Why opposition parties don't comment on the strike

Anyone who has an ounce of political acumen know that there are times to speak and times to remain quiet.

Mr Thick Face Black Heart...This statement shows your great wisdom and great insight into the present situation.You are a forummer worthy of respect and worthy of emulation. I kowtow and thank you for such a wise statement.

The opposition party should not comment simply coz this is not a political issue.

Why I am not surprised WP people like you take such opportunistic view of the event because I dont think you have the brain nor the capabilities to make any sense out of all th all these complicated situations. All you can do now is continue to be a good watch dog that doesnt even bark.

Goh Meng Seng

Funny how the watch dog gets into Parliament but the mooing cow does not.

This thread is for folks like Goh Meng Seng who clearly have no clue.

Opposition parties are not commenting on the strike now is order not to be accused of politicizing the situation (that has already been politicized by netizens).

If they step in now, it only gives the govt an excuse to distract the situation and muddy the waters.

people are also very divided over whether to support the china bus strikers or to denounce them. There is very little middle ground on this issue AT THE MOMENT.

ALSO: under the law, instigating workers carries the same penalty as striking itself. You don't ever want to be accused of that. The oppo parties know full well how the MSM can twist even the slightest word spoken out of place.

People like you at BMS bad at making shit. Which is why you can command respect. Thank God good at making shit has been removed from all credible political parties. Maybe if it was embedded in PAP it would do opposition great. It is the most reputation destructive device (politically) known to mankind.

I guess you are the one who is really clueless.

Well, I don't expect much from you though but at least SDP and NSP have responded, though a bit slow in timing but better be late than never.

Goh Meng Seng

This thread is for folks like Goh Meng Seng who clearly have no clue.

Opposition parties are not commenting on the strike now is order not to be accused of politicizing the situation (that has already been politicized by netizens).

If they step in now, it only gives the govt an excuse to distract the situation and muddy the waters.

people are also very divided over whether to support the china bus strikers or to denounce them. There is very little middle ground on this issue AT THE MOMENT.

ALSO: under the law, instigating workers carries the same penalty as striking itself. You don't ever want to be accused of that. The oppo parties know full well how the MSM can twist even the slightest word spoken out of place.

SDP NSP Responded = Smart?
WP No response = Stupid?

ummmmm...see below....

Smart or not, depends on how they respond but at least they tried.

WP is from different league I guess.

Goh Meng Seng

SDP NSP Responded = Smart?
WP No response = Stupid?

ummmmm...see below....

I guess you are the one who is really clueless.

Well, I don't expect much from you though but at least SDP and NSP have responded, though a bit slow in timing but better be late than never.

Goh Meng Seng
That's why they are not in parliament.

GOH MENG SENG, YOU FUCKING PIECE OF SHIT! WHY DON'T YOU SPEAK UP FOR THE ELDERLY SINGAPORE CITIZEN WHO WORK AT THE HAWKER CENTRES?

"FUCKING PIECE OF SHIT"

can a shit fuck or u mean GMS uses his dick to mastubate on shit??

You Are Back

Smart or not, depends on how they respond but at least they tried.

WP is from different league I guess.

Goh Meng Seng

You are back. :D What's WP stand ? They cannot be seen as a pro-FTs. They will just leave it to PAP to clean up the mess. WP is adopting the "wait and see" tactic ?

Paiseh, should be "GOH MENG SENG, FUCKING PIECE OF USELESS TUA KANG YAO SIU SHIT!"

Fucking = Sio Kan
Tua Kang = Boastful
Yao Siu = Short Life

GMS shit damn power seh! Can Sio Kan, Can Boast. Better still, his (bull) SHIT have short lifespan!

[h=2]SDP Media Release: Time to reinstate workers’ rights[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
November 28th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

SDP.png
Singapore’s workers have been exploited for far too long. Since the detention of opposition and trade union leaders like Lim Chin Siong and the eradication of free trade unions together with the restructuring of the employment laws in the 1960s, the PAP has, together with Western neoliberals, systematically dismantled the legitimate rights of the Singaporean worker.

While we have the highest number of millionaires per capita making us the richest country in the world, nearly 5 percent of our workers are paid $500 a month. Their wages have not risen in the last 10 years. The result is an enormous income inequality, the highest in the industrialised world.

And while Singaporeans work the most number of hours, according to a survey by the International Labour Organisation, real wages continue to decline. This has made us one of the most stressful countries in Asia to work; our workers are among the unhappiest.

Yet, we are governed by ministers who pay themselves the highest salaries in the world regardless of their performance. They are guided by an ideological adherence to the neoliberal idea of market fundamentalism which allows the rich unbridled power to amass vast fortunes that distort the market. As a result, Singapore’s economic progress is held hostage by an elite which corners wealth at the expense of the rest of society.

Such an arrangement is unsustainable and will eventually result in economic meltdown. The two-day strike carried out by SMRT bus drivers from China is a manifestation of the underlying problem. But while the Chinese Government has spoken up for the SMRT workers from China, Singaporean workers remain at the mercy of the PAP. Someone has to stand up for them.

The SDP will work towards bringing our labour laws in accordance with international standards, allowing Singaporean workers to organise themselves free from the NTUC’s control. Free trade cannot exist when one side does not have the freedom to organise and bargain.

It is severely myopic to continue down the path of worker exploitation. Empowering our workers will enable them to feel more secure and facilitate a happier working environment. Studies show unequivocally that such a labour framework rapidly increases labour productivity, currently languishing at persistently worrying levels.

Increasing wage levels by introducing a minimum wage also contributes significantly to a productive labour force, not to mention increasing workers’ spending power. This will be good for the overall economy.

The liberalisation and deregulation rules laid down by the Washington Consensus, to which the PAP so fervently subscribes, cannot be allowed to continue in Singapore. Singaporean workers, speaking with a unified voice, must seek to put an end to their own exploitation.
Chee Soon Juan
Secretary-General
Singapore Democratic Party

Bro

Almost all the oppo parties have released a press statement liao. How?

Bro

Almost all the oppo parties have released a press statement liao. How?

Somehow I felt they would have been better off not commenting. Now that all of them decided to be extra(seriously all their statement sibei extra), WP needs to say something.