• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Stupid Old Fart Damaged New Chair At Teck Ghee Square Hawker Center! Town Council Investigating!

All the 'upgraded' chairs and tables at hawker centres look very flimsy. :biggrin:

Which crony contractor received the contracts to 'upgrade' hawker centres from the NEA? :wink:

Similarly, which crony contractor received the contracts to do HDB lift upgrading, installing Sigma lifts which were notorious for being unsafe? :rolleyes:

Mr Lee Hsien Loong • 李显龙 • லீ சியன் லூங்
pm's-passport-size-photo.jpg

Is there a Singapore edition of the Mad Magazine game? I found the new mascot for it.

rambo22

delete

• 1559620049182.png
    1559620049182.png
    18.1 KB · Views: 96
  • 1559620193888.png
    1559620193888.png
    818.2 KB · Views: 107

Contractor very creative, allowing the people to enjoy playing human carrom with their kar chng while eating their food. :thumbsup:

Better check your stool when you eat at hawker centre, otherwise tio sabo by all these PAP shoddy contractors' workmanship.. cut costs, safety last, profit first. Lol :biggrin:

borom

Imagine this incident happened in an area under opposition, there will be huge publicity given to it by the ST and even bigger fireworks in Parliament.
World highest paid ministers cannot even ensure a NEW chair is properly fixed-do they deserve such sky high salaries for such incompetence !

agree. your screws would have helped secure the seat to the leg. the glue is secondary and should not be the primary (and only) securing mechanism.

What for? Another 6 months will upgrade the hawker center again. Wun so easy spoil one lah, must be clumsy old man anyhow bump into the seat. Fine him, warn other lao hero not to put their leg on the seat. :devilish:

1. It was very obvious there are 4 holes on the metal plate

2. It is also very obvious there are no screws as its not possible for all 4 screws to be missing from this accident scene

3. Even if there are screws a few screws should still be on the metal plate with torn wood from the seat, so there are no screws

4. Maxbond or its solvent based adhesives are the most popular construction adhesive being use today (Maxbond is a trade name belongs to HB Fuller company).

5. When you renovate your home you will notice especially the carpenter using it so very often as if everything can be stick with Maxbond.

6. Another thing you notice about Maxbond is its smell some people can get migraine from this smell. When you move into your new home it stinks from Maxbond smell if it had been used excessively. The smell comes from solvents. (by the way Maxbond is highly flammable and considered a dangerous product in transport)

7. Most of this type of Maxbond glue has more than 10% of solvent. When the glue cures the solvent will disappear (evaporated) this presents 2 problems

a. the original volume will be reduced by at least 10% with the loss of solvent and this loss of volume is seen as shrinkage reducing surface contact as well during the curing stage causing loss of adhesive strength.

b. solvents evaporated in the form of volatile organic compound (VOC) and it stays in the immediate environment, VOC is not healthy and most are carcinogenic. The bad smell is VOC that you are breathing into your body.

8. For a seat where people sit (apply pressure) and get out of the seat (reduce pressure) is considered dynamic load, Maxbond alone is not capable of handling dynamic loads.

For your daily use of construction adhesives please choose hybrid adhesives which is usually low VOC products that qualifies Green Building requirement of less than 4% VOC. Most of these hybrid adhesives also don't smell as it does not contain solvents consequently its almost 100% solid (compare with less than 90% solid from Maxbond type of products) making the hybrid adhesive non-shrink giving stronger adhesion. Also most of these hybrid adhesives have some flexibility to allow some dynamic loads.

This is Maxbond I believe most of you have seen it before

View attachment 59132
Very educate. Thank you frog! :geek:

rambo22

limpeh pray hard during Pinky walkabout

after that Pinky ghost to the hawker centre and lim kopi

and he sit on the stool and hosay liao

and he becum humpty dumpty roll on the floor

limpeh pray hard during Pinky walkabout

after that Pinky ghost to the hawker centre and lim kopi

and he sit on the stool and hosay liao

and he becum humpty dumpty roll on the floor

His coterie of grassroots and porlumpar 奴才 will roll around on the floor together with him.

Lemme guess... glue is cheaper than screws? :wink:

tsovc0e.jpg

It is pretty obvious that the design is pretty robust and under normal use would last a lifetime.

This old fart must have applied all his weight on one corner or perhaps he stood on the chair and started jumping up and down like an ape.

Semaj2357

It is pretty obvious that the design is pretty robust and under normal use would last a lifetime.

This old fart must have applied all his weight on one corner or perhaps he stood on the chair and started jumping up and down like an ape.
hanor, this ol'fart jumped for joy when he saw his idol giving a speech at the shang dialog - not knowing that the chair couldn't take the excitement and weight. a visit by his mp with a hamper and photo op is on the cards :whistling:

OMG :eek: What a comprehensive investigation report! Lol :biggrin:

My point spending time to write so much is not about the accident rather to inform all you reading this about the dangers of solvent based adhesives used in your living space. There are safer and better alternatives to it.

Kuailan

If this happened at Oppie wards this running Dog John will come here KPKB making hell of a noise,

Asked oppie to resign !! Now this happened in AMK under who's ward?? Why don't the running dog come and make noise??

Hypocrite-The

My point spending time to write so much is not about the accident rather to inform all you reading this about the dangers of solvent based adhesives used in your living space. There are safer and better alternatives to it.
Actually the glue is suppose to hold the items in place than can screw or drill etc to lock the stool inplace. Howeve looks like glue only no screw. And its basically shoddy workmanship and it's cutting corners

How much does screw cost? Screws also wanna cheat and cut corners. PAP contractors really boleh! Lol :biggrin:

Hypocrite-The

How much does screw cost? Screws also wanna cheat and cut corners. PAP contractors really boleh! Lol :biggrin:
In the grand scheme of things...good quality screws are not cheap and they add up for any project...and labour to screw it in? All adds up even if u use blangahs