• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Jacky Chan looked older than Bruce Lee?

Another great martial arts master of the same generation was the late Lam Ching Ying who acted in many vampire movies in the 1980s. Lam also appeared in the Bruce Lee movie The Big Boss. Like Samo Hung, Yuen Wah and Jacky Chan, Lam was trained in Pekin opera but he was from a rival opera school. With the closure of Pekin opera schools years ago, Hong kong has lost a immense talent pool for martial arts/kung fu.

This guy in the video doesn't know his science. The only thing he knows about kinetic energy is that it is power. What he is referring to the coiling of his body is not kinetic energy but rather potential energy that comes with the tightening of the coil.

Kinetic energy involves movement. The larger the movement, the faster the movement and the larger the mass that it carries determine the size of this power. The one-inch punch evidently suffers from the lack of kinetic power even though it could have potential energy in buckets. Same principles apply to a golf swing.

most of us has O level physics, we know what is kinetic energy. kinetic chain is a sport science term ..... duh....2 different things bro!

Actually, historically, there were no martial arts, e.g. like ancient Greece, Rome, Egypt, China etc. All there were just army drills in combat, armed and unarmed. India invented martial arts discipline with stick fighting as unlike ancient Chinese, ancient Indian commoners weren't allowed to be armed with blades.

Dhammo brought that into China on his missionary trip that founded Shaolin Temple. That became the basis of disciplinary martial arts in China. Even styles of wielding bladed weapons like swords, sabres and spears went through overhaul and disciplined schooling. As Buddhisim spread across to Korea and Japan, where like India, commoners weren't allowed to wear bladed weapons, not even carry sticks deemed to be offensive weapons, Taekwondo, Karate etc. developed.

It is a myth that Damo brought martial arts to China. The Chinese had been warring long before the Shaolin Monastery was found. The Shaolin Monastery is regarded as the birthplace of Chinese martial arts partly because of the deep respect accorded to it. Historically, it was not unheard of for masters to congregate in the monastery to exchange pointers with one another. This technical exchange facilitated the development of the martial arts in the monastery. Given Buddhism was a popular religion in China, it would not be unreasonable to assume that at least a few masters became monks and went on to train their disciples.

Good observation.

My impression of MMA exponents is that many of them tend to be arrogant and have little regard for the traditonal arts. This attitude could be due to the following reasons:

Most people's understanding of traditional Chinese martial arts (TCM) comes from the movies and wushu competitions. After watching these, they may think that TCM is about executing spectacular flying kicks and flashy moves or that it is just "flowery punches and silky kicks". Rubbish! The TCM fight scenes in movies are deliberately made flashy to provide a great cinematic experience. Wushu competitions are for the most part, exhibition events for contemporary martial artists. Some moves are watered down or "beautified" to make the performance spectacular. It is thus inevitable that people, especially MMA people, see TCM as "just for show'.

Sanda or Sanshou events are not as well-marketed as MMA bouts. Compared to the latter, in which a variety of techniques can be used, the former is rather restricted in the type of fighting techniques (mainly striking and throwing). People who compare the two are likely to find MMA to be superior because of the repertoire on display. And anyway, Sanda/Sanshou are martial arts modified for fight sports. It is neither TCM nor leitai fights, in which TCM is used.

I believe many MMA people took up one or more traditonal martial arts before they joined a MMA gym. They could have been disillusioned with the training they received when they did TCM. In Sinkieland and probably other countries as well, there is an overemphasis on the belt/grading system, especially in Tae Kwon Do and Karate. (TCM schools use belts for other purposes, such as preventing your trousers from dropping.) The promotion tests in a belt system tests on your ability to perform katas, or set plays, and does not emphasize on the physical or martial aspects of the fighting style. In contrast, MMA people train to win fights, and therefore focus more on physcial training and application of techniques. As a result, the traditional martial arts are “for show” and “pass exams” whereas MMA is the “real thing”.

In TCM, taolu (set play) is used to drill the student in the correct application of techniques and precondition him to execute these in a real fight. Unlike the moves found in MMA and karate, some of the taolu appear to have no real purpose other than just to move your arms around in strange funny patterns. When I first started out in TCM, I was a bit lost myself because the stuff I was learning did not look like anything resembling a block or a strike. It was only after my master demonstrated to me how these seemingly “bo liao” techniques can be used that I realized just how wrong I was. A move can have quite a few ways in which it can be used, and the transition from one to another can be astonishingly fast. Unless you are fortunate enough to be instructed by a real shifu who teaches you the actual applications of the taolu, most of the time you would be struggling to figure out how to use this or that move in a real confrontation.

As if the figuring part is not difficult enough, the practical part is arduous. You need to practise and practise until the execution of the technique is as natural to you as breathing. This requires years of consistant training. Physical training and conditioning are also critical. You can execute your techniques perfectly but if you lack the physical attributes to power these techniques, it is useless. Sadly, many TCM schools today do not focus on physical training beyond leg stretching (for flexibility). This puts the TCM guy at an disadvantage compared to the MMA guy, who is often a gym rat. Of course, constant practice and hard work are also important components of MMA training, but its repertoire is not as extensive as TCM’s, and its moves are obvious (a punch is a punch, a block is a block – no other way). In addition, the results of training in MMA can be seen in a comparatively short time. In TCM, you can train for three years and still be a “beginner”.

MMA is marketed as a fight event for ALL fighters from ALL schools and the winner is considered the BEST. Very American, the last point. Sure enough, fighters from different styles have been competing in the MMA, but most of these fighters participating are not from China and Chinese-speaking countries nor are they TCM exponents. When people point out that the winner in MMA are angmos, and tend to use jujutsu or other forms and TCM exponents suck because they almost never win anything, they forget about statistics. The lack of TCM people in MMA make it unlikely that the winner is going to come from a TCM school. It is simple logic. And MMA fighters train to win in the ring; TCM fighters train to survive a street fight. TCM fighters may be restricted in the type of techniques they can use when they step into the ring or cage or whatever.

MMA fights may be highly competitive events, but they pale in comparison to traditional leitai fights. The former has safety regulations and certain joint locks/chokes and strikes to particular areas are prohibited. Such restrictions often mean that a defeated opponent often escapes crippling or very serious injuries.

In the leitai , there are no rules. You are free to employ whatever attack you like. Any part of an opponent is a legitimate target. Fights end when one opponent is knocked off the stage or beaten so severely he is unable to continue the fight. It is not uncommon for a leitai fight to result in serious injuries or worse.

Kungfu - technically speaking, wushu should be a more appropriate term to describe a puglist's art - exponents are taught to end a fight quickly using the best technique applicable to the situation. (By kungfu exponents, I am referring to those trained in the traditional way/school; I exclude contemporary wushu artists from this consideration.) If a simple front kick to an assailant's knee or shin can end the fight quickly, do it. No need to try to kick his head. All that spectacular moves should be, for the most part, used in performances or practice (if you can kick over a person’s head, you will have no problem kicking him in his chest). A lot that has been written about northern Chinese martial arts using many high kicks and kicking a few times in the air is just BS. All styles/forms of TCM focus on efficiency and effectiveness. The only real differences in “Nanquan” and “Beitui” are that the latter uses kicks or longer strikes more frequently, possibly more circular blocks (this could depend on style), is more ‘space-dependent” and has longer melee weapons. Martial arts principles are the same.

To conclude, MMA fighters should train hard in TCM for a reasonable period of time and under a real master before they open their stupid gobs and criticize.

the reason why it take so long to learn TCM because the master will not teach you everything thats the mentally of chinese or most asian ppl . have you not heard of those who want to become a chinese cheif ? before they learn how to cook they must wash dishes for months some even years .

leitai no rules ? are you kidding me ? any video to show ? most of these fighters participating in mma are not from China and Chinese-speaking countries nor are they TCM exponents ? guess you should watch more mma or ufc ...ect . there are quite a number of chinese in mma . as for no TCM fighters joining mma or ufc ... because they are not ready or didnot trained to fight in the same way as MMA fighters . remember , chinese want face ...if those TCM lost in a mma fight where do you think their reputation goes to ? remember those sifus cannot let their school down . if the school is down their student also will run road to MMA club . remember student want to learnt from the best teacher . and who told you a punch is a punch in mma ? theres different type of punch in mma too . straight punch , hammer fist punch , superman punch , casting punch ,shovel hook , uppercut , upset punch , overhand , jab , long fist , cross/ straight , backfist ...ect . mma have safety regulations ? i bet you never see serious injuries in mma ;) you must be kidding . go and check mma rules or ufc rules before you post ..they way you post i know you know nuts about mma . ;)

