• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Tale of 2 Leukemia Cases:- The Haves versus the Have nots

First lesson in life is to live within yr means from the start, and save for the rainy day.

When you are hit with debt from medical bills. you have to face reality if you havent planned. Downgrading has to be the last option and pride and quality of life shld not get in the way, but rather get real. People whose business fails go thru the same gauntlet. You take uncalculated risks and you dont plan, there is no parachute for soft landing and you bite the bullet.

Good point! Well said.

Great to have fourummers like you around with wisdom and talk a lot of sense.

ivebert

It's a sad thign when a young person gets a terminal disease

However, where is the money going to come from? if you want to help this little boy
If you help this young boy then you have to help hundreds of others..

jhontan62

What about our abominable GST? Do the poor family of Majorie Soh have to pay GST on all her medical bills?
This would be most unfair.

Never ever right a story in this manner. People will go away with mixed messages. Nearly all parents will spend to the hilt to save their child. GY did the right thing.

The issue is that medicine and medical care is joke and money spinner for this govt. This govt has no heart and no soul. First world countries with the notable exception of the US provide full medical care from cradle to the grave. If you are unemployed and your child has cancer, it is fully covered and one of the parents will get allowance for being a carer as well. While else would a country and its leaders aspire to be 1st world. No one has to sell a house to save a child or oneself.

Now the 3rd world. Most countries it will not charge an arm and leg to get medical attention unlike Singapore. Many Malaysians working and living in Singapore and now Singaporeans head to Malaysia for medicine and treatment. I know a Malaysian retiree who goes to Johore every month to collect a bagful of medicines for 15 ringgit. The batch would cost at least 110 sgd a month in Singapore.

Its an absolute disgrace that we have world class facilities, host the fucking YOG, the F1 and we end up having this family losing their home. I am even more distrubed that the elderly canadian volunteer who had major procedures performed was not charged a cent courtesy of Viv B and Ng Ser Miang.

The imbecile Khaw told his smart arse story for $8 for his heart surgery. Many layman still can't understand how this can be because the CPF is convluted. They should have made whole medical insurance opt-out instead of opt-in like the kidneys. But this devious govt knows that it is more profitable in this manner rather tax their own resources.

Here is a true story of a lady who ended up with full blown cancer after migrating to OZ. She did not pay a cent and the surgeon who operated on her is renown that he does procedures for one of the richest man in Malaysia. The husband is a chef. He was advised by the surgeon to provide full time care to his wife and told how to apply. He turned up they interviewed him and one of the question they asked him if he smoked. He told them that his wife is the one that has cancer and not him. The staff told him that if he smoked they will pay for 2 Packs a day. They will add the allowance to his carer's allowance which would over his temporary absence from his chef's job. The family considers OZ's god's country for what they have done.

Singapore has one of the largest reserves and certainly the biggest per capita and we constantly screw them medically and constantly reminded that everything is subsidised while the PM wife pretends to be sophisticated investor using the reserves.

Yes, you are right, there are actually 2 points to this case. One is the cost of medical fees in singapore. Its irrelevant whether you can afford to pay or not afford to pay. But it seems that it is more affordable in neighbouring countries or in other countries than here. I have a friend who had to go for emergency surgery in bangkok and was surprised by the cost of his surgery, hospital room stay (private room), medicines, and nursing care. It was much lower than equivalent costs in S'pore. The case of buying meds in malaysia compared to singapore that you brought up is also true. The medical industry in singapore is largely unregulated and free to charge what they think they can get away with in order to maximize profits. The govt, will not stop this practice as they ar ethe majority shareholder in many of these privatised hospitals and its in their interest to make sure it makes as much money as possible.

The second issue is how to pay and who gets to pay for these medical bills. Yes, it appears that certain privileged people like the Canadian lady u mentioned are subject to compassionate grounds at the whims of certain ministers and not have to pay anything. rank and file heartlanders do not have this privilege, as well, ministers and certain other elites pay very little or non at all for their medical care. There is argument here in this thread that people should get insurance like medishield and private shields to cover medical expenses. They are really missing the point which why is medical costs here so expensive that not only is the govt. Medishield NOT ENOUGH to cover you, you need private shield coverage? Private shield coverage may sound easy to many educated people, but when you ask a lower middle to lower income individual to read all the coverage, fine print, etc. on a private shield, they will get a headache. If private shield is so essential, than why has the govt not mandated it like they mandated medishield. Just deduct the premuims directly form CPF for private shield like they do from medishield, and make it the law that everyone must have private shield too. Also, when you are retrenched and have no income, even the few hundreds or thousands $ u spend on private shield is a luxury that many people cannot afford. [
/COLOR]

What about our abominable GST? Do the poor family of Majorie Soh have to pay GST on all her medical bills?
This would be most unfair.

Of course they must pay. If your net worth is $50,000 and you have to pay $5,000 in GST for your medical bills, that hurts. If your net worth is $50 million an dyou have to pay $5,000 in GST for your medical bills, that is sup sup for you. Dispite this easy analogy, u still have fuck ministers claiming GST helps the poor. Hahahahah.

yuelao

How do you know sinkies are unwilling to pay high direct taxes? If I went to a sinkie and said "Ok, today, you can buy a HDB flat at cost of $80K insetad of $300K, you can buy a car for $20K and not $120K, you will receive 15% interest on your CPF instead of 2.5%, and you do not have to pay COE, road tax, GST, TV licence, etc. but in exchange, you have to pay DOUBLE YOUR PERSONAL INCOME TAX". I think a lot of sinkie will say "YES". Who says they do not care about hidden taxes? Are you telling me that you think your HDB flat is too cheap? Direct or indirect taxes, its all the same. Its a tax. For anyone to concentrate on one and not the other is stupid.

You are making a hell of a lot of assumptions here. All I know is that Sinkies have always been telling me that it is best to buy the biggest HDB flat possible with CPF money because it is money you can't otherwise utilise. Sinkies are hence buying on the principle of using as much CPF as possible without thinking about the interest forgone if they use less CPF to buy a flat. If you are using your own real money, you will make decisions based on your financial situation and not because you want to use up as much of your money as you can. This mentality also creates more inflation than normal as everyone keeps wanting to spend more and more of their money on HDB flats. Do you understand this now when I say Sinkies do not seem to understand anything about indirect taxes?

If I am forced to hand over 30% of my income for forced savings, I would damn well want some freedom to decide who to hand the money over to manage my money and not simply give it to the govt for management. Unfortunately, Sinkies like you accept whatever the govt says and are not unconcerned about indirect taxes as long as they are mandated by the govt.

Big load of crap again!! Good for you moron!

1. 16% investment, vs 2.5%. One takes risk and the other low risk. You take an equity investment returns and minus from deposit income and you draw conclusion that it is tax? Going by your Financial "logic", so if I deposit $100K with UOB and get 0.1% interest and UOB lends to customer at 2% interest, so UOB is taxing me?

Firstly, I am glad that you brought these points up, because unfortunately, there are still many unenlightened sinkies that think like you, and its good to dispel myths and idiocy. Your comparison with UOB is a non sequitur. Why? UOB does not force you to put up to 30% of your income into their bank. CPF does. If you choose to deposit any money at all in UOB, you choose to do it ON YOUR OWN FREE WILL. ANd you choose to do so knowing that u will only get 0.1% and that there are other higher return investments available to you. U also know that by depositingmoney voluntarily into UOB, they will use your own money to earn more money for themselves. U therefore have a choice to put your money with them. On the other hand, u have no choice with CPF. because u have no choice, it in effect becomes a form taxation. SO this analogy u use is totally useless, and used by small minded people to trick other simpletons.

