Teflon Ramseth at it again

I could not help notice that Ramseth is active in the forum discussing about mother in law, brother in law, satellite dish, Sim Lim Tower, and just about every thing except Tan Kin Lian. This guy runs from bad news faster than a speeding bullet.

Anyone watching his posts today would think that this guy has no idea who Tan Kin Lian is and the PE never took place. As I said before, nothing sticks.

I wonder what would happen if Tan Kin Lian won and preparing to move into the Istana. I suppose that is life.

I rocketed away faster than Mach 4 before nomination day. ;)

Let me give you a recount of how TKL came in to idea of PE 3 years ago. GMS in the midst of taking over S-G of NSP and preparing for GE, got this idea that GE and PE might be held concurrently. He asked me if there's anyone qualified. I had three or four names that qualifies but they're all PAPs except TKL who had clearly fallen out with PAP. I introduced TKL to GMS and let him do the lobbying, I was no part in it except for the introduction as I was shuttling between US and Thailand then. TKL didn't agree at once, understandably since it's a big one.

Then came the minibond crisis and both TKL and GMS were very interested and worked very closely on that, that almost everyone here knows. It gave TKL some confidence, doubled up with his blog crossing one million hits, and was then followed by the first indication of standing for PE with the 100,000-petition campaign which at first whiff, I naturally stayed far away from. How to stop him? It was out on his blog before anyone knows anything.

Then it blown over and died a natural but only a little somewhat embarrassing death. Then fast forward to two months ago, when PE couldn't be delayed anymore, he decided to really stand. Locke Liberal was with GMS to lobby TKL to stand thinking that the opponent would surely be SR Nathan. Upon TCB throwing his hat into the ring, LL defected and sided TCB. I was approached to help TCB too.

What to do? I won't do such thing since I'm long-time friend of TKL since he was CEO, my big boss when I was small fry and treated me like a friend. I must vote for him. But knowing the sure-lose situation especially after TJS was qualified, I had no choice but to go for a little tour around Malaysia and Thailand.

Thanks for sharing. I think the chaps in this forum appreciate such insights. We certainly don't get anything meaningful from SPH or any of the mainstream media.

Let me give you a recount of how TKL came in to idea of PE 3 years ago. GMS in the midst of taking over S-G of NSP and preparing for GE, got this idea that GE and PE might be held concurrently. He asked me if there's anyone qualified. I had three or four names that qualifies but they're all PAPs except TKL who had clearly fallen out with PAP. I introduced TKL to GMS and let him do the lobbying, I was no part in it except for the introduction as I was shuttling between US and Thailand then. TKL didn't agree at once, understandably since it's a big one.

Then came the minibond crisis and both TKL and GMS were very interested and worked very closely on that, that almost everyone here knows. It gave TKL some confidence, doubled up with his blog crossing one million hits, and was then followed by the first indication of standing for PE with the 100,000-petition campaign which at first whiff, I naturally stayed far away from. How to stop him? It was out on his blog before anyone knows anything.

Then it blown over and died a natural but only a little somewhat embarrassing death. Then fast forward to two months ago, when PE couldn't be delayed anymore, he decided to really stand. Locke Liberal was with GMS to lobby TKL to stand thinking that the opponent would surely be SR Nathan. Upon TCB throwing his hat into the ring, LL defected and sided TCB. I was approached to help TCB too.

What to do? I won't do such thing since I'm long-time friend of TKL since he was CEO, my big boss when I was small fry and treated me like a friend. I must vote for him. But knowing the sure-lose situation especially after TJS was qualified, I had no choice but to go for a little tour around Malaysia and Thailand.

My applause to all 3 candidate( TCB, TJS and TKL) dare to stand up.
Many people KPKB talk only. But do they dare to stand up?
LKY know that Nathan sure lose if contest in PE. That why Nathan is out. Cannot make up his mind until last minute order by his master to step down.

Dear Ram and Scroo.

Correction, that sole meeting with TKL and GMS was at that Japanese Burger place at AMK near GMS old shop location. That was when he was still with the WP and the intent was to recruit him as a party candidate. for GE 2011, post GE 2006. If any thoughts about a PE it definitely did not come from me.

