• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why the new MDA rules won't hurt the PAP

CPT (NS) BRANDON

I see people claiming that the new MDA licensing rules will create a furore similar to the Population White Paper.

Here's why it will not happen:

1) The majority of Singaporeans feel that issues like media freedom (especially internet media freedom) has got no direct link with their day-to-day lives. Overpopulation is something you can feel every day when you experience traffic jams, crowded MRTs and jam-packed shopping malls. When you go out for a meal and the service staff is from the Philippines or China, it is something very obvious that you can see. With regards to media freedom, people already more or less know and accept that the Singapore media is censored and government-controlled. It's not an issue they care about, just like they don't care about issues like the death penalty, or gay marriages, or reforming the judicial system.

2) The majority of Singaporeans do not even rely on the internet for news. They are quite happy reading ST and watching CNA.

3) The people who are complaining are the 'civil society activists' group. You will see people like M Ravi, Joshua Chiang, Andrew Loh, Choo Zheng Xi, Rachel Zeng, Kirsten Han etc making a lot of noise. As far as politicians are concerned, only the liberal ideologues like Dr Chee, Dr Wijeysingha, James Gomez and Ravi Philemon will publicly oppose.. and maybe some of the NSP folks like Nicole Seah or Hazel Poa. You will not hear any of the Workers Party MPs raising this issue at all, and even if they do, it will be with the finer technical details of implementation (e.g. asking for clarifications of safeguards) and not with the law itself.

4) Much of the unhappiness on the internet is based on the fact that there was no Parliament debate before introducing this law. However, most Singaporeans do not realise the role of Parliament in the governance of the country, at least not its legislative function. Most people assume that their MP's job is to look after their estate and ensure that their lifts are upgraded and playgrounds are well-maintained. The average Singaporean does not understand the roles and functions of the legislative, executive and judicial branches of government.

I am not trying to support the new MDA rules, nor am I saying they are right. I am just saying they don't matter to most people. So this issue is going to die down rather quickly. The liberal intelligentsia community has never really been able to influence the masses, certainly not in the manner that the WP and their 'grassroots' politicians have been able to do.

It does say something about the quality of our voters and our citizens (in terms of their level of awareness and knowledge) -- but then again, a third world electorate deserves a third world government, wouldn't you agree??? Maybe LKY was right when he said that Singaporeans need to be trained like dogs, and have their personal lives scrutinised. Sure, he wanted the PAP to be all-powerful, but perhaps he also felt that the people were too stupid to be governed any other way?

steffychun

I see people claiming that the new MDA licensing rules will create a furore similar to the Population White Paper.

1) The majority of Singaporeans feel that issues like media freedom (especially internet media freedom) has got no direct link with their day-to-day lives. Overpopulation is something you can feel every day when you experience traffic jams, crowded MRTs and jam-packed shopping malls. When you go out for a meal and the service staff is from the Philippines or China, it is something very obvious that you can see. With regards to media freedom, people already more or less know and accept that the Singapore media is censored and government-controlled. It's not an issue they care about, just like they don't care about issues like the death penalty, or gay marriages, or reforming the judicial system.

2) The majority of Singaporeans do not even rely on the internet for news. They are quite happy reading ST and watching CNA.

3) The people who are complaining are the 'civil society activists' group. You will see people like M Ravi, Joshua Chiang, Andrew Loh, Choo Zheng Xi, Rachel Zeng, Kirsten Han etc making a lot of noise. As far as politicians are concerned, only the liberal ideologues like Dr Chee, Dr Wijeysingha, James Gomez and Ravi Philemon will publicly oppose.. and maybe some of the NSP folks like Nicole Seah or Hazel Poa. You will not hear any of the Workers Party MPs raising this issue at all, and even if they do, it will be with the finer technical details of implementation (e.g. asking for clarifications of safeguards) and not with the law itself.

