• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Woman who chop seats with tissue says she following 'Culture'

brandon66

Needless to say, she kenna flammed :p

The woman who was allegedly seen placing packets of tissue papers at a table to reserve a table at the busy Lau Pa Sat says she was just following the local practice, and claims she was not rude to the Caucasians who were seen to move away subsequently.

Earlier, melting_eskimo expressed shock at her behaviour.

In an email to STOMP, the woman says:

"I would like to clarify on the matter of using tissue to chope seats. I agree with melting_eskimo that putting a tissue pack to chope for seats is not a gracious act.

"However, it is the lunch time culture here, I'm just one of the many who follows this culture.

" I did nothing to chase them off! Don't jump into conclusion that by talking and explaining the situation to them would mean that I am chasing them off!

"Did he actually hear what was being conversed to the two Caucasians?

"It was their gentlemanly act to give up the seat to me when I can't find a table to shift. "

The woman claims that she was in fact, complimenting their gracious act, rather than looking 'victorious', as what melting_eskimo says.

STOMP forwarded her comments to the original contributor, who in turns says:

"The story was recounted based on how it looked like to a whole table of people sitting a distance, but a clear distance away. Looking around, it was also observed that the incident was seen by more than a few people around.
"The larger picture is about the practice of using tissue packs to reserve seats, which is inconsiderate, whether it is widely practised or not."

Lestat

In the first place, there is NO SUCH CULTURE about using tissue papers to reserve seats in the first place!

What's happening? Sinkie IDIOTS using their arse to think and function again?

SamuelStalin

And she would be foul-mouthed because its the local barbaric culture to be so too.

Look at her, she's as ugly as fuck. Imagining sticking yours in a woman like that. Fuck me no!

Needless to say, she kenna flammed :p

The woman who was allegedly seen placing packets of tissue papers at a table to reserve a table at the busy Lau Pa Sat says she was just following the local practice, and claims she was not rude to the Caucasians who were seen to move away subsequently.

Earlier, melting_eskimo expressed shock at her behaviour.

In an email to STOMP, the woman says:

"I would like to clarify on the matter of using tissue to chope seats. I agree with melting_eskimo that putting a tissue pack to chope for seats is not a gracious act.

"However, it is the lunch time culture here, I'm just one of the many who follows this culture.

" I did nothing to chase them off! Don't jump into conclusion that by talking and explaining the situation to them would mean that I am chasing them off!

"Did he actually hear what was being conversed to the two Caucasians?

"It was their gentlemanly act to give up the seat to me when I can't find a table to shift. "

The woman claims that she was in fact, complimenting their gracious act, rather than looking 'victorious', as what melting_eskimo says.

STOMP forwarded her comments to the original contributor, who in turns says:

"The story was recounted based on how it looked like to a whole table of people sitting a distance, but a clear distance away. Looking around, it was also observed that the incident was seen by more than a few people around.
"The larger picture is about the practice of using tissue packs to reserve seats, which is inconsiderate, whether it is widely practised or not."

SamuelStalin

Ugliness I think, must also be the local culture. Look around you. Most Sporns are fugly whether they are young or old, male or female.

Next time when you walk past some tables, you just take away the tissues, Its free.

... The woman who was allegedly seen placing packets of tissue papers at a table to reserve a table at the busy Lau Pa Sat says she was just following the local practice, and claims she was not rude to the Caucasians who were seen to move away subsequently. ...
so, she slander u, har? ...

sue her la ... tiz oso local practice wat, no? ...

Though I don't practise it, I don't think that there's anything ungracious about choping seats with a pack of tissue paper or anything else. Think about it, where's the logic in buying your food first, then find a seat later, especially in crowded areas during lunch hours? What if you bought a bowl of hot noodle soup, only to look in vain for a seat the next half hour? Commonsense will tell you need to have a seat first before you buy the dish. People who chope seats are not doing it out of selfishness or ungraciousness; it's out of necessity.

The real ungracious people are those who hog on to seats for chit chats or wireless internet surfing or paperworks etc. after they've finished their meals during peak hours when others are waiting for seats. And those who refuse to share table, for example, 3 in a group at table with 5 seats, refusing to let another join the table.

In the days of past, hawker stalls provide their own tables and seats, and demand that you patronise them to be eligible to sit at their tables. A law was passed to ban this practice so that customers can sit anywhere within the hawker centre. There was a mini revolt amongst stallholders who protested by demanding equal contribution to number of tables and chairs regardless of business volumes.

