• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Updated News/Gossips/KNNBCCB PAP Never Solve Haze Problem Thread

Re: $$$Million Dollar FAP Minister: Be Fair, Refer to 24hr PSI, not 3hr!

[h=2]Responding to Ng Eng Heng’s nonsense of only referring to 24hr
PSI
[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
June 22nd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

ngengheng.png

Minister Ng Eng Hen

Defence Minister and Chairman of the Haze Inter-Ministerial Committee Ng Eng
Hen on Friday urged the public to refer to the 24-hour Pollutant Standards Index
(PSI) reading rather than the three-hour reading. He said that most studies on
the exposure to pollutants are based on 24-hour measurements, and explained that
was why the government’s guidelines are also based on 24-hour measurements.

This is dangerous nonsense. Does one whose house is burning around him make a
decision whether to leave the premises based on 24-hour average temperature?
Just as that person would be burned to death in minutes if he decided to stay in
a burning building, similarly, serious lung damage could be sustained by one
breathing in high PSI air for short durations like 15 minutes.

Has the relatively recent smoke grenade fatality involving a young NSF not
taught us that fine particulate matter in air can be harmful in short intense
exposure? Or has the poor young man been forgotten? Granted, that tragic case is
not identical, but there are important similarities.

(The PAP Government should be reminded of the basic fact that if a 3-hour
average PSI reading is, for instance, 300, then there must have been
10/20-minute average PSI readings in the relevant 3-hour time span above 300.
Possibly significantly above 300.)

It is certainly true that the health impacts of air pollutants are determined
both by the concentration and also the duration of exposure. But what the PAP
Government is saying is truly incredible, and incredible claims have to be
backed up by evidence.

If the government can put forth credible evidence that exposures of 10 to 20
minutes, common for simple necessary actions like walking to the bus stop and
waiting for the bus, to PSI levels of over 200 has negligible ill-effects. We
should take note and relax a little. But in the absence of such credible
evidence, it is only safe and reasonable to assume that such exposure should be
actively avoided because such exposures may cause complications; Complications
that may be much more severe in some than others.

The PAP Government should not misinform Singaporeans about the haze threat.
It is dangerous and does Singaporeans a huge disservice.

Jeremy Chen

* Jeremy is currently a PhD student at the Department of Decision
Sciences at NUS Business School. Jeremy believes in the possibility of a
beautiful synthesis of “social justice” and “the free market”. He also hopes for
less politicking and more policy discussion in the political arena. He blogs at
http://jeremy-chen.org.

Editor’s note: Perhaps the Minister of Defence, Dr Ng,
can assure Singaporeans that everything is alright by doing IPPT including the
2.4km run himself when the 3hr PSI is above 200?

[h=2]Haze problem shows how useless our million dollars salaried
ministers are
[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
June 22nd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png

gohchoktong.png

ESM Goh wrote on his Facebook: "Singapore Child better
learn to survive the tortuous smog and haze"

Dear Singaporeans,

We have to thank the haze for it shows how useless our millions dollars
salaried ministers are.

This haze problem has been there for so many years and they cannot solve it
except keep blaming Indonesia and say it’s out of their control.

What is worst is that Goh Chok Tong has the audacity to tell Singaporeans to
get used to it (‘ESM Goh: S’pore Child had better learn to survive the smog &
haze
‘).

Are Singaporeans’ lives so cheap?

Hey, Goh Chok Tong, why not tell your children to come back to Singapore and
get used to it?

Back to my topic, what I would like to suggest is apart from taking
precautionary measure against the haze, go take a picture/video of how you and
your family are shrouded with haze.

In future, should you suffer cancer or other respiratory disorder or disease,
use this as proof to claim against our millions dollars salaried PAP
government.

We must organize ourselves into a group and collectively make our medical
claims against the “foreign loving local bullying” millions dollars salaried PAP
government.

We must show them that we are not daft.

Thanks and regards,

A Singaporean suffocating in haze

[h=2]PM Lee stops short of giving PSI number to issue stop-work
orders
[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
June 22nd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png

lhl2.jpg

PM Lee

PRIME Minister Lee Hsien Loong, in his press conference on Thursday,
indicated that stop-work orders may be issued if the haze situation deteriorates
and persists (“PM lists priorities in tackling haze”; yesterday).

But he stopped short of giving an actual number that the Pollutant Standards
Index (PSI) must reach for such orders to be issued as other factors must be
taken into consideration.