Mike is old already. What i meant was in mike's younger days i doubt a ufc fighter would risk trying to take down mike cos he would risk getting a mean killer punch. Practioners of old martial arts just mostly practiced in 1 art that's why mma is called mixed martial arts cos most ppl pratice a few. Only really fair to pit ppl of traditional arts against mixed martial artists but anyway i'm sure the newer fighters practice a few more arts. Oh yes some of these ufc fighters dope too.

even if mike tyson was young there is also confirm he will win in ufc or mma ...dont forget ...mike cant kick hard ;) and cant do submission ;)

It is a myth that Damo brought martial arts to China. The Chinese had been warring long before the Shaolin Monastery was found. The Shaolin Monastery is regarded as the birthplace of Chinese martial arts partly because of the deep respect accorded to it. Historically, it was not unheard of for masters to congregate in the monastery to exchange pointers with one another. This technical exchange facilitated the development of the martial arts in the monastery. Given Buddhism was a popular religion in China, it would not be unreasonable to assume that at least a few masters became monks and went on to train their disciples.

I think you didn't understand my earlier post completely. There's a difference between army drilling and martial arts training. Both can be lethal, but there's a difference. It's like the difference between military and militia. Martial arts training become performance, exhibition or competition arts.

the reason why it take so long to learn TCM because the master will not teach you everything thats the mentally of chinese or most asian ppl . have you not heard of those who want to become a chinese cheif ? before they learn how to cook they must wash dishes for months some even years .

leitai no rules ? are you kidding me ? any video to show ?

The leitai to which I am referring is the leitai during Chinese dynastic eras. I am quoting from history. I am afraid I am unable to show you any videos because back then they did not have YouTube. And yes, no rules, unless stated otherwise. You lost when you surrendered, were incapacitated or knocked off the stage.

most of these fighters participating in mma are not from China and Chinese-speaking countries nor are they TCM exponents ? guess you should watch more mma or ufc ...ect . there are quite a number of chinese in mma . as for no TCM fighters joining mma or ufc ...

I am not saying that there are no fighters from China/Chinese-speaking countries or TCM fighters in MMA. What I am saying is that comparatively speaking, they are the minority race/group among their fellow MMA fighters. Go to the US MMA sites and count the number of fighters of ethnic Chinese descent. And yes, I am aware of MMA fighters who have trained in TCM. I once came across an article in which this black guy was featured. He was a MMA fighter whose roots were in Wing Chun. But of course, if you want to talk about MMA contests held in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Sinkieland, the majority of fighters could be Chinese.

because they are not ready or didnot trained to fight in the same way as MMA fighters . remember , chinese want face ...if those TCM lost in a mma fight where do you think their reputation goes to...remember those sifus cannot let their school down . if the school is down their student also will run road to MMA club . remember student want to learnt from the best teacher .

The fear of losing face is not limited to the Chinese only. Many other races are also concerned about face. You have to be fair. It would be ideal if we could have an Roman arena in which fighters from MMA, Systema, Karate, Tae Kwon Do, TCM, and other styles could compete against one another, with very few rules.

and who told you a punch is a punch in mma ? theres different type of punch in mma too . straight punch , hammer fist punch , superman punch , casting punch ,shovel hook , uppercut , upset punch , overhand , jab , long fist , cross/ straight , backfist ...ect . mma have safety regulations ? i bet you never see serious injuries in mma ;) you must be kidding . go and check mma rules or ufc rules before you post ..they way you post i know you know nuts about mma . ;)

In MMA, a straight punch is a straight punch, an uppercut is an uppercut - these moves are easily recognizable. You will never mistake a straight punch for something else. To give an example, in TCM, the "da fa", which involves straightening your arms, moving them in one half-circle to crisscross at the wrists , before returning to the original position (while keeping both arms in a straight line), and then thrusting one palm out in front and dragging a "hook" towards the back with the other hand, may look to be a movement devoid of any combat applications. Unless someone shows you the exact combat applications of this move, you will probably never understand what it is all about.