Secondly, your point about high risk and low risk is also ridiculous. But again, this is another tactic used by PAP cocksuckers like u to scare people. Getting a rate of return in the teens is not a risky investment. Getting 30% or 50% on a return is a risky investment. In fact, when you say that the govt. take the CPF money takes risk with it, that is not entirely true. If you look at the list of companies that Temasek and GIC invests in, its all large cap companies. For example, the SP500 annualised inflation adjusted average rate of return over the last 30 years have been 11.73%. So returns, in the teens are defintely not in the realm of high risk. Certain countries like Canada will allow u to put your CPF into a wide variety of govt. approved equity or bond funds, segment funds, etc. People earn much more than 2.5% per year on it over the long run. This option is not available in singapore.

Thirdly, 2.5% in the singapore context is not low risk. Only idiots like u will think it is. Let me ask u what is the inflation are in singapore now? I believe its officially at 5.5%, I think it was 5.8% last quarter. If you put your money into an investment that pays you 3% less than the inflation rate, you are losing money. How can an investment that loses you 3% every year be considered low risk? I would consider that an unacceptable risk. U don't understand that when the govt. forces you to give them your money and pays u a paltry 2.5%, its actually costing u money, both in direct costs and also lost income. The whole sham is the govt. telling u your money is in low risk, but they didn't tell you its actually shrinking every year.

You are making a hell of a lot of assumptions here. All I know is that Sinkies have always been telling me that it is best to buy the biggest HDB flat possible with CPF money because it is money you can't otherwise utilise. Sinkies are hence buying on the principle of using as much CPF as possible without thinking about the interest forgone if they use less CPF to buy a flat. If you are using your own real money, you will make decisions based on your financial situation and not because you want to use up as much of your money as you can. This mentality also creates more inflation than normal as everyone keeps wanting to spend more and more of their money on HDB flats. Do you understand this now when I say Sinkies do not seem to understand anything about indirect taxes?

If I am forced to hand over 30% of my income for forced savings, I would damn well want some freedom to decide who to hand the money over to manage my money and not simply give it to the govt for management. Unfortunately, Sinkies like you accept whatever the govt says and are not unconcerned about indirect taxes as long as they are mandated by the govt.

u are such a clown, many of my posts have been about the impact of indirect taxes. But I guess after reading them (assuming u can read), you still think I am not concerned about indirect taxes? hahaha. I don't care what sinkies tell u? I am guessing that smart sinkies don't hang out with stupid sinkies, so if sinkies have been tellling u things, I am guessing they are stoopid like u. Firstly, u cannot buy a HDB flat. They are not for sale. u can rent one for 99 year prepaid rent up front. As to why sinkies will tell u to buy the biggest possible flat, I don't know? Are these the same sinkies who declare bankruptcy when they cannot service the loan on their biggest possible flat?

Yes, u are right, sinkies don;t understand indirect taxes, and you are the poster boy for this.

Interesting question.
But civil war is very different from natural catastrophe. Let's say then, what if there's some impending trouble that may cause loss of lives, but if the government acted decisively and quickly, then they may be able to lessen the impact.
I would be disgusted if GY (or any ministar) bought an expensive ticket and left, but I would understand completely if he bought his family members expensive tickets, while he stayed.

In my view, the original topic of your thread need not address GY's personal situation. He did what any responsible father would do, he did what he could within his means and resources to ensure the well-being of his family.

A welfare system is not workable.
That does not mean that programs cannot be put in place to ensure that every single real and genuine case of hardship or misfortune is investigated and addressed. All those noisemakers who want to eat at foodcourts instead of hawker centres or to buy a plasma tv can go fo.
The goal should not be just to make the country richer and the management and their loyal aides richer and haha, to make at least 51 to 60% of the people contented every 5 years.
The goal should be to make every single citizen's life a decent one and better than before. If A is rich and capable and his life improves 100% while B is poor and not so clever and his life improves 0.1%, so be it. That's the capitalism part. But every person gets to have minimum food, shelter, education and a chance at life. That's the socialism part. If it means that the economy grows slower and some bureaucrats and value transferers' wealth become less, so be it.

This is where u are wrong, a welfare system is definitely workable. Where it has failed before is when the system is abused. When there are not enough safeguards in the system and when certain individuals take advantage of the welfare system, than that's where it fails. When the PAP points to a welfare system and says it doesn't work, they only look at the bad negative parts of it. It works in many countries and it works for many people. JK Rowling was on welfare for many years, and look where she isnow. Yes, there are many people who do not deserve to be on welfare. If you have a system in place to weed them out, u will be fine.

First lesson in life is to live within yr means from the start, and save for the rainy day.

When you are hit with debt from medical bills. you have to face reality if you havent planned. Downgrading has to be the last option and pride and quality of life shld not get in the way, but rather get real. People whose business fails go thru the same gauntlet. You take uncalculated risks and you dont plan, there is no parachute for soft landing and you bite the bullet.

Its easy to say, but not easy to do. Most people I know try very hard to live within their means, they are not extravagant on their spending, or anything like this. But when you are forced to pay so much for your basic housing needs (whether you are renting or bought an overpriced HDB flat), food, school fees and expenses for the kids, etc. You really don't have a lot left over (if any) to save for a rainy day. Even worse, if you or your spouse has been retrenched, even affording a few hundreds or a few thousands $ on private shield is a luxury to these people.

Sam,

Isnt this the case even with private condos with 99 yr leases?

Way before the lease expires, owners can opt for enbloc to sell it away for somebody to redevelop. HDB dwellers have SERS and they have been offered new flats elsewhere if affected by SERS. That's how countries with limited land have to manage to maximise/optimise land use. As the govt has committed to let everybody own a piece of Singapore worth defending, it has to ensure property remains an asset and there is asset enhancement.

En Bloc and SERS is no guarantee. U cannot petition the HDB to SERS your block, they decide whether they want to or not. Same with en bloc, your condo must be in a location that developers want. And than even than, there is no guarantee, just look at the Horizon Towers example. En Bloc and SERS is just a failure of govt. land development planning and policy. Some of these buildings being en bloc are not even 20 years old, they are perfectly good buildings. But somewhere along the way, the govt. did not allow higher density. ANd now, less than 2 decades later, they do, so its just lack of foresight. If you go to HK for example, u will see their public housing flats are much taller than those in singapore, and that's because they foresaw the density issue already.

yuelao

Yes, u are right, sinkies don;t understand indirect taxes, and you are the poster boy for this.

You evidently can't read through posts very well. I was already telling you much earlier on that Sinkies don't understand indirect taxation and now you are saying the same thing back to me and insulting me, who first told you of this fact. Lol, what an idiot you are. :oIo:

Firstly, I am glad that you brought these points up, ...............................both in direct costs and also lost income. The whole sham is the govt. telling u your money is in low risk, but they didn't tell you its actually shrinking every year.

Hey retard, are you self aware that you write a lot, buy what you said are senseless and as good as a full load of shit?

1. You went on and on to say that UOB savings is voluntary, but CPF is not, and so you concluded that "because u have no choice, it in effect becomes a form taxation". What kind of f**k logic is that? You think through your arse, or what? Come on, I've already said CPF is forced savings and your post agreed with me, but you cannot justify why it is a tax!!

2. Your example on the S&P 500 getting 11.73% return over 30 years makes me laugh!! :biggrin: It just reinforced my earlier point that a Chimpanzee has higher FQ than you!! Look retard, S&P is an equity index, and the time frame you used is 30 years. CPF is Principle Guaranteed and is liquid (you can use it anytime to invest or buy properties), so how can you compare these two? You don't f**king understand the concept of Risk vs Return vs Liquidity? Don't think that by using the S&P example, it means that you are financially literate!! It just shows your stupidity if you use it wrongly!!

3. You said

" Certain countries like Canada will allow u to put your CPF into a wide variety of govt. approved equity or bond funds, segment funds, etc. People earn much more than 2.5% per year on it over the long run. This option is not available in singapore. ".

Are you really stupid or you are ignorant or just barking for the sake of barking like you dog master Dr Chee Bye? Have you not heard of CPF Investment Scheme and Residential Property Scheme? If you are not f**king happy with the 2.5% interest, and no other countries wants a scum like you for your to f**k from here, you can at least use your CPF to invest, in stocks, UT, Gold, Bonds or whatever...

