• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP Teo soh lung: I am disappointed with the opposition parties in singapore

First world Parliament is about being constructive and not oppose for the sake of oppposing.

WP is doing right and will win more seats in 2016.

That's not the role of Opposition in democracy. If the Opposition's role is to just go with the government, why the hell do we need an opposition?
Two parties have different ideas and platform and then the people choose. It is the job of the Opposition to question and criticise ALL the time. That's how you check the government and keep them on their toes.

If the WP can't play the role of the Opposition, then it should just merge with the PAP and give the people a chance to choose another party that is willing to critique and scrutinize every policy put out by the government. Constructive politics is a PAP bs ...PAP wants it easy so it lays out this bs and the WP buys into it.

You are looking at it from a hard core anti PAP supporter point of view and you are correct in yo6r own perspective.

But WP is not a hard core anti PAP party. The believe in being constructive and eventually be an Alternative Party. This appeal to many middle voters and some PAP supporters.

See them win more seats in 2016..

The ground is fertile enough for a toppling of the PAP government, not just to win more seats. If the WP doesn't want to govern sinkapore, then it should just merge with the PAP.
The PAP government has screwed sinkees long enough. The ground is fertile as resentment of the PAP is substantial. It is now for the opposition party to tap on this groundswell of resentment and make that resentment grow and sear in the minds of every sinkee. Is the WP up to it?

You are looking at it from a hard core anti PAP supporter point of view and you are correct in yo6r own perspective.

But WP is not a hard core anti PAP party. The believe in being constructive and eventually be an Alternative Party. This appeal to many middle voters and some PAP supporters.

I don't know which mother's skirt u crawled out from under. But wake up and smell the coffee. U play to win, not play to draw, not play for moral victories. The WP should have one and only one goal, win all the fucking seats in Parliament and not "win more seats in 2016". You know why? Because that is the PAP's goal. The PAP's goal is "not to lose more seats". They want to win it all. Therefore, when you are their opponent and you come to a fight with them, with already this compromise and lacadaisy attitude, they will fuck u all the time. This is just plain selfishness and greed from the WP. They just want to win a few more seats so a few more of their exec comm can earn $16K a month. Singaporeans who vote for them DON"T have this mindset. They DON"T want the WP to win a few more seats. THEY WANT THE WP TO WIN IT ALL AND KICK OUT THE PAP. When the WP is not willing to do this, they are just a wayang oppo party as I have said all along.

Are you conceding that the WP likes the PAP policies? So, if the WP is in government, it will continue with the PAP policies like restricting free speech, freedom of assembly, use ISA on critics of the government, siphon our CPF monies away, keep raising healthcare expense, bring in millions of foreigners, make huge profits from sale of HDB flats etc?

I can see that u are WP supporter. Well, the problem with your statement is they cannot appeal to the middle ground and PAP supporters when they vote with the PAP and hence implicitly and explicitly state their support for the PAP policies. They are not setting themselves apart from the PAP. Why should I vote for PAP Lite when I can vote for the real PAP. The WP's message is starting to get morphed in the PAP's message. In what areas have they clearly stood out from the PAP? They walk like the PAP, quack like the PAP, smell like the PAP, I guess they must be PAP lite.

I will give you a recent example. The WP voted for the Edusave amendment bill. Basically, the bill broadens the eligibility scope of students who can receive Edusave contributions from the govt. Students from non mainstream schools like religious schools can now receive this grant under this amendment. The WP waxed lyrical about how great this grant was, and how nice it is to include more kids. The PAP couldn't have done a better job sucking up to this bill. Ladies and gentlemen, do you know how much this grant is for? $200-$240 a yEAR. That's right, that's all they get. In the meantime, thousands of other students from other countries get millions of $ in scholarships every year from the govt for free, and our own students get scraps for the dogs.