Locke

Dear Ram and Scroo.

Correction, that sole meeting with TKL and GMS was at that Japanese Burger place at AMK near GMS old shop location. That was when he was still with the WP and the intent was to recruit him as a party candidate. for GE 2011, post GE 2006. If any thoughts about a PE it definitely did not come from me.

Locke

Locke,

Your memory fails you. That was back in 2008, I has already quit WP. It was about Presidential Election, not GE.

Well, when TJS just did not do what he said he was going to do after getting the COE, I was in HK. Nothing much I can do except giving my advice to the campaigning team. Losing deposit is a clear possibility. Don't talk about hindsight but in a 4 corner fight, there is a higher possibility of any candidate to lose deposit.

With TJS in the equation, there is a need to reconsider the campaigning theme. Can't possibly fight TJS for the hardcore opposition support, thus the enhancement of the centrist positioning.

As I have said, the positioning and messaging are all right on the spot, so much so that the other three candidates subtly copied all ideas and even slogans from TKL. The only disadvantage is that TKL does not have a solid support base to start with, only trying to use persuasion for the middle ground.

This is not easy when all the other two candidates started to change tact and even copied his ideas and stands. The defeat is thus apparent.

For those who criticize TKL, you must look at things objectively and avoid using the GE divides as the yardstick. This is PE, not GE. I stand by my choice of President whom I wish to see.

Goh Meng Seng

Totally out of touch with reality and lost in your own fantasy world.

No one copied TKL for heaven's sake. I may as well say TJS copied my nick because he used a black heart on the ballot paper to represent himself.

TKL has only himself to blame because he was not as presentable as the other candidates. Sounds blunt I know but its the truth.

This is not easy when all the other two candidates started to change tact and even copied his ideas and stands. The defeat is thus apparent.

For those who criticize TKL, you must look at things objectively and avoid using the GE divides as the yardstick. This is PE, not GE. I stand by my choice of President whom I wish to see.

Goh Meng Seng

I owe you an apology then. I will remove my post and you do likewise in the Mod Folder. It was the impression that you were there as Equalisation said so in a few postings.

As for GMS and those who have supported TKL, in the initial stages many of us stated clearly that TKL does not cut it as a president. Why you guys cannot see what we see is something I cannot understand. 95% of the voters have seen TKL and heard his message. If 95% holds the same views that he is not presidential material, why are you stubbornly denying the obvious and insist he is the right man for the job. Only people who are oblivious and cannot accept opinions of the majority will insist that he is right. What can you say about such pigheadedness?

Locke,

Your memory fails you. That was back in 2008, I has already quit WP. It was about Presidential Election, not GE.

Well, when TJS just did not do what he said he was going to do after getting the COE, I was in HK. Nothing much I can do except giving my advice to the campaigning team. Losing deposit is a clear possibility. Don't talk about hindsight but in a 4 corner fight, there is a higher possibility of any candidate to lose deposit.

With TJS in the equation, there is a need to reconsider the campaigning theme. Can't possibly fight TJS for the hardcore opposition support, thus the enhancement of the centrist positioning.

As I have said, the positioning and messaging are all right on the spot, so much so that the other three candidates subtly copied all ideas and even slogans from TKL. The only disadvantage is that TKL does not have a solid support base to start with, only trying to use persuasion for the middle ground.

Goh Meng Seng

But you have a knack of 'betting on a wrong horse'??!! remember a while back I wrote to you" "everybody loves a winner, but when you loose, you loose alone", that is what most people will remember you by, not that you have to win all the time.

I wonder what would happen if Tan Kin Lian won and preparing to move into the Istana. I suppose that is life.

He is the only one among the 3 candidates spoke for those who lost their life savings in the wake of the Lehman Brothers collapse in 2008. i vote for him, what wrong with that? unlike you Scroobal, what else did you do for Singapore, tell me?

