• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TR reports that ISD Infiltrate NUS and offers 3K for spying against lecturer!

manokie

Hello everyone, I am currently a student at the National University of Singapore. Please understand that due to my ongoing studies I cannot reveal my name, faculty or year to you. What I’m going to share with you is a very riveting experience that I recently had.

A few months ago I was approached on campus by a middle-aged man. I was having my lunch in the canteen and he came and sat next me. Although I found it slightly akward, he presented himself as being a late student that wanted to take up a degree at NUS and so I agreed to chat.

He started out by just casually asking me about my studies and what I learn about in my course. After about 10 minutes, things started getting weird.

The man kept asking me about whether politics are discussed in my class and what are my views on local and international issues. I replied most of them in a generic fashion, and he smiled at my every answer.

He then asked me about my lecturer, what his teaching style is like and what are the kinds of reading material he recommends us. At this point I started feeling quite uncomfortable and wanted to leave, but curiousity got the better of me and I wanted to know what this guy’s agenda really was because he mentioned my lecturer.

We had talked for about 25 minutes, and he asked me how I’m getting by financially. I told him that I’m alright, trying to give him as little information about myself as I could.

The man then popped the question, “How about I make you a good offer? I know you’re not doing well financially. I am from the Internal Security Department. We are interested in knowing more about what your lecturer is talking about in class.”

“I’m sorry, I’m don’t think I can do that sort of thing.” I replied.

“No don’t worry, nothing is going to happen to you or your lecturer. Everything will be kept under wraps. You’ll get $3000 for this simple project of reporting back to us” he said as he gave a light smile.

Let me tell you, $3000 for a student like myself is a huge amount. But I just couldn’t. For reasons I cannot explain here, I know why my lecturer was targeted and why I was approached for this “job”. But I just need to get this out and I’m almost on the verge of tears as I write this.

Singaporeans, let me remind all of you that this authoritarian state is playing a very sick game even in this day and age, even on the NUS campus. But that is all the more reason why need to stand up to them.

To any of my fellow students or students-to-be reading this, please continue speaking up in class. When you are approached by the government to do such dirty work, turn it down politely and keep your conscience clear.

Thank you.

NUS Student

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/08/03/nus-student-isd-approached-me-to-spy-on-my-lecturer/

manokie

Responses:

