• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why do Singaporeans leave?

neddy

Understooded Bro Neddy. Only time I've been to Perth was when I was 5.. should fly there 1 day to visit again. Can't remember anything at 5 yrs old..

Perth has a few more buildings, that is all.
The big change is that they finally sunk the railway dividing the city, after 100 years of WA "Wait Awhile".

There are better places to spend your holidays.

neddy

That day will come. They justified the million dollar salary because they want to retain "talents", it has to be competitive with the "private" sector. If that is the case, why not just hire any CEO? Why not give the job to the person with the best economic credential? Why not let the country be managed by Google, Microsoft, Apple?

Their million $$ parrots cannot even communicate properly, no wonder they want the people to shut up.

axe168

Good on you bro...

But i can't switch leh.. Everytime when i touched down Sg, they'll ask if i'm a tourist.. After 2-3 weeks, no one ask me anymore... After returned to Aust with my Ah beng Singalish again.. gonna take sometime to adjust back to aussie accent again.

Reminds me of an incident, when I went back in '10, someone asked me "are you sure you've been in Australia for so long? How come still talk like a Singaporean"?.. If it wasn't some business matter I was going for, I would have buggered him off!

In the end just told him that I was able to switch anytime I wanted :rolleyes: These frog in pond singaporeans...

Romulus

Any current residents of Singapore in this thread? I'd like to know what pull-factors still keep unhappy Singaporeans stuck.

axe168

Pull factor in Sg :
a) Too comfortable drawing a min salary (lower than the CPI)
b) Balls too heavy to move.
c) Relatives and parents said NO. Hence, gotto wait for further instructions.
d) HDB valued at 1mil ! Yay ! (But not knowing my sons & grandsons gotto pay the same price with min salary)
e) Overseas living does not come with instruction manual.. None can lead us.. No PAP party in overseas tell us what to do..too scary without PAP.
f) Bcoz i dont want to be rated as quitter. I'll do what PAP says.. I'll retrain to be a successful driver & SBS needs me. The nation calling..
g) i rather be a "soft shell crab" or "boneless chicken" serve on a Sg table (more predictable) than a hardcore fighter in a foreign land.

Any current residents of Singapore in this thread? I'd like to know what pull-factors still keep unhappy Singaporeans stuck.

Ash007

Pull factor in Sg :
a) Too comfortable drawing a min salary (lower than the CPI)
b) Balls too heavy to move.
c) Relatives and parents said NO. Hence, gotto wait for further instructions.
d) HDB valued at 1mil ! Yay ! (But not knowing my sons & grandsons gotto pay the same price with min salary)
e) Overseas living does not come with instruction manual.. None can lead us.. No PAP party in overseas tell us what to do..too scary without PAP.
f) Bcoz i dont want to be rated as quitter. I'll do what PAP says.. I'll retrain to be a successful driver & SBS needs me. The nation calling..
g) i rather be a "soft shell crab" or "boneless chicken" serve on a Sg table (more predictable) than a hardcore fighter in a foreign land.

Next time if someone tells me that I'll say "Without quitters we would all still be in Africa!"

Don Muthuswamy

Rephrase - If life is so good down under, or across the border, or where the grass is greener, shouldn't practical, logical Singaporeans be packing their bags and moving overseas?

Its not so easy. Not ev cuntry in de wrld dishes out PR & citizenships like toilet ppr like wat Peesai does.In fact, most Ang Moh countries r tightening immigration so even de v qualified find it a challenge even 2 qualify. 1 2 migrate??? Can. Fm Changi 2 Jurong. :rolleyes:

chupacabra

In fact Canada,OZ and NZ are focusing more on blue collar type workers. They have seen the problems letting in so many "educated" FTs in. There are more jobs in the blue collar sector than white ones in most cuntries. Having a degree is no longer having the upper hand. Met a guy in Perth who was from Croatia and his wife from Liberia. He applied as a butcher and now drives a public bus around Perth.

1nottiboy

I am one of the Singaporeans who stayed even though I have lived in various countries. Canada, USA, Taiwan, Japan and China.

Reasons I am not leaving in the foreseeable future.

1. Got married. Now with wife and kid. Actually I never thought I would stay in SG, but met my beautiful wife and that nailed me.
2. I have a sizeable endownment from my parents and grandparents so I am not in the rat race.
3. The investment climate here is good. My invested capital is generating good returns so I do not hafta invest much labour.
4. Lazy. If I move, I hafta study the new investment battleground.
5. Security - low crime rate.

Reasons I may leave one day
1. Ugly Singaporeans. Hate to say this but I have only experienced queue cutting in SG, MY, and China. We may be a first world country but the third world manners die hard.
2. The government (or the lack of) - I look at the PAP and I look at the opposition and I shake my head. Not enough talent on either side.
3. Divorce - if my wife ever dumps me one day, I am gonna move to Macau. I love Sin City!!! But don't think that's gonna happen though. We are still very loving.
4. If the Malaysians are able to provide SG level of security in Iskandar.

axe168

Bro, I am waiting for this good news to come... hopefully it ain't long... MM2H sounds promising (with 1 car tax free) compare to PAP squeezing its citizens' balls (100k COE + $100 per entry to Casino).

1nottiboy

Bro, I am waiting for this good news to come... hopefully it ain't long... MM2H sounds promising (with 1 car tax free) compare to PAP squeezing its citizens' balls (100k COE + $100 per entry to Casino).

15 years ago, hardly any Malay in JB speak English. Now its quite common. So I would think that there is hope.

