• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Workers Party, Puppets/Cowards or the People's party?

psy83

Re: A Brain Job

After reading some of your postings, I have a feeling that you are employed by PAP to do some psychological warfare to confuse anti-PAP and Freedom fighters. What Singaporeans wanted has got nothing to do with PAP. PAP is hijacking everyone to let you think that's what they want.

This guy sound very dodgy and its like he is trying to play some psychology warfare with us.
Brocoli OWN UP ARE YOU A PAP IB?

psy83

Here is simple example which 90% of Singaporeans have no clue.

When Chiam became an MP, he proposed and demanded that Education be made compulsory. Until then Ah Huat and Muthu did not have to send their kids to schools and Ahmad's entire family never went past Primary 3.

Suddenly the PAP realised that they are going to look silly and as the cabinet were all OMS except for one clown, they rushed thru the legislation.

If Miss Rin Tin Tin made the suggestion, it will be all over the press, mail drops will annouce it , TV interviews will be scheduled and they will call her Mother Theresa.

By the vary presence, things will begin to happen but the press will not tell you that. So you back home and think the opposition in parliament is useless.

No PAP member wants to have his name in the Hansard opposing compulsory education. Would you ?

Understand, There is still this psychology warfare that the media/government is playing with us... But this are Issues that has been raised and then Agree upon by the Ruiling, What if there is something that needs pressing but the PAP doesnt agree to it? How would the masses know about, if a Party decides to play it cautious and softly with regards to their future? So can we say that its more for their own agenda then for the people? It might just be agree upon because Chiam brought forward a very important issue and the country pushing towards being a 1st world would have seen it has something necessary to bring forth the society.

For me, I guess that Dr.Chee had very good intentions but he failed miserably presenting himself. He allowed the media to play him as a psycho.

Annoyed

Apologies, but could you enlighten me? How does compulsory education contradict private school education - which appears to be what you are saying?

As far as I am aware, compulsory education only mandates that a child must receive X years of education; it doesn't say that those years of education must be undertaken at a state school. Von Hayek himself was a proponent of compulsory education; the only difference lay in his support of a private school system to prevent government monopoly over the provision and content of education.

I oppose compulsory education...

i am for education vouchers and private schools in the Milton Friedman, von Hayek tradition

some of WP positions are too socialist for my digestion.... but for the sake of 2 party system ... have to sacrifice principles and still sarport them

brocoli

After reading some of your postings, I have a feeling that you are employed by PAP to do some psychological warfare to confuse anti-PAP and Freedom fighters. What Singaporeans wanted has got nothing to do with PAP. PAP is hijacking everyone to let you think that's what they want.

This guy sound very dodgy and its like he is trying to play some psychology warfare with us.
Brocoli OWN UP ARE YOU A PAP IB?

here are 2 prime example of delusional psychos,,,, what anti-PAP and Freedom fighters are yoiu toking about ? we have psy83 here ininuating WP are Puppets/Cowards and wayang party and promoting SDP indirectly.,,,,,

anti-PAP and Freedom fighters indeed?? 2 of you are just lao ah pek who dunno what the hell singaporeans want...
all keyboard warriors talking as if you are professional revolutionary,,,,

psychology warfare??? i LAMO, ROFL!! if PAP really employed people to do psychology warfare in this low tracffic forum then i worry for them....
some people have no sense of proprotion....thinking they are anti-PAP and Freedom fighters, yet condeming the only opposition party who sacrificed their time, effort, career to be full time MPs as Puppets/Cowards .... who are the real PAP IBs indeed...

What Singaporeans wanted has got nothing to do with human rights. SDP is hijacking everyone to let you think that's what they want.

and its doin such a failed job converting a few mindless numb skulls ...

brocoli

Apologies, but could you enlighten me? How does compulsory education contradict private school education - which appears to be what you are saying?

As far as I am aware, compulsory education only mandates that a child must receive X years of education; it doesn't say that those years of education must be undertaken at a state school. Von Hayek himself was a proponent of compulsory education; the only difference lay in his support of a private education system to prevent government monopoly over the provision and content of education.

you think too much ....

did i say compulsory education contradict private school education ?? i just say i support 1 and oppose another ....

anyway i oppose compulsory education for practical purpose ....

education is wasted on some .....those chao ah bengs, chao ah lians...

without compulsory education, we will have a ready pool of cheap labour and no need FTs liao

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
anyway i oppose compulsory education for practical purpose ....

education is wasted on some .....those chao ah bengs, chao ah lians...

without compulsory education, we will have a ready pool of cheap labour and no need FTs liao

Wow... we are looking at someone so..............

yellowarse

Brocoli is part of the ISD IB lah. Ignore him.

@rmadill0

I was previously an anti-PAP who will just vote for any monkey under opposition flag contesting in my constituency.

However, since this GE2011, I am starting to pay more attention to each and every of the opposition parties and I really have to say, WP impressed me a lot. Firstly, they get in good candidates, with SDP probably coming close second. Secondly, they really work their socks off on the ground. They know that Internet appeals to the youngsters but nothing beats a sincere handshake and a casual chat with the residents in the ward you are going to contest. Internet has better out-reach but it lacks the human touch. Thirdly, I think they get their strategy right during the campaigning. They appeal to the masses on livelihood issues, jobs, education, etc and offered to be a co-driver in the Parliament which I think is a master-stroke.

Every Singaporean with a sensible mind will know that it is impossible for any opposition to bring down PAP from power. WP plays to that mindset, stating from the onset that they want to be the co-driver who will make sure that the PAP government will do the right things for Singaporeans. That I believe, connects more with the voters, who might feel that yes that's realistically what an Opposition can do for me now and let me help them achieve that.

I have nothing against SDP but to be very truthful, I will never vote for Dr. Chee even if he is eligible to contest in my constituency. In fact, I will probably void my vote if he is to lead a team in my GRC. I will never forgive him for what he did to CST, probably the opposition leader whom I have the greatest respect for, alongside with JBJ.

CannonFairy

If we look at Parties as a whole, WP & SDP's political ideals are constant. SPP and NSP doesn't have any constant or uniform goals.

wwabbit

If we look at Parties as a whole, WP & SDP's political ideals are constant. SPP and NSP doesn't have any constant or uniform goals.

The parties ideals were as constant as their Secretary-Generals. JBJ's WP had different ideals from LTK's WP. CSJ's ideals had different ideals from CST's SDP. SPP's ideals depended on whether they were in or out of SDA. NSP.... is a collection of individuals with different ideals who couldn't work things out with another party.

The fatal blow did not come from the PAP. It came from the fall-out over Chiam' sacking and the ruckus that followed. Ling and company inluding some shady characters from WP who moved over to SDP were agitating to get rid of Chiam. They wanted Chiam out and lacking political acumen, Chee allowed himself to be manipulated.

The uncles and aunties of HDBland being predominantly Asians never forgave him for it. This was further compounded when Chiam retained his seat and Ling began talking thrash in Parliament. Chee had painted himself in a corner and has never been able to come out from that corner. He should have resigned from the Party and started his own. The party was started from scratch by Chiam unlike WP where the founders had moved on and when LTK took over from JBJ there was heat but it did Not affect the voters.

Thus my initial comment that Chee is not ready for politics but seems more comfortable with civil libertarian and Matters that NGOs like to sink their teeth in.

The ideal approach is to back Chee against the PAP 100% but chose a more appropriate party for parliament. VW is the exception.

For me, I guess that Dr.Chee had very good intentions but he failed miserably presenting himself. He allowed the media to play him as a psycho.

yellowarse

Ling and company inluding some shady characters from WP who moved over to SDP were agitating to get rid of Chiam. They wanted Chiam out and lacking political acumen, Chee allowed himself to be manipulated.

Ling and Cheo were the prime instigators. They couldn't swallow Chiam's brook-no-dissent leadership style and thought that with the newbie Chee at the helm he would be under their thumbs.

The main difference between SDP's leadership ouster and WP's is that LTK had a proven track record record at the time, having held on to Hougang for 2 terms while JBJ's star was on the wane, though still a national hero. Chiam was seen to have been ousted by an ingrate protege though in truth Chee was merely a pawn in the game.

Perspective

Ling and Cheo were the prime instigators. They couldn't swallow Chiam's brook-no-dissent leadership style and thought that with the newbie Chee at the helm he would be under their thumbs.

The main difference between SDP's leadership ouster and WP's is that LTK had a proven track record record at the time, having held on to Hougang for 2 terms while JBJ's star was on the wane, though still a national hero. Chiam was seen to have been ousted by an ingrate protege though in truth Chee was merely a pawn in the game.

It's like talking about two different religions. A religion logically only teaches one to do good, unless you are an unbashed cult, hence on the surface some would claim all religions are the same, but the fundamentals of all are different.

Similarly, the SDP case and WP case are different, other than the "ouster". One such difference was what you higlighted - the public standing of Chiam, Chee, Low, JBJ.

Others:
2) The extent to which the involved parties blew it up was different in terms of magnitude and length of time, so the media had different amount of delicious game meat.
3) The first resigned as leader and sacked from party. The second resigned from both. This can make a lot of difference. For the second case, it becomes technically no ouster.
4) The people behind the "ouster" (save for one) and the "ousted" were not in Parliament to slug it out.
5) ...
There are others more.

Remember there is not just the 2 cases. Socialist Front chairman was also ousted, but who cared.

3_M

Another thing is... Why is DR.Chee put in such bad light? I have lots of respect for this guy and see him as someone who speaks out against the establishment aggressively just like JBJ, But why has the public been led to believe he is a psycho or good for nothing? He doesnt seem to be painted well in the Opposition... In-fact to me i see Dr.Chee as being the Top opposition of Today and the people that surrounds him are all very intelligent and people who got balls to voice out..

If SDP uses the Internet well but why arent they the Opposition supporters choice? How did W.p get ahead of the game? Was Propaganda by the PAP part of it? To let opposition support go to W.p instead of SDP cos PAP knows that W.p would not seriously harm them and infact would not harm them and can be used as Puppets?

Friend, politics ain't beanbag. Unfair treatment is not the issue. Difference here is WP was smart enough not to give PAP the chance to engage in a smear campaign whilst CSJ gave PAP the opportunity. It stupid for PAP not to capitalise on making their opponents look bad vice versa.

As for the second point, u have to look into the electorate make-up. We are often mistaken into believing that 40% who voted for opposition are homogeneously die hard opposition supporters. My estimate on the die hard (base on PE result) is between 25%-30% while 10%-15% from the middle ground. With such a low support base, opposition parties hardly have much room to go on a confrontational mode if they are serious about winning. Essentially by going on a extreme, SDP was only speaking to the diehard who will vote for anything but PAP. The message wasn't passed down to the middle ground and it no surprise that the score was around the region on 35%.

When is comes to a 3 corner fight between 2 oppositions parties and PAP. My consideration is never going to be who is "more opposition" than the other but who have a perceived higher chance of beating PAP. I suppose most diehard opposition voters will be as pragmatic.

WP Warrior

I remembered clearly that about 1yr before the G.E, When most Singaporeans wasnt interested in Politics yet, The worker's party was known to be Puppets of the PAP.. The pap seems to like them and didnt bother them, I noticed that they rarely spoke up against the Establishment or for the People other then 1 or 2 sentence in Parliament.

Fast forward today.. We have people like Rasemth being linked to them... I have yet to see them speak out or change polices.. In-fact all the change within the PAP policies was fueled by the People itself(Online Voice) not by the W.P voicing out. So whats the big deal that W.p has more man in Parliament when it has not come up with anything? W.p isnt the same as during the Time of JbJ or Marshall... Sylvia lim has also turn a blind eye and didnt say anything/was cool with PAP bulling tactics on Opposition.. She even did that once in-front of Chee and JBJ..

So if the changes was fueled by Online voice and not because of the W.P being in power...What use are the W.p in parliament?

What puppets are you talking about? WP won. Your useless SDP and NSP and all the other mosquito parties lost - BIG TIME! Time to face reality and don't try to bring us down to the level of that SDP mad dog and useless NSP GMS or Nicole Seah, RP or whatever rubbish opposition parties they claim to be.

See whether your other opposition parties can attract tens of thousands of voters like WP has done before you spew nonsense about WP.

WP Warrior

SDP IBs should just STFU....

look at teo soh lung... always harping on ISA?.... who give a fark ? she just using the residents for her own personal agenda....
looking back now... thinks it better to have adulterer Jaslyn as candidate than her ,,,
and its better to have disGraceFU in parliament than SDP

when was the last time james gomez interact with a residents??? ALjunied 2006, i believe....

I agree with you. SDP is a party for losers. There's a reason why LTK call that Chee guy a "mad dog". Bark a lot but can't even get a seat in Parliament. Look at how WP quietly go about winning the support of Singaporeans without barking like a mad dog or having stupid girls like Nicole Seah cry and wayang on stage. Stupid girl led by a stupid arrogant idiot call GMS. The faster these mosquitoes parties and mad dogs disappear the better it is for opposition politics.

Conqueror

At Least, Chee Is A Good Fighter

csj.jpg

Feb 1999 : Dr Chee Soon Juan was jailed twice for giving two speeches at Raffles Place without a licence. For both convictions he was fined a total of $3,900 but chose instead to serve two prison terms of seven and 12 days respectively. Chee's colleague, Wong Hong Toy, was also imprisoned for 12 days after refusing to pay a fine for adjusting the microphone and the volume of the speaker. Amnesty International named both men prisoners of conscience.

If you were a 'sifu' (teacher) of a martial art school and you have to choose one among two students to be trained as a master, will you pick the one that is a coward who will not not want to fight even if the cause is righteous or the one that is gutsy but hotheaded ?

Chee is a good fighter, I like him. Educated people tend to join his party. That speaks volume too. Nicole is not a good politician though she has the charisma to lure people to listen to her.

WP Warrior

JBJ is another useless mad dog. He is a theatrical Indian version of CSJ and WP would have never progress with him at the helm of with him around. LTK made the right decision in kicking this old Indian fool out. The political fortunes of WP would have stagnated and deteriorate if this old Indian fool had been allowed to remain SG of WP.