• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Teochew Lang sibei how Lian..

This teochew porridge is missing the following:

-- hae bee hiam
-- chai por egg
-- fish cake
-- chap chye
-- otak
-- lup cheong
-- and a plate of sour chopped chilli sauce. :p
OK, here's my preference in order.

1. Cai Beh (if don't have, I will leave)
2. Lor Kong Bah/Tau Pok
3. Cai Por Egg
4. Steam Sotong
5. White Fish Cake (Long one with chilli and spring onion)
6. Braised Duck and intestine
7. Duck wings

2. Lor Kong Bah/Tau Pok
3. Cai Por Egg
4. Steam Sotong
7. Duck wings

Bro, siao Liao..me must find you wherever yor are ! !...:D

I'm contented with just 1 plate of minced pork and 1 bowl of porridge. :)

Want Teochew braised duck goodness?

86975295_cbcafbb067_z.jpg

Real teochew will not order most of these.
Otak, lup cheong and hae bee hiam are not true blue teochew dish...
Steam fish, braised duck meat, sotong are staples.

I not real teochew, but will also order braised duck and sotong. ;)

2. Lor Kong Bah/Tau Pok
3. Cai Por Egg
4. Steam Sotong
7. Duck wings

All good for me except the duck wings and intestine.
Fish cake no need to be long, long is only the way they slice.
Flat, square and round one also very nice depending on how they cook. ;)

All good for me except the duck wings and intestine.
Fish cake no need to be long, long is only the way they slice.
Flat, square and round one also very nice depending on how they cook. ;)
Hehehe. Not a fan of spare parts during my younger days. Now? Hehehe. Eat like nobody biz.

Talking about fish cake, there's one stall in Tiong Bahru market where my mum used to buy the fish cake. It is the long type one with chopped pieces of chilli and spring onion inside the fishcakes. This is something I miss badly. :(

If TeoChew nia are the prettiest...then what dialect is known for handsome har?

Hainanese men are generally considered the best-looking among the Southern Chinese

Pierre Png:
pic01.jpg

Li Nanxing
Li_Nan_Xing.jpg

Benedict Goh, Manhunt Singapore 1994:
Picture+7.png

Zhu Houren:
EAC788EC956BABE5364CC03D6EC52.jpg

..but many says out of 10 hainanese, 9 are mad..reaLLy ah ?..

Tiong Bahru fish ball famous stall 7....50 years in business

Hehehe. Not a fan of spare parts during my younger days. Now? Hehehe. Eat like nobody biz.

Talking about fish cake, there's one stall in Tiong Bahru market where my mum used to buy the fish cake. It is the long type one with chopped pieces of chilli and spring onion inside the fishcakes. This is something I miss badly. :(

Used to stay in Kim Pong Road, grandad wouLd asked me to buy some of his fave type of fish cakes; and bring them
back for our Lunches with pLain porridge then..

I feel so good reading this thread.

This is a quintessentially singaporean thread.

If one did not grow up in singapore, one wouldn't know anything about the stuff you guys are talking about, from teochew porridge to zhu hou ren.

This brings back memories, Cockpit Hotel, SBC, the old plaza singapura, etc

Think it's South Buona Vista one
Right YY, should be South Buona Vista road cos' I conveniently call that entire area Pasir Panjang.

The duck wings here is worth dying for. KNN, now my saliva drooling liaoz. Especially the nice cool weather now in Sin City.

I feel so good reading this thread.

This is a quintessentially singaporean thread.

If one did not grow up in singapore, one wouldn't know anything about the stuff you guys are talking about, from teochew porridge to zhu hou ren.

This brings back memories, Cockpit Hotel, SBC, the old plaza singapura, etc
Do contribute your say here, bro..oLd times sibei song hor ?..:)

Hehehe. NW, thought your area only Queenstown to Ghim Moh. Extend until Tiong Bahru?

Hehehe. Yes, there are so many goodies in the old Tiong Bahru market (the dark one storey dry and wet market with hawkers). I only visited the place once after the big renovation. Also like the Chinese Mee Siam there. Sob sob. That was 20 years ago. :(