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/fpkskHi0Vxk?version=3"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/fpkskHi0Vxk?version=3" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="390"></object>

by the ways GMS was there, unlike you motherfucker, do nuthing, talk big only. fuck you the wayang cheebyekia

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/l-2dAO1tFj0?version=3"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/l-2dAO1tFj0?version=3" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="390"></object>

But you have a knack of 'betting on a wrong horse'??!! remember a while back I wrote to you" "everybody loves a winner, but when you loose, you loose alone", that is what most people will remember you by, not that you have to win all the time.

it's "lose", not "loose" in this context. "loose" applies when one's lobang is so fecking huge that a truck can go right through. or one is extremely liberal and inviting in allowing his large lobang to be sodomized. or one's mouth keeps spewing bs that he is regarded as a "loose" cannon.

It's a shame TKL is not the president. I've been copying his pronunciation and facial expression from youtube.. and my drinking buddies ("many people") say my impersonation of him is pretty spot on.

If TKL is the president I could be making a small fortune as his impersonator :(

My applause to all 3 candidate( TCB, TJS and TKL) dare to stand up.
Many people KPKB talk only. But do they dare to stand up?
LKY know that Nathan sure lose if contest in PE. That why Nathan is out. Cannot make up his mind until last minute order by his master to step down.
Yes kudos to all 3. They are braver than so many sinkies.
TKL was my choice till TJS came in.......i think it was the same for many.

Loose as in Goh Meng Seng is a loose cannon.

it's "lose", not "loose" in this context. "loose" applies when one's lobang is so fecking huge that a truck can go right through. or one is extremely liberal and inviting in allowing his large lobang to be sodomized. or one's mouth keeps spewing bs that he is regarded as a "loose" cannon.

Thanks for sharing. I think the chaps in this forum appreciate such insights. We certainly don't get anything meaningful from SPH or any of the mainstream media.

I'm one of those who appreciate such insights. Ramseth has been one of the best contributors to this forum for years.

But also couldn't help noticing that he was "shuttling between US and Thailand", "approached to help TCB" and was in no way responsible for TKL's vote outcome, although he remains steadfastly loyal to him. And bring in our forum's resident british gentleman locke's role to liven up the party.

Oh well, we need all kinds of forummers to make this a good forum and Ramseth has indeed been a great contributor.

I owe you an apology then. I will remove my post and you do likewise in the Mod Folder. It was the impression that you were there as Equalisation said so in a few postings.

As for GMS and those who have supported TKL, in the initial stages many of us stated clearly that TKL does not cut it as a president. Why you guys cannot see what we see is something I cannot understand. 95% of the voters have seen TKL and heard his message. If 95% holds the same views that he is not presidential material, why are you stubbornly denying the obvious and insist he is the right man for the job. Only people who are oblivious and cannot accept opinions of the majority will insist that he is right. What can you say about such pigheadedness?

It's alright. Equalisation was always talking nonsense half drunk or totally drunk. He knows nothing except guessing.

As TKL decided to stand, I'd have to support him and vote for him and encourage others to vote for him as far as I can. It has nothing to do with being oblivious to his slim chance of winning and high risk of losing deposit. It has to do with trying to save a good result for him, but alas, it was in vain.

To be frank, I was initially agreeable to the idea of TKL standing. It was until he pulled that 100,000-petition stunt that I became lukewarmed. He has been a good boss, good friend but certainly no politician. He'd get burnt if PAP sent a Chinese instead of Nathan. He'd get fried if more candidates joined the fray. Unfortunately for him and his supporters, that turned out to be the case with TCB and TJS.

I could not help notice that Ramseth is active in the forum discussing about mother in law, brother in law, satellite dish, Sim Lim Tower, and just about every thing except Tan Kin Lian. This guy runs from bad news faster than a speeding bullet.

Anyone watching his posts today would think that this guy has no idea who Tan Kin Lian is and the PE never took place. As I said before, nothing sticks.

http://www.thegoodhuman.com/2007/07/31/what-teflon-is-and-why-you-should-avoid-it/

What Teflon Is And Why You Should Avoid It

Teflon is the trademarked name for Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE). This chemical, which makes things “non-stick” in its use here, should be classified as a “likely carcinogen” (cancer-causing substance) according to some advisers to the EPA. You would think that that should be enough to get the EPA to ban its use in tons of products, but alas no…they have just decided that the companies using Teflon should make it less likely to break down. Huh? Yep, in effect, everybody can keep using Teflon as long as they figure out a way to keep it from leeching into everything that it is used in…cookware, clothes, pizza boxes, microwave popcorn bags, your mouth, etc. And companies have until 2015 to do so. I can’t wait to see what type of chemical they come up with to make it “safer” and what that new chemical will do to us