While a stop-work order would have a serious impact on our economy, it should
be issued for outdoor workers when the PSI reading goes above 300.

The PSI reading issued is currently a three-hour average. As such, when the
PSI rises above 300, the actual reading on the ground may be higher.

The National Environment Agency (NEA) has classified any reading above 300 as
“hazardous”, which means that prolonged exposure to such haze conditions is
hazardous to one’s health.

Certain private businesses have already taken it upon themselves to stop
employees who usually work outdoors.

Fast-food chains such as McDonalds and Pizza Hut, for example, have
temporarily stopped their delivery services to protect the health of their
riders.

These profit-driven entities are concerned enough to impose stop-work orders
at the expense of profits.

I consider the current haze situation in Singapore an issue of national
concern.

In 2005, Malaysia declared a state of emergency in Port Klang and Kuala
Selangor when the Malaysian air quality readings then went above 500.

A comprehensive operational plan must be in place to guide Singaporeans and
businesses so that life and commerce can carry on.

Issuing mandatory stop-work orders, at least for outdoor workers when the PSI
goes above 300, will give everyone certainty and allow businesses and schools to
plan for contingencies.

We can use our public warning system to broadcast a stop-work order when the
PSI goes above 300 and to resume work once the PSI dips below 300.

While many workers who work outdoors already don N95 masks, they may
experience breathing difficulties when wearing the masks for long periods of
time.

The work stoppage time will give outdoor workers some time to recover indoors
till the haze subsides.

Trent Ng Yong En

* Comment first appeared in ST Forum (22 Jun)

[h=2]Vivian & Eng Hen: Other Countries Publish 24-Hourly PSI
Readings. Really?
[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
June 22nd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png

Vivian_Balakrishnan-200x300.jpg
Did you hear what Vivian just said?

Take a look at the video at the link below. Listen to what our dear Vivian
has to say at 2:35:

http://www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/news/91928.html
(sorry, I couldn’t embed the video)

These were his exact words:

We are probably the only country that’s publishing 3-hourly rolling average
PSI. If you look at PSIs in almost any other jurisdictions, it will be on a
24-hour average and the updating is not going to be at an hourly interval and
published almost instantly as what we have now.
Does Vivian think that we are idiots?

You want to know what the truth is? Just take a look at the images below and
you will SEE for yourself what the truth is.

This is Hong Kong:

photo-1-26.jpg

Hong Kong: Air Pollution Index
(API)

This is Montreal, Canada:

photo-2-25.jpg

Canada: Air
Quality Health Index

This is London, United Kingdom:

photo-3-22.jpg

United Kingdom: PM10
(particulate matter)

This is America/Canada – click on the link to see the real-time loop.

photo-4-20.jpg

America/Canada: Air
Quality Index (AQI)

Do any of these look like 24-hour averages to you?

Do they not get published instantly?

What is Vivian talking about when he said that Singapore is “in almost any
other jurisdictions, (the PSI reading) will be on a 24-hour average”?

Ok, so even if it’s a technicality and we should look at the PSI – which
other country uses the PSI? Singapore and?

You see can at the two links below the other air quality indexes used by the
other countries:

The only other country that uses the PSI index is Taiwan and even then, it
also provides real-time data:

What “other jurisdictions” is Vivian talking about? Timbuktu? Even when just
compared to Taiwan, what Vivian had said is a fallacy!

And if you look at air quality indexes as a whole, you can see that many of
the countries provide hourly readings which are published at “hourly interval(s)
and published almost instantly”.

Vivian, who are you trying to smoke? You think that with the haze, you can
really haze our brains, is it? Is that it?

Apparently, Vivian isn’t the only funny person to say this. According to Channel
NewsAsia
, “Defence Minister and Chairman of the Haze Inter-Ministerial
Committee Ng Eng Hen on Friday urged the public to refer to the 24-hour
Pollutant Standards Index (PSI) reading rather than the three-hour reading.”

It also reported that, “He added that most studies on the exposure to
pollutants are based on 24-hour measurements. That is why the government’s
guidelines are also based on those measurements.”

Just last night, Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin also chimed in and
said on his Facebook page
that, “We understand that the 3-hourly PSI readings can spike and cause much
anxiety, but they fluctuate greatly during the day. It is the total exposure
that the 24-hr readings provide that will matter most.” FYI, readings are
supposed to spike! – this is much better an indication for the people as to what
they should do, rather than a 24-hour reading which doesn’t give them clear
instructions. Hello???

