• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taking up cycling - some early steps

Pedestrians don't venture on roads? Ever been to a traffic junction, little India, geylang etc? Or been to a car park with kids fooling around?

That's the responsibility of law enforcement.

I don't advocate cheap bikes for starters. Should go direct to a $500 range bike with decent parts. It can be very dangerous if the brakes fail, or pedal break when you are cycling fast. Cheap bikes will also result in enthusiasm dying off quickly.

Have some basic knowledge before you form any judgment.

There are approximately one million (slightly more) HDB flats in Singapore. Assuming that all 3184 fires that broke out in residential premises in 2012 are attributable to HDB flats (which is unlikely), the percentage is only 0.3184, which is statistically insignificant in my opinion.

Very Important Set-Up.

The seat height is very important if you want cycling to be a pleasure and to do exercise in an efficient way. Bring the bike close to a wall and lean against it while seated. Push the right pedal to the lowest position While seated, your right leg must be stretched with a slight flex of the right knee with the right pedal in the lowest position. The leg cannot be fully straightened. Adjust your seat until you get the leg extension right.

This means that in a stationary position while seated your feet will not touch the ground. You will learn to mount from a stationary position and take off and you will also learn to dismount as you are coming to a complete stop. Those who are not comfortable yet should adjust their seats slightly to allow their feet to touch the ground slightly.

Ok, here is the reason for the cheap bike and why only neighbourhood cycling and on pavements.

1) Give yourself a few weeks to 3 months to get yourself acquainted with the bike and how to ride in an any efficient manner and the ability to control speed, to brake correctly.

2) During this early phase, you will not only learn to ride, you have begun to exercise and for some for the very first time. Your legs by week 2 will become lighter mysteriously and you will feel better and even breathe easier. You will also begin to explore the neighbourhood as cycling is a lot more interesting than Gym work. You can also bio the passing pedestrian traffic.

Note: Those who are shy or less confident, do your riding late at night until you reach some level of confidence. Make sure you have front and rear lights. Wear a pair of sneakers as good footwear makes a lot of difference No need to wear fancy clothes, the same outfit for kopitiam will do - cargo pants and the those light t-shirt that political parties like to wear and do walk-about.

At this stage , you are still not riding on the road. Riding on the road requires a fair level of confidence and competence. The idea is doing exercise while getting acquainted with the bike. By the second week, your riding rhythm on the pedal will begin to sync . Less effort is required to make distance.

The Next Stage - Going on the road.

This is where after a few weeks you will know if cycling appeals to you. You would have gained confidence and start to venture on to the street to make a short run to the market, the park or do a loop. A few pointers.

1) ride when traffic is light to learn to move with the general flow

2) Be ready to stop and walk the bike when a turn or junction is daunting. Walk the bike not on the road but on the pavement and pedestrian crossings.

3) Do not ride too close to the kerb. General traffic tend to squeeze thru if you are too close. They will move to the right a little and give you ample space if you move out a big.

4) When you overtake a stationary vehicle, always, always , always do it an open door and a half length away just in case the driver or passenger is still in and suddenly opens the door. If you cannot do it due to heavy traffic, stop behind the stationary vehicle and let the general traffic go by and then follow thru. In time you will learn to pace yourself to go past stationary vehicles.

5) Learn to take a primary position. This is where you are approaching a narrow part of the road or a pinch point and both the bike and a vehicle cannot go thru safely. The cyclist then needs to take the primary position if he is ahead and moves close to the centre so that the vehicle will fall behind as it cannot obviously overtake. Motorcyclist do this instinctively. If you cannot reach the pinch point ahead in time, let the vehicle pass or if there other vehicles pass while you wait. Eventually here too you will learn to pace yourself.

So if a cyclist crashed into my car, who can I claim for damages? Sue the cyclist?

Claim against your own insurance. That's what you buy car insurance for. All these third party coverage is a cover up.

Walau! Armed to the teeth, secure to the tooth.

Everyday I take my 2 wheels for makan, all I need is to ensure the bicycle seat is still there. :D

I always envy those cyclists who can balance perfectly still on their bikes while stationary. How to practise or acquire this hah?

The front wheel must not be aligned with the back wheel but at an angle. On-off pressure on the pedal to move forward while holding onto handle bar to stop it getting the front wheel straight. You will see the rider is usually standing and not seated. Pedal is 3 and 9 O clock position and it is a discrete rocking motion

I always envy those cyclists who can balance perfectly still on their bikes while stationary. How to practise or acquire this hah?

I tried before but cant do it for long but I suppose it requires constant practice.

The front wheel must not be aligned with the back wheel but at an angle. On-off pressure on the pedal to move forward while holding onto handle bar to stop it getting the front wheel straight. You will see the rider is usually standing and not seated. Pedal is 3 and 9 O clock position and it is a discrete rocking motion

The Next Stage - Going on the road.

This is where after a few weeks you will know if cycling appeals to you. You would have gained confidence and start to venture on to the street to make a short run to the market, the park or do a loop. A few pointers.

1) ride when traffic is light to learn to move with the general flow

2) Be ready to stop and walk the bike when a turn or junction is daunting. Walk the bike not on the road but on the pavement and pedestrian crossings.

3) Do not ride too close to the kerb. General traffic tend to squeeze thru if you are too close. They will move to the right a little and give you ample space if you move out a big.

4) When you overtake a stationary vehicle, always, always , always do it an open door and a half length away just in case the driver or passenger is still in and suddenly opens the door. If you cannot do it due to heavy traffic, stop behind the stationary vehicle and let the general traffic go by and then follow thru. In time you will learn to pace yourself to go past stationary vehicles.

5) Learn to take a primary position. This is where you are approaching a narrow part of the road or a pinch point and both the bike and a vehicle cannot go thru safely. The cyclist then needs to take the primary position if he is ahead and moves close to the centre so that the vehicle will fall behind as it cannot obviously overtake. Motorcyclist do this instinctively. If you cannot reach the pinch point ahead in time, let the vehicle pass or if there other vehicles pass while you wait. Eventually here too you will learn to pace yourself.

Next Stage:

CB_face.jpg

Join Joy Riders and help to enrich chow chee bye Joyce Leong who is a very strong supporter of Conster Hee!

How to Start
1) get a cheap mountain bike for less than $150 from cycle shop or supermarket. Do not invest in any more expensive will explain why later .

if u are starting from zero, get a bmx type bike. they are small and very easy to handle.

Better to get a cheap mountain bike as it is better utility bike. BMX on the roads is not advisable.

if u are starting from zero, get a bmx type bike. they are small and very easy to handle.