66 Responses to “NUS Student: ISD approached me to spy on my lecturer”

KNN:
August 3, 2010 at 2:03 pm
SIGH… ANOTHER CHEE SOON JUAN ON THE PLATE?
PAPPIES ARE *VERY* PARTICULAR ABOUT ANTI-ESTABLISHMENT ATTITUDES AND IDEAS BEING PRACTISED IN STAT BOARDS OR GLC’S. AND NUS, NTU, SMU AND SOTD ARE STAT BOARDS AND GOVT OWNED.
THAT LECTURER IS REALLY DUMB AND/OR HAVING A DEATH WISH BY BEING ANTI-GOVT IN NUS. SOME LECTURERS WHO ARE WESTERN-EDUCATED THINK THAT LOCAL UNIVERSITIES ARE LIKE OVERSEAS — LIBERAL AND WHERE CHALLENGING AND OPEN DEBATES ARE WELCOMED. PAPPIES ARE EVEN MORE CONCERNED IF IT INVOLVES A STAFF INFLUENCING THE “NEXT GENERATION”.
SOME TELL-TALE MUST HAVE SPILLED THE BEANS TO THAT LECTURER’S SUPERIORS, WHO ARE VERY LIKELY PAP MEMBERS (JUST LIKE CSJ’S BOSS IN NUS). WHO KNOWS? MAYBE THAT TELL-TALE IS A COMPETITOR TO THE LECTURER, WANT TO CURRY FAVOUR WITH THE POWERS-TAT-BE AND GET GOOD PERFORMANCE GRADING FOR PROMOTION, GOOD INCREMENT, RESEARCH FUNDS ETC. THE BOSSES WHO REPORT THE MATTER TO MOE/ISD ALSO PROBABLY CARRYING BALLS TO FURTHER THEIR PERSONAL RICHES.
Hmmm...:
August 3, 2010 at 2:04 pm
Hmmmm…. how true is this??? Hmmmm….
PAP Sucks:
August 3, 2010 at 2:10 pm
ISD should investigate Jack Lin for alleged violation of Section 377A
PAP Sucks:
August 3, 2010 at 2:11 pm
ISD Investigation of Jack Lin, Special Project SGD 3000, any takers?
Only job requirements that is that you must be able to act GAY and befriend Jack Lin.
Yamamoto:
August 3, 2010 at 2:28 pm
Hey, if this is true, then will this poor student get mark? since our dear friends from that department will surely read this and narrow down on him
Minister Tutor:
August 3, 2010 at 2:30 pm
Should ask for more!! $3000 is not a big amount even $600000 is peanuts to PAP!!
PAP Sucks:
August 3, 2010 at 2:34 pm
ISD cannot even narrow down on a limping man in its custody, how can it expect to narrow down on an NUS student who does not even limp?
ah beng:
August 3, 2010 at 2:35 pm
Next time record down the whole discussion mah
Then download the whole conservation on youtube
Let all the kayoh aunties uncle can watch free show
Who know this man is the uncle downstair coffee everyday lim ko pi
We can wave hello to him, you are ISD man, salary good or not???
ion:
August 3, 2010 at 2:36 pm
i like you,nus student you are an upright person,lift your head high and walk stright,i salute you.
66.6%:
August 3, 2010 at 2:37 pm
Dear readers, read this story again if you didn’t read it careful enough the first. Read into the detail and you will find loopholes that tell you its all bull.
I am 99.9% sure that this story is NOT true.
PAP Sucks:
August 3, 2010 at 2:38 pm
Yeah man, I would have asked the ISD fellow for more money.
Heck, SGD 3000 cannot even get you more than a few months HDB rental.
It is insulting that ISD paid so little.
The student should have asked for more, or ask the ISD to hire cheaper, faster foreign talent instead.
sam selamat:
August 3, 2010 at 2:40 pm
Seems amateurish… hehehe… i guess they paid peanuts and got this monkey of an officer.
Bai Hu:
August 3, 2010 at 2:52 pm
Is this letter verified by a legitimate email addressed? By the way, anyone can write this kinda stuff & spread around & TR should take the trouble to scan through each & every report before publishing it. This is just my personal opinion in treating any kinds of going-to-be-published works.
Jobless:
August 3, 2010 at 2:53 pm
Wow, $3k to just telling stories. I want to work. I can report which lecturers use recycled notes every year, which lecturers like China gals, which lecturers MIA for no reason, esp in the afternoon. I like to gossip leh… and get paid. Anyway, I need $$ badly.
Lost Chance.:
August 3, 2010 at 2:54 pm
I would reject the $3,000 offer. My deal will be a million bucks.
James U. Kirk:
August 3, 2010 at 3:30 pm
For 3000 bucks, I’d sell my classmates as well… tell me where to sign up for ISD. Alamak… they should have hired me when MSK ran away. For $3000 I’d have joined the search and caught the fella for them.
Terence:
August 3, 2010 at 3:31 pm
Why not get an FT pet to do it for free? They won’t pass up the chance to do a Singaporean in.
Massy:
August 3, 2010 at 3:34 pm
Now you know how your taxes are being spent and why MAS escaped.
xinxing:
August 3, 2010 at 3:38 pm