Perhaps I have not been very clear in my writing, but you should also learn to read carefully and not assume things like the fundies you whack.

vamjok said:
most of us has O level physics, we know what is kinetic energy. kinetic chain is a sport science term ..... duh....2 different things bro!

The guy in video is talking shit. Don't believe him. Just as Drifter said sport science says you need a big swing for higher kinetic energy and higher power. For the one inch punch, we are not talking of power but speed and surprise and that is what fighting is about.

trust me, u are the one talking shit.

U dun know how to throw a punch do u?

The leitai to which I am referring is the leitai during Chinese dynastic eras. I am quoting from history. I am afraid I am unable to show you any videos because back then they did not have YouTube. And yes, no rules, unless stated otherwise. You lost when you surrendered, were incapacitated or knocked off the stage.

I am not saying that there are no fighters from China/Chinese-speaking countries or TCM fighters in MMA. What I am saying is that comparatively speaking, they are the minority race/group among their fellow MMA fighters. Go to the US MMA sites and count the number of fighters of ethnic Chinese descent. And yes, I am aware of MMA fighters who have trained in TCM. I once came across an article in which this black guy was featured. He was a MMA fighter whose roots were in Wing Chun. But of course, if you want to talk about MMA contests held in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Sinkieland, the majority of fighters could be Chinese.

The fear of losing face is not limited to the Chinese only. Many other races are also concerned about face. You have to be fair. It would be ideal if we could have an Roman arena in which fighters from MMA, Systema, Karate, Tae Kwon Do, TCM, and other styles could compete against one another, with very few rules.

In MMA, a straight punch is a straight punch, an uppercut is an uppercut - these moves are easily recognizable. You will never mistake a straight punch for something else. To give an example, in TCM, the "da fa", which involves straightening your arms, moving them in one half-circle to crisscross at the wrists , before returning to the original position (while keeping both arms in a straight line), and then thrusting one palm out in front and dragging a "hook" towards the back with the other hand, may look to be a movement devoid of any combat applications. Unless someone shows you the exact combat applications of this move, you will probably never understand what it is all about.

Perhaps I have not been very clear in my writing, but you should also learn to read carefully and not assume things like the fundies you whack.

1) aiya ...angmo also got their own version of leitai its call gladiators .
2) mma contests means mma contest ...it does not matter if it was held in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, or Sinkieland .
3) yes many other races are also concerned about face too but not as much as the chinese .
4) in this era only mma have very few rules compare to other fighting sports .
5) yes In mma , a straight punch is a straight punch, an uppercut is an uppercut - these moves are easily recognizable but so what , by the time you know what kind of punch hes throwing its already too late cause its too fast to even think how to counter the punch ...thats why our hands always go up protecting the cheek to avoid a KO .
6) if you look through all my post ...you will know i dont argue for the sake of arguing .

only speed and surprise punch will not bring down a person . you need power too .

I think you didn't understand my earlier post completely. There's a difference between army drilling and martial arts training. Both can be lethal, but there's a difference. It's like the difference between military and militia. Martial arts training become performance, exhibition or competition arts.

totally agree with you ...

since everyone is so on about fighting ...i can share with you guys on how to ko a person ...i have done it a few time liao

