• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The golden age of 1990s-early 2000 is over, we cannot go back..

70's, 80's and parts of 90's no mobile phone, no cable TV. cars were made cheap with no gadgets. oil was cheap. No LVMH and other branded stuff. One TV per household.

In other words, in the good old days, we do not spend on unnecessary items.

It's not just technology and less frivolous consumer spending.

Society in those days was kinder, gentler and slower.

Now, it seems like a surreal dystopia nightmare which you can't really awake from.

The future where u see less FT than now...afterall thats what we want rite?? Only problem is that with Sinkies not willing to do these jobs, we may have to self-service ourselves. Foodcourt got to clear your trays..., pump your own gas, when flying do self checking in....etc. Also things r going to be more expensive. Cars r going to be expensive, houses will get smaller and more ex...etc

I have to disagree. In the past when we only had relatively low foreigners in Spore, It was Singaporeans doing ALL these unpopular jobs.

However back then you could get a living wage doing these jobs. The PAP has driven up living costs in Spore. Over the years the cost of HDB, utility, public transport, car ownership,... have only gone up. So don't blame Sporeans for responding to the realities that the PAP created.

Television

Get the body, mind and soul ready for the Future. Things are not going to turn back to how it was.

Please welcome more Chinks, Indians, Pinoys, Ang moh and the rest of the world. :oIo:

enterprise2

I have to disagree. In the past when we only had relatively low foreigners in Spore, It was Singaporeans doing ALL these unpopular jobs.

However back then you could get a living wage doing these jobs. The PAP has driven up living costs in Spore. Over the years the cost of HDB, utility, public transport, car ownership,... have only gone up. So don't blame Sporeans for responding to the realities that the PAP created.

U ignore the change brought by time in this equation. Remove the FTs today will not bring u back to the point many years ago. The Sinkies that was willing to clean table 10 years ago may have up lorry or have learnt a new skill. Today More Sinkies r better educated so who's going to do those low level jobs??

The fact is that even well educated Sporeans can be bankrupted. Just look at those having problems paying for a home , car, getting seriously ill,.. Many under employed grads are out there now driving taxis doing security work, selling insurance, doing MLM, trading .... These people have years of experience but they cannot get employment because of cheaper foreigners .

Let's take a look at a dirty & unpopular occupation in the west, the garbageman. This is what they are making:
US$48,000 in Milwaukee, Wis.
US$35,000 in Pensacola, Fla.
In Toronto they can make about CAN$100,000 a year

These wages may seem high but are actually the norm in the west where people get a livable wages. In many of these countries housing & cars is also cheaper than in Spore.

Don't expect the working conditions to improve under the PAP. Those buggers are making $$$$ at the expense of the "lesser mortals". I think many Sporeans are waking up & they will vote for change, even if it means getting rid of their favourite party :wink:

ns is killing singapore

It's not just technology and less frivolous consumer spending.

Society in those days was kinder, gentler and slower.

Now, it seems like a surreal dystopia nightmare which you can't really awake from.
how come the old uncles(in their 50s,60s) i encountered mostly of impatient and rude bunch??:confused: