• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A great article how CECA agreement fuck Sinkies

A Singaporean

The Online Citizen Asia

What exactly are Singaporeans angry about CECA?​

by The Online Citizen
03/09/2021
Reading Time: 7 mins read

Gov’t continues to issue motherhood statements on CECA, but how does it actually benefit the average Singaporean?
Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi, meeting Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong at the Istana in Singapore on 1 June 2018

by Joseph Nathan
As the saying goes, “A good government consistently listen and address the concerns of its citizens and not blame or prosecute them for stating the obvious”. I hope that our government will address what is contentiously wrong about the Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA).
Singaporeans are generally not against the standardized Free Trade Agreement (FTA) as we know well it can help us economically when trading with our FTA’s partners, provided they are fairly negotiated.
We are also not against any specific nationality as many of our parents and grandparents were migrants themselves, and know well that foreign workers and foreign direct investments (FDI) remain critical to our economic prosperity, as long as they do not upset our socio-economic balance, infrastructure, and public healthcare.

Learn more

Yes, we also acknowledged that Singapore needs domestic and blue collared foreign workers for strenuous jobs in general construction & manufacturing, cleaning & waste disposal, and other general works, provided there are sufficient safeguards to manage our social balance as we can ill-afford another Little India Riot.
But when it comes to CECA, signed between India and Singapore in 2005, Singaporeans remained enraged by the stupidity and gullibility of those involved in drafting and negotiating this agreement that is so detrimental to our Singapore Workforce.
With a provision for “Intra Corporate Transfer”, what this means it that the Indians can utilize their FDIs to create lucrative job and business opportunities for themselves right in our own backyard, almost effortlessly.
Over time, they too learnt from their Chinese and other South East Asian counterparts on how to legally circumvent our ill-conceived manpower quota and qualification guidelines.
We have witnessed the exodus of villages of Indians into Singapore and watch helplessly as they conveniently plant their roots into our economic success and inevitably drove up our public housing cost and overloaded our infrastructure, public healthcare & socio-economic balance.

If those involved in the CECA agreement can so stupid and naïve to give the Indians numerous loopholes to game our economic success, Singaporeans like myself do not blame the Indians and their politicians for taking advantage of us but are angry at them for trading away a substantial part of our economic success and employment opportunities so foolishly.
This is the core issue that many Singaporeans are angry about and it has got nothing to do with race or nationality.

Xenophobic and racism – who is playing with fire?

When some government officials start labelling Singaporeans as racist or xenophobic for raising their displeasure over CECA, they inadvertently created an unwarranted tension between Singaporeans and Indian professionals working in Singapore when CECA was never an issue of race or nationality.

In doing so, those 4G politicians of the PAP are in fact recklessly sowing discourse between Singaporeans and nationalities from South Asia.
As such, aren’t the actions of the 4G politicians xenophobic, racist, and reckless?
After playing the race card, they now plan to introduce more laws at workplace but for what exactly – to curtail discussion or to target another of their imagined discrimination?

Importance of defending our Singaporean Workforce

It is heartening to note that the Progress Singapore Party (PSP) has been tenacious in holding the 4G politicians of the PAP to accountability by tabling motion on jobs for debate in parliament for the sake of our Singaporean Workforce.
After years of empty promises, we seriously need to address the many policy gaps, failures, and outright stupidity of these politicians as tolerating them is no longer an option.
Instead of trying to defect the issues at hand by calling the action of the PSP a campaign against CECA when it is not, it is vital for our parliamentarians to find the courage in setting aside their political difference and start addressing these discrepancies that are destroying our Singaporean Core.
Think about it.
As India has a population of 1.366 billion or 234 times more than Singapore, this means that the provision for Intra Corporate Transfer already has a systemic bias that favours the Indian, to the delight of their politicians who are hard-pressed in creating employment of for their growing middle class.
With such a high pent up demand of Indians keen to seek employment outside of India, our trade negotiators, manpower planners and ministers involved ought to have exercised greater care when making provision for manpower transfer in the CECA or have the decency to right their wrongs.

