• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why do Singaporeans leave?

Romulus

Dear bro,

It is no brainer solution. My BMW is <50% of my peanuts salary, with 3 yrs maintenance free and I can drive it forever.

Sg govt likes me to compete with Bangalas, China-nese or India-nese for cheap labour.. Who the hell agrees with that ! Siao ah ! I rather compete with the Angmos for quality work :smile:

Currently, lots of freebies in Sg are for the inferior cheap labourer (aka Foreigner Talents), NOT for the locals. Well, no problemo...

In Australia, PRs are considered skilled migrants with same benefits to the Australians. Life's Good ! hence, I rather be a 2nd class citizen (or the worst amongst the best) than in SG -so called 1st class local (best amongst the worst). GO figure it out !

A Leadership change is a must ! I shall leave it for your generation Z to change the world.. while I relax one corner enjoying my beer :-)

So what you're saying is that if you can put up with the inconvenience of starting afresh, the cost of settling in is far outweighed by quality of life in terms of car and house ownership, than slogging back home. ie. It doesn't take a 5 figure monthly salary to enjoy a good life.

valiant20

This is true ! That's why we always place a jacket, T-shirt, swimwear and condom in our car. lol !

I almost forget in SG you guys cannot afford a car :( 100k for COE, Biang !~

LOL @ condom! Sorry lah I can't have any in my car otherwise a lot of questions will be raised by OC!

You in Melb too? Get ready for wet wet wet weather tomorrow!

@ Bro Neddy, I love Melb's unpredictable weather.. can't wait for my "natural aircon" winter to arrive :biggrin:

valiant20

So what you're saying is that if you can put up with the inconvenience of starting afresh, the cost of settling in is far outweighed by quality of life in terms of car and house ownership, than slogging back home. ie. It doesn't take a 5 figure monthly salary to enjoy a good life.

Yes exactly. You don't need to slog over here to earn a car and a house.

These are NOT considered luxury items, unlike back in Singapore. Cars are seen as the most common mode of transportation and not public transport.

Plus you've gotta love the peace here at night when you sleep.. :biggrin:

Romulus

Yes exactly. You don't need to slog over here to earn a car and a house.

These are NOT considered luxury items, unlike back in Singapore. Cars are seen as the most common mode of transportation and not public transport.

Plus you've gotta love the peace here at night when you sleep.. :biggrin:

Okay. I hear you... shouldn't we then persuade MORE Singaporeans to leave? :smile:

Romulus

Okay. I hear you... shouldn't we then persuade MORE Singaporeans to leave? :smile:

Rephrase - If life is so good down under, or across the border, or where the grass is greener, shouldn't practical, logical Singaporeans be packing their bags and moving overseas?

valiant20

A lot of Singaporeans can't live without their Shopping Centres/maids/etc etc.. Hard to convince them to clean their own homes, do their own gardens, do their own home improvement projects :P

A lot of Singaporeans can't live without their 24 hour coffeeshop downstairs, complain about food prices being expensive when they eat out here (most of us cook :wink:), don't dare to take the risk to venture out of their comfort zone into a new life overseas..

So to those who are NOT in these lot of Singaporeans.. BRAVO! :biggrin:

valiant20

That's what i miss most here in SG, sleeping without the noise of a fan or aircon in the background.

For me its the constant traffic and people walking around in sg that puts me off. Love the peace and quiet here in Aus.. :biggrin:

neddy

@ Bro Neddy, I love Melb's unpredictable weather.. can't wait for my "natural aircon" winter to arrive :biggrin:

My wife wants the whole family to move to Melbourne, the weather is my only excuse not to move. Understand?

Romulus

My wife wants the whole family to move to Melbourne, the weather is my only excuse not to move. Understand?

So you choose to suffer in Singapore because of Melbourne's "unpredictable weather"? Why Melbourne then? OZland is big. Then there's NZland too...

neddy

So you choose to suffer in Singapore because of Melbourne's "unpredictable weather"? Why Melbourne then? OZland is big. Then there's NZland too...

Why do I need to suffer in Singapore? I only see Singaporeans suffering to serve me every time I visit. I go to casino there, no need to pay levy. :biggrin:

axe168

What I'm saying the experience in venturing and the drive to seek growth, happiness and retirement.. are worth fighting for.

Living within waiting for slow death, why not stepping outside your door and venture outwards... afterall, you only live once, why not experience the life that you will never regret.

axe168

Why do I need to suffer in Singapore? I only see Singaporeans suffering to serve me every time I visit. I go to casino there, no need to pay levy. :biggrin:

Dude, same here ! My last trip, i fucked the security when he stopped me @ Casino. He said i'm a Singaporean !! I yelled @ him, "Did you know what a passport mean ? If your govt have a problem with their own ppl, go fuck themselves"..

Travelled to many countries, I've never seen such a discrimination against its own race. I am quite ashamed about it... Once proud, but not anymore !

Ash007

Next time talk 'strine to them. :wink: Singaporean keep kpkb about the govt. fucking them over and yet do nothing about it. In Australia they would have been voted out ages ago like what labor is going through now.
Dude, same here ! My last trip, i fucked the security when he stopped me.. He said i'm a Singaporean !! I yelled @ him, "Did you know what a passport mean ? If your govt have a problem with their own ppl, go fuck themselves"..

Travelled to many countries, I've never seen such a discrimination against its own race. I am quite ashamed about it... Once proud, but not anymore !

axe168

Bro, I have never seen a country did so much damage to its citizens. SG will never grow, if they keep bashing their own ppl. It is actually embarrassing for me to call myself a Singaporean.

Serving NS just to be submissive & obedient to the leaders.. offering jobs to the foreigners so called talents. My foot ! We should outsource our entire Parliament. Ha !

I think it is going to take many decades to turn this around and I shall send my blessing to the people of Singapore. Soon I shall return and be a foreigner ! lol !

Next time talk 'strine to them. :wink: Singaporean keep kpkb about the govt. fucking them over and yet do nothing about it. In Australia they would have been voted out ages ago like what labor is going through now.

Ash007

That day will come. They justified the million dollar salary because they want to retain "talents", it has to be competitive with the "private" sector. If that is the case, why not just hire any CEO? Why not give the job to the person with the best economic credential? Why not let the country be managed by Google, Microsoft, Apple?

Same here, I'm planning my return as an FT, go there for 4-5 years then come back to Aussieland. Wei, should meet up in Singapore when you there. We talk Aussie and see the locals blur like fuck on the streets. :wink:

Bro, I have never seen a country did so much damage to its citizens. SG will never grow, if they keep bashing their own ppl. It is actually embarrassing for me to call myself a Singaporean.

Serving NS just to be submissive & obedient to the leaders.. offering jobs to the foreigners so called talents. My foot ! We should outsource our entire Parliament. Ha !

I think it is going to take many decades to turn this around and I shall send my blessing to the people of Singapore. Soon I shall return and be a foreigner ! lol !

valiant20

Hehe.. They like to be wipped by their leaders. Australians can only sit by the side and watch. hehe.

Reminds me of an incident, when I went back in '10, someone asked me "are you sure you've been in Australia for so long? How come still talk like a Singaporean"?.. If it wasn't some business matter I was going for, I would have buggered him off!

In the end just told him that I was able to switch anytime I wanted :rolleyes: These frog in pond singaporeans...

valiant20

Understooded Bro Neddy. Only time I've been to Perth was when I was 5.. should fly there 1 day to visit again. Can't remember anything at 5 yrs old..