Tell story also not so simple lah. This guy just trying to gain some attention. Please lah, we all like to talk about PAP and govment policy, you think we are so stupid and blurrr to believe this stupid kind of story? I found TR’s readers are very knowledgeable and can analyse situation very well. Can TR please not let your forum be downgraded by low IQ people like this? ISD is not that stupid, otherwise they cannot be so smart to know who they target.
Anonymous:
August 3, 2010 at 3:47 pm
Spy, money and sex go hands in gloves. Recently more than a handful of very ordinary and “least-expected” goody next-door neighbours “Americans” espionage network were deported and escorted to Vienna in exchange for “Russian” espionage pair. So I won’t discount all that is said when all the chapters of our shameful history is brought to witness. Expect the unexpected. Whoever declined inducements has got moral compass and pillar to survive any of his/her life adversities ahead. People like that don’t lose their compass and direction whatever mess they found engulfing their life of circumstances outside their control.
depresses:
August 3, 2010 at 3:54 pm
ISD is not so stupid to make such an offer to a stranger..they could have easily plant an “agent” into the classroom
anonymous:
August 3, 2010 at 4:10 pm
Planting a new “agent” is conspicuous of “sudden appearance”, hiring an existing silent “mole” is far better camouflage and if confronted is easily rebutted ” we are not so stupid” to do such a thing i.e. the trojan horse denies the trojan horse.
A robber goes back to its old haunt (sometimes mislead the cops thinking he is not that stupid to go back to his last crime scene) looking for a trail of crime route which the robber deliberate create to mislead. You see that even in the movies. The most dangerous place is sometimes the safest place and the safest place is sometimes the most dangerous place. If this is NOT true, how diod those very ordinary espionage lived for decades spying for Soviet long after the Cold War pretending themselves to be nice-wholesome family-oriented Americans?
walaao:
August 3, 2010 at 4:31 pm
if i were him i am more than willing to work boi for such an authority boi….. wow i will feel proud as a s’porean having given such an opportunity, i even 2000 is good, job satisfaction mah,,,,
but i dont think our isd officials will ever take such lame approach, this so call NUS student is just an attention seeker here, discuss politics so what, even if Obama were to have any comments on the countrys’ politics, it is just another comment for them, am sure isd or our home affairs got better and serious matters to look into they wldnt be wasting time in NUS campus, why not next time say, officer come to Chankat Changi Secondary school spying on Art Teacher
Lo:
August 3, 2010 at 4:51 pm
ISD have approached students to do such work. I know of a friend who was approached a couple of years ago during his tetiary days.
the most stupid move made by clever people:
August 3, 2010 at 5:09 pm
depresses:
August 3, 2010 at 3:54 pm
You watch too much Mision Impossible or James Bond movies. Must ISD agent must looks like Angeli Jolie or Tom Cruise?
Unless they are not human species then the intelligence is not much difference. Ask these intelligent ISD agents to play a few chess with kids and see how many games they can win.
Sinner:
August 3, 2010 at 5:09 pm
I can’t believe that the ISD is so amateurish in how they approach people to work for them. If they dun know how to approach, they should have learn it by watching movies.
But then again, if this is their method, they should have been exposed a long time ago. Why only now?
Eye Opener:
August 3, 2010 at 5:32 pm
Seriously, if ISD officer operates in this manner, we are in trouble.
Even I can do a better in getting people to do dirty job for me at fraction of that amount.
Vincent:
August 3, 2010 at 5:35 pm
Wow, I’m interested to earn that $3000. Can you refer him to me? Spying need special skills or not? “A simple Job” require you to sleep with the lecturer or not?
where is MAS:
August 3, 2010 at 5:39 pm
^I can’t believe that the ISD is so amateurish^
maybe consultant MAS can write a report on that. CCTV which was never on. the whole nation was mobilized with his photos pasted on all corners in our red dot. and mind you, he managed to limp-swim to malaysia.
Francis:
August 3, 2010 at 5:44 pm
Like phantom writer in ST and Todays promoting PAP policies, TR also has phantom writer inciting fear, anyway if I was ISD, I will just put a bug in the lecture room, and there are no needs to risk exposure for low level information gathering.
Cannon:
August 3, 2010 at 5:59 pm