See, within two to five minutes on a stove, cookware coated with Teflon can exceed temperatures at which the teflon coating breaks apart and emits toxic particles and gases linked to thousands of pet bird deaths and an unknown number of human illnesses each year. Sounds safe, right? From the Environmental Working Group:

“In new tests conducted by a university food safety professor, a generic non-stick frying pan preheated on a conventional, electric stovetop burner reached 736°F in three minutes and 20 seconds, with temperatures still rising when the tests were terminated. A Teflon pan reached 721°F in just five minutes under the same test conditions (See Figure 1), as measured by a commercially available infrared thermometer. DuPont studies show that the Teflon offgases toxic particulates at 446°F. At 680°F Teflon pans release at least six toxic gases, including two carcinogens, two global pollutants, and MFA, a chemical lethal to humans at low doses. At temperatures that DuPont scientists claim are reached on stovetop drip pans (1000°F), non-stick coatings break down to a chemical warfare agent known as PFIB, and a chemical analog of the WWII nerve gas phosgene.“

Well that certainly sounds safe, no? A few years back I switched to stainless steel pots and pans and have not looked back. They might take a little bit longer to clean up, but it is worth it knowing I am not cooking any additional chemicals into my food, never mind releasing more dangerous gases into the air. If you have pans coated with Teflon, I would really advise you to get rid of them and buy stainless steel or cast iron ones; even the cheap ones from Target or somewhere like that are better than using the ones coated with Teflon. Multiple studies have shown how toxic this stuff is…would you like a side of polytetrafluoroethylene or perfluorooctanoic acid with your eggs? Did not think so. Teflon is toxic so avoid it at all costs.

As TKL is your friend, you could vouch for him and vote. But it is not the case for me and most Singaporeans. I remember reading somewhere about your expert
advice to TKL. Hence it is all important of the messages and impressions you send via the media.

My first negative impression of TKL came from the fact that he DID NOT personally go down to collect the COE. Secondly comes the excuse of why he could not go. This was followed by a series of proclamations which showed his lack of sensitivity and knowledge to the "actual role" of President. Later comes the threat to sue the netizens for defamation. And there was this 100000 petition which he wanted, and later he gave out on that idea and still stood for PE after being unable to get netizens to send in this petition. There was the sharing of the "lows" of the compaign in which he shared how TJS played him out. His populist proposals just got no where, as if he is fighting to be an MP but it tells me he is really confused about the roles of a president.

The most important criterion of what people are looking for, in my view, is someone to be Presidential - a father figure so to speak, and one whom everyone can look up to. Not someone who is here to sue for trivial anonymous netizen petty comments, a broken soul we need to empathise, a person who cannot be bothered to pick up his own forms, and lastly one who speaks quite broken english.

Most telling is my non-partisan friend who does not know much about the internet, yet bother to watch the debate on TV as she sizes who to vote for. Her comments are that TKL just does not cut it. She cannot imagine looking at a Portrait behind her with TKL as her President ! This really tells.

By now, we all know that only a centrist message can win this PE. Due to entry of 4 candidates, one pro-establishment and three somewhat anti-establishment, we have the anti-establishement votes all spread out, hence the pro-establishment candidate just squeaked through. The most centrist is actually TCB, and he failed to win due to splitting of the anti-establishment vote. TKL lack the political record compared to Tony and TCB, and he was no media star. Hence he lost very badly simply. The lack of political folks flocking to him, should reveal where the political activists' preference lie in. Even Lockeliberal jumps ship?

I can understand why some of you would want TKL to stand a few years ago when there was a scarcity of candidates. But honestly, after all these, TKL seriously lacks the political experience and the reason he lost, is that he is not presidential at all compared to other 3. In polite terms, I would say he does not convey the presidential image we would like. As in all things, these can be learned. He has to go for grooming course though and create a campaign team to start preparing for the next phase.

TKL makes a series of blunders which is actually good for comedy ... in entertainment terms, these are very strong plus points.