The WP should have said "On Principal, we cannot support this bill. Under this bill eligible singaporean students will receive the paltry sum of $200-$240 per year, while this govt generously gives thousands of foreign students each, thousands of $ in free scholarships and collectively grant them hundreds of millions $ taxpayer dollars for free. In good conscience, the WP cannot place foreign students ahead of local students, and instead recommends the abolishment of free scholarships for non singaporean students and to re-direct the funds to the benefit of the local students"

This simple statement, if ever the WP is interested, would have won them the admiration of singaporeans, while casting a bad spotlight on an erroneous and flawed policy of the PAP. But of course, you would not expect PAP lite to say that.

WP cannot appeal to middle voters? See their results inPunggol East and you get the point.

We can argue till the cow comes home, but best is to see in 2016, who get more seats, WP or SDP.

with so many oppo parties, the obvious strategy is divide and conquer. sorry to bring this up, but a handful of other oppo parties are compromised too. the ones that are never invited to the parliament party are those that remain hostile and uncompromised. it's as logical as math 101. only idiots deny this simple one plus one. that's why i predict pap victory all the time, no matter what (compromised) party wins. :p

If WP is going to be PAP lite, then the rest of the opposition parties should form a coalition to compete against the PAP and WP. It is not difficult to characterize WP as an adjunct of the PAP, given its current performance in Parliament.

Why should WP oppose if they think that those bills are beneficial to Singapore???

Oppose for the sake of oppposing?

If WP thinks PAP bills are beneficial to sinkapore so often, then there is no role for WP. WP might as well merge with the PAP.

The PAP is a scumbag government ...99 percent of its policies hurt sinkees.

shittypore

Looks like the FIrst World Parliament stuff is only good for WP and PAP, what fuck has it improve the lives of Sinkies.

methink

WP cannot appeal to middle voters? See their results inPunggol East and you get the point.

We can argue till the cow comes home, but best is to see in 2016, who get more seats, WP or SDP.

Your only criteria is : whoever has more seats is the best person to speak for the people?

The PAP used such an argument. But are they representing and speaking up for the people?

shittypore

40.1% oppose the PAP for the sake of Opposing and now you you telling Sinkies not to oppose for the sake of opposing. Eunos Voters than must be the biggest suckers.

SgParent

WP is PAP lite, they have been winning seats based on the pass track record and sacrifice of JB Jeyaratnam. People remember him and how fiercely he fought the PAP. People do not realise his party has now been hijacked by PAP sympathizers and collaborators. They therefore unwittingly vote the WP into parliament.
disagree.

if wp lost aljunied grc in ge2006 but won it in ge2011.

tell me against wp won in ge2011 due to jbj and had nothing to do with their vision, hardwork, strategy between 2006 and 2011

SgParent

it's "token" opposition blessed by dear leader for pap ministers and mp's to spar with. otherwise, pap will be too complacent and degenerative through inbreeding and atrophy. for it to receive dear leader's blessing, it has to be compromised and hijacked first. :wink:
if the white scums needed to sacrifice a few ministars and the speaker to let in a few fake oppo then they are much more stupid than i thought humanly possible.

SgParent

Can't agree more with you. The WP is a PAP wannabee party. I would vote for a serious opposition such as the SDP or SFP of TJS, but another wannabee?
serious?

let's see if this time they are serious enough to not score any more spectacular own goals

SgParent

The WP should have said "On Principal, we cannot support this bill. Under this bill eligible singaporean students will receive the paltry sum of $200-$240 per year, while this govt generously gives thousands of foreign students each, thousands of $ in free scholarships and collectively grant them hundreds of millions $ taxpayer dollars for free. In good conscience, the WP cannot place foreign students ahead of local students, and instead recommends the abolishment of free scholarships for non singaporean students and to re-direct the funds to the benefit of the local students"

This simple statement, if ever the WP is interested, would have won them the admiration of singaporeans, while casting a bad spotlight on an erroneous and flawed policy of the PAP. But of course, you would not expect PAP lite to say that.
and you trust the braddell road brothel will publish that statement or rerun on their stations?

or more likely they will smear wp oppose even $200-$240/yr for our poor true pink singaporean children, shame on them, blah blah blah?

yellowarse

if wp dun vote for the reduced salaries, will the white scums get to keep original amount which was higher?