Sorry but this is too far-fetched. ISD do not operate in the manner as firstly, no one approaches strangers and divulged his identity as an ISD officer. How I know is that in the past I have friends there and they are quite professional but very secretive even to friends and relatives about their work. They are very good in getting information from you, but you will not get much from them in return. Once an ISD officer even came in as an NS recruit to spy on some personnel and he acted and behave like one. No one even suspect he was there an an operative, until those he was spying on was caught. Then he left midway without completing the course.
Lo:
August 3, 2010 at 6:33 pm
Why is it too far-fetched? Seriously, the officer who approach my friend some years ago was pretty clumsy too.
Lo:
August 3, 2010 at 6:33 pm
Don’t be surprised if the ISD is here commenting on TR.
old bird:
August 3, 2010 at 6:37 pm
Perhaps the writer of this article is the real target rather than the lecturer. It is just a mind game. The ISD just wants to send a message to the student: We know what you are doing and saying, and some of your classmates could be working for us. You better watch out.
Same old game. Never change since the old Nantah and SU days.
old bird:
August 3, 2010 at 6:39 pm
Perhaps the writer is the real target of the ISD. It is just a mind gane. The ISD wants to send a message to the student: mind what you are saying or doing as some of your classmates could be working for us.
Same old game. Never change since the old Natah or SU days.
AnT:
August 3, 2010 at 6:41 pm
Many people still think that public housing is welfare.
It was used as an instrument to track and tax a population then that had mobility and even easy access to the federation. Identity could be captured and traced to one or more permanent location.
It is now used to enslave the general public to continue working without retirement.
Low visibility does not mean no visibility.
atobe:
August 3, 2010 at 6:49 pm
@depresses: August 3, 2010 at 3:54 pm
“ISD is not so stupid to make such an offer to a stranger..they could have easily plant an “agent” into the classroom”
If you think that ISD is stupid – think again, and read the text again, especially the part before the offer of $3,000 was made.
The ISD had checked the background of the student and found that he was in financial difficulty before making the financial offer.
At times, it is also a test on the person picked.
There are so many different agendas and issues at stake, and it is common knowledge that everyone in the service of the government will be constantly checked at every stage of the career.
Guys who are sent to OCS will better know that there will be a week in their life when they will be followed and observed.
LIONS ROAR:
August 3, 2010 at 7:12 pm
better check on the character of potential govt officials like those YPAP cadres who are wolves in sheepskin,especially those who lick boots incessantly.
Singapore is so small,we cannot afford too many self-serving crooks disguising themselves as decent citizens to cheat the nation.
all present and future govt officials or grassroot leaders should not have any buisness transactions with the govt ministries or statutory boards as that would be unethical and it also attracts the wrong kind into GROs.No wonder so many hiccups occur like more litters around that choke public drainage system and cause floods.
How can our drains and roads be full of litters when the govt is using more and more taxpayers’ money to pay their ‘contractors’.
Are these contractors also somehow GRO leaders?
Does TR expect me to read this kind of bull?:
August 3, 2010 at 7:44 pm
Please exercise some common sense.
Wikisingapore:
August 3, 2010 at 7:45 pm
Be worried, very very worried – WikiLeaks has descended onto Singapore!!!
Why not – if all is above board there is nothing to hide – but of course if it concerns the well-being and blod of innocent people, then one need to be careful and responsible!!
But on the other hand, let no fear be god – look at Obama, what can he do (so far) about the Afghan War leaks???
No Such thing as Permanence:
August 3, 2010 at 7:48 pm
To all those who are naive – One can never say never in Singapore – what you think PAP is the Perfect Gentleman? My foot!!!
Think deeeply and out of the box – cause and effect formula here, why is there a need for the very existence of ISD in the first place? Why we have plenty of freedom-curbing laws, for example, the recent ‘move-on’ law whereby the police can arrest someone whom the pre-determine is going to protest???