4) Much of the unhappiness on the internet is based on the fact that there was no Parliament debate before introducing this law. However, most Singaporeans do not realise the role of Parliament in the governance of the country, at least not its legislative function. Most people assume that their MP's job is to look after their estate and ensure that their lifts are upgraded and playgrounds are well-maintained. The average Singaporean does not understand the roles and functions of the legislative, executive and judicial branches of government.

I am not trying to support the new MDA rules, nor am I saying they are right. I am just saying they don't matter to most people. So this issue is going to die down rather quickly. The liberal intelligentsia community has never really been able to influence the masses, certainly not in the manner that the WP and their 'grassroots' politicians have been able to do.

It does say something about the quality of our voters and our citizens (in terms of their level of awareness and knowledge) -- but then again, a third world electorate deserves a third world government, wouldn't you agree??? Maybe LKY was right when he said that Singaporeans need to be trained like dogs, and have their personal lives scrutinised. Sure, he wanted the PAP to be all-powerful, but perhaps he also felt that the people were too stupid to be governed any other way?

People will still read what they and their grandfathers read decades ago.

i think you have misunderstood the voters now...

LKY design a system to make sinkies behave like dogs so he can trained them to listen to him and be obedient to him on whatever he wants.

If LKY got balls, then teach the young what is called political and constitutional rights in school. Instill the freedom of speech and voice out the opinion freely.

Knn, LKY purposely create this system to make sinkie a serf and then claim that people behave like that themselves and need to be ordered and trained......wake up sinkies... !!!! and fuck you LKY!!!

PrinceCharming

I agree with your analysis. That's why come GE 2016 the opposition should focus on issues such as overpopulation, high costs of living, frequent train breakdowns, expensive healthcare, high unemployment rate among local PMETs.

Population issue will be enough to make sinkees kick out the PAP.

Sinkees can relate to that - just look around and they can see they are the minority, they know people who are laid off, replaced by a Pinoy, Indian or Ah Tiong, they see Pinoy, Indians and Ah Tiongs bullying sinkees.

Fight the election on one issue. PAP mati.

Comes 2015 Jan and PAP still thinks sinkees are upset, expect tougher measures to curb entry of foreigners. Don't trust the PAP. Tell them that you want to see 2 million foreigners expel and the door closed for new foreigners before you would consider voting for them. And those new sinkees who have not had citizenship for 5 years will be stripped of their citizenship and expelled.

CPT (NS) BRANDON

i think you have misunderstood the voters now...

LKY design a system to make sinkies behave like dogs so he can trained them to listen to him and be obedient to him on whatever he wants.

If LKY got balls, then teach the young what is called political and constitutional rights in school. Instill the freedom of speech and voice out the opinion freely.

Knn, LKY purposely create this system to make sinkie a serf and then claim that people behave like that themselves and need to be ordered and trained......wake up sinkies... !!!! and fuck you LKY!!!

Don't you see? If the PAP were to teach the youths about political and constitutional rights in school, it would be a suicidal act! So why in the world would they do that?

The PAP systematically de-politicised the country decades ago. Now, the majority of youths do not understand what the constitution is. They do not understand the difference between Parliament, government and the courts. They do not understand, for example, that the police cannot decide to send a person to jail -- that decision is for the courts to make, and not the police.

Also, they do not understand that the main job of an MP is to propose and debate legislation in Parliament -- most Singaporeans simply assume that their MP is there to manage their town council, upgrade their lifts, dispose of their rubbish and build covered walkways.

The WP understands that Singaporeans are politically ignorant, which is why they have chosen to premise their own politics on purely municipal / technocratic issues. You will never see a WP MP speaking up about freedom of speech, constitutional rights, media freedom, and so on. When LTK criticises the media, he just says the reporters choose unflattering pictures of him to put on the front page. He does not take a strong stance with regards to the need for media freedom. The SDP, NSP etc are the ones making these noises, but no one listens to them.

The conclusion??