it is actually not as hard as many people think to knock someone out with one punch. watching a boxing match, mixed martial arts fight, or other combat sports you can get the impression that a knockout punch is something very difficult to get right. but in real life, in a street confrontation with no gloves and fighting against someone who is probably not trained to take a punch, getting a ko is much, much easier.if you want to learn how to knock someone out with one punch the first thing you have to do is to think about what it actually is which causes the loss of consciousness. some types of punch can be very effective at hurting your opponent, opening up cuts on their face or breaking their nose, but may still have little or no chance of knocking them out.when a person gets knocked unconscious by a punch it is not the immediate force of the impact which does this, it is the force of the brain being rattled against the inside of the skull. this means that a punch which causes the head to jerk and move rapidly will be much more likely to knock someone out than a punch which causes less movement of the head, even if it is not as hard. it also means that speed is paramount. a very fast strike with just enough power to move the head will be more likely to knock someone out than a slower punch which has more power and weight behind it. the need to create this movement of the head is the reason why you are more likely to knock someone out with a punch which they don't see coming. if you see a punch coming towards you ( in order to see a punch coming at you you have to keep abit of distant ) you will tense your neck muscles and brace yourself against the impact, reducing the movement of your head when the punch lands. if your neck muscles are relaxed when a punch hits you then you will almost always get knocked out, whatever kind of punch it is. thats why you see many mma fighter tense their neck
once a fight has started it is very difficult to engineer a situation where your opponent will not see a punch coming, however if you are in a situation where you are being threatened and a fight seems inevitable, but hasn't yet started, you can take advantage of this by suddenly throwing the first punch at an unexpected moment, such as while you are in the middle of a sentence, and by striking from a direction where they will not see it until it is too late.when it comes to the actual punch a strike from the side, such as a hook, is more likely to knock someone out than a straight punch to the front of the face, simply because it will be harder for the neck muscles to prevent the head from being jerked. for the same reason an uppercut is geneally better than a straight punch, but probably not as good as a hook. when trying to knock someone out with a hook the further away from the neck you can land the punch the more movement there will be and the more likely it is to knock them out. this means that the best place to land a hook is right on the end of the chin.
the ultimite knockout punch, however, uses and entirely different method. rather than jerking the knead it uses the principles of Dim Mak pressure point fighting. the ultimite knockout punch is a strike to the temple. You have to be very accurate to get this right, but with practice you can do it every time. the only trick you must know in order to knock someone out with a strike to the temple is how to hold your hands. it should be clear that an ordinary fist is much bigger than the area of the temple, and so it is very poor at focussing force on this pressure point. there are two hand forms you can use instead. the first is the phoenix fist, in which you hold an ordinary fist but with the middle finger raised up a little out of the bunch. when using this you strike with the middle joint of the raised finger, rather than the knuckle.the other option, which i personally prefer, is to use a sword hand. to do this hold your hand out flat with the palm facing downwards and turn your wrist so that your fingers are pointing outwards. this creates a fairly sharp point from the joint at the very base of the thumb, just above the wrist. with this hand form you strike using a swinging motion of the arm.
when practicing either of these strikes powers is virtually irrelevant, and accuracy is everything. if you land a strike with the whole force focussed on the temple you will knock your opponent out every time, no matter how hard the strike is

Once, I was queuing with my colleague to board a ferry that brings us to the Statue of Liberty in New York. It was a very long queue and in order to make the wait more bearable, there were some sideshows being performed by buskers to entertain those in the queue. One particular act was captivating performed by a team mainly made up of blacks but some whites as well. There performed some spectacular kunguf stunts and announced to the audience that their stunts were inspired and influenced by Bruce Lee. They said Bruce Lee was the greatest kungfu exponent ever lived. While they went round to collect money, one of them asked me if I was related to Bruce Lee. He said if I were, he would be very afraid of me as I would likely to possess great kungfu skills. He went on to say that Bruce Lee is being worshipped in the US as a kungfu god and that he was indeed a legend. Now this was almost 30 years after Bruce Lee died. My previous boss, a Norwegian has a giant poster of Bruce Lee behind his bedroom door. I asked his wife if she objects to that and she said she was also a great Bruce Lee fan. I hope this will put to rest the thinking that Bruce Lee was a nobody in the west.

the main reason why he is the best is because he has all three qualities needed in a great martial artist, ie speed, power and accuracy. All martial artists I know and train with tell me it is difficult to be excellent in all three areas eg if you want power , you could built up your muscle mass and sacrifice speed/accuracy or end up bulky like a body builder. Big size does not mean any good as usually a big size guy like a sumo would be clumsy and you only need to strike at certain points in the first few blows to bring him down. now most fights end in less than a minute eg in the Beimos that I witnessed in the 1970s, he who moved the fastest wins and most fights are over in 3-4 punch and the loser is usually out cold and on the floor.
now bruce has all three and this is a proven fact as he did only 4 complete movies and in the 1970s there is no special effect and ironically the films are testament to his paramount skills. In one scene in Enter the dragon where he challenged Bob Wall, it looks like a simple scene of hand blows exchanges. In the 1980s we had a VCR recorder and we had 5 martial arts experts sit in and watch the scene and tell us how many times Bruce hands moved. Mind you all are experts in their own right and every one said either 2 or 3 moves at most. then we played the scene again in extreme slow motion ie something like 1/20th the normal speed and we count his hands movement to intercept Bob walls hands a total of 5 Times!!!! we replayed it many times and yet just sat there stunned at how we all missed his hands blocks and punch. It was a classic case of hand faster than eye!!!! all the old movies has inadvertently recorded how really fast he moves and his buddies would also tell you he is also strong eg there was a clip showing him doing 2 finger pushups and breaking boards dangling in thin air. He could drop a board from shoulder height and break it with a snap side kick as it fell. Never seen it done in person or on film even amongst Karatekas.
as for accuracy, see how he used the nunchakus and till today nobody has come closed to mastering it like hiim in Enter the dragon scene.
there are numerous old videos in the internet here where there was one demonstration where he was faced off against an opponent and showed the opponent very slowly how and where Lee was going to kick him. Then came the full speed kick, so blazingly fast, the eye could barely detect it.

