• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Thai soldiers got captured

Wait till you see those sinkies ones from saf, you will realised that the Thai ones are super tough.

Thai Army is reverse from SAF. SAF hires some regulars and enlists lots of NSmen reservists. NSmen reservists are frontline fighters in case of civil or even overseas war deployments.

I've heard one NS Captain by the surname of Goh who's preparing to migrate to HK if things go wrong.

Thai Army has NS too. But their NSmen are just there for training a couple years and that's it. No reservist. They don't want them around too long. It's just part of Thai manhood ritual to go monkhood awhile and go army awhile, unless he wants to be a regular monk or a regular solidier, then that's another commitment altogether.

Thailand has reserve units, but not NSmen reserve units. These are ex-regular reserve units.

any army having to endure such hardline protests has to be tough. I think our SAF might collapse at the sheer enormity of the protesters. :smile:

That's (apologies to say so) SAF NS mentality. Domestic protests are routine for Thai soldiers for decades, even centuries. There's nothing tough for them. These are men who willingly signed up to be trained and prepared to fight Myanmar, Cambodia and Vietnam armies.

SAF won't be useful in a mass domestic protest like that. LKY can keep dreaming and kidding himself. The so-called call in the army in case of freak election? What's a freak election, even by his own definition? It's when PAP loses power in a GE.

If there're so many voters who vote against PAP until PAP loses power, who are most of the voters? The NSmen and their relatives. Would they vote for opposition then crush down opposition? Shoot at their own relatives and friends? I'm sure if that happens, even the generals and colonels will switch side and support the new government.

To me, LKY sounds fixatedly power addicted with this type of threat. He can remain in power as long as people vote for him. Nothing wrong with that. There's no such thing as freak just because he loses, and threatening violence if he loses is way out of line.

NoelVermillion

That's (apologies to say so) SAF NS mentality. Domestic protests are routine for Thai soldiers for decades, even centuries. There's nothing tough for them. These are men who willingly signed up to be trained and prepared to fight Myanmar, Cambodia and Vietnam armies.

SAF won't be useful in a mass domestic protest like that. LKY can keep dreaming and kidding himself. The so-called call in the army in case of freak election? What's a freak election, even by his own definition? It's when PAP loses power in a GE.

If there're so many voters who vote against PAP until PAP loses power, who are most of the voters? The NSmen and their relatives. Would they vote for opposition then crush down opposition? Shoot at their own relatives and friends? I'm sure if that happens, even the generals and colonels will switch side and support the new government.

To me, LKY sounds fixatedly power addicted with this type of threat. He can remain in power as long as people vote for him. Nothing wrong with that. There's no such thing as freak just because he loses, and threatening violence if he loses is way out of line.

during the 70s-80s, NS men in their free time will either polish boots or talk cock sing song with their bunkmates. The new 3G SAF generation, during free time will be playing PSP or listening to MP3 during freetime. I seriously think that the standard of discipline in SAF is really fucked up. Last time, you could only make a few calls during your BMT and you have to wait long queue for the public phone. Now, every night they can use handphones to call loved ones every night. I doubt this generation will even dare to pull the trigger when faced with protesters. Probably they will just abandon their arms and tanks.

As you have said, the Thai soldiers are all regulars and battle-hardened, thanks to their antagonistic neighbours Cambodia who often disturb them. Lest not forget, some Thais also participated in Vietnam War and these people are probably the generals now.

LKY does sound like a despot (and in some cases, do act like one) but I guess he was from the early 1900s generation, where such dictatorship with army are often common in countries.. And when he was PM, most ASEAN countries were under dictatorships. Vietnam, Philippines, Indonesia and Myanmar. So I do not fully fault him for his despot thinking but think he should adapt to the times.

Anyone who's been in Thailand awhile will know, Thai soldiers don't wear mass issued uniforms in sizes S, M or L. They wear individually custom tailored uniforms. They're prepared to die wearing it. That's the significance of custom tailoring.

PRC_ft

you think our ns men even dare to fire on people? :d

cheers to the same view. The thai army can be very brutal if they want to, but so far, they showed lots of restraints. The fact that they shook hands with red-shirts..

