• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the better curry puffs

Nice-Gook is right, the Indian samosa for British colonial teatime is the original. It was meant as a snack with tea, that's why it's small. When it spread westward to Europe and Britain, they used the Danish buttery fluffy baking style instead of frying it. That's when the word puff replaced samosa. Then that style spread back to India where they decided to have a baked version, but meal-sized version (notice both little samosa snack and big Indian puff are both triangular in shape).

As a British colony then, it spread to Malaya too, both curry puff and samosa. The snack-size samosa wasn't hard for Malays to make but very few Malays then had baking oven facilities. So for upsized puff, they came up with a fried version. The Peranakans caught on and it became what's the common puff here today.

samosa skin tasted more like wantan skin. best to eat it warm while it's crispy. once cold or left for a longe while, the skin could be quite sloggy n mushy.

That's because you must have eaten those oily oily ones.And there are worse.Especially smaosa sold in Serangoon Road.Huge ,and quite hollow too.Really bad.Give me a curry puff over a somosa any time in Sinkie.

I have not seen any good smaosas in Singapore.But what ate in the sub continent was really heavenly.Unbeatable taste.The ones I ate in Pakistan ,served during a conference,was something I still long for.

During the mid-late 1980s, when I was just a kid, there was an auntie going door-to-door to sell hand-made curry puffs.

Her voice was loud and distinct. "Gaaaaaaah-lee POK! (2 seconds interval) Gaaaaaaah-lee POK!" You could hear her approaching nearer when her voice gets louder.

During the mid-late 1980s, when I was just a kid, there was an auntie going door-to-door to sell hand-made curry puffs.

Her voice was loud and distinct. "Gaaaaaaah-lee POK! (2 seconds interval) Gaaaaaaah-lee POK!" You could hear her approaching nearer when her voice gets louder.

There was a boy in that era doing that in my area too. His slogan was "kalipok sio sio...kalipok sio sio." His mother cooked the curry and made the curry puffs. His brother helped with carrying tins of oil home and peeling potato. His brother is a forummer here too. That was the best local-style curry puff I could remember.

In recent years here, there was a neighborhood Malay auntie selling good fresh curry puff near the bus-stop downstairs too. Just a fresh basketful. She stopped selling for some months and one day met her in the lift and asked her, why stopped selling. She said the Indian Muslim coffeeshop wanted to sell curry puff too and complained to NEA and she was summoned twice at S$200 each time for illegal hawking. That made her roadside curry puff biz not worth the while and even losing money.

If you like the fried curry puffs don't forget the one available at Toa Payoh. They make the curry puffs at their location. It's located in the coffee shop about 30m from the KFC outlet

Is this the one in Toa Payoh central but the stall is called AMK curry puffs?
This stall is good. :)

the last pic is indian's version of curry puff. the pastry edge is super hard. filling is usually potato with small bits of curry mutton which is mostly very tough mutton sinews hardly chewable. it's a mystery who or which company actually make those. almost every mamak's stall selling the same curry mutton puff. by the way, do u guys think they recyle the puffs??

There are two shops in Joo Chiat Road, a few doors apart from each other, making and supplying these puffs. Surprisingly, one of the shops is actually ran by Malays. Business is very good. You can see people taking away cardboard boxes full of these puffs....

My favourite is a shop at Sunset (Clementi/Ulu Pandan). Balmoral something. Near the kpt where Ah Huat was gunned down.

Killiney there got 1 malay stall sell kali pok..quite nice but a bit ex lah...

Forum no biz, I went hangflower at joints along Beach Rd and Balestier.

How come I never see you at Beach Road? I may be going there later this evening. If you're there, look out for the most handsome ponytail who speaks Thai until you don't realize he's a Singaporean. That'd be me. ;)

Bro, I avoid crowded places where foreigners congregate. Beach Rd has several HFJs away from GM Tower and Complex. They are located nearer Aliwal.

which joint will you be at?

To me, there's a difference between Beach Road and Golden Mile, a difference between Golden Mile Complex and Golden Mile Tower. I said Beach Road. There're no joints in Beach Road HDB estate playground where humble Thais have fun pinicking over dinner and beer. Look for me there. ;)

The 2 of you jialat lah. People started a thread on curry puff and you two turn it into a hang flower thread :D

I have not been eating curry puffs for a long time. I miss the days when tip top at AMK central used to sell good curry puffs. Heard the standard went down. I love the curry puffs with ample chicken meat, 1/4 of egg inside and fried with fresh oil. The oil is one factor that alot of people neglects. The moment something is fried in overused oil, the stomach suffers.