The devil is in the details

It does not take any ingenuity from any Indian entrepreneur to incorporate a start-up in Singapore just to facilitate the transfer of eight to nine executives or professionals from India under agreement.
By incorporating more entities, either directly or indirectly, the same entrepreneur could marshal hundredths or even thousandths of Indian from India into Singapore under CECA and our weak regulatory framework on foreign workers.
Multiply this by a thousand and scale it across the other nationalities, you will now understand why our young graduates, PMETs, and entrepreneurs are losing out on employment and business opportunities to foreigners right in our own backyard.
The Indians, like their Chinese or Filipino counterparts before them, are simply having the time of their lives when our policy makers gifted them with our economic prosperity on a silver platter.
With the Chinese already in almost every facets of our economy, the Filipinos firmly entrenched in our retail, hospitality, and nursing sectors while the Indians have entrenched themselves in our IT, accounting, and financial sectors, what hope is there left for Singaporeans in the executive and professional positions in these sectors?
They have infiltrated our GLCs, and even our public sector, when jobs were outsourced to the lowest bidders without discretion.
For those wondering why our government and unions are suddenly encouraging our children to become hawkers or take up delivery jobs after we had invested monies, sweats, and sacrifices in their education, the answers are already inked on our walls.
It is not that our children or younger Singaporeans are weak or unable to fight for their employment opportunities.
Neither should we blame our teachers for giving our children an education that cannot land them well paying jobs when our politicians keep tilting our economic prosperity in favour of foreigners instead of our Singaporean Workforce.
But why?
Could it be that it is more lucrative for our government to be promoting employment for foreigners as there are obscene amount of levies to be collected, more dormitories to be rented and even lucrative micro-markets to cater to their daily needs?
Or could it be that our government may want to please their counterparts in India or China given our massive investments in these countries.
But if our foreign investments are not backed up by executives who are “street-smart”, able to respond to challenges and are prepared to get their hands dirty, our government is simply naïve and will end up losing on both ends.

Root cause of our unhappiness over CECA

CECA and our weak regulatory framework on foreign manpower are manifestations of a more troubling issue – we have become too tolerant of the incompetency of the 4G PAP politicians for far too long.
This is the root cause to many of the problems and hardships faced by our Singaporean Workforce.
As a result, it is looking like Singaporeans are doomed to be fit only to be drivers, couriers, cleaners, handymen, security guards, safe-distance ambassadors, temperature-takers, or hawkers to serve the needs of foreigners right on our shore which we called home.
Still trying to wonder why there is an increase in Malays in rental public housing or which ethnic group will be next?
To make matter worse, these politicians are not only naïve and gullible but have also become very arrogant and haughty when called to account for their actions.
Even if Lee Kuan Yew is alive today, he would have died many times over just by watching them make a mockery out of our economic success and prosperity.

Is there really a future for Singapore with the 4G politicians?

These are the hard truths as to why many Singaporeans are angry with our government.
By the same token, a segment of Singaporeans also have to blame themselves for these colossal failures when they keep giving those incompetent politicians blank cheques and free tickets into our parliament, again and again, instead of holding them responsible and accountable.
Think about it, even our Prime Minister has to rely on a 3G PAP politician to hold the ministerial portfolio for both the Home Affairs and the Law Ministry, and is having trouble picking a successor among them.
If the politicians from the 4G PAP are really that good as they want Singaporeans to believe, then why aren’t they helming these ministries or able to assure PM Lee to hand over his office to them by now?

Time to address the problems about CECA with sincerity

What we urgently need is for our government to acknowledge where they had gone wrong on CECA and our employment policy for foreign workforce, plugged the loopholes and introduce new legislations with greater urgency to safeguard our Singaporean Workforce against unfair discrimination, exploitation, and abuse.
Our government must also make a clear distinction between employment policies for Singaporeans and their overseas investments so that one will not be compromised for the sake of the other.
These should be debated vigorously in parliament if we are truly concerned about safeguarding and fortifying our Singaporean Core.
Singaporeans must start thinking seriously about our future as a nation and those of our children if we still believe that Singapore deserves better.
This was first published on Joseph Nathan’s Facebook page, and reproduced with permission.

Globalist traitors always sell out the country... especially those whose powers are not restrained.

Remember how eagerly they were wagging their tails at the prospect of their Davos masters coming to town for the WEF meeting? :wink:

pvtpublic

the biggest racists in Singapore is the government of Singapore.

the people have been clamouring for the removal of race driven policies. it is the government who is firmly entrenching it's race based policies.

it is always the government who is drawing the lines between Others, Indians, Malays and Chinese.

iAgent

982ecc92-0dee-4177-b1ba-323999228ae0-gif.67266
giphy.gif

safsaf74

Banks like DBS, UBS, UOB, StanChart etc. staff and places like Changi Business Park and MBFC are 90% CECA trash from India!!! Crazy and evil LHL and PAP basturds let it happen!!! Crazy end evil LHL has been screwing and backstabbing Singaporeans for the last 20 years!!!