Is Vivian, Eng Hen and Chuan-Jin trying to pull a fast one? What other
“jurisdictions”? What other “studies”? The indexes I have shown clearly publish
hourly readings!

If I use the same logic and apply it to the weather – now in some countries,
the temperature fluctuates severely throughout just one day – if I should be
looking at the 24-hour temperature, I should be wearing a thick sweater for the
whole day even if the weather becomes sweltering hot at some parts of the day or
I should be wearing only singlets and shorts for the whole day even if it
becomes freezing cold at night? Is that it?

That’s rubbish. Obviously, the weather doesn’t operate on human timelines –
the weather fluctuates according to, well, mother nature! I hardly imagine the
weather, or the haze for that matter, fluctuates based on our clock! It’s
completely erroneous to expect us to monitor the haze on an 24-hour average
basis!

The basic idea should be that we should wear our masks when we go outdoors,
and when the haze hits a high level – on as immediate a basis as we can notice!
It simply doesn’t make logical sense to decide whether to put on a mask based on
the 24-hourly average.

Why The Government Wanted To Pull The Wool Over Our Eyes

By now, many of us would understand why Vivian and Eng Hen had made such
illogical statements. In the past where there was only the state-controlled
media controlling what is reported, Singaporeans would have blindly bought into
what these highly-paid ministers had said. But not now – not when we have the
Internet to help us locate the real answers.

Mr Harinderpal S Grewal
did up some amazing comparison charts between the hourly and 3-hourly average
PSI readings.

If you look at the chart directly below, the government had initially
published 3-hourly average readings because initially (between 6am to 12pm), the
3-hourly average readings (red line) were lower than the hourly readings (blue
line) and it could help give the illusion that the PSI reading is actually lower
than it really is.

thu-20-june-psi-values.jpg

Photo credit: Harinderpal
S Grewal’s Facebook Page

However, as Thursday went by, the hourly readings began to fluctuate – it
fluctuated to a point where the hourly readings dipped to such lows (8pm and
11pm), where the government was even thinking about whether to focus on
reporting on hourly readings, because they would have looked “nicer”.

But on Friday (in the chart directly below), as the both the hourly and
3-hourly average readings grew to hazardously levels, the government wanted to
find other ways to present the PSI readings to depress the readings further –
what else but a 24-hour average, which they hope would flatten the PSI
curve.

fri-21-june-psi-values.jpg

Photo credit: Harinderpal
S Grewal’s Facebook Page

Why they could so seriously underestimate Singaporeans’ intelligence, I don’t
understand how. The haze might have gotten into their heads but it has only
opened our eyes further to the government’s blasé attitude in managing the
haze.

Seriously, who is Vivian and Eng Hen trying to kid? The 60% who voted for
them – or would it be the 50%, which would have become by now.

As if this is not already bad enough, on Wednesday night, the National
Environmental Agency had apparently initially put out the PSI reading at 10pm as
393, but it was later changed to 321.

psi-reading-393.jpg

Photo credit: Karen
Teoh

Who should we believe? Who can we believe? Can we believe the government when
what it says is utter nonsense?

This reminds me of when the Chinese government didn’t want to report on the
actual SARS cases in 2003 and caused the SARS epidemic to eventually blow out of
proportion, because of their lack of honesty.

We Need To Protect The Freedom Of Our Internet

This also reminds me of what Yaccob had said earlier this month about the
newly-implemented “licensing framework” by the Media Development Authority (MDA)
when he said
that, “Singapore is not the only country tweaking the laws governing traditional
and online media.” Yaacob had also said that, “New Zealand and Britain are also
reviewing their regulatory approaches and frameworks for new and old media
(where) he noted that New Zealand’s Law Commission recently called for an
independent watchdog to oversee broadcast, print and online news. It will have
the power to censure and ask for material to be removed from a website as well
as for a published apology.”

But again, these were erroneous arguments presented by Yaacob. The truth was
clearly illustrated by Kirsten
Han who said
that, “The MDA’s licensing scheme shows that nothing was learnt
from the UK’s example. It has completely missed the point of the Leveson Report,
which specifically stated that the government should have no power over what is
published in the media;” and Choo
Zheng Xi, who said
that, “The New Zealand Law Commission consulted widely
and solicited views and opinions from members of industry, the legal fraternity,
bloggers, commercial news agencies, and the public at large before formulating
their recommendations,” whereas there was no public consultation done on the
MDA’s Licensing Framework.