The electorate is NOT READY for true plural politics, and they are NOT READY to start thinking about the fundamentals of our system, our country, and our structures. In fact, they would rather not think. The problem with Singaporeans is that everyone likes to ask HOW, but no one ever asks WHY.

So can you blame the PAP for the kind of politics that they practice? Can you blame the WP? They are simply giving the people what the people themselves want.

The liberal ideologues like Dr Chee, Dr Wijeysingha and all the other 'civil society activists' -- they are the ones who often debate the more intellectual and abstract concepts, but they are roundly ignored. Mind you, it is not the PAP that ignores them, it is the people.

That is why in Singapore politics, the narratives will always be about so-called "bread and butter", never about anything remotely intellectual or ideological. In fact, the PAP has no core ideology and neither does the WP. "Serving the people's needs" or "improving people's lives" is NOT core ideology because EVERY SINGLE politician ought to take it for granted; it's like saying a doctor's core ideology is to treat sick patients.

LKY once said that Singaporeans are culturally anaemic. Strong and controversial words, but maybe he had a point??

CPT (NS) BRANDON

I agree with your analysis. That's why come GE 2016 the opposition should focus on issues such as overpopulation, high costs of living, frequent train breakdowns, expensive healthcare, high unemployment rate among local PMETs.

Yes, I am sure they will do so, since that is the ONLY way to get the masses to listen to you.

But that is part of the problem, isn't it? How is our society supposed to mature when this kind of stuff is all that we talk about?

Don't people try to look beyond these issues, and to look at the SYSTEMIC CAUSES of such issues?

Singapore has been turned into a technocratic/administrative state that looks only at technical solutions without looking at the holistic picture.

Flats too expensive? Build more. MRT breaking down? Sack the CEO and invest in rail upgrading. Too many foreigners? Impose a stricter set of requirements for SP and EP applicants. It isn't that simple.

If a patient suffers from frequent high blood pressure problems, the doctor should do more than simply give him high blood pressure pills. He should also advise the patient to exercise more, to eat more healthily, and to regulate his lifestyle so as to manage his stress levels. Otherwise, the high blood pressure issue will never really be solved, and moreover, more and more issues (e.g. high cholesterol, heart problems, obesity) will start to surface.

steffychun

Don't you see? If the PAP were to teach the youths about political and constitutional rights in school, it would be a suicidal act! So why in the world would they do that?

The PAP systematically de-politicised the country decades ago. Now, the majority of youths do not understand what the constitution is. They do not understand the difference between Parliament, government and the courts. They do not understand, for example, that the police cannot decide to send a person to jail -- that decision is for the courts to make, and not the police.

Also, they do not understand that the main job of an MP is to propose and debate legislation in Parliament -- most Singaporeans simply assume that their MP is there to manage their town council, upgrade their lifts, dispose of their rubbish and build covered walkways.

The WP understands that Singaporeans are politically ignorant, which is why they have chosen to premise their own politics on purely municipal / technocratic issues. You will never see a WP MP speaking up about freedom of speech, constitutional rights, media freedom, and so on. When LTK criticises the media, he just says the reporters choose unflattering pictures of him to put on the front page. He does not take a strong stance with regards to the need for media freedom. The SDP, NSP etc are the ones making these noises, but no one listens to them.

The conclusion??

The electorate is NOT READY for true plural politics, and they are NOT READY to start thinking about the fundamentals of our system, our country, and our structures. In fact, they would rather not think. The problem with Singaporeans is that everyone likes to ask HOW, but no one ever asks WHY.

So can you blame the PAP for the kind of politics that they practice? Can you blame the WP? They are simply giving the people what the people themselves want.

The liberal ideologues like Dr Chee, Dr Wijeysingha and all the other 'civil society activists' -- they are the ones who often debate the more intellectual and abstract concepts, but they are roundly ignored. Mind you, it is not the PAP that ignores them, it is the people.

That is why in Singapore politics, the narratives will always be about so-called "bread and butter", never about anything remotely intellectual or ideological. In fact, the PAP has no core ideology and neither does the WP. "Serving the people's needs" or "improving people's lives" is NOT core ideology because EVERY SINGLE politician ought to take it for granted; it's like saying a doctor's core ideology is to treat sick patients.

LKY once said that Singaporeans are culturally anaemic. Strong and controversial words, but maybe he had a point??

What happens if the next generation doesnt want to listen to LKY?

Clone

Please lah so far I've never seen the regime puting a foot wrong.

Governing in perpetuity is a distinct possibility.

CPT (NS) BRANDON

What happens if the next generation doesnt want to listen to LKY?

Well then they need to mature intellectually first.

I have travelled to more than 70 countries and I have always been perplexed when I make comparisons to Singapore. In supposedly 'third world' countries like Syria, Iran, Ethiopia, Venezuela etc (all of which I have visited), the average man on the street may have little to no education, but he has beliefs. He knows his rights. He knows how his country is run and is able to articulate what he likes and dislikes. He is able to quote literature, history, etc.

Once, I was in rural China, in a place where the average income level is maybe 1,000 yuan per month. And the peasants there could talk to me at length about the Cultural Revolution, about the KMT era, about the literary scholars and poets during the Qing Dynasty, and carry out a comparative analysis with the current administration of the CCP.

In Singapore, no one has any initiative of any sort, and the level of ignorance and apathy is simply jarring. It's not the PAP's fault for telling us what to do, when in the first place we are dying to be told what to do because we refuse to think for ourselves!!

For instance, when you board a taxi in Singapore and say "60 Collyer Quay", you will find that the taxi driver asks you for turn-by-turn directions. It's not just about whether you want to take the PIE or AYE. Its literally "Mister, do you want to turn left or right" every single time there is a traffic junction. He works purely with his hands, and not with his brains. The same applies for many PMETs in their office jobs, they want turn-by-turn directions.

I have taken taxis in cities such as Tehran, Colombo, Istanbul, Krakow, Zagreb, Cebu, Split, Kazan, etc which are alot less developed than Singapore -- and I have NEVER had this problem. I was just in Mersing last month, a small town in Malaysia, and the taxi drivers knew exactly where to go. And if they didn't know, they would FIND OUT!

mscitw

Basically Peasant Brandon is saying local Asiatic peasants are crass low brows and will not 'cry father and cry mother' over Ruler Loong's latest 'baboonic' attempts to regulate the Internet.

The Arty Farty bozos, usually the Jane Austen fans, bapoks and other wannabes will be braying for justice but due to their high and mighty England language, find no supporters among the Asiatics.

Hate to say it, but probably true. This is the main reason why the Brits wrote the Magna Carta around 1200 while the Chinks only removed the Manchu despot in 1911.

CPT (NS) BRANDON

Basically Peasant Brandon is saying local Asiatic peasants are crass low brows and will not 'cry father and cry mother' over Ruler Loong's latest 'baboonic' attempts to regulate the Internet.

The Arty Farty bozos, usually the Jane Austen fans, bapoks and other wannabes will be braying for justice but due to their high and mighty England language, find no supporters among the Asiatics.

Hate to say it, but probably true. This is the main reason why the Brits wrote the Magna Carta around 1200 while the Chinks only removed the Manchu despot in 1911.

Yes, I guess you summarised my argument in a way I couldn't possibly have!

I do not think it is a Chinese thing, however. I think it is just the Singaporean psyche -- part nature, part nurture. Of course social conditioning plays a role. But look at Malaysia, and how people are becoming more and more politically aware. Not happening in Singapore. I wonder why, when the two countries share very similar culture and demographics?

Sinkieland may be more advanced than our neighbors up North..

But when it comes to voting time, our neighbors are more politically savvy than daft Sinkies..