We have to kick out PAP basturds and CECA trash from India to get our jobs back.

PAP bastards are enjoying life with their million dollar salaries, and we Singaporeans are suffering because of their shit CECA policies.

mudhatter

Banks like DBS, UBS, UOB, StanChart etc. staff and places like Changi Business Park and MBFC are 90% CECA trash from India!!! Crazy and evil LHL and PAP basturds let it happen!!! Crazy end evil LHL has been screwing and backstabbing Singaporeans for the last 20 years!!!

We have to kick out PAP basturds and CECA trash from India to get our jobs back.

PAP bastards are enjoying life with their million dollar salaries, and we Singaporeans are suffering because of their shit CECA policies.

but stinkypureans don't have balls to topple their gov't

can't even hold a protest without nod from pap
:smile:

Here is the big problems.

1. Most younger Singaporeans have their CPF to buy a HDB. As such they are not renters from start.

2. Baby boomers are aging and in year 2000 there was this worry of baby boomers that gahmen has to fund their retirement.

So worldwide are facing this 1billion baby boomers aging retirement money problem.

Constructions of residential properties development boomed to get baby boomers to own residential property investment for passive income earning. The financial institutions chip in with low interest rate LOC loans to the baby boomers.

Residential properties need tenants to help foot the mortgage loan payments...

Singapore is caught in the catch 22 situation to find tenants.... the young Singaporeans can buy own properties with their CPF..... so only way to find tenants is to import foreign workers....

India fit the bills to be tenant occupants in Singapore.... all they need are jobs, good pay jobs.... nurses, banks, IT & PMET jobs you name it..... and GLCs provide the pathways to take them in....

As such and in fact PAP outsmarted India politicians with CECA their ahnehs can come in to steal jobs in Singapore.....

Which means India younger ahnehs lose out the opportunities to afford to buy a house in their homeland compared to the young Sinkies....

On the other hand, India shd be angry at the PAP 4G bastards cheated them with works available, please come be tenants and help pay the mortgage loans for the baby bonmers....

Therefore, Sinkies shd thank them instead and took them for good ride in the last 20 years... ahneh kenna fooled and conned deep deep.... by Loong PAP....

But unfortunately, Man proposed God disposed, Sinkies become the losers instead. Loong screwed up Sinkies life and futures....

take this with a spinach of salts and hope loong die of covid soon....

safsaf74

This crazy and evil PAP basturd LHL has been telling us the same lies for decades. Remember he even said “Sorry” in 2011 elections for bringing in too many foreigners. But that was another BIG LIE and NOTHING CHANGED. He brought in even more millions of CECA Foreign Trash from India since then!!!

And the BIGGEST LIE OF ALL that CECA Foreign Trash from India create jobs for Singaporeans!!!

Crazy and evil PAP basturd LHL has just lied and lied about change since then. He has been screwing and backstabbing Singaporeans for the last 15 years!!!

This is TOTAL BULLSHIT!!! I work in the Banking industry and 90% of the workers are CECA foreign trash from India and growing!!!

This crazy and evil PAP basturd LHL has been telling us the same lies for decades. Remember he even said “Sorry” in 2011 elections for bringing in too many foreigners. But that was another BIG LIE and NOTHING CHANGED. He brought in even more millions of CECA Foreign Trash from India since then!!!

And the BIGGEST LIE OF ALL that CECA Foreign Trash from India create jobs for Singaporeans!!!

Crazy and evil PAP basturd LHL has just lied and lied about change since then. He has been screwing and backstabbing Singaporeans for the last 15 years!!!

This is TOTAL BULLSHIT!!! I work in the Banking industry and 90% of the workers are CECA foreign trash from India and growing!!!

Yes, I heard horror stories about this from reservist mates who work in the banks' back offices. More and more new black faces in the bank with every subsequent reservist.

There is still a great bunch of morons out there who still give Loong the benefit of the doubt because they are fantards of his daddy. They are very eager to overlook everything and defend him. :rolleyes:

It's just like the antipathy towards the so-called '4G Leaders' and how they handled the Covid situation. They have a curious blind spot towards Loong's shortcomings and refuse to admit that it was HE who created the mess.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Why is there a need to sign an official agreement with a country and make it public?