4. Your point about inflation is a typical "you cannot convince, then confuse"... We are talking about risk and returns and you talk about inflation? Come on, any fool also know that we should outbeat inflation. You might as well tell us your mother is a woman!! The issue here is how we outbeat inflation, considerating risk, return and liquidtiy!!

Hey retard, first you show that you can't read properly, then you show your zero FQ and now you show us that you can't even think properly!! You cannot convince, so you confused everyone!!

Next time, when Dr Chee bye put his banana inside your mouth and your arse, please ask him for some real bananas (I mean the edible fruit type). So that you can use the bananas to employ a Chimpanzee to teach you how to read, think and also investment!!

I think you should drop dead for the benefit of this world!!

CCBCaoPi

Hey retard, first you show that you can't read properly, then you show your zero FQ and now you show us that you can't even think properly!! You cannot convince, so you confused everyone!!

I didn't know that Chimpanzees can teach Finance and English. Where you got that idea from?

kingrant

En bloc and SERS are necessary evils in a land-tight island. What other land policy do you think is better? We shld be thankful that we did not have the feudal land system of Europe, where peasants are tied to their status as serfs to manor overlords. Most advanced countries have emerged from land reforms to shake off the shackles of years of feudal system.En bloc and SERS allow govt to replan, rezone and redevelop as the economy grows and population patterns change. This happens with most good govts. Our problems have to do with basically not enough land area for all kinds of development and social needs without some form of trade-offs. Even HK skyscrapers eventually will have to give way to ever higher plot-ratio developments. They are much taller but there's a trade off - they are much smaller shoeboxes.

En Bloc and SERS is no guarantee. U cannot petition the HDB to SERS your block, they decide whether they want to or not. Same with en bloc, your condo must be in a location that developers want. And than even than, there is no guarantee, just look at the Horizon Towers example. En Bloc and SERS is just a failure of govt. land development planning and policy. Some of these buildings being en bloc are not even 20 years old, they are perfectly good buildings. But somewhere along the way, the govt. did not allow higher density. ANd now, less than 2 decades later, they do, so its just lack of foresight. If you go to HK for example, u will see their public housing flats are much taller than those in singapore, and that's because they foresaw the density issue already.

kingrant

Pap,

My wife and I got by for years saving and stinting on DINKum double income no kids ( I believe that's std even now). Aware of our positions, we did not own our first car until after 5 years, hired no maids to clean the house or wash our clothes or (later on) to take care of our two children. We ate at food courts, buy inexpensive clothes, take public transport whenever we can (no taxi). We took holidays to malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand. We went farther only in later years. We cut down on aircon bills, water heaters, and use fans on hot days, and shower in cold water.

What most people do I see nowadays is to hire a maid, own a new car, turn on their a/c when they sleep, the minute they got their first job. I also see a lot of people eating out, which firstly is more costly than doing yr own cooking at home, and secondly, home cooked food is by far more healthy and hygienic. Imagine the young children being fed daily, weekly on food court fare when they are growing. I know the excuse is that parents are so harassed and busy nowadays. I think more likely is that we have become softer, weaker, and spoilt and cant even suffer a bit.

Its easy to say, but not easy to do. Most people I know try very hard to live within their means, they are not extravagant on their spending, or anything like this. But when you are forced to pay so much for your basic housing needs (whether you are renting or bought an overpriced HDB flat), food, school fees and expenses for the kids, etc. You really don't have a lot left over (if any) to save for a rainy day. Even worse, if you or your spouse has been retrenched, even affording a few hundreds or a few thousands $ on private shield is a luxury to these people.

I didn't know that Chimpanzees can teach Finance and English. Where you got that idea from?

From your ally Papsmearer, he says that even chimpanzee can do better than 2.5% returns!! Seems that the chimpanzee is wiser than him!

Shoo, you go play with your OA friend please....

:(