ex police officer:
August 3, 2010 at 8:03 pm
i am an ex-police officer.
what the student say is consistent with what i have seen ISD do. that is also the typical manner they approach sources. so for all the cynics who dont wanna believe, suit yourself.
in fact ISD monitors political studies department lecturers and students. it even monitors what books they borrow in NUS library.
sing:
August 3, 2010 at 8:05 pm
SO SAD TO BE IN SINGAPORE
SG Ghost:
August 3, 2010 at 8:09 pm
read…
The man then popped the question, “How about I make you a good offer? I know you’re not doing well financially. I am from the Internal Security Department. We are interested in knowing more about what your lecturer is talking about in class.”
the fact that the ISD can say “I know you’re not doing well financially.” already shown that they know something about the student. i fear for the future well being of this nus student.
this might not be true, i dont believe the ISD will anyhow say they are from ISD and make offer using the name of ISD.
if this is true, you and your family maybe screwed, you and your family will be under observation or surveillance even if you turn them down politely.
there is this saying “rather kill the wrong guy then to let one escape”.
teacher:
August 3, 2010 at 8:09 pm
if this a true story, i not agree Singapore is an authoritarian state.
instead it’s a nice and soft state.
why ? Even after a state suspect a lecturer is harming the state, it has to so nicely approached a student nicely and asking/ begging for help with a reward to act on this lecturer.
If the lecturer is not wrong, why worry ? After it’s a chance to prove his innocent and loyalty to the state. And for the student, he get the $3000 reward proudly without any guilt. May be he then can treat the lecturer a handsome meal.
PL:
August 3, 2010 at 8:14 pm
After reading the story, I love this country, LKY and PAP more and more.
What a nice and polite state I am living in.
If this take place in Iraq under Saddam, he would send a truck of armed guards to the U and drag that lecturer for interogation.
utter rubbish:
August 3, 2010 at 8:48 pm
many lecturers in NUS teach anti-govt and anti-PAP stuff, such as sociology and political science… utter bullcrap
Singaporean:
August 3, 2010 at 9:18 pm
This story does not need to be true.
Any lecturer reading this will suddenly experience the excrutiating feeling of shrinking balls and broken careers, and put on their best behaviours.
Like one MIW said, it is all about irrational fear.
LeapOfFaith:
August 3, 2010 at 9:28 pm
assuming the person approached is not lying, the 2nd assumption is that the person who claims he is from ISD is from ISD. for that matter, the rest of ‘friends’ past experiences of being approached by ISD applies too. how do you verify that ‘ISD’ person is from ‘ISD’?
lets give some credit to ISD. use your brains. lol
If I Were Him:
August 3, 2010 at 9:30 pm
Take the money from ISD. Make them sign check and ensure it was issue by ISD. Next, photocopy the check. Deposit the check.
Show the Lecturers, tell them if they want to know who are this people looking for them, they will have to pay.
Another 3K in the pocket.
On last one, sell the check to the media and collect money from the media.
I earn all sides.
tinker soldier tailor spy:
August 3, 2010 at 9:46 pm
it will be beneficial for readers to read up on Christopher Lingle
http://www.thelockeinstitute.org/books/lingle.html
no wonder warwick university did not want to set up shop in SIN
Ex ISD:
August 3, 2010 at 9:55 pm
No, i do not ever approach student in canteen and offer them money to spy on their lecture.
Y:
August 3, 2010 at 10:34 pm
Half the comments here could be posted by MHA and ISD officers!
We deserve it:
August 3, 2010 at 10:41 pm
Remember you watched ancient movies where “太监东场或西场“led in the late Ming Dynasty to spy for the emperor; conspired, killing loyal ministers and innocence. You think this only happens in Ancient China or China but Singapore is no difference.
The ISD carries no ID and they do things on the stealth. And if they are caught, they go to police station and the police station will receive a phone call, they will be freed, no question asked. Isnt this sick? Do you know who head the ISD? No prize for guessing.