As for MM2H, it doesnt have enough incentives to make me wanna take it up. it should come with a free virgin for all successfull applicant. :smile:

neddy

As for MM2H, it doesnt have enough incentives to make me wanna take it up. it should come with a free virgin for all successfull applicant. :smile:

Virgin boy or girl?

You lost me on the security in Iskandar "the upcoming cheapie Singapore messiah land".

What does speaking English has to do with the level of security?

For instance, you speak English and you think you are a good security risk?

chupacabra

Hey Ned how do I get my chef skills asses? I was directed to DIAC website by Victoria government, but Singapore is not one of the cuntries that is on the offshore assessment list? Where the hell do I go? DIAC website is chaos man.

Ash007

You tried immi.gov.au yet? If there should be a list there on the professional bodies/association you get assessment from in there.
Hey Ned how do I get my chef skills asses? I was directed to DIAC website by Victoria government, but Singapore is not one of the cuntries that is on the offshore assessment list? Where the hell do I go? DIAC website is chaos man.

chupacabra

You tried immi.gov.au yet? If there should be a list there on the professional bodies/association you get assessment from in there.

I've checked with TRA but they also referred me to DIAC. I know chef/ cooks are off the list but VIctoria government list still have chefs/cooks on their list. I'm trying for the 190 visa in VIC. Filled out the form and shit, it looks quite positive but I need to get my skills assess first. I can't find any email address on DIAC to ask them about my shit man. Unlike Canada's immigration website, OZ abit dizziing.

The forms that I did for my 457 was a nightmare man. 190 should be worst.

neddy

I do apologise if I had given you the wrong advice on 457.

*About assessing your skills.*

First, we have the Federal govt which handle your migration and the State govt which need your skills.
Australia never have seamless State & Federal govt policies, so you are in fact talking to 2 bodies who do not really talk to each other.
So, you see what your frustrations come from.

You have looked here (Federal govt website), http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/sol/ and chef is not listed in http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/_pdf/sol-schedule1.pdf, so you can't find the Assessing authority.

One way is to call or email (State govt), Skilled Migration (VIC)
Tel: +61 3 9651 9756
[email protected]

The government government has a habit of using Wizards and Checklist to help the process.
The idea is that you need to fit into one or more of their categories, and not the other way around.
They are very "fixed" on such matters.

I will also not dismiss that government servants make mistakes and point you to the wrong place.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/_pdf/cooks-chefs.pdf

http://www.immi.gov.au/skills/skillselect/index/checklists/190-applicant-checklist.pdf

http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/booklets/1119.pdf

neddy

UPDATE

I am just trying to help. A lot of people, including my HR friends find this too daunting. The best advice will come from a qualified MARA migration agent which I am not.

I wrote in my previous post about how you need to fit into the correct category in your visa application.

The website has a lot of words (typical Aussie style who cannot write in point form properly) but this is what I found out. (http://www.innovation.gov.au/Skills/SkillsAssessment/Documents/MigrationSkillsGuidelines.pdf)

Your Occupation ANZSCO Code is ANZSCO CODE: 351311 (http://www.immi.gov.au/asri/occupations/c/chef.htm)

There are 3 ways to access your skills
1. TRA Migration Skills Assessment.
2. Offshore Skills Assessment Program. - Does not apply to you unless you hold one of those passports*.
3. Job Ready Program - Does not apply to you.

The TRA Migration Skills Assessment is for those applicants who are NOT REQUIRED to be assessed under TRA’s Offshore Skills Assessment Program.

http://www.innovation.gov.au/Skills/SkillsAssessment/Pages/TRAMigrationSkillsAssessmentOverview.aspx

Your application forms are found in that webpage. This is one of the forms.
http://www.innovation.gov.au/Skills/SkillsAssessment/Documents/MigrationSkillsForm.pdf

* Victoria University is authorised by Trades Recognition Australia (TRA) to conduct skills assessment services for persons seeking Permanent migration (GSM/ENS) under the Offshore Skills Assessment Program.

http://www.vu.edu.au/campuses-servi...ssessments/offshore-skills-assessment-program

• Brazil
  • China
  • Fiji
  • India
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Korea (South)
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • United Kingdom
  • Vietnam
  • Zimbabwe

fishbuff

I've checked with TRA but they also referred me to DIAC. I know chef/ cooks are off the list but VIctoria government list still have chefs/cooks on their list. I'm trying for the 190 visa in VIC. Filled out the form and shit, it looks quite positive but I need to get my skills assess first. I can't find any email address on DIAC to ask them about my shit man. Unlike Canada's immigration website, OZ abit dizziing.

chefs and cooks are off the main Skilled occupation list that are meant for 189 and 190 visa, but it is there in the 457 visa under the consolidated skilled occupation list (CSOL) of the schedule 1 of Migration Regulations 1994. your skill will be required to be assessed by the appropriate body in australia and 457 is an offshore visa, whereas 189/190 is not defined by either onshore or offshore.

457 allows you to work 4 years in australia but you have to buy insurance cover. you still need to meet the public interest criteria of both character and medical check; criterion 4001, 4002, 4003, 4004, 4007 and 4009.

for 457, it is pretty straight forward; company that want to employ you must be an eligible sponsor, then nominate the occupation listing the skills and list of commitments, then finally the skilled worker apply for it.

there are many indians taxi drivers who are on 457 visa here and most are finding their ways to qualify for 189 visa. if you need more help on this, please post here.