Cutting the story short, nowadays, hawker centres and food courts centrally provide the tables and seats, so that customers can sit anywhere regardless of which stall they patronise. The problem now is with customers who refuse to or argue with or sulk at sharing table with vacant seat with others, especially those eating alone and have difficult choping or finding seats. Some even claim that the seat is occupied when it's not. These are the ungracious and disgraceful lot, not those who reserve the seats, then go buy their foods; they're bona fide users of the seats.

Roy McFarland

In the first place, there is NO SUCH CULTURE about using tissue papers to reserve seats in the first place!

What's happening? Sinkie IDIOTS using their arse to think and function again?

You're kidding right? Of course there is a culture here about reserving tables at food courts or hawker centres with a tissue. Don't get me wrong. I'm tottally disgusted with this "cultural practice" What's even more disgusting is the woman's response that she knows it's wrong but since a lot of others do it, its OK!!

Though I don't practise it, I don't think that there's anything ungracious about choping seats with a pack of tissue paper or anything else.

I would suggest passing a law to effect change. No reserving of seats. It will also force food court operators to make the necessary adjustments.

As you pointed out, it took a law to force free seating at hawker centre where hawkers cannot reserve seats in front of their stalls. The law should also state that table sharing must be allowed.

Customers will eventuallly modify their behaviour. As most of these are run by private operators, the law can specify those that are deemed to be "food courts"

Those not happy can jolly well make reservations at their favourite restaurants. If we can't learnt to be civil, the law has to step in.

troubledtimes

I agree with ramseth. I dont shotgun seats myself, but the whole tissue paper thing is significantly more civilised than some of the other practices i encountered across the world. Ever seen anyone left their babies on the macdonalds table to reserve the seats?

visitor

The 'culture' only applies to those ugly Singaporeans who always think they are angels and everyone is wrong except themselves.

Ah Guan

"Culture' is the wrong word to use. It's more like the 'local practice'.

It is actually an example of sinkaporeans thinking of the box and practising self-organisation in an environment where resources are limited. It works because sinkies respect queues and the first-come-first-serve rule. Or would people prefer another PAP-style 'highest bidder' solution to eat at hawker centers?

Until there is another viable system, tissue reservation is the way for now.

[Btw, I don't practise this method because I don't work in sinkie CBD but I will respect it if i'm there]

i_am_belle

if no reservation of seats using tissue paper is allowed, the mee soup, yong tau foo, & ban mian stalls will be the first to shut ... chicken rice, vege rice still ok ... bcos ppl will not risk buying a soup lunch and then find there are no seats ... that'll be hell !

i put the blame solely on the government for overcrowding the nation ! other countries not so crowded, so there is no need for such a practice ... HK cafes will sit the patrons ... 1st world places (adelaide, vancouver) not crowded ...

why ppl blame patrons, hawkers ? can't u see its the govt's fault ?

actually it very easy to stop this "chop" seats with tissue nonsense. All that has to do is to get rid of "self service". Go back to the old school that customers just order the food and the stall assistant will bring the food to customers waiting at their respective table.

Really dislike this self service crap. pay money to do chore!!! The only self service eatery i will patronise is burger king.

Also dun understand why all those females like to go to lunch in big group yet cannot have one person stay behind at the table while the rest go order their food.

funglung

actually it very easy to stop this "chop" seats with tissue nonsense. All that has to do is to get rid of "self service". Go back to the old school that customers just order the food and the stall assistant will bring the food to customers waiting at their respective table.

Really dislike this self service crap. pay money to do chore!!! The only self service eatery i will patronise is burger king.

Also dun understand why all those females like to go to lunch in big group yet cannot have one person stay behind at the table while the rest go order their food.

But LKY got rid of this!

LKY so love screwing Sinkies that LKY got hawkers to screw Sinkies as well.
Instead of hawkers paying stall assistants, LKY jacked up rentals so hawkers got to pay LKY instead

So Sinkies got to be hawker assistants to get food themselves in what is called 'self service'

Sinkies no balls to kick out LKY end up having to 'chop' seats with tissue paper and have to work as hawker assistants in serving their own food

Only happen in Singapore, the land of Lee Kuan Yew

Sinkies only getting what they deserve

not more

not less