Why opposition parties don't comment on the strike

Bro

Almost all the oppo parties have released a press statement liao. How?

As I'd said, it's looks like a purely employment/contractual dispute between employees and employers.

So maybe WP could release a statement saying employer/employee should sit down and resolve any dispute over a cup of tea? But then fake 40% would jump at it and say WP is so lame, say like no say like that. So how?

Or use this strike to relate to other issues to score some political points? Cannot leh. Wait the fake 40% will say WP is politicizing everything. Then?

Cant help noticing the difference in approach between the tiresome GMS and CSJ. Anytime CSJ is better at taking a dig at the ruling party by jumping on the backs of thr PRC strikers to champion for locals. GMS otoh wants us to fight for foreigners first under the banner of national interests, without knowing or ensuring what outcome will it be for locals. One only needs to ask, as any shrewd political leaders should, what's in it for us if we see it in national interests?

Psst! TFBH, SDP, SPP, NSP and even WP have all issued their press statements with regards to this SMRT Strike saga... so are you going to bury your face in the sand now? ;)

http://wp.sg/2012/11/wp-statement-on-bus-drivers-strike-smrt-must-address-workers-grievances-better/

WP statement on bus drivers’ strike: SMRT must address workers’ grievances better

The Workers’ Party has been following with great concern the unfolding events surrounding the strike by SMRT bus drivers on 26-27 November 2012. As a result of the strike, some bus services were disrupted and commuters suffered inconveniences on our already-crowded public transport network.

This is the first strike in Singapore in more than 25 years. We are disappointed that it took a strike to bring to the forefront the bus drivers’ grievances about their pay and living conditions. We believe that workers’ rights to engage in industrial action (including strikes) must only be done within the bounds of the law. Strikes should be – and usually are – a measure of last resort by workers who have exhausted all other avenues to persuade management to address their concerns.

This strike signals a failure in the labour dispute settlement process within SMRT. By its own admission, the SMRT management needs to improve the way it engages its bus drivers. While much attention this week has focused on the grievances of the bus drivers from China, SMRT must address legitimate concerns that have been raised by all its bus drivers since the recent revision of salaries and work hours. We urge SMRT to keep its commitment to improve working conditions for all its workers and ensure channels of communication between workers and management remain open.

It is in Singapore’s interests, and in line with our nation’s values, that all workers are treated fairly, so that they are motivated to perform their jobs with excellence. This is especially so for workers providing essential public services as it affects not just the local public but also Singapore’s international reputation.

As the cases of four SMRT bus drivers who have been charged with instigating the illegal strike are now before the courts, it would not be appropriate to comment on these specific cases. Our MPs will be asking the Government questions on this issue during the next sitting of Parliament.

THE WORKERS’ PARTY
30 November 2012

This thread is for folks like Goh Meng Seng who clearly have no clue.

Opposition parties are not commenting on the strike now is order not to be accused of politicizing the situation (that has already been politicized by netizens).

If they step in now, it only gives the govt an excuse to distract the situation and muddy the waters.

people are also very divided over whether to support the china bus strikers or to denounce them. There is very little middle ground on this issue AT THE MOMENT.

ALSO: under the law, instigating workers carries the same penalty as striking itself. You don't ever want to be accused of that. The oppo parties know full well how the MSM can twist even the slightest word spoken out of place.

Opposition parties are not commenting on the strike now is order not to be accused of politicizing the situation (that has already been politicized by netizens).

If they step in now, it only gives the govt an excuse to distract the situation and muddy the waters.

people are also very divided over whether to support the china bus strikers or to denounce them. There is very little middle ground on this issue AT THE MOMENT.

ALSO: under the law, instigating workers carries the same penalty as striking itself. You don't ever want to be accused of that. The oppo parties know full well how the MSM can twist even the slightest word spoken out of place.

http://wp.sg/2012/11/wp-statement-on-bus-drivers-strike-smrt-must-address-workers-grievances-better/

Why are Vichy WP eunuchs “politicizing” the strike?

Why are they “stepping in now, giving the govt an excuse to distract the situation and muddy the waters?”

“ALSO: under the law, instigating workers carries the same penalty as striking itself”. Are they ever “want to be accused of that. The oppo parties know full well how the MSM can twist even the slightest word spoken out of place.”

Hammerrhoid zombies should check and ask their political masters before disgracing themselves.........Just like the good old days of YawGate when Hammerrhoid zombies flip-flop their views at their master’s whip: today support Yaw, tomorrow condemn Yaw……They are going to do another of those countless shameless despicable flip-flopping somersault again, and again, and again, and……

Hammerrhoid zombies, these bunch of sickening rotten low-life degenerates trash are always so predictable.............天生一幅狗奴才…………PHUI!!!

I have always wanted to ask you this... why you hated WP people so much?

I mean, they attack me like insects, I also don't hate them, what have they done to you?

Goh Meng Seng

Hammerrhoid zombies should check and ask their political masters before disgracing themselves.........Just like the good old days of YawGate when Hammerrhoid zombies flip-flop their views at their master’s whip: today support Yaw, tomorrow condemn Yaw……They are going to do another of those countless shameless despicable flip-flopping somersault again, and again, and again, and……

Hammerrhoid zombies, these bunch of sickening rotten low-life degenerates trash are always so predictable.............天生一幅狗奴才…………PHUI!!!