There was another Bruce Lee demonstration where Lee invited his opponent to hit him in the face. Before the opponent could extend his punch, Lee's arm reached out, faster then the eye could see. It was a punch that knocked the opponent to the ground. now don't tell me these are special effects because they are old films recordeed in 1970s and technology then does not allow manipulation. moreover he has alot of buddies who attests to his skills
so all those armchair detractors out there are just sourgrapes . watch this clip and you would how fast he moves , even in slow motion you cannot even see his kick.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-9KibZAkkI
otther documented feats verified by time stop photography:

Lee's striking speed from three feet with his hands down by his side reached five hundredths of a second.
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Lee#cite_note-82)
Lee could take in one arm a 75 lb barbell (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbell) from a standing position with the barbell held flush against his chest and slowly stick his arms out locking them, holding the barbell there for several seconds.[84] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Lee#cite_note-Little75-83)
In a speed demonstration, Lee could snatch a dime (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dime_(United_States_coin)) off a person's open palm before they could close it, and leave a penny (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penny) behind.[85] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Lee#cite_note-84)
Lee performed one-hand push-ups (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Push-up) using only the thumb and index finger.[82] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Lee#cite_note-ArtExpress-81)[86] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Lee#cite_note-85)
Lee performed 50 reps of one-arm chin-ups (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chin-up).[87] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Lee#cite_note-86)
Lee could cause a 300-lb (136.08 kg) bag to fly towards and thump the ceiling with a sidekick (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Side_kick)

since everyone is so on about fighting ...i can share with you guys on how to ko a person ...i have done it a few time liao

it is actually not as hard as many people think to knock someone out with one punch. watching a boxing match, mixed martial arts fight, or other combat sports you can get the impression that a knockout punch is something very difficult to get right. but in real life, in a street confrontation with no gloves and fighting against someone who is probably not trained to take a punch, getting a ko is much, much easier.if you want to learn how to knock someone out with one punch the first thing you have to do is to think about what it actually is which causes the loss of consciousness. some types of punch can be very effective at hurting your opponent, opening up cuts on their face or breaking their nose, but may still have little or no chance of knocking them out.when a person gets knocked unconscious by a punch it is not the immediate force of the impact which does this, it is the force of the brain being rattled against the inside of the skull. this means that a punch which causes the head to jerk and move rapidly will be much more likely to knock someone out than a punch which causes less movement of the head, even if it is not as hard. it also means that speed is paramount. a very fast strike with just enough power to move the head will be more likely to knock someone out than a slower punch which has more power and weight behind it. the need to create this movement of the head is the reason why you are more likely to knock someone out with a punch which they don't see coming. if you see a punch coming towards you ( in order to see a punch coming at you you have to keep abit of distant ) you will tense your neck muscles and brace yourself against the impact, reducing the movement of your head when the punch lands. if your neck muscles are relaxed when a punch hits you then you will almost always get knocked out, whatever kind of punch it is. thats why you see many mma fighter tense their neck
once a fight has started it is very difficult to engineer a situation where your opponent will not see a punch coming, however if you are in a situation where you are being threatened and a fight seems inevitable, but hasn't yet started, you can take advantage of this by suddenly throwing the first punch at an unexpected moment, such as while you are in the middle of a sentence, and by striking from a direction where they will not see it until it is too late.when it comes to the actual punch a strike from the side, such as a hook, is more likely to knock someone out than a straight punch to the front of the face, simply because it will be harder for the neck muscles to prevent the head from being jerked. for the same reason an uppercut is geneally better than a straight punch, but probably not as good as a hook. when trying to knock someone out with a hook the further away from the neck you can land the punch the more movement there will be and the more likely it is to knock them out. this means that the best place to land a hook is right on the end of the chin.
the ultimite knockout punch, however, uses and entirely different method. rather than jerking the knead it uses the principles of Dim Mak pressure point fighting. the ultimite knockout punch is a strike to the temple. You have to be very accurate to get this right, but with practice you can do it every time. the only trick you must know in order to knock someone out with a strike to the temple is how to hold your hands. it should be clear that an ordinary fist is much bigger than the area of the temple, and so it is very poor at focussing force on this pressure point. there are two hand forms you can use instead. the first is the phoenix fist, in which you hold an ordinary fist but with the middle finger raised up a little out of the bunch. when using this you strike with the middle joint of the raised finger, rather than the knuckle.the other option, which i personally prefer, is to use a sword hand. to do this hold your hand out flat with the palm facing downwards and turn your wrist so that your fingers are pointing outwards. this creates a fairly sharp point from the joint at the very base of the thumb, just above the wrist. with this hand form you strike using a swinging motion of the arm.
when practicing either of these strikes powers is virtually irrelevant, and accuracy is everything. if you land a strike with the whole force focussed on the temple you will knock your opponent out every time, no matter how hard the strike is

