• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What Kind Of Business Would You Suggest To Your Best Fried ...............

Actaully with your capital at 1 to 2M, fish farm is a good investment. From what i heardThere are 2 types of fish farm; ornamental fish and consumable fish. Ornamental fish like very big in China, whole consumable fish is to restaurant and such. Very good margins. Hire a scientist level to manage your farm to control the water, temp, etc...

I do not know about the Singapore environment, but the fish business in Canada is very competitive, risky and perishable. As brother [GoldenDragon] indicated earlier, not "pao chiak"

If best friend, will tell him/her to look for someone else. Friendship in biz is a no no. Lost 2 very good friends because of a biz venture over a decade ago. When starting out, everything OK, when profits start to come in, hearts change. If can turn back the clock, will choose friendship. Maybe I am getting old now. :(

My 2 baht.

I agree. Usually either friends or business. I prefer friends, because if one mix friendship with business, no one gains.

there is no sure earn business.:D
ask your friend buy an private unit and rent to entertainers.:D

1 room with 6 pax
6 pax 500 each
3 room 18 pax
living room partition
another 12 pax
so about $15k

hahaha. my 2 cents.:D

there is no sure earn business.:D
ask your friend buy an private unit and rent to entertainers.:D ...
can oso offer 2 help fren collect rent ...

Yes, that's another consideration. 300k capital more than enough for a HFJ. 1800-2500 sq ft.
Can 'sian' singers everynight somemore. Free drinks too.

uncle GD, u shd know th main core biz of a HFJ is to "clean" money only. unless your friend money need "cleaning" if not HFJ biz not as good as it seems to be.

like the licensed private Spool sellers, the private own petrol stations also no more. I think Caltex left only 2 stations that are privately own. That would be a good biz to invest.

be a govt vendor, with your entertainment skills, sure can get govt procurement managers eating out of your hand.:D

How bout Uncle Ex Cop/Con :D open a disco(Hire me, I will do your theme) or open a club with a jackpot room.

I was telling you about fish farm right, Seafood only sells high in certain countries etc. SG, Malaysia, Hongkong, China.. Mainly with countries that have high % of Chinese, Doesnt sell well in ang moh country... I thought of going into the fish business when i was in my mid-20s because i saw that lots of money can be made but i was short of a couple of million dollars. Anyways.. This weekend just go to changi village(Stand at the bridge) early in the morning and see the constant loading of fish(you don't need to go to sonoko/jurong just yet) There will also be buyers/sellers there, Go and talk with them but of cos don't tell them your thinking of setting up fish business(This farkers are crude) There is also market for ornamental fish, But i don't know how large it is or where is your target audience.

I think our circumstances are different. My friend not interested in the returns!

Understood.

Open HFJ, bro. I bring all my kaki down to suppork!!

Or, consider pte school targetted at foreigners. If you get the knack of the biz, can expand to vietnam or malaysia too.

Hire england teacher, math teacher, etc. A lot of money to be made if you process their visa, arrange tour, accomodation, and other "under table" stuff for the "students". Some of the better "students" may even work part time in your HFJ! Double win!

How bout Uncle Ex Cop/Con :D open a disco(Hire me, I will do your theme) or open a club with a jackpot room.

Clubs with jackpot rooms biz down by 50% coz of 2 IRs. Also very difficult to qualify for jackpot machines. Need very established clubs and some other very stringent criteria to qualify. No longer the flavour of the month or year with the opening of the 2 IRs.

Disco? Lots of fights. Uncle wants peaceful living.

uncle GD, u shd know th main core biz of a HFJ is to "clean" money only. unless your friend money need "cleaning" if not HFJ biz not as good as it seems to be.

If need to 'clean' money, why waste time with HFJs? To clean it cleanly, GST of 7% makes it unattractive. Market rate for such cleaning services is 3%.

Understood.

Open HFJ, bro. I bring all my kaki down to suppork!!

Or, consider pte school targetted at foreigners. If you get the knack of the biz, can expand to vietnam or malaysia too.

Hire england teacher, math teacher, etc. A lot of money to be made if you process their visa, arrange tour, accomodation, and other "under table" stuff for the "students". Some of the better "students" may even work part time in your HFJ! Double win!

Kum sia. Will consider.

Find an small business accountant who looks after various types of small businesses run by families or small number partners. Ever do often , there will be owners who want to retire, migrate or want to concentrate on something else. In many of these cases, the kids are not interested or have moved overseas. These accountants will facilitate and are able to provide financials if the owners agree. You can also ask them if there is money kept in the milk tin which is common.

Here is you criteria
1. paid staff running the show
2. preferably not food and if food preferably western restaurant.
3. Not long hours

If possible try and get 2 businesses - such as bags and apparels which is requires little supervision. Ah Lian, SYT can be retail staff. MILF supervisor. By the way I am not kidding. You can decent returns and you will have time to slowly learn how to operate businesses. Because of your background, things like renovation contractor which you will need to spruce up every 3 to 5 years, delivery chaps, etc should not have problem.