• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A great article how CECA agreement fuck Sinkies

CECA deal opened up india's 1.6 billion market to sinkie companies.
many indian companies relocate to sinkie for the tax breaks. And yet able to behave like a local in india.
This deal benefit sinkies financially more than India. Why you think banks are hiring indians.

Gallego99

From what I have observed, it looks like since 2005 the PAP formula for economic growth has been immigration.

As you have illustrated above. Grow the population through immigration. Housing demand rises. Property price goes up.

The only sector in Singapore that is really growing on a global competitive level is banking/finance.

The rest of the growth are trickle down from the growth in population and immigration. ie more people.

But this strategy has a limit because eventually Singapore becomes too crowded and the influx of foreigners and visible minority becomes so obvious and uncomfortable.
Immigration is the only viable option to a long standing problem-declining birthrate. Happens in every developed economies i-Europe, North Asia and China. It's a multifaceted conundrum we're in. I dun think it was intended as the 'the formula' for spurring growth and as you rightly pointed out, it has its limitations. It's developing an 'external wing' which LKY mentioned in the 80's. Singapore has to cling on to the coat tails of big powers-India, China and the US. When they fly, we will benefit.

Gallego99

But the only sector that employs most Indian PMETs is Banking and finance. So are u saying influx of Indians is keeping a sector competitive?
The CECA agreement covers a comprehensive list of sectors and is not limited to banking and finance. Labour is one of the many components that makes a country competitive. If this happens in your own backyard, I think the Indians will take to the street.

Gallego99

Nearly 1 in 2 Singaporeans have seen a deterioration in their financial wellbeing since Covid-19 hit: Prudential Survey​

Nearly one in two, or 47% of Singaporeans have experienced a deterioration in their financial wellbeing since the onset of the pandemic.

Of these individuals, 43% noted a decline in their wage-earning prospects, while 47% said that will “struggle to independently meet my financial needs, but will manage”.

Singaporeans aged between 35 and 44 have been the worst hit with 51% seeing a decline in their financial wellbeing.

This is as these individuals – known as the sandwiched generation – are typically responsible for caring for both their parents and children.

Interestingly, Singaporeans in the older age groups have not felt the impact of the pandemic as much, with 46% of those between the ages of 55 and 64 seeing a decline in their financial wellbeing. Similarly, the statistic was just over 39% for individuals between 65 and 74 years old.

Meanwhile, 40% of millennials or those aged between 25 and 34 said they were feeling a strain on their finances.

These were some of the findings highlighted in the recent “Re-imaging 100: Financial planning amidst a crisis” report produced by The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and commissioned by Prudential Singapore.

The results are based on the financial planning attitudes reflected by the 1,281 Singaporeans surveyed.

To Dennis Tan, CEO of Prudential Singapore, it is fathomable that the sandwiched generation have taken a greater hit from pandemic, given their existing struggles in supporting their ageing parents and growing children.

“The economic uncertainties created by the Covid-19 pandemic has led to considerable financial stress and intensified the pressure faced by this group of Singaporeans. As a consequence, their health – both mental and physical – has also suffered in the past year,” he says.

It is no surprise that nearly half or 47% of the individuals across age groups are now questioning their ability to meet their financial expenses if they were to experience something unexpected, like an illness.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/source/theedgesingapore.com

mahjongking

PAP merely copying the formula that has worked for Australia, Canada and the US.
Australia admits 150k immigrants a year. I would say that helped them escape a recession for the last 30 years if annual income those immigrants bring in are in the billions plus if these are mostly skilled immigrants, host countries saved on cost of training.

land area of australia 7,692,000 sq km
land area of canada 9,985,000 sq km
land area of usa 9,834,000 sq km

land area of spore is a staggering 728.6 sq km

you twit....

Gallego99

PAP merely copying the formula that has worked for Australia, Canada and the US.
Australia admits 150k immigrants a year. I would say that helped them escape a recession for the last 30 years if annual income those immigrants bring in are in the billions plus if these are mostly skilled immigrants, host countries saved on cost of training.
The idiots missed the part about being selective.

Sgpind

The CECA agreement covers a comprehensive list of sectors and is not limited to banking and finance. Labour is one of the many components that makes a country competitive. If this happens in your own backyard, I think the Indians will take to the street.
I agree, if you see my other posts, you will see that we need to see the data on how many PMET are coming in.
I assume that construction and other menial labour done by Indians and Bangladeshis are not an issue because they are temp workers and stay out of sight in dorms.
The issue is with Indian professionals who are paid highly ( subjective ) and who are thought to be taking away Sg jobs. If that is an issue it needs to be addressed in some way but there is a danger if Singapore losing in the long run . In any case we need to see various types of data.
1. How many Indian pmet
2. Are they actually taking and replacing Singaporeans
3. If not can Singaporeans be trained to do the same job at similar pay.
4. How many of these are large MNC . I ask this because MNC and Sg are symbiotic.
5. What proportion of foreign talent are hired by MnC and of those how many Indian in high paid roles that could have been done by Singaporean at same pay.

There needs to be more transparency before one can make a decision.
Right now perception is driving the conversation.

Sgpind

@asenmaga
Screenshot_20210928-172210_CNA.jpg

asenmaga

Thank You for highlighting....I have read.the article online already .. as usual I am not interested in short term....I am more keen on long term directions which will also be beneficiary to your children when they become Singaporean .

As mentioned whether it is CECA or too lax a foreign employment policies doesn't really affect me one bit...( I retired long ago with no debt). I only commented because I only want Singapore to be livable place
for her citizens. ( You can read my past posts...I joined this forum just to ensure people don't fall for the football tipsters scam and sometimes on politics that affect the citizen's life ).
Lastly I read some of your posts, and indeed you are one that I welcome to make Singapore your home and hopefully do your share by training some locals...does'nt matter Chinese , Malay , Indian or others races and hopefully with your contribution SG has a bright future ahead. Best of Luck in your stay in Singapore.

Sgpind

Thank You for highlighting....I have read.the article online already .. as usual I am not interested in short term....I am more keen on long term directions which will also be beneficiary to your children when they become Singaporean .

As mentioned whether it is CECA or too lax a foreign employment policies doesn't really affect me one bit...( I retired long ago with no debt). I only commented because I only want Singapore to be livable place
for her citizens. ( You can read my past posts...I joined this forum just to ensure people don't fall for the football tipsters scam and sometimes on politics that affect the citizen's life ).
Lastly I read some of your posts, and indeed you are one that I welcome to make Singapore your home and hopefully do your share by training some locals...does'nt matter Chinese , Malay , Indian or others races and hopefully with your contribution SG has a bright future ahead. Best of Luck in your stay in Singapore.
Thank you for the wishes and indeed I have no doubt that Sg has a bright future. Its not the politics or human resources that I worry about but on more global issues like Climate change or US China spat. I will do my best to train up locals. Good luck to you too.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I agree, if you see my other posts, you will see that we need to see the data on how many PMET are coming in.
I assume that construction and other menial labour done by Indians and Bangladeshis are not an issue because they are temp workers and stay out of sight in dorms.
The issue is with Indian professionals who are paid highly ( subjective ) and who are thought to be taking away Sg jobs. If that is an issue it needs to be addressed in some way but there is a danger if Singapore losing in the long run . In any case we need to see various types of data.
1. How many Indian pmet
2. Are they actually taking and replacing Singaporeans
3. If not can Singaporeans be trained to do the same job at similar pay.
4. How many of these are large MNC . I ask this because MNC and Sg are symbiotic.
5. What proportion of foreign talent are hired by MnC and of those how many Indian in high paid roles that could have been done by Singaporean at same pay.

There needs to be more transparency before one can make a decision.
Right now perception is driving the conversation.

In Singapore, the data is all there.

The decision on whether to make it public and transparent is up to the Singapore Government. Usually they will release it if it suits their agenda and purpose.

I think quite a significant number of jobs have been taken up by Indians and hired by MNCs. The current narrative means that the government does not want to make the figures public.

Leaving this "perception driving the conversation" to be better than the truth.

But Singapore needs the Indian foreign talent to survive.

safsaf74

Why is there a need to sign an official agreement with a country and make it public?

Mistake on PAP's part.

They should have kept this all quiet. Bring in the workers from India through "internal MOM" quotas. Say cannot release publicly for national security reasons (something like what they do with Temasek and GIC).

I cannot believe that Singapore is so unattractive that without an official agreement with India the Indians would not want to go to Singapore to work and live.

right @Sgpind ?

I think the fact that there is something called CECA gives people something to focus on and use as evidence.

Whereas if there was no agreement nothing.....can act blur say things like you are imagining things, go eat your medicine. It is only in the west industrial areas. There is no such agreement. We invite people from all over the world not just India etc. And the don't be racist message can be stronger without an agreement signed with a particular country with majority race.
Sorry, but there is no way to hide this! How can you hide this when you see CECA trash everywhere???

Banks like DBS, UBS, UOB, StanChart etc. staff and places like Changi Business Park and MBFC are 90% CECA trash from India!!! Crazy and evil LHL and PAP basturds let it happen!!! Crazy end evil LHL has been screwing and backstabbing Singaporeans for the last 20 years!!!