Do you remember how Yaacob had wanted us to “read the right thing”? Would you
have known all these if you had read what they wanted you to read – what they
had put out in their own newspapers and TV channels?

You wouldn’t have known what hit you!

I don’t trust what this government wants to say anymore – I will read
everything with a very discerning eye, and I suggest that you do the same, as
many have done so. The haze episode has revealed many Singaporeans who have
taken things into their own hands to find out the truths about the haze on their
own.

If the haze episode has shown anything, it is that we cannot allow the
government to control our Internet. This is the only source of information that
we have left where we can investigate on matters on our own and put the truth
out.

If we had allowed our Internet to be controlled by the government, that’s it,
Singaporeans. We would be cheated, lied and told half-truths and we would be
made to believe “the right thing”. This is very, very dangerous. We need
to protect the freedom of our Internet and we need to protect our right to read,
know and make informed decisions.

And if we need to take away anything from this haze episode, it’s to remember
that the people are a lot stronger than the government. Our people –
Singaporeans – have shown that we are better able to come together and help one
another, while we have to wait for the government to do anything at all to
manage the situation.

This government has shown a lack of leadership and strength in this episode,
and this shouldn’t even be considered a major crisis! If they are not even able
to show the ability to manage the haze, then I shudder to imagine how they would
be able to effectively manage other major crises.

Remember these names: Vivian, Eng Hen and Yaccob.

Roy

* The author blogs at http://thehearttruths.com.

Singaporeans Slam Leaders for Not Ordering Work Halt Amid SMOG

[h=2]Singaporeans Slam Leaders for Not Ordering Work Halt Amid
Smog
[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
June 22nd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png

[WSJ Article first appeared on http://blogs.wsj.com/searealtime/20...leaders-for-not-ordering-work-halt-amid-smog/]

haze4-300x168.jpg
Smog conditions in Singapore have worsened to unprecedented
levels, but a legion of workers in the island state have visibly kept plugging
away outdoors, prompting public concern for their health and well-being.

The government has so far resisted calls to order a general halt to all
outdoor work activities even though smoke from forest fires in Indonesia has
pushed Singapore’s air quality into “very unhealthy” and “hazardous” levels for
long stretches this week. Officials said they may issue so-called “stop work”
orders if conditions worsen, but stressed that any measures would be gradual and
targeted, and would complement existing guidelines requiring employers to look
after their staff.

On Friday, as smog conditions intensified to a new record, some citizens took
to the Internet to criticize their leaders for perceived inaction. Many posted
photographs of construction sites across the island nation that purportedly show
many laborers still working outdoors—some without masks—despite the hazardous
air quality.

“Why are construction workers still on site? This is ridiculous,” Choo Zheng
Xi, a lawyer and social activist, wrote on his Facebook page. “I’m working from
home in air-conditioning, and I have ash in my nostrils … can we please stop
putting profits before people for once.”

Others noted that Singapore’s military has already reduced, and in some cases
halted, outdoor training and questioned why the Ministry of Manpower, or MOM,
wasn’t doing the same for the city’s hundreds of thousands of manual laborers,
many of whom are foreigners who work in jobs such as construction.

If the Singapore military found it necessary to take action, “why can’t or
shouldn’t MOM stop all outdoor heavy work?” Andrew Loh, a blogger and social
activist, wrote on his Facebook page. “A clear sign that the importance of your
health depends on which nationality you are?”

The Manpower Ministry regulates labor issues and workplace conditions, and a
ministry-appointed commissioner for workplace safety has powers to order work
halts over health and safety concerns. A ministry spokesman declined to comment
on possible government orders to halt outdoor work, saying that the matter was
under consideration by a government panel set up to tackle haze-related
issues.

As of 8 a.m. local time Saturday, Singapore’s three-hour Pollutant Standards
Index—a measure of air quality—was at 292, easing off an all-time high of 401
reached Friday. According to the National Environment Agency, readings between
101 to 200 indicate “unhealthy,” 201 to 300 “very unhealthy,” and above 300
“hazardous.”

Officials say they would pay closer attention to the 24-hour PSI levels—which
averages readings taken over a 24-hour period—rather than the three-hour
readings, as the former gives a better picture of the potential health risks. As
of 8 a.m. Saturday, Singapore’s 24-hour PSI was between 179 and 246.

Singapore’s air quality had never reached “hazardous” levels before this
week. Analysts have warned that an extended haze episode could hurt the
city-state’s economy, due to potential declines in tourism and retail revenues
and losses stemming from work stoppages.

