This honest grab driver telling us that it is not profitable to be a grab driver if you need to rent the car

He is saying this to dissuade potential entrants from competing with him.

Just like you and your friend encounter a chiobu, then your friend keep condemning the chiobu, but when you are not around he goes after the chiobu.
You're wrong. Many of my friends doing PHV is saying the same thing. Something has to give. Either you spend all your time driving or earn very little. You can't have both.

Someone just died from spending all their time driving. It's simply not worth it

S'pore Grab driver dies, widow gets letter demanding S$1,893 payment, platform says will waive fees​

Grab subsequently agreed to waive the fees.

Ilyda Chua |
clock.png
May 27, 2024, 12:04 PM

Events

A Pet’s Day Out at Quayside Isle​

clock.png
28 Jun 25, 10:00AM - 29 Jun 25, 06:00PM
drop-pin.png
Quayside Isle @ Sentosa Cove, 31 Ocean Way, Quayside Isle, Singapore 098375

Telegram

Whatsapp

Several weeks after the death of her 59-year-old husband, a woman in Singapore received a letter from Grab demanding payment of S$1,892.99.

Her late husband, Su Zian (transliteration), had worked as a Grab driver for almost 10 years.

The widow, 58, told Shin Min Daily News that her late husband had only S$16.16 in his bank account when he suddenly died on May 9.

She had found him unconscious in the toilet, with blood trickling out of his mouth, at around 6am that day.

Mrs Su, who is deaf, had to seek her neighbour for help as she was unable to call for assistance.

Her spouse was conveyed to the hospital, but did not make it.

His cause of death was pneumonia and heart disease, Shin Min reported.

Had notified Grab​

On the day of her husband's death, Mrs Su said that insurance agents and lawyers visited her home to help with funeral arrangements.

They also helped her to notify Grab of her husband's death.

However, she subsequently received a message on his phone informing him to pay the car rental and return the vehicle.

"But as I can't hear or speak clearly, I couldn't handle it immediately," she said.

Two weeks later, on May 21, she received a letter from Grab demanding payment of S$1,892.99.

This included car rental, car maintenance fees, towing fees, and early termination fees.

Grab agrees to waive fees​

Prior to his death, her husband had been a private-hire driver for almost 10 years, usually driving from 3pm to 1am before returning home.

As he had less than S$20 left in his bank account, Mrs Su told the Chinese media she had hoped the platform could waive the fees.

A spokesperson from Grab told Mothership that they have been in contact with the late driver's next-of-kin and will waive the charges.

Mothership understands that in the event of a passing of a driver-partner, Grab will waive outstanding rental fees upon receipt of the death certificate and other relevant documents.

Aiyo, a young guy like that has to drive Grab? Who did he vote for?
As a frequent visitor to Melbourne and Sydney to visit my relatives (ex-S'poreans and Malaysians), I can testify that my Uber driver is almost always a foreigner from a Third World country. The roles have been reversed in SG with displaced citizens taking up the role of taxi or PHV driver while foreigners (even CECAs holding fake degrees) enjoy the good life as PMEs.

I see a few Alphards and Vellfires bua long long cruising on the fast lane of expressway at max 80km/h. Macam not in a hurry to work hard and cover rental and operational costs. Must be taking a lot of private bookings and airport ferry service.

They earn big time during events

I book an airport limousine service (choice of Alphard, Vellfire or Mercedes sedan) every time I have to fly; some of the drivers I met are on salary.

The grab driver paying rental fees to the taxi company is like a tenant paying rental fees to the landlord.

I know my neighbor drives Grab because he is flaccid and needs a reason to stay out at night to avoid his pheromoneless wife.

He returns home at 2.30 am after the wife is asleep.
That's wise of him. Better than go coffeeshop and drink in sorrow like my ex colleague does.

He is flaccid, so if he comes back at normal time, the wife may want to fuck him. Then he will have to show his flaccid kkj to the wife, and get fucked for being useless. So in a super clear-minded move, he decides to stay away from the bed and make the wife feel that she is not sexually attractive anymore.

During the day, I always hear him tio fucked by the wife over money and children.