We have to kick out PAP basturds and CECA trash from India to get our jobs back.

PAP bastards are enjoying life with their million dollar salaries, and we Singaporeans are suffering because of their shit CECA policies.

Why is there a need to sign an official agreement with a country and make it public?

Mistake on PAP's part.

They should have kept this all quiet. Bring in the workers from India through "internal MOM" quotas. Say cannot release publicly for national security reasons (something like what they do with Temasek and GIC).

I cannot believe that Singapore is so unattractive that without an official agreement with India the Indians would not want to go to Singapore to work and live.

right @Sgpind ?

I think the fact that there is something called CECA gives people something to focus on and use as evidence.

Whereas if there was no agreement nothing.....can act blur say things like you are imagining things, go eat your medicine. It is only in the west industrial areas. There is no such agreement. We invite people from all over the world not just India etc. And the don't be racist message can be stronger without an agreement signed with a particular country with majority race.

The pappies have signed numerous FTAs and even though CECA is a perversion of your traditional FTA, it is still technically a FTA.

And they like to publish all their signed FTAs on an official website... Enterprise SG? They see it as political capital for bragging, as proof that the PAP delivers the economic goods if you remain obedient and accept its ironfisted rule. :cool:

safsaf74

Honestly I totally agree with you.

The problem for Singapore is still the same as it was in 1960s. Small country by size. No natural resources.

It is amazing they have come this far.

A country like Canada can say they want more immigration. Sure! For the 2nd largest country in the world by land mass, a population of 33 million is actually very small.

Even with a city like Calgary slightly bigger than Singapore by size our population is barely 2m. Singapore? 5m easily.

Demographics will change for sure.

Remember this from LKY?

At 2:10 he gives away that the SG govt actually plans to have 60,000 immigrants a year to keep the economy going. LKY said no. 20-25k is absorbable. Has the PAP followed his advice since his death? Maybe. Maybe not.

At 4:32 he also says that the drop in fertility rate is in all European countries and developed countries except for America. He adds that it is because "they have huge open spaces, so the people have a sense of optimism and they produce a 2nd child"

going by LKY's assessment, Singapore is doomed with regards to this fertility rate and population planning. I agree with LKY. Hence I do see in the future Singapore's demographic changing drastically. Singapore chinese will eventually become the minority. It is not a matter of if but when.

And as you know I moved to North America. Huge open spaces. And I have 4 children. The 2nd was born because we knew we were moving to Canada. And the 4th was born in Canada. Would I have had 4 children in Singapore? No.
So you don't even live in Singapore??? Then why are you commenting on Singapore??? You will never know the horrible reality here!!!

Please lah, unless you live here and see the CECA horror for yourself, with your own eyes, you will never believe it!!!

And don't for a moment believe PAP basturds or the #160 Shit Times or all the other PAP propaganda mediums!!!

Banks like DBS, UBS, UOB, StanChart etc. staff and places like Changi Business Park and MBFC are 90% CECA trash from India!!! You have to see it to believe it!!! Have you even been to Changi Business Park and MBFC???

safsaf74

Thank you for the wishes and indeed I have no doubt that Sg has a bright future. Its not the politics or human resources that I worry about but on more global issues like Climate change or US China spat. I will do my best to train up locals. Good luck to you too.
Fuck off back to India and eat cow shit and drink cow piss, you CECA trash from India!!!

safsaf74

Go fuck yrslf. These are office jobs and lazy Indians preferred easy office jobs behind the desk....
CECA trash is NOT talent!!!

For the UK Global Talent Visa: India and Nigeria had the lowest Global Talent visa approval rate with 39% and 30% respectively. That shows the shitty quality of Indian "talent"!!! It is close to Nigerian "talent"!!! And PAP lauds this shitty CECA Indians as world class talents, without any objective measurement!!! Again, LHL and PAP are a bunch of lying bastards.

PAP basturds are enjoying life with their million dollar salaries, and we Singaporeans are suffering because of their shit CECA policies.

safsaf74

CECA trash is NOT talent!!!

For the UK Global Talent Visa: India and Nigeria had the lowest Global Talent visa approval rate with 39% and 30% respectively. That shows the shitty quality of Indian "talent"!!! It is close to Nigerian "talent"!!! And PAP lauds this shitty CECA Indians as world class talents, without any objective measurement!!! Again, LHL and PAP are a bunch of lying bastards.

PAP basturds are enjoying life with their million dollar salaries, and we Singaporeans are suffering because of their shit CECA policies.