20 years ago, a NUS student was approached by agent to spy for $500 a month, just report whatever other students were discussing. They dont approach you out of the blue, they checked your back ground before they come to you. $3000 is a lot of money for a student and maybe the author is a truely sensitive and responsible person. But I am sure there 100s of people working for them.
In a real democracy, would this happen? The lecturer nor the students are not terrors and they do not deserve such surveiliance.
Such ancient sick way of control in front of you. Anyway, they can even change the text book and history to wipe out the truth, what can you do? You gave them the votes.
Kerith Ravine:
August 3, 2010 at 10:56 pm
As I was reading more comments posted here, what concerns me more right now is how they spend the state’s money.
They don’t declare how much is spent each year by the ISD and they probably cover it under some items like the defence budget or to fight terrorism, etc.
Hundreds of millions each year could be spent each year by the ISD for such survelliance work.
This money would be better used to help the underprivileged.
KR
DiscriminatedBootlickers:
August 3, 2010 at 11:22 pm
3000 is the usual sum since God Knows when. They don’t keep up with the inflation rate. Nevetheless, don’t try to be smart aleck by being double agent. They are smarter than you think.
beetroot:
August 4, 2010 at 12:07 am
I wonder why people question the amerutrism of ISD….You think the are like Jason Bourne…CIA…full on with skills & equipment and all….
Please lah…limping Mas Selemat got away….Minister don’t know if he was in Singapore or not….
This is their standard….what do you expect.
Their only trick is to employ fear and can beat people once in custody.
If 100,000 Singaporean get together…they all will go home, and say huh what ISD…where I got work ISD.
If this guys was truly ISD, shame on you, you are blown and picked the wrong informant…hahaha…
now everyone knows what you are planning.
Anyway, ISD also don’t care lah…if people know they also don’t care, becos the idea was to scare what.
Former NUS grad:
August 4, 2010 at 12:48 am
Not just lecturers but I was told that the list of NUS honours graduates in political science are sent to ISD so they can track these people AFTER they graduate. So from an early age they know your background etc. These people are on the KIV list for possible PAP membership but if they join the opposition then there would also be a lot of info about the person.
Freeman:
August 4, 2010 at 1:29 am
You are better than a lot of so-call president scholars or any scholars of any sort that sell their souls and betray their fellow Singaporeans for money $$$ (high salary). Your morale character is more respectable than that of LKY and all of it’s co(n)horts.
sad:
August 4, 2010 at 1:55 am
It’s really not that surprising to hear of such tactics from you know who.
Hsien Liao La:
August 4, 2010 at 2:58 am
I thought there is absolute freedom of speech and expression in Spore? alamak…
PAP Sucks:
August 4, 2010 at 3:04 am
If ISD has so much spare time, ISD should investigate Jack Lin for possible violation of Section 377A.
The spy that shagged me!
ok:
August 4, 2010 at 3:11 am
This is a very righteous and normal tactic.
They are very careful not to wrongly accuse or act on anybody. They need witness and proofs.
ISD:
August 4, 2010 at 3:57 am
What is reported here is true.I have priviledge of operadi moda & yes, this simple but crucial way to recruit future ISD but about the money part, not that easy.
ISD work in a team but most of them are lacky dogs,and in the name of ‘professionalism’,they profess to have no feelings.The truth is that they have sell their soul to the Devil & enjoy seeing people suffer in the name of U KNOW WHO!
ISD in Singapore is a great joke,they make up stories & make things complicated and bigger than they seemed to be,sucking up to their Bosses’bcus of performance bonus for each whistle blowing.
Do not be afraid of these dogs,some just bark trying their luck & as Singapore Opposition & Singaporeans are getting together to show how dirty,bastard and corrupted this society Singapore to be, they get scare and because of new found Foreigners who are Dogs & Monkeys, they (Singaporean ISD) are worry about their own future.
tinker soldier talior spy:
August 4, 2010 at 6:45 am
Readers check this out
http://archive.newsmax.com/archives/articles/2003/2/9/205721.shtml
You could also Google “chinese student spying”
2012:
August 4, 2010 at 6:58 am
You only 100yrs on earth
but live eternal in heaven or hell depend on your deeds
PAPayas really scare people will revolt them
they have lost the mandate

