• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Generals in the SAF

blissquek

Foremost, what is the difference between COA and CDF ? Both are Chiefs, so what is the difference between Army and Defence Force ? COA command does not extend to Navy and Air Force ?

You can throw the same question on the appointment of our late LKY..

Is there a difference when he was the Prime Minister and when he was the Minister Mentor.?

Both appointment he yields equal power and has the major say on all things governing Singapore, be it the removal of Estate Duty or the building of the iconic National stadium.

All holding key appointment has to do as he says .

Is there a difference when he was the Prime Minister and when he was the Minister Mentor.?

Both appointment he yields equal power and has the major say on all things governing Singapore, be it the removal of Estate Duty or the building of the iconic National stadium.

You left out the promotion to EMERITUS still drawing the same pay & benefits..now upgraded to Immortal Minister..many still 'milking' benefits by bringing up the IM, every now & then...

Lots of these assholes feeding at the public trough. Got money for them, but no money for sinkies. Keep scolding sinkies to be more productive, but yet this is Very unproductive to have so many ministers.

Charlie99

It was a joke back then, when Mee Siam Mai Hum 'arrived' back home was a 2Lt in 23SA (or was it?..memory a bit foggy these days), that Col M.S. Gill Chief of Arty in the same camp complex, had to salute him.... ha ha ha ha ha :biggrin:

When the SAFOS graduate and return from overseas university, they are considered to have served from date of enlistment to that day, and would be at least a LTA.
It will not take long for a significant majority of them to be promoted to CPT, although a few (very few) of them were delayed (versus the accelerated promotion for SAFOS).
Are you sure Colonel M.S. Gill had to salute the then LTA LHL?

Charlie99

wields versus yields, and based on your context, I believe that it should read "wields"

Onitsuka

Can SAF import foreign generals to boaster Singapore's image as a fearsome fighting force in South East Asia ?

Imagine our MG Perry Lim surrounded by his underlings - Colin Powell and Peter de la Billiere. Too bad the most iconic General Norman Schwarzkopf is no longer around.

When the SAFOS graduate and return from overseas university, they are considered to have served from date of enlistment to that day, and would be at least a LTA.
It will not take long for a significant majority of them to be promoted to CPT, although a few (very few) of them were delayed (versus the accelerated promotion for SAFOS).

He was 2LT....not even LTA...you didn't read the part " It was joke back then"...that COL M.S. Gill COA had to 'salute' him...you go figure that out, which 'hands' feed M.S. Gill...ha ha ha ha ...it was a running joke!. Don't think M.S. Gill or his successor, who was also a Colonel ever made it to BG any "G" & these are career soldiers.

So....it was a 'joke'..

Can SAF import foreign generals to boaster Singapore's image as a fearsome fighting force in South East Asia ?

Imagine our MG Perry Lim surrounded by his underlings - Colin Powell and Peter de la Billiere. Too bad the most iconic General Norman Schwarzkopf is no longer around.

They stopped using the title BG(RES)....when Colin ( 4 stars) General, decorated soldier had to come here for some conference sometime back...when BG(Res)Yeo & BG(RES) mee siam mai hum...have to meet a real life 4 stars, COS (former)...GENERAL COLIN POWELL..then Mr. Colin Powell....paiseh! paiseh!..BG playing computer games...

Onitsuka

They stopped using the title BG(RES)....when Colin ( 4 stars) General, decorated soldier had to come here for some conference sometime back...when BG(Res)Yeo & BG(RES) mee siam mai hum...have to meet a real life 4 stars, COS (former)...GENERAL COLIN POWELL..then Mr. Colin Powell....paiseh! paiseh!..BG playing computer games...

But we pay our PM more than they pay their President. So there is nothing to be paiseh. Money is King!

We should import Colin Powell and Peter de la Billiere and give them Assistant Brigadier-General rank. After all, our public service is very good at creating ranks and titles. Pay them more than Obama.

bhoven

There has been "rank inflation" in the SAF and SPF during the past decade or two.