Mistake on PAP's part.

They should have kept this all quiet. Bring in the workers from India through "internal MOM" quotas. Say cannot release publicly for national security reasons (something like what they do with Temasek and GIC).

I cannot believe that Singapore is so unattractive that without an official agreement with India the Indians would not want to go to Singapore to work and live.

right @Sgpind ?

I think the fact that there is something called CECA gives people something to focus on and use as evidence.

Whereas if there was no agreement nothing.....can act blur say things like you are imagining things, go eat your medicine. It is only in the west industrial areas. There is no such agreement. We invite people from all over the world not just India etc. And the don't be racist message can be stronger without an agreement signed with a particular country with majority race.

Sgpind

Why is there a need to sign an official agreement with a country and make it public?

Mistake on PAP's part.

They should have kept this all quiet. Bring in the workers from India through "internal MOM" quotas. Say cannot release publicly for national security reasons (something like what they do with Temasek and GIC).

I cannot believe that Singapore is so unattractive that without an official agreement with India the Indians would not want to go to Singapore to work and live.

right @Sgpind ?

I think the fact that there is something called CECA gives people something to focus on and use as evidence.

Whereas if there was no agreement nothing.....can act blur say things like you are imagining things, go eat your medicine. It is only in the west industrial areas. There is no such agreement. We invite people from all over the world not just India etc. And the don't be racist message can be stronger without an agreement signed with a particular country with majority race.
That's what a dictatorship would have done. SG is a democracy so they need to do certain things transparently. I am not fully aware of the details of the agreement. Not sure what are the benefits Sg gets. I do see a lot of Temasek investments which Sg is profiting from quite handsomely as Indian economy has grown over the years. Is there a preference for Indian pmet? Only the data will show the real picture . Singapore population has jumped 30% in 15 years. That's really huge. We need to find out details regarding that. For Indian pmet sg is not the first choice. Pmets come here by chance and settle down. I used to work in the US and I came here for a couple of years originally but started on . The CECA also gives sg preferential investment opportunities as mentioned earlier. Now sg has stopped most Indian immigration or giving Pr or citizenship. So they will over the next 2 or 3 years change the perception.

nayr69sg

Staff member
That's what a dictatorship would have done. SG is a democracy so they need to do certain things transparently. I am not fully aware of the details of the agreement. Not sure what are the benefits Sg gets. I do see a lot of Temasek investments which Sg is profiting from quite handsomely as Indian economy has grown over the years. Is there a preference for Indian pmet? Only the data will show the real picture . Singapore population has jumped 30% in 15 years. That's really huge. We need to find out details regarding that. For Indian pmet sg is not the first choice. Pmets come here by chance and settle down. I used to work in the US and I came here for a couple of years originally but started on . The CECA also gives sg preferential investment opportunities as mentioned earlier. Now sg has stopped most Indian immigration or giving Pr or citizenship. So they will over the next 2 or 3 years change the perception.

No other country in the world has signed such an agreement with India except Singapore. There was a similar one proposed between Australia and India but that fell through.

Yes the details. But it looks like the agreement is also not quite transparent? You are very correct that SG is a democracy. And the vast majority of Singaporeans very much support the PAP.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Here is the big problems.

1. Most younger Singaporeans have their CPF to buy a HDB. As such they are not renters from start.

2. Baby boomers are aging and in year 2000 there was this worry of baby boomers that gahmen has to fund their retirement.

So worldwide are facing this 1billion baby boomers aging retirement money problem.

Constructions of residential properties development boomed to get baby boomers to own residential property investment for passive income earning. The financial institutions chip in with low interest rate LOC loans to the baby boomers.

Residential properties need tenants to help foot the mortgage loan payments...

Singapore is caught in the catch 22 situation to find tenants.... the young Singaporeans can buy own properties with their CPF..... so only way to find tenants is to import foreign workers....

India fit the bills to be tenant occupants in Singapore.... all they need are jobs, good pay jobs.... nurses, banks, IT & PMET jobs you name it..... and GLCs provide the pathways to take them in....

As such and in fact PAP outsmarted India politicians with CECA their ahnehs can come in to steal jobs in Singapore.....

Which means India younger ahnehs lose out the opportunities to afford to buy a house in their homeland compared to the young Sinkies....

On the other hand, India shd be angry at the PAP 4G bastards cheated them with works available, please come be tenants and help pay the mortgage loans for the baby bonmers....

Therefore, Sinkies shd thank them instead and took them for good ride in the last 20 years... ahneh kenna fooled and conned deep deep.... by Loong PAP....

But unfortunately, Man proposed God disposed, Sinkies become the losers instead. Loong screwed up Sinkies life and futures....

take this with a spinach of salts and hope loong die of covid soon....

From what I have observed, it looks like since 2005 the PAP formula for economic growth has been immigration.

As you have illustrated above. Grow the population through immigration. Housing demand rises. Property price goes up.

The only sector in Singapore that is really growing on a global competitive level is banking/finance.

The rest of the growth are trickle down from the growth in population and immigration. ie more people.

But this strategy has a limit because eventually Singapore becomes too crowded and the influx of foreigners and visible minority becomes so obvious and uncomfortable.

Sgpind

From what I have observed, it looks like since 2005 the PAP formula for economic growth has been immigration.

As you have illustrated above. Grow the population through immigration. Housing demand rises. Property price goes up.

The only sector in Singapore that is really growing on a global competitive level is banking/finance.

The rest of the growth are trickle down from the growth in population and immigration. ie more people.

But this strategy has a limit because eventually Singapore becomes too crowded and the influx of foreigners and visible minority becomes so obvious and uncomfortable.
But the only sector that employs most Indian PMETs is Banking and finance. So are u saying influx of Indians is keeping a sector competitive?

nayr69sg

Staff member
But the only sector that employs most Indian PMETs is Banking and finance. So are u saying influx of Indians is keeping a sector competitive?

I think so. Especially with the IT department.

There was a big push for digital banking in the past 10 years. Many SG banks had to up their game. Worldwide you can see Indians by and large dominate the IT sector.

So yes indeed.

In fact I would add further that if not for CECA and the influx of immigrants from India in the last 10 years, the Singapore banks may not have the growth it has enjoyed and the Singapore economy in general would be doing very poorly. Property prices will also have declined over the years with a drop in demand.

So Singaporeans might not realize that there are many things they should be thankful for with the CECA agreement. It is unpopular yes for the social reasons. However the economic reasons show that the CECA has its merits.

Sgpind

I think so. Especially with the IT department.

There was a big push for digital banking in the past 10 years. Many SG banks had to up their game. Worldwide you can see Indians by and large dominate the IT sector.

So yes indeed.
To be honest this is the dilemma facing Sg. With declining birth rates we have no choice but to import. Otherwise so will part the economy. How many empty apartments can we have. A lot of countries have this issue. But immigration causes demographic change. In a micro country like sg this is very visible. So how to balance?

nayr69sg

Staff member
To be honest this is the dilemma facing Sg. With declining birth rates we have no choice but to import. Otherwise so will part the economy. How many empty apartments can we have. A lot of countries have this issue. But immigration causes demographic change. In a micro country like sg this is very visible. So how to balance?

Honestly I totally agree with you.

The problem for Singapore is still the same as it was in 1960s. Small country by size. No natural resources.

It is amazing they have come this far.

A country like Canada can say they want more immigration. Sure! For the 2nd largest country in the world by land mass, a population of 33 million is actually very small.

Even with a city like Calgary slightly bigger than Singapore by size our population is barely 2m. Singapore? 5m easily.

Demographics will change for sure.

Remember this from LKY?

At 2:10 he gives away that the SG govt actually plans to have 60,000 immigrants a year to keep the economy going. LKY said no. 20-25k is absorbable. Has the PAP followed his advice since his death? Maybe. Maybe not.

At 4:32 he also says that the drop in fertility rate is in all European countries and developed countries except for America. He adds that it is because "they have huge open spaces, so the people have a sense of optimism and they produce a 2nd child"

going by LKY's assessment, Singapore is doomed with regards to this fertility rate and population planning. I agree with LKY. Hence I do see in the future Singapore's demographic changing drastically. Singapore chinese will eventually become the minority. It is not a matter of if but when.

And as you know I moved to North America. Huge open spaces. And I have 4 children. The 2nd was born because we knew we were moving to Canada. And the 4th was born in Canada. Would I have had 4 children in Singapore? No.

PAP merely copying the formula that has worked for Australia, Canada and the US.
Australia admits 150k immigrants a year. I would say that helped them escape a recession for the last 30 years if annual income those immigrants bring in are in the billions plus if these are mostly skilled immigrants, host countries saved on cost of training.