personal experience, any impact to the jaw = confirm unconsci (down to up jerking the head backwards)

even if mike tyson was young there is also confirm he will win in ufc or mma ...dont forget ...mike cant kick hard ;) and cant do submission ;)

Yeah no shit but the fact of the matter is tyson is a tough street fighter he can be taught those moves and FYI boxing is bigger than mma and ufc. OMG. how can boxing be smaller than mma? You know how much mayweather or manny earns?

vamjok said:
trust me, u are the one talking shit.

U dun know how to throw a punch do u?

Now you are talking shit. You admitted what this guy is saying is not kinetic energy and yet to justify his bullshit said that sport science is different from physical science. That is totally nonsense. I did not want to point this out earlier but since you wish to pick up a fight over this, I have to expose your stupidity.

1) aiya ...angmo also got their own version of leitai its call gladiators .
2) mma contests means mma contest ...it does not matter if it was held in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, or Sinkieland .
3) yes many other races are also concerned about face too but not as much as the chinese .
4) in this era only mma have very few rules compare to other fighting sports .
5) yes In mma , a straight punch is a straight punch, an uppercut is an uppercut - these moves are easily recognizable but so what , by the time you know what kind of punch hes throwing its already too late cause its too fast to even think how to counter the punch ...thats why our hands always go up protecting the cheek to avoid a KO .
6) if you look through all my post ...you will know i dont argue for the sake of arguing .

Other races want face a lot lah. You always see malay complain about racism in sg all cos of some small remark isn't that wanting a lot of face?

drifter said:
only speed and surprise punch will not bring down a person . you need power too .

Of course with speed, it also comes with the power. If you throw a longer punch, you have higher power that comes with the higher speed and kinetic energy that you gather. If you further use body uncoil to release potential energy, you add further to the power. A longer punch although carrying more energy and power has very little element of surprise or the ability to reach its intended target than a short punch with lower kinetic energy. If you strike at the right point, you don't need maximum power, sufficient power is enough.

Why Do You Hate The Keling So Much ?

If bruce is simply hype and not talent why did hollywood promote an asian during a time in the 70s when only white men not even black men ONLY white american men could make it big? Even today yes even today try being an asian and try to make make it as a leading star in hollyood and ppl will be laughing at you yes even TODAY.

If bruce lee was a keling you would see indians praising not only him but themselves to the skies let's be honest and not take away his contribution.

I don't understand why you hate keling so much. 杀父之仇 ?

Forget about Bollywood lah. The way they film the fighting scenes is like happy happy they like this one they film it for few seconds and they keep changing environment faster than Street Fighter. It was NOT ONLY eye opener BUT also a jaw opener. LOL :D