The Survivor Series

I mean, they attack me like insects, I also don't hate them, what have they done to you?

Goh Meng Seng

You can't hate WP at this point of time even though we know that they are trying to put the least commitment just to survive and stay in the useless parliament. They are what the business people call the Survivor Series. They cannot pit against the machinery of PAP.

Everyone is watching and waiting for a good situation to spring back against PAP.

SDP is like a tank with little clue about its ability and trying to mow down a mountain before it. It is the stupid folks that are piling up this mountain and supporting PAP.

Revolution is the key to breakdown this wall. I'll rather go in harm's way.

John Paul Jones, "I wish to have no connection with any ship that does not sail fast; for I intend to go in harm's way".

Psst! TFBH, SDP, SPP, NSP and even WP have all issued their press statements with regards to this SMRT Strike saga... so are you going to bury your face in the sand now? ;)

Unlike you, the opposition parties verified and ascertained their facts before opening their mouths. Unlike you, they took the stand of protecting the interests and welfare of Singaporeans. (WP: SMRT must address legitimate concerns that have been raised by all its bus drivers since the recent revision of salaries and work hours. It is in Singapore’s interests, and in line with our nation’s values, that all workers are treated fairly, so that they are motivated to perform their jobs with excellence.)

Need I go on?

Haha... quite lame. But in general, they fell short on touching the most important matters, the crux of the whole saga... the need to change the labour law to include anti-discrimination section.

Well, my point still stands, all opposition parties are afraid to make the critical points for fear of losing votes. Votes are important but we need leaders, not opportunistic populist, in showing the right way forward, demonstrating what has to be improved to our Labour law.

There is nothing wrong with what I have written with regards to this saga.... which part of my article is false? I have put up what matters from the point of National Interests. Nobody dares to say the obvious right thing, that only equal pay to foreign workers will help to keep Singaporean's jobs when the cost of employing foreigners are made to be higher than employing locals.

Giving motherhood statements aren't good enough but never mind, better be mediocre than never.

Goh Meng Seng

Unlike you, the opposition parties verified and ascertained their facts before opening their mouths. Unlike you, they took the stand of protecting the interests and welfare of Singaporeans. (WP: SMRT must address legitimate concerns that have been raised by all its bus drivers since the recent revision of salaries and work hours. It is in Singapore’s interests, and in line with our nation’s values, that all workers are treated fairly, so that they are motivated to perform their jobs with excellence.)

Need I go on?

Haha... quite lame. But in general, they fell short on touching the most important matters, the crux of the whole saga... the need to change the labour law to include anti-discrimination section.

Well, my point still stands, all opposition parties are afraid to make the critical points for fear of losing votes. Votes are important but we need leaders, not opportunistic populist, in showing the right way forward, demonstrating what has to be improved to our Labour law.

There is nothing wrong with what I have written with regards to this saga.... which part of my article is false? I have put up what matters from the point of National Interests. Nobody dares to say the obvious right thing, that only equal pay to foreign workers will help to keep Singaporean's jobs when the cost of employing foreigners are made to be higher than employing locals.

Giving motherhood statements aren't good enough but never mind, better be mediocre than never.

Goh Meng Seng
yah yah. kaptan goh so clever hor. how come you not in parliament har?

BTW, WP has just proven you wrong or you are right... WP is politicising this strike?

Goh Meng Seng

Need I go on?

BTW, WP has just proven you wrong or you are right... WP is politicising this strike?

Goh Meng Seng
kaptan goh, you want limpeh to dig out more of your shit har? win a seat then come talk big. knn, election loser come here talk machiam like future prime minister like that.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/12/02/smrt-you-can-resign-and-go-to-sbs/
Dr Vincent Wijeysingha:

“To use that time-honoured word so hallowed by the PAP, I will be accused by some of trying to “politicise” the issue. The first prime minister’s formulation, which writer Catherine Lim found to her cost, that to involve oneself in politics one must join a political party, is both self-serving and dishonest. All citizens, indeed all people, through the very fact of their existence, are responsible for the political structures, economic conditions and social framework of their community. The word politics stems from the Greek for ‘city’. Living in a city, a community, makes us all responsible for its functioning. In Athens, the cradle of democracy, it was not just a responsibility but a duty. .”

To put it simply, Vichy WP eunuchs have no balls to “politicise” the issue and speak up for the people.

Vichy WP eunuchs are using that time-honoured word so hallowed by the PAP and accused other Opposition parties of trying to “politicise” the issue. Vichy WP eunuchs and their Hammerrhoid zombies are both self-serving and dishonest. All citizens, indeed all people, through the very fact of their existence, are responsible for the political structures, economic conditions and social framework of their community.

Even when Vichy WP eunuchs and their Hammerrhoid zombies have already involved themselves in politics by joining a “political” party, they still have no balls to “politicise” the issue and to stand up for the people.

This is what "First World Opposition" is all about........Comical........Sad.......But also very Despicable…..

THey are not commenting because sinkies like you do not have the patience to wait while they need time to write it out and plan the way to present it. Sinkies like you only post in the forum but no fucking balls to fight for your rights in a real world. What a pathetic low life sinkie shit.