These are the locations for the curry puff lovers:

1. Epok Epok Central
Block 4A Eunos Crescent, 01-09
Open: 7am to 7pm, except Mondays
Price: 50 cents
Rating: ****

The thin, crispy shell pastry is addictive, the curry spice sufficiently aromatic and the potatoes, generous in portion. But what makes this Malay version of the curry puff stands out from the rest is how yummy the quarter of hard-boiled egg encased within tastes - the whites are firm but soft and the moist yolk crumbles beautifully, adding to the creaminess of the potatoes.

2. Wang Wang Crispy Curry Puff
Block 51, Old Airport Road, 01-126
Open: 9.30am to 9.30pm, except Mondays
Price: $1
Rating:***

The pastry for this curry puff is inspired by that used in Teochew mooncakes, which is layered and flaky. This lends the puff a delightful crackle when you sink your teeth into it. The juicy chunks of chicken go well with the soft creamy potato cubes but it could have done with a bit more curry kick.

3. Indian Muslim Bakery and Confectionery
124 Onan Road
Open: 7am to 8pm, except Sundays
Price: $1.40
Rating: ***1/2

This Indian curry puff is so delicate, it flakes at the lightest touch. That said, the layers add up to quite a bit, so the pastry ends up being a tad thick. But the green chillies and slow-stewed coarsely cut onions lend the chicken and potato filling a naturally sweet and spicy punch that again, redefines what a curry puff is.

4. Starbucks
Various outlets across the island
Open: Varies across different outlets
Price: $3.60
Rating:***1/2

Called the 'uglier curry puff', its golden-orange appearance, however, isn't quite off-putting.

The toasted crumbs pock-marking the pastry lend the buttery flaky crust a pleasant textural crunch and breaks the monotony of the starchy potatoes encased within. The curry flavour is piquant and spicy enough to work up a mild sweat.

5. 1A Crispy Puffs
Price: $1.10

The shape of these curry puffs reminds you of a swishing flamenco skirt. But the curry flavour isn't quite as bold, although the smell of spices permeates the pastry casing and the chicken is moist and cooked to just the right degree of tenderness.

6. Polar Puffs and Cakes
Price: $1.40
Rating:**1/2

Baked and flaky, its buttery fragrance appeals and the crust is crispy to the bite. While the pastry falls on the dry side, as does the chicken, the blend of spices has more than just one dimension, which is a nice change. In fact, there's a subtle kaffir lime fragrance that lingers on the palate.

7. Katong Chicken Curry Puff
Block 84, Marine Parade Hawker Centre, 01-132
Open: 8am to 6.30pm, except Mondays
Price: $1

The intense curry flavour and zing of this curry puff make for a perfect pick-me-up snack in the afternoon. The traditional Chinese dough pastry is not too thick so you don't end up with a gummy mess in your mouth after a few rounds of chewing.

8. Cafe 2000
M Hotel, 81 Anson Road
Open: 6.30am to 11pm, daily
Price: $3.50
Rating:****

This baked puff is at least twice the size of an average curry puff but you'll probably polish it all off in one sitting anyway. The golden-brown burnish of its crust is extremely tempting and it smells of buttery goodness. The chicken chunks come tender and juicy, the aromatic curry hits the back of the throat and it has just the right amount of spiciness that sends the tongue tingling.

I think the best is this:

Tip Top Curry Puff @ Ang Mo Kio Ave 8
Posted on December 24, 2010 by alvinology
Tip Top Curry Puff stall

The sight of the curry puffs being freshly made on-the-spot and the light, aromatic curry fragrance captivate my senses.
The puffs are all made on-the-spot in an open kitchen

Accolades from various food publications, newspapers, magazines and critics

tiptop.jpg

If you are interested to try out Tip Top Curry Puff, the address is below:

722 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8 #01-2843 Hiap Hwa Coffee Shop
Opening Hours: 9.30am – 9.30pm

The curry puffs cost just $1.10 each. Quite a steal, relative to today’s rising food prices. The stall is also certified Halal. Hence Muslims can enjoy it too. :)