• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP expelled Dr Poh Lee Guan

wMulew

Worker's Party wonderful record so far

1)1 Guy who slept with other's wife
2)1 Guy lied during by-election
3)2 guys who copy and paste the work of other's in it's entirety without citations
4)1 Guy who expose their own party member's lies from the inside
5)1 Guy who doesn't even think his own party can make sound decisions and decided to contest on by-election himself
6)1 Guy quit the party and accused them of being racist

Looks like he is not a medical doctor. Just some fella who spent too many years studying business, instead of doing actual business.

wp.jpg

Dr Poh Lee Guan

Posts in WP:
Advisor, Northern Area Committee (NAC)
Vice-Chairman, Hougang Constituency Committee (HGCC)
Councillor, Hougang Town Council

Education:
Technician Diploma, Singapore Polytechnic (SP)
Diploma in Management Studies, Singapore Institute of Management (SIM)
Bachelor of Business (BBus), RMIT University (Australia) / SIM
Master of Business Administration (MBA), University of Dubuque, USA
Doctor of Business Administration (DBA), University of Southern Queensland, Australia

Senior Lecturer with a Private Education Institution (PEI)

Marital Status:
Divorced with 1 son

Background:
Dr. Poh Lee Guan grew up in the Ang Mo Kio and Yishun areas. He is currently a Senior Lecturer with a Private Education Institution (PEI), and lectures in Management and related subjects for under-graduate and master programs.
Dr. Poh studied in Ahmad Ibrahim Secondary School (1974-1977) and completed his Technician Diploma with Singapore Polytechnic in 1981. While working, he studied part-time from 1988 to 2001 for his under- and post-graduate programs and completed the Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) with University of Southern Queensland (Australia).
Dr Poh’s job experience spans more than 20 years, working for both local and international companies. He started his career with Olivetti in 1983 and subsequently worked with AT&T and Lucent Technologies from 1988 to 2001. He has held positions in IT, technical support, sales, customer service, operations, and training & development.
Dr Poh’s political involvement began when he served as the Election Agent for Mr Chia Shi Teck (Independent) in Chua Chu Kang SMC in 1997. Thereafter, he joined the WP, and stood as a candidate in Nee Soon East SMC in the General Elections in 2001 and 2006.
Currently he is also a Town Councillor with the Hougang Town Council chaired by Mr. Low Thia Khiang.

Philosophy:
Dr Poh passionately believes that constructive competition, an effective system of checks-and-balances, and diversity in our political system will contribute to a more vibrant Singapore – politically, economically, and socially.
Dr Poh enjoys swimming, tennis, basketball, reading, and classical music.

wikiphile

I know what you're talking about, but am hoping the smartie pants will burn themselves to the ground thru sheer arrogance. Much like what has happened to GMS, for instance.

that clique has been planning this for a while i believe, beginning to dominate the various events and coming out to 'thank' everybody for their hardwork and taking credit for it. The last straw was the BE, they blatantly ignored the huge volunteer list and inserted their own people for the campaign. Their own people even outnumbered the HG group, wtf?

wikiphile

Its is a given such things will also occur in all political parties. That is why it is political party. Unless you are coerced by a friend or colleague to join a political party, you become a political animal. Most members join because they are following their friends or relatives or a fan of the leader or leaders. These members are not political by nature and are harmless. But they can led by the nose.

In political parties it is common practice for leaders to create factions with followers and allies to maintain at least numerical superiority. In fact if you can't handle this you are not fit to lead.

LTK is a master at this. In fact I always thought that he was very shrewd in the internal politics than external politics. He has now proven to be good at both. Not to mention that JW persuaded me of his external shrewdness.

To take a leaf from local history, the dickheads in the Chiam led SDP did not know which side of their bread was buttered and so Ling and the WP renegade faction persuaded the naive and young Chee to be the leader to the utter regret of all. They forgot who had the Viagra.

I have no delusions that all that is in opposition party is pristine white/blue/red/whatever, i am just amused that there are people staking and claiming unconquered territory as we speak. GE 2016 is still a long way to go and rather than focusing on securing Aljunied GRC + HG, their ambitions and greed is blinding these bunch of clowns. My faith is with the old guard, not the 'yong Turks'

You yourself don't have discipline and now you are pointing finger to others ?? HAHAHAHA !

1. ah huat, i choose to disagree leh!
2. the specimen in question is very pretty disciplined hoh.
3. following its grand master's instructions to the dot.

dr poh, thank you for the little entertainment you brought to the election.

You should replace the word "entertainment" to something more appropriate like "embarrassment".

WP did the right thing to sack Poh so that Poh can set up his own party, become a Sec-general and have all his subordinates behaved likewise. Only than he will appreciate the meaning of unity.

Thick Face Black Heart

Its is a given such things will also occur in all political parties. That is why it is political party. Unless you are coerced by a friend or colleague to join a political party, you become a political animal. .

Agree on this point, but the concern now is that these "young turks" are running way ahead of themselves given WP has only 6 seats.

Worker's Party wonderful record so far

1)1 Guy who slept with other's wife
2)1 Guy lied during by-election
3)2 guys who copy and paste the work of other's in it's entirety without citations
4)1 Guy who expose their own party member's lies from the inside
5)1 Guy who doesn't even think his own party can make sound decisions and decided to contest on by-election himself
6)1 Guy quit the party and accused them of being racist

These are all honest mistakes of a peanut nature. For world class examples you only need to look at the old man who admits getting an extra egg. The mismanagement of the youth olympics games, Ho Chings billion dollar loses, the NKF's golden tapgate, etc, etc, etc.

The important difference to me is that what is happening with the WP does NOT involve public money. Whereas all the examples of the PAP slip ups are costing taxpayers $$$$.

KuanTi01

With all due respect, going by his intellect and common sense as a PHD holder and long track record in the WP, he really ought to know better. He wanted to be the spare tyre for the Hougang by-election (just in case) and literally, by his expulsion from the party, he is now a spare tyre!

kingrant

Another good piece of action taken by WP's leadership. Sack the idiot good and proper. It';s been one day too long. Testimony to WP's party discipline.

With all due respect, going by his intellect and common sense as a PHD holder and long track record in the WP, he really ought to know better. He wanted to be the spare tyre for the Hougang by-election (just in case) and literally, by his expulsion from the party, he is now a spare tyre!

It is not the number of qualifications you have. It's the quality. Just look at his educational background. Australian unis. Why am i not surprised?

Education:
Technician Diploma, Singapore Polytechnic (SP)
Diploma in Management Studies, Singapore Institute of Management (SIM)
Bachelor of Business (BBus), RMIT University (Australia) / SIM
Master of Business Administration (MBA), University of Dubuque, USA
Doctor of Business Administration (DBA), University of Southern Queensland, Australia

soIsee

Honestly what was he thinking of?

Does it matter?

Nobody is interested in him, many have even never heard of him and many Sinkie , even were to hear of him, would also not want to hear of him anymore.

Honestly, Scroobal, these Sinkie like Ah Poh really have a hugely inflated ego.

And many like minded Sinkie nowadays are also like this.

It makes me laugh when all these Sinkie resort to all sort of antics, just becos he thinks 'he is somebody out to make a statement or a show'!

But it is a type of Sinkie, who holds a hatchet and challenge anyone to meet him at a Cul-de-sac, that is the most potent and dangerous! LOL

pocoyo

The party thanks...
OR
The party thank...

Answer
: As party is a collective noun, it is usually taken as plural and not singular noun.

So, it should be "The party thank..."

If based on your logic, let's say we change "The party" to "The parties", which is a plural, does that mean it would read as "The parties thanks"...