Some employers have already taken initiatives to protect staff. The Singapore
Flyer, the landmark giant observation wheel, on Thursday asked its employees to
stop work until air quality improves to “a safe level.” Fast-food restaurants
such as KFC, McDonalds, PastaMania and Pizza Hut have suspended their Singapore
delivery services until further notice in an effort to to ensure the safety of
their drivers.

Under Singapore law, the government can order any employer to halt work
activities “until measures have been taken to ensure that the work can be
carried out safely.” But officials have demurred on blanket nationwide steps to
halt outdoor work, saying any measures would be gradual and targeted.

“We have to have a practical, flexible, and in a sense a tailored, customized
approach to deal with the different demands and the different vulnerabilities
that people will have,” Environment Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said Thursday
on a news program aired by state-owned broadcaster MediaCorp.

Under the manpower ministry’s existing guidelines, all “employers
have a duty to protect their employees’ safety and health at work” during haze
conditions, such as by providing masks and conducting regular risk assessments
to determine if work can be done safely.

The guidelines require employers to halt work if conditions have worsened to
the extent that risks can’t be mitigated even with precautionary measures. Those
who fail to conduct risk assessments and act upon them can be punished with
fines of up to 10,000 Singapore dollars ($7,800). Repeat offenders can be jailed
for up to six months or fined up to S$20,000, or both.

“Our areas of concerns remain focused on those working outdoors, especially
if under strenuous conditions and/or being outdoors on a prolonged basis,”
Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin wrote Thursday on his Facebook page.

“We also need to ascertain essential services and how best to provide these
in a manner that is safe for our workers,” he said.

But such reassurances have failed to win over some Singaporeans, who said
that economic considerations were being overly prioritized.

“The next time somebody insists that Singapore does not pursue growth at all
costs, just tell them this: workers made to toil in PSI 400 conditions,” Sudhir
Vadaketh, a Singaporean writer, said on his Facebook page. “If this is not
growth at all costs, I’m not sure what is.”

Others Singaporeans, growing impatient with employers who have kept their
workers outdoors, have taken matters into their own hands.

The Online Citizen, a popular sociopolitical news website, has called on its
readers to write in with names of companies whose workers were seen laboring
outdoors in hazy conditions. “Hopefully, direct naming and shaming will have an
impact,” it said on its Facebook page.

Chun Han Wong

* Re-published with consent from The Wall Street Journal.

Re: Ng Eng Hen and Army show off: Distribute N95 masks only to PAP controlled PA

Double confirmed sir.
Anywhere but Hougang and Aljuinied.

This government has shown a lack of leadership and strength in this episode,
and this shouldn’t even be considered a major crisis! If they are not even able
to show the ability to manage the haze, then I shudder to imagine how they would
be able to effectively manage other major crises.

Not just THIS episode. Dengue may be off the headlines, but they have yet to kill the mosquito, so to speak.

Tonychat why you never go back to Malaysia to protest against those companies?

Tonychat you loser. Only KPKB behind your PC.

Companies from your country are burning the forest in Indonesia and causing the haze here in Singapore and Malaysia.

Why you still keep quiet? Fuck back to matland to protest against those companies lah. You got no ball is it?

They are affecting our health. More importanlty fire are killing the trees!!

You still KPKB behind your PC for fuck!

Phui!!

Re: Singaporeans Slam Leaders for Not Ordering Work Halt Amid SMOG

GDP, above all else, because all else do not count in my bonus calculation.

Heisenberg

Re: Ng Eng Hen and Army show off: Distribute N95 masks only to PAP controlled PA

Precisely. Come 2016, I hope everyone will remember this.

Heisenberg

Agree. You made a very valid observation. If SARS resurface again, there will be disaster.

A few month later monsoon season............expect the floods.......i mean more ponding...LOL

steffychun

We send lots of them to Ang Mo Kio GRC sir...your boss will be happy.

Eng Hen: Don't forget the Istana!

Really a bunch of arseholes. When humanitarian efforts are run along political lines it can only indicate how morally corrupt this govt is. Come 2016, the PM will again plead for mercy.

Re: Does frontpage headline on the haze in today's ST tell you anything?

Clearly a chobolan Nigerian scam Parliament....paid multi-millions yet no ability, no conviction, no action.

enterprise2

Get real! There will never ever be a situation where they declare u can stop work, understand!