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
if they can do that to churches, temples, mosques, etc... whats the big deal with schools?

Teo Kok Eng

That NUS student habis liao... ISD know who he is, he now talk loud loud to TR, this little secret now all over the net... that student can forget about working in the public sector, ministries, stat board etc.

manokie

I doubt ISD ppl are so stupid to reveal their own identity.. Might be some insane old men pretending to be ISD...

Anyway who knows?

wahlaneh

I doubt ISD ppl are so stupid to reveal their own identity.. Might be some insane old men pretending to be ISD...

Anyway who knows?

wahlaneh...
nowsday got many secret agents carrying ear-pieces in ears sitting among us in mrt trains also we dunnoe lah.
still must be alert n observant mah!

wahlaneh...
nowsday got many secret agents carrying ear-pieces in ears sitting among us in mrt trains also we dunnoe lah.
still must be alert n observant mah!

Almost everyone on the train has an earpiece in ears...unless they wear dark ray ban glasses, wear coat & pants with tie...that is MIB.:biggrin:

$3,000 is blood money, the person receiving that money, will not sleep in peace not knowing when a knock on the head will come by...trees will fall down suddenly also.

Blood money...for a betrayal...

manokie

Almost everyone on the train has an earpiece in ears...unless they wear dark ray ban glasses, wear coat & pants with tie...that is MIB.:biggrin:

Might be some lady too

Are there any some females working in ISD as female officers or spies? :cool:

Char_Azn

Pple seem to believe in everything on the internet. The fact that this article is from TR losses all credibility in my eyes.

Does the government spy on opposition/potential opposition party members? Maybe. I wont be surprise if they did, but the article above seems stupid to say the least.

Any intelligent service in the world trying to recuit a random stranger for a covert espionage assignment within 30min of trying to get to know him/her is well, just ridiculous. It's the stuff of Hollywood not real life.

ISD could have just as easily get a young looking guy from their department to seat in at some of the lectures to get the work done. The lecturer probably wont even notice that guy is there

manokie

ISD could have just as easily get a young looking guy from their department to seat in at some of the lectures to get the work done. The lecturer probably wont even notice that guy is there

It might be some crazy deranged uncle who lost all his money in the IR :o

nowaday you could buy so many different kind of hi-tec spy gadgets in sim lim square . voice recording pen , video recording pen ,video recording watch , there is even hidden camera in coke cans ...you name it they have it .....

Teo Kok Eng

ISD could have just as easily get a young looking guy from their department to seat in at some of the lectures to get the work done. The lecturer probably wont even notice that guy is there<!-- / message -->

I agree. The TR article is nonsense.

TR loses credibility by publishing this article.

ISD don't need to resort to recruitment in this manner. There are other means of getting the information they want.

Even if ISD want to, ISD will recruit by means of false flag.

giggity_shit

It doesn't take much before any submission makes its way to the TR site.

I akin Tr to Wan Bao or Shin Min; very entertaining but a tabloid nonetheless.

What do you mean by "means of false flag"?

I agree. The TR article is nonsense.

TR loses credibility by publishing this article.

ISD don't need to resort to recruitment in this manner. There are other means of getting the information they want.

Even if ISD want to, ISD will recruit by means of false flag.
banner.cgi

Teo Kok Eng

What do you mean by "means of false flag"?

False flag is ISD still do the recruiting but instead of saying he is from ISD, he will say he is from some other organization, maybe NTU or a different university.The student knows he is being recruited but think it is from someone else and not ISD.

The israelis are very good in false flag operations, recruiting PLO, palestinians all under false flag.