No. Because 80 PAP MPs will vote 'aye' anyway. But WP would have won a moral victory by showing Singaporeans where it stood on the issue of million-dollar ministerial salaries, defence budget (2nd highest per capita in the first world), no universal healthcare, inadequate education allocation, etc. (Of course WP must make its stand clear why it wouldn't want to vote for the budget.)

tanwahp

Serious politics is to go on the offensive when our basic rights are being attacked. To say nothing while having a platform in parliamentary is shameful for the opposition.

Basic rights as defined by UN are food, water, lodging. Internationally, the PAP doesn't score badly in that but score poorly in civil rights, i.e. media freedom, electoral fairness, rights to protest. The opposition should and had approached these issues, but these issues should not be approached in the same way as you would in countries where even food and water is a problem.

Let's not kid ourselves ...when the WP takes over government, a spring cleaning of the upper echelons in the civil service is necessary.

I agree but only for certain key appointments. I know someone who doesn't agree, and interestingly, he is also not the most fond of WP like you. You can have a debate with him.

PAP has put in many bad laws and we need to take them out.

Depends on how you define "many". "Many" as in a good number, or "many" as in the majority of laws?

If the WP is going to play the passive opposition, then it deserves to lose GE 2016. We don't want a PAP lite party coming into power, we want to be rid of any traces of the PAP.

Many people confuse various terms. Being a passive opposition is not being pro-PAP. The WP believes in being rationale and responsible, never said it would be robust, and has never cheated the people since it has used that approach since 2001. This is where you are wrong, WP is prepared to agree with the PAP when they are right, but the PAP themselves will never be passive when it comes to tackling the opposition. They will never give credit for the ideas taken from the opposition or say the opposition is right when they are.

So if you want to avoid voting for an opposition that is like PAP, look out for the following signs: claiming credit and claiming to be the first, never giving others the same, doing things unilaterally, doing things for show, spending a lot of resource on peripheral marketing, claiming you have been ignored while ignoring others, practicing selectivity and censorship, claiming that your opponents fear you etc.

Everything about the PAP is wrong.

Depends on what you mean by "everything". If the PAP decides to build another reservoir and that is wrong at the onset, I am not sure how many will agree with you.

SgParent

That's not the role of Opposition in democracy. If the Opposition's role is to just go with the government, why the hell do we need an opposition?
Two parties have different ideas and platform and then the people choose. It is the job of the Opposition to question and criticise ALL the time. That's how you check the government and keep them on their toes.
you have watch too much movies.

you may dream that it is always a yes/no, black/white situation. but the realty is not.

oppo should selectively vote yes/no. yes when bills are beneficial. no when they are not.

if we need oppo parties/individuals who always vote no then kj, csj, etc, etc and certainly teo sl herself should be the pm, dpm, ministars by now.

in your dream maybe. but in realty are they anywhere near there yet?

yellowarse

and you trust the braddell road brothel will publish that statement or rerun on their stations?

So just because we have a prostitute press you'd choose to sleep with the enemy? To keep silent, because the media will not publish what you say?

What a load of bull crap. For crying loud, this is the age of internet and social media!:rolleyes: And Hong Lim Park. And for the IT illiterate there's the Hammer. And the Hansard.

That's why we'll never have a better chance than now of toppling the PAP despite their formidable machinery.

SgParent

No. Because 80 PAP MPs will vote 'aye' anyway. But WP would have won a moral victory by showing Singaporeans where it stood on the issue of million-dollar ministerial salaries
on ministar salary wp did propose a different formula that is bottom-up.

did the people on the streets pick that up? no.

did the people in forums pick that up? no also. in fact some fake 40% played up the fact that wp also supported for $m salary for ministars.