• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the better curry puffs

There are two shops in Joo Chiat Road, a few doors apart from each other, making and supplying these puffs. Surprisingly, one of the shops is actually ran by Malays. Business is very good. You can see people taking away cardboard boxes full of these puffs....

Is this one located at Onan Rd? Recently a Malay gal in my company's HR dept bought 3 boxes of mutton curry puffs.. Its the typical Indian curry puffs not the usual ones.. Taste quite ok but their chilli sauce is very good...

well done bro groober. tnks.

Sure bro, you're welcome.:)

Is this one located at Onan Rd? Recently a Malay gal in my company's HR dept bought 3 boxes of mutton curry puffs.. Its the typical Indian curry puffs not the usual ones.. Taste quite ok but their chilli sauce is very good...

Yes, that is truly one of the oldest and well-known supplier to many outlets and you can go there and order a small quantity. The same can be said for the Defu Lane Otak Otak.

No, they are diff. The malay shop I mentioned is along Joo Chiat Road, b4 the junction with Joo Chiat Place.

These are the locations for the curry puff lovers:

1. Epok Epok Central
Block 4A Eunos Crescent, 01-09
Open: 7am to 7pm, except Mondays
Price: 50 cents
Rating: ****

The thin, crispy shell pastry is addictive, the curry spice sufficiently aromatic and the potatoes, generous in portion. But what makes this Malay version of the curry puff stands out from the rest is how yummy the quarter of hard-boiled egg encased within tastes - the whites are firm but soft and the moist yolk crumbles beautifully, adding to the creaminess of the potatoes.

This Eunos stall is good. I don't see other Malay epok-epok with hard-boiled egg except this.​

No, they are diff. The malay shop I mentioned is along Joo Chiat Road, b4 the junction with Joo Chiat Place.

Thanks Bro.. Will check out on the shop when I'm around Joo Chiat..

Is this the one in Toa Payoh central but the stall is called AMK curry puffs?
This stall is good. :)

I can't remember the name.
This is the stall with picture on the wall showing their old location at angmo kio & some people making curry puffs. You can also see them making the puffs from scratch i.e. it is not franchised.

Tip Top, Polar

tip top not bad.price went up. standard slowly down. not as nice as before.but still okay.
polar price has shot thru the roof. standard really gone down. mass produce.so not so nice lah. but still okay.

tip top for me any time!
1A just too messy...OCK not bad, but too much potatoes and too full...but with the current furor, aiyah...business down lah.

the sunset one not bad .shop quite difficult to find. but okay lah.

These are the locations for the curry puff lovers:

5. 1A Crispy Puffs
Various outlets across the island
Open: Varies across different outlets
Price: $1.10
Rating:***

This not even considered curry puff.

7. Katong Chicken Curry Puff
Block 84, Marine Parade Hawker Centre, 01-132
Open: 8am to 6.30pm, except Mondays
Price: $1
Rating:***

The intense curry flavour and zing of this curry puff make for a perfect pick-me-up snack in the afternoon. The traditional Chinese dough pastry is not too thick so you don't end up with a gummy mess in your mouth after a few rounds of chewing.

Not worth the money

I think the best is this:

Tip Top Curry Puff @ Ang Mo Kio Ave 8
Posted on December 24, 2010 by alvinology
Tip Top Curry Puff stall

The sight of the curry puffs being freshly made on-the-spot and the light, aromatic curry fragrance captivate my senses.
The puffs are all made on-the-spot in an open kitchen

Accolades from various food publications, newspapers, magazines and critics

tiptop.jpg

If you are interested to try out Tip Top Curry Puff, the address is below:

722 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8 #01-2843 Hiap Hwa Coffee Shop
Opening Hours: 9.30am – 9.30pm

The curry puffs cost just $1.10 each. Quite a steal, relative to today’s rising food prices. The stall is also certified Halal. Hence Muslims can enjoy it too. :)

Ever since they got halal certified , I seldom patonize them.
Used to be 60 cents back in the good ol' days

How come I never see you at Beach Road? I may be going there later this evening. If you're there, look out for the most handsome ponytail who speaks Thai until you don't realize he's a Singaporean. That'd be me. ;)

I use to run into a not so handsome ( are you?;), who wears a ponytail speaks Thai but local, hanging around Beach Rd Area, especially the Golden Mile Complex, but that chappy is 'cukoo" is that you?:D

I know a guy too similar description that live in amk and Thai wife that works in a phone shop there....

My favourite is a shop at Sunset (Clementi/Ulu Pandan). Balmoral something. Near the kpt where Ah Huat was gunned down.

The one at sunset with good curry puff is swiss pastry and their chicken pie is also very good.
they have another shop in eng kong crescent.Always sold out must wait quite long.

Ever since they got halal certified , I seldom patonize them.
Used to be 60 cents back in the good ol' days

i agreed. not the same anymore. soon everything will be halal. the price also gone up!!! quality goes down....

the sunset pastry is more popular than its curry puff....but still the quality of curry puffs today is far far far below those good old days....you can smell the fragrant curry puff from far far away....today no smell....something got some other smell too!