人民部队爱人民! ok?

taksinloong

AVN_DAYTHAIMAIN_102528g.jpg

LAW & ORDER LOSING GROUND: Anti-Government protesters attack a security guard at Parliament in Bangkok, Thailand. The protesters reportedly broke into the Parliament building and some of the legislators scaled a wall to escape them. Photo: AP

Anyone who's been in Thailand awhile will know, Thai soldiers don't wear mass issued uniforms in sizes S, M or L. They wear individually custom tailored uniforms. They're prepared to die wearing it. That's the significance of custom tailoring.

sinkie also prepare to die when they run 2.4km and they are forced to run it.

Can't understand. At age 18-22 NSF, run 2.4km can drop dead? What's the passing time? 9 or 10 minutes, yes? 2.4km is only 6 rounds stadium track. Can't do it, then might as well, as the saying goes, better off dead.

Sideswipe

every small incident in Singapore get magnified by us and media because we are a small and boring place with no news to report.
There are American Marines or Rangers who drop dead during physical training and their mass media have more exciting stuffs to report than this.

every small incident in Singapore get magnified by us and media because we are a small and boring place with no news to report.
There are American Marines or Rangers who drop dead during physical training and their mass media have more exciting stuffs to report than this.

Fair enough comment. A few of them are sure to drop dead anyway somehow, by law of numbers and mathematical averages.

moolightaffairs

i think most of us here miss the point. you think lky trust sinkies ns men, regulars or the scholars paper generals? he will bring in the Gurkhas to deal with all of you! if sinkies can unite, Gurkhas is not a prob as they can be out numbered.

allanlee

And they buy their own favourite brand of sidearms if they dun want to use the standard issue pistols. :p

allanlee

i think most of us here miss the point. you think lky trust sinkies ns men, regulars or the scholars paper generals? he will bring in the Gurkhas to deal with all of you! if sinkies can unite, Gurkhas is not a prob as they can be out numbered.

Those Goondukas in Mt Vernon?

Dun see them so up. :( ......... morale among them is so low that in the event of real trouble happening and they are expected to be in the frontline........ many are prepared to run AWOL. :mad:

Times have changed...... the present batch of goondukas are not like those dedicated and fearless gurkhas that we know twenty years ago.

allanlee

They remembered well what happened in southern Thailand in April 2004. About 200 Thai Muslim insurgents raided army camps at dawn and made off with a few hundred rifles and grenades. Of course, the Thai army pursued them, and cornered them in a mosque, no less. Before dinner time, most of them were dead and the Thai army paraded their bloody corpses on open street, inviting kins to come and claim. The mosque cleaners had lots of blood to mop up from the walls and floors that evening.

The south has always been different...... back in 1979 when my unit were training at Saraburi / Lopburi which was central part of Thailand....... our base was quite relaxed in terms of security....... but when we were attached to the southern Songkla naval base...... knn always on high alert and sometimes even kenna sleep in full battle order...... our base was reinforced and fully fortified and yet they still blanket the surrounding areas with landmines except for the main approach way....... that's how scared they are of their southern enemies.

Can't understand. At age 18-22 NSF, run 2.4km can drop dead? What's the passing time? 9 or 10 minutes, yes? 2.4km is only 6 rounds stadium track. Can't do it, then might as well, as the saying goes, better off dead.

u talking to the wrong guy.

that cb kia tonychat admitted he cannot pass IPPT and gotta siam RT by fucking off to thailand.:cool:

rodent2005

Most of the armies loyalty in China during Tiananman incident are only with their division commander.

Army units stationed in Beijing refused to move against the students. Deng Xiaopeng had to mobilise units from other provinces.

If something similar was to happen in Singapore, the government would probably mobilise the Gurkhas, and Sinkees would once again be screwed by foreign talent again.

lianbeng

not surprising those red shirts also got some people inside the army as insiders 卧底 lor just like hk police movies.
otherwise how they know each time abigshit changed venue?
furthermore, those army guys must also consider their family members mah.
if clash with those red shirts then their families kana whacked or raped how?