• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

yinyang

My 1st stay on Thonburi (across Chao Praya). New perspective of Bangkae area, as Bkk is not just Suk. Stayed along Petkasem road, probably longest stretch here. To another city Nakhon Pathom. Only downside is making of BTS extension, lousy road grid. Cool weather, minus humidity is a great time to be out all day.

Did a local river cruise today at Donwai river market -nothing like the touristy crap in Chao Praya. Relaxing, minus the touristy hordes. Saw nice river side houses, rich and poor with brewery Thai brandy Regency and a rice mill

Traditional coconut ice cream with nuts topping for only thb10 (40 cents!) by a boat vendor

Nearby traditional restaurant with accolades in local press

Fruit array (unsure what's the interesting spiky red fruit)

Late lunch at riverside restaurant, prawn cake was best I ate

And how could I forget my favorite khao soi with kiam chye for brekkie on the side at a food court?

dietcoke

hi YY, the red spiky fruit is thai roselle. thais call them ke-jiap. often u can get nahm ke-jiap in those street vendor pushcarts. tastewise, sweet and ribena-like.

rotikosong

Fruit array (unsure what's the interesting spiky red fruit)

Great photos. The fruit is the roselle - you've probably have drunk the juice before.
Thais call it dok kachiap. A sour fruit usually made into a drink by dunking in hot water and adding sugar.
This is one of the traditional Thai drinks.

Uncommon to see the fruit itself for sale in Bangkok. More like a village market fruit.

rotikosong

Been driving around in a rented Honda City 1.5A. Nice new car but underpowered with grabby brakes. Last time driving in TH was many years ago.

Thai roads generally good. The biggest challenge is the highway signposting. Too small, too late, and if not the green ones, too many and confusing.
The second thing I had to get used to is the merge lanes are pretty short.

Thai drivers not usually aggressive but they tail-gate and overtake from the wrong lanes. Many also don't turn on lights when raining or when getting dark. Otherwise sabai sabai.

Been driving around in a rented Honda City 1.5A. Nice new car but underpowered with grabby brakes. Last time driving in TH was many years ago.

Thai roads generally good. The biggest challenge is the highway signposting. Too small, too late, and if not the green ones, too many and confusing.
The second thing I had to get used to is the merge lanes are pretty short.

Thai drivers not usually aggressive but they tail-gate and overtake from the wrong lanes. Many also don't turn on lights when raining or when getting dark. Otherwise sabai sabai.

Would a car mounted GPS device help in navigating through unfamiliar roads of LOS:confused:

yinyang

Dietcoke, Roti -thanks, enlightened as to roselle fruit. Now at beer garden next to new Seacon Bangkae to watch footy

glwr3Cd.png

bMxsJ86.jpg

RVdnq6v.jpg

D6oJOfV.jpg

yinyang

Just did wantan soup at a local hole in the wall kopitiam, with old aunty running solo. Only thb30 (sgd1.20). I missed out on noodles part, as she only spoke thai:p This Bangkae stretch is a typical local suburb, no farangs in sight for a change unlike downtown. Continue my journey to CNX today

Amazing Thailand. Local iced coffee takeaway in plastic bag, and small carrier. Only bt25 (1 buck).

Would a car mounted GPS device help in navigating through unfamiliar roads of LOS:confused:

Hi johnny333, GPS helps. If in town or city its very easy when you are near your objective but no idea where it is, there are many motorcycle taxis around just ask them and pay them like 20-30 baht and you will get a personal escort to your objective.

Had a strange meal last night. After 4 days of angmoh food we needed spicy food badly. Was at Merimbula, a beautiful town with a nice bay. Googled for Thai food and saw a Hot Wok Thai restaurant not far from motel. A man and a women both Thai were working there and I asked if chef is a Thai he said yes.

Ordered Krapao moo saab (stir fried basil minced pork) was told no moo (pork) only nuer (beef) so I agreed. It turned out to be sliced beef and no basils at all, really sad. Strange thing is it's got lots of mixed vege (bloody hell!)

Ordered a tomyam gung (yomyam prawn) thurned out to be spicy soup, that's it. No lemongrass and blue ginger and other Thai herbs at all. And strange thing again is lots of mixed vege (really knn)

Ordered a gaeng khaew wan gai (green curry chicken), again turned out to be green curry with lots of vege and non of the little egplant supposed to be in green curry, strange

Lastly ordered a mixed vege regretted because all 3 dishes above has the same bloody vege in here.

Cost A$65 for the above. I have to say both of us were satisfied with the spiciness of the food so at least this part had been fulfilled but to call these Thai food no way these are not Thai food at all.

yinyang

Joetys, what a OZ thai fix. :p

Would recommend this CNX restaurant, with a tongue twister name MOC MOL (just say mo + last alphabet). On Huay Kaew rd (CMU stretch). Lovely ambience, lotus pond and wine bar. Diff from likes of popular Riverside or Goodview. Not replay pics of food and place, as too dark by this novice photographer.

Wine room

Only managed poor pic of curry soft shell crab. Had tuna salad, and 3 other dishes with jug Heine all for bt800+ (sgd30).

yinyang

At 0800, it's a cold 13C here. Interesting prayers with pig heads and stuff at friend's spa for prosperity into new year

Had my brekkie at next door bakery, at Moon Mueang stretch (popular back packers with guest houses) near Tapae gate. With coffee, all for bt110

Another video of the street. I took a video of last night's 10mins fireworks in Melbourne's CBD will try to upload later it's taking too long

Finally for the Melbourne fireworks uploaded

[video=youtube;ywP7CyExpKQ]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ywP7CyExpKQ[/video]