• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The golden age of 1990s-early 2000 is over, we cannot go back..

enterprise2

The golden age of cheap housing, relatively cheap COEs, cheap food fare, high middle income salaries, uncrowded public spaces... all of which marked the golden 90s to the early 2000s ...all this is going away. Some of it u can blame the MIW but others is the result of world trends which we can do nothing to change. Eg small compressed apartments are showing up in the major cities in US and Europe. People are ditching their cars and government are spending billions on public transport..and I am talking major cities like New York/London...not Mumbai!Self help or Self service models r going to be the new standard for all kinds of services... So forget the foodcourt cleaners, gas pump attendents. Maybe next time u don't need to see a real life GP for your cold. U can talk to a computer program and it can issue u a prescription of a MC ( if MC is still needed in the future!). So forget going back to the golden years a decade or ago. Instead we need to prepare ourselves for the future. It's almost upon us!

enterprise2

U forgot the 80s,,,it was a better period

I luv the 80s too. Bought my first car for a few thousand bucks (well it was almost 9 years old) and had a lot of adventures in it!! HDB 5 rooms for $30k. But finances were tight then even with the low costs. Of course best is that u get today's salaries and get 80s costs. If I had a time machine, I would have bought huge swathe of properties and then just sit back and wait for the next century to come!!

whoami

ya, man! ...

u njoyed running around ur void deck wifout ur pants on ...

Those must be during the 60s i tink.

But 70s was the best lah. Jobs were plentiful. Things were cheap. Those days we can say tis & tat was affordable. But not nowadays....

Windsor2012

Despite the negativity and the doom-sayers reporting that the end is nigh, let's look forward to doing what we can to improve our lives. Our children depend on it and on us to do what is right.

If our generation just complain and whine, nothing is going to happen. Am I right?

Fishypie

Kicking a 50 cents pLastic baLL at basketbaLL courts..where the Losing Team pays for another baLL
shouLd it get punctured..:smile:

Early 80s...yes!

But why i mentioned during 70 was also cos my beautiful kampong house was demolished for resettlement. Love and miss those era...

The best is 90s, SG was already very well developed then and life was full of hope, not like now so much gloom and doom.

The golden age of cheap housing, relatively cheap COEs, cheap food fare, high middle income salaries, uncrowded public spaces... all of which marked the golden 90s to the early 2000s ...all this is going away. Some of it u can blame the MIW but others is the result of world trends which we can do nothing to change. Eg small compressed apartments are showing up in the major cities in US and Europe. People are ditching their cars and government are spending billions on public transport..and I am talking major cities like New York/London...not Mumbai!Self help or Self service models r going to be the new standard for all kinds of services... So forget the foodcourt cleaners, gas pump attendents. Maybe next time u don't need to see a real life GP for your cold. U can talk to a computer program and it can issue u a prescription of a MC ( if MC is still needed in the future!). So forget going back to the golden years a decade or ago. Instead we need to prepare ourselves for the future. It's almost upon us!

what future you refering to ? 2030 ? By then sinkieland might sink olredi !

enterprise2

what future you refering to ? 2030 ? By then sinkieland might sink olredi !

The future where u see less FT than now...afterall thats what we want rite?? Only problem is that with Sinkies not willing to do these jobs, we may have to self-service ourselves. Foodcourt got to clear your trays..., pump your own gas, when flying do self checking in....etc. Also things r going to be more expensive. Cars r going to be expensive, houses will get smaller and more ex...etc

That's why the world needs a major war or calamity. It needs a hard reset.

70's, 80's and parts of 90's no mobile phone, no cable TV. cars were made cheap with no gadgets. oil was cheap. No LVMH and other branded stuff. One TV per household.

In other words, in the good old days, we do not spend on unnecessary items.