Someone Please Explain This Puzzle?

All the possible answers have the same gift associated with the number

For all the teens, the answer is 9
For all the twenties, the answer is 18 and so on.

all total delta (difference) should = 9, regardless of over 10s, 20s, or 30s, etc.

The rest of the clues are redundant.

11-1-1 = 9
22-2-2 = 18
33-3-3 = 27
44-4-4 = 36
55-5-5 = 45
66-6-6 = 54

The answer is multiples of 9 not "9" itself.

Yeah in fact you could prove that this method would always give a multiple of 9.

Let x,y be any number from 0 to 9.

All two digit numbers can be written in the form 10x+y.

So subtracting any two digit number by x,y gives: 10x+y-x-y=9x. You can see from here that 9x is always divisible by 9 no matter what x is. So that means no matter what x,y you start out with, you will end up with a multiple of 9. You can also see that all the multiples of 9 have the same "regift" name.

Incidentally, this method can be generalised to any number regardless of how many digits. You can take three or 4 digit numbers and it'll still work:

eg. 100x+10y+z-x-y-z=99x+9y=9(11x+y) [Again a multiple of 9].

Of course to display all the regift names for 3 digit numbers will clearly take up too much space on the screen.

Yeah in fact you could prove that this method would always give a multiple of 9.

So why did applei state:

all total delta (difference) should = 9, regardless of over 10s, 20s, or 30s, etc.

The rest of the clues are redundant.

Is he particularly stupid or does he/she representative of the standard of Mathematics in Sinkieland.

So why did applei state:

Is he particularly stupid or does he/she representative of the standard of Mathematics in Sinkieland.

"IS" he/she representative, not "Does". :o

Btw, it's "she". You forgot her already from delphi huh? :o

Mr Sam, you did explain the answer better in terms of multiplication of 9.
What I was explaining was not by multiplication but by the end result of the 2 digits, which should sum up to 9.
If the 1 or 2 digits totalled up equates to 9, that is the clue.

EVERYONE probably will notice all multiples of 9's digits do sum up to a final single digit 9.

If one gets a longer string of numbers, without calculators or a computer, and to know if it's divisible by 9, instead of thinking of multiples of 9, a faster method is to sum every digits to derive a single digit.

Mr Sam is not that stupid enough to even think I am of any representative of Singapore's mathematics, for I am far far faraway from those Math Olympians. All I can say is, my maths did score way better than my English, which means my previous post in this thread sucks after I re-read now... lol.

Anyways, in maths, there can be more than 1 methodologies towards a result.

So why did applei state:

Thanks ah jw5. You are still that same personality/character that I remember back on the old forum.
I heard or thought that there was a change of forum host after the virtual relocation, i.e. Sam is not the same person that Sam was back in the Delphi forum?!

Anyways, I dun care about any forumer may think I am a he or she... that doesnt really matter. Anyone is entitled to think as they like :D

"IS" he/she representative, not "Does". :o

Btw, it's "she". You forgot her already from delphi huh? :o

Thanks ah jw5. You are still that same personality/character that I remember back on the old forum.
I heard or thought that there was a change of forum host after the virtual relocation, i.e. Sam is not the same person that Sam was back in the Delphi forum?!

Anyways, I dun care about any forumer may think I am a he or she... that doesnt really matter. Anyone is entitled to think as they like :D

No lah, the forum host is same person lah, although sometimes he likes to pretend he is different......................... :o

Most forummers don't care, unless u are a chiobu willing to provide a picture, then they will. Chiobu without picture, I think they still don't care. :D

Btw, I wasn't helping u but trying to correct his english. He frequently reminds us of the difference between "advise" and "advice" and claims to be a singlish exterminator.

Yup you are 1 of the mods and mods must try their best to be objective, fair and just... like that statue holding the beam balance :D
I was laffing at some review over the 4 mods and the first 3 are really diligent and peifu !
My laffs went to "equalisation", then again, I think he must be doing something good that I probably unaware before, otherwise he wont be a mod around the folder.

Thanks for the update anyways.

No lah, the forum host is same person lah, although sometimes he likes to pretend he is different......................... :o

Most forummers don't care, unless u are a chiobu willing to provide a picture, then they will. Chiobu without picture, I think they still don't care. :D

Btw, I wasn't helping u but trying to correct his english. He frequently reminds us of the difference between "advise" and "advice" and claims to be a singlish exterminator.

So why did applei state:

n x 9, which infers that the common denominator and in this case multiplier is 9. another way of looking at it is the constant of 9 multiplied by an integer where integer is n from 1 to timbuktu. either way is correct. there is no one shithole where shit comes from.