In the old days, most of the CO's of infantry battalions and other units of similar "size" were Majors.
In fact, there were CO's who were CPT, when they were initially appointed.
During my NS days, I recall that CPT Gwee Peng Hong (first batch OCS, and a commando officer, was an OC of the Second Company, the Commando Battalion) refused the local Major rank, because apparently he said that if the SAF appoints him (CPT at that time) as a CO of 1 SIR, that he as a CPT is good enough to be the CO, he does not need the local crab, but if the SAF wishes to promote him to local Major, they might as well promote him to Major.
At that time, his fellow buddies from the first batch OCS were CO's of 3 SIR (Major Neo Poh Chuan, retired as a Colonel), of 4 SIR (Major Chow Giak Piak, retired as LTC, now deceased), whereas LTC Chng Teow Hua (also from the first batch OCS, and was formerly the Chief Combat Engineer Officer) was their Brigade Commander (2 SIB).
Nowadays, most of the CO's are at least Majors, if not LTC, and there are numerous BG's, and Colonels.
The SAF also introduced the SLTC, Senior Lieutenant Colonel.
In the SPF, the rank inflation is at a very similar pace.
Recently, in the SPF, there are 3 Deputy Commissioners (used to be one), 7 SAC (Senior Assistant Commissioners), 19 AC (Assistant Commissioners), about 24 DAC (Deputy Assistant Commissioners), and numerous Superintendents.
Nowadays, many of the CO's are LTC.

I believe LG Baey was a fixed wing aircraft pilot, not a fighter pilot. Also later LTC( Reservist ) GPH was from 2nd combat batch, not first batch. It is true that he rejected the local major rank when made CO of 1SIR(?)

All in LHL promotion in the army was a biggest joke in Singapore. Every year give him a new stamp to past on his shoulder, like that also can call promotion and capable to lead an army to war?

If I were one of the sons of LKY I will leave Singapore than to be part of the scumbag embarrass history.

It was a joke back then, when Mee Siam Mai Hum 'arrived' back home was a 2Lt in 23SA (or was it?..memory a bit foggy these days), that Col M.S. Gill Chief of Arty in the same camp complex, had to salute him.... ha ha ha ha ha :biggrin:

No senior officers saluted his brother Lee Hsien yang in my unit, why would they salute Gay Loong? Armour more balls then arty?

All in LHL promotion in the army was a biggest joke in Singapore. Every year give him a new stamp to past on his shoulder, like that also can call promotion and capable to lead an army to war?

If I were one of the sons of LKY I will leave Singapore than to be part of the scumbag embarrass history.

The worse thing is that these fuckers know they are utterly unworthy to lead the army, yet continue to take bigger and bigger ranks and salaries. If Gay Loong went to Sandhurst and study there and graduate with a military degree, I am more ok with that. But the bapok went to Cambridge to study Maths. For fuck? What has that got to do with leading an army? Can calculate how many casualties we will suffer?

kukubird59

In fact, the Brits did not run road. They stood and fight. And in fact, the head of the British armed forces in Singapore, General Percival, was captured after he surrendered. I doubt if you will find Gay Loong anywhere nearby if we go to war. Many Brits were imprisoned and even killed fighting the Japs.
hahaha...the empty vessel whines again...
everytime when it cums to facts, u are found short......
the Brits in Singapore did not run road simply because there was no road to run....
basically they and Singapore and the British colony in the Far East at large were abandoned by the Great Britain...u die your business.
also if General Percival was a capable General.....Malaya and Singapore would not fallen so easily and quickly as he had a much larger force than the Japanese invaders...

Hans168

hahaha...the empty vessel whines again...
everytime when it cums to facts, u are found short......
the Brits in Singapore did not run road simply because there was no road to run....
basically they and Singapore and the British colony in the Far East at large were abandoned by the Great Britain...u die your business.
also if General Percival was a capable General.....Malaya and Singapore would not fallen so easily and quickly as he had a much larger force than the Japanese invaders...

Ku coo............. Gen Percival any time better than all the paper generals we have or had. British High Command knew sg is not defendable and therefore allocated scarely any credible resources to defend the island other than a few pill boxes and hundreds of lousy silkh soldiers who cabut on hearing gun fire. so letz be objective when looking at history............ Who has real battle experience other that LTC Peter Law retired long ago but never made it as he has only O levels & a former probationary police sub inspector who joined the army first batch.

O level can only go up to LTC while those with TTC training like Tang Mun Poh goes up to full colonel,,,,,,, all others half past sixes can be BG without problem ... it is a given or heaven-sent. Earn big money as sAF scholarsl then bigger money as 1-2-3 stars bums & later biggest money as useless corporate dud like the previous CDF who sold NOL..........

Charlie99

May be a typo, should be booster

Bro was talking about rank inflation......
The bigger joke still has to be the ME rank....man only clowns would wear such a rank and rightly so it was invented by the biggest clown of them all

Bro was talking about rank inflation......
The bigger joke still has to be the ME rank....man only clowns would wear such a rank and rightly so it was invented by the biggest clown of them all

Military experts are people who operate highly sophisticated war machinery in the SAF. You should treat them with respect. They could help you kill hundreds of jiuhukia enemies with the SAF made gatling guns.