• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What would u do with it if u have 7 hours of free time each day?

Just because there are dark period of time in Chinese history, does it jusitify for Chinese here to SCREW CHINESE LANGUAGE AND CULTURE, LET US JUST BE ANG MOH WANNABES???

Not as I see it in Singapore among Singapore Chinese. Mandarin is still widely spoken, Chinese newspapers, Chinese TV channels and Chinese TV series like Three Kingdoms, Yongzheng Dynasty etc. still on very high readership and viewership ratings.

char_jig_kar

Not as I see it in Singapore among Singapore Chinese. Mandarin is still widely spoken, Chinese newspapers, Chinese TV channels and Chinese TV series like Three Kingdoms, Yongzheng Dynasty etc. still on very high readership and viewership ratings.

Not so.

"Since 1984, Chinese language has been reduced into an isolated subject in primary and secondary schools, and all other subjects are taught in English, which has ever since dominated the country's education system. According to statistics from Singapore's ministry of education, 9.3 percent first year pupils of primary schools of Chinese origin used English at home in 1980, but the figure soared to 45 percent last year. What's more noticeable is, according to Singaporean population census in 2000, 35.8 percent children at the age group of 5-14 of Chinese origin mainly used English at home, while in the age-group of 15-24, only 21.5 percent used English in family conversations. If the trend remains unchanged, English will become the No.1 language for the Singaporean Chinese in one or two decades, while the Chinese language be reduced into an "alien tongue" to be learnt only in class."

http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/200402/22/eng20040222_135475.shtml

Iolabunny

This is for self centric people:
If you are married, spend more time with wife.
If you have kids, spend more time with kids.
If you are single and unattached, spend more time finding gf, ie: dating.
If you are single and attached, spend more time with gf.

in my free time I'd pretend that I am lolabunny:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

1sickpuppy

How do you do that? Like you have to buy the figures or something? :biggrin:

Yup I buy the figures and model vehicles from a hobby stall at katong shopping center ,assemble, paint and mount it on a miniature landscape that I tried to recreate as close to Normady D Day as close as posible :smile:

If everyday, after work, after chores, and shower, and misc activities (sleep, makan, commuting, etc) u have 7 hours of free time, what would u do with it?

Take up photography. By the time you figure out lighting, white balance, bokeh etc, 2 years would have passed quickly, you are still an amateur, you will be even more determined than ever as your ego will force you to do better.

You spend alot of time on clubsnap website taking advice form experts and giving advice to newbies.

You will visit John 3:16, Cathay Photo, Alan Photo etc hoping to get a good price for the latest VR. You will make Funan centre your regular kopitiam.

Then it will dawn on you that its time to specialise such as landscape, sports, nature, birds , abstract, night scenes , then another 2 years will go by.

Then you go back to Clubsnap, go thru the travel photos that some chap posted and wonder how wonderful the world is.

You will then learn to appreciate the cultures of the world, the beauty of nature and the human body and your own talents.

By this time, 5 years would have gone by, your wife will insist that you buy a new more advanced toy ( I mean camera) as she, the relatives and friends are impressed.

You branch into Photo-astronomy, you take the most sensational picture of the moon in all its glory, with multiple hues and gradient shadows.

Suddenly you realise there are not enough hours in a day.

char_jig_kar

Really appreciate the suggestions and advices by you forum members.

There are all kind of activities we could choose from these days. But what I need is some kind of system. Some kind of frame work. Why do we choose photography over cycling? Why do we choose to watch movies instead of playing electronic games (PC, console, arcade, etc)?

Well?

It dawn on me, that... the best for me is just go by the rule of thumb: just do whatever I like to do. Do whatever I enjoy to do. No need to search to optimize the use of my free time, thats just anal retentive, and it will be stressful. Just do anything which I enjoy. Period.

Thanx for listening.

Every civilization, race, has got its history of glory, and sorrow. Chinese have that too. So??

Just because there are dark period of time in Chinese history, does it jusitify for Chinese here to SCREW CHINESE LANGUAGE AND CULTURE, LET US JUST BE ANG MOH WANNABES???

Good retort. Take romans for eg. They were eventually overrun by the barbarians and they had their mad kings like nero for eg their empire split into east and west roman empires. The western empire totally disintegrated bringing about the dark ages in most of Europe etc.

How about the ottoman empire, British empire etc? They all rose and then fell. How about china today? China rose and then fell and then rose again much bigger and stronger than before.

It's like ppl telling the story of Jesus Christ being killed on the cross without him rising again.

Satan

In my free time I do weights three times a week to keep fit. I also make it a point to spend some time playing with my children and a small portion of my time to come in here and kawbeh kawboo.

char_jig_kar

I am not an anti islam or anti muslim.

but i am gotta say this, i think people who don't eat pork, they don't know what they miss.

e.g. bar goot teh, pig organ soup (pig liver, pig intestine, pig stomach, pig blood, yummy....), pig foot (yummy... those fats...), pig kidney mee suah, stir fried dish with lard, etc etc...

"Advice" is a non countable noun; you do not add an "s" to make it plural.

"Advice" is like "Rice". You say... "Please pass me the Rice." You don't say "Please pass me the rices" because "Rice", like "advice", is a non countable noun.

There are many other examples. To test your knowledge of non countable nouns, go to English Language Quiz - Countable or Non-countable Nouns (I-TESL-J) and take the test.

Merl Haggard

lolabunny

There are all kind of activities we could choose from these days. But what I need is some kind of system. Some kind of frame work. Why do we choose photography over cycling? Why do we choose to watch movies instead of playing electronic games (PC, console, arcade, etc)?

Well?

It dawn on me, that... the best for me is just go by the rule of thumb: just do whatever I like to do. Do whatever I enjoy to do. No need to search to optimize the use of my free time, thats just anal retentive, and it will be stressful. Just do anything which I enjoy. Period.

Thanx for listening.

Yup! Just go with the flow! Flow with your heart! :smile: