who casted spilt votes......

What more to say ,Singapore is a nation of cowards and morons.Those 35% who voted for TT do not understand what they are voting for.Do they really want to be sodomised again and again by the PAP Govt and PAP Puppet President ???
Even Heaven have given up on Sinkees !!!
Sinkies dun need sex because they are fucked by their govt everyday.........now you know why birth rate is so low

knowwhatyouwantinlife

Sinkies dun need sex because they are fucked by their govt everyday.........now you know why birth rate is so low

really dun know why sinkies would choose to vote in a 71 year old and pay him $4 million salary a year, while the government start reducing the ordinary people's CPF when they reach 55 yo...

kingrant

I like the man. He lost but he is carving out the work scope for the winner.

Tony, tia woo boh?

jangan koon ok?

Don't expect the PAP to rectify this divison problem...They will only make matters worse... the damage inflicted by those Scums in White has already been done a long time ago... We can never put our trust in congenital liars like the PAP. But sadly, there are still many of our fellow Sporeans who still stupidly place their faith in them.. With more foreigners coming in, the division gulf will be more widened...

Capano2121

Of course Singaporeans are divided, in fact PAP is now practising the caste system here already without sinkies knowing!
1. PAP maggots are the supreme class followed by
2. Rich elites followed by
3. FTs - Ahtiong, shit skin, pinoys and everything else not Singaporeans lah followed by
4. The Pariahs aka Singaporeans - no class subdivision here as the porlumpars are doing it voluntary and majority of the 60% do not have access to their lumpars with the rest of the 40% totally turning a blind eye & a deaf ear to by the regime because you do not want their lumpars on your forehead, that makes you undesirable because you did not soh their lumpars.

The 7000 voters difference could be from the newly minted Shityzens.

mscitw

Of course Singaporeans are divided, in fact PAP is now practising the caste system here already without sinkies knowing!
1. PAP maggots are the supreme class followed by
2. Rich elites followed by
3. FTs - Ahtiong, shit skin, pinoys and everything else not Singaporeans lah followed by
4. The Pariahs aka Singaporeans -

Peasants and serfs are the workhorses of the upper crust.

Pariahs are reserved for political dissenters.

Untouchables are worse than political pariahs, they are usually sued, imprisoned/detained and eventually exile to western states.

Maybe 35% are civil servants, staff of SPH, staff of GIC, grassroots and their family members?

Can make up 35%?

Exactly these people are having very good life. They are not affected by FT/FW, on the contrary, they benefit from them, with them, PAP will never lose GE.