• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Someone Please Explain This Puzzle?

All the possible answers have the same gift associated with the number

For all the teens, the answer is 9
For all the twenties, the answer is 18 and so on.

all total delta (difference) should = 9, regardless of over 10s, 20s, or 30s, etc.

The rest of the clues are redundant.

11-1-1 = 9
22-2-2 = 18
33-3-3 = 27
44-4-4 = 36
55-5-5 = 45
66-6-6 = 54

The answer is multiples of 9 not "9" itself.

Yeah in fact you could prove that this method would always give a multiple of 9.

Let x,y be any number from 0 to 9.

All two digit numbers can be written in the form 10x+y.

So subtracting any two digit number by x,y gives: 10x+y-x-y=9x. You can see from here that 9x is always divisible by 9 no matter what x is. So that means no matter what x,y you start out with, you will end up with a multiple of 9. You can also see that all the multiples of 9 have the same "regift" name.

Incidentally, this method can be generalised to any number regardless of how many digits. You can take three or 4 digit numbers and it'll still work:

eg. 100x+10y+z-x-y-z=99x+9y=9(11x+y) [Again a multiple of 9].

Of course to display all the regift names for 3 digit numbers will clearly take up too much space on the screen.

Yeah in fact you could prove that this method would always give a multiple of 9.

So why did applei state:

all total delta (difference) should = 9, regardless of over 10s, 20s, or 30s, etc.

The rest of the clues are redundant.

Is he particularly stupid or does he/she representative of the standard of Mathematics in Sinkieland.

So why did applei state:

Is he particularly stupid or does he/she representative of the standard of Mathematics in Sinkieland.

"IS" he/she representative, not "Does". :o

Btw, it's "she". You forgot her already from delphi huh? :o

Mr Sam, you did explain the answer better in terms of multiplication of 9.
What I was explaining was not by multiplication but by the end result of the 2 digits, which should sum up to 9.
If the 1 or 2 digits totalled up equates to 9, that is the clue.

EVERYONE probably will notice all multiples of 9's digits do sum up to a final single digit 9.

If one gets a longer string of numbers, without calculators or a computer, and to know if it's divisible by 9, instead of thinking of multiples of 9, a faster method is to sum every digits to derive a single digit.

Mr Sam is not that stupid enough to even think I am of any representative of Singapore's mathematics, for I am far far faraway from those Math Olympians. All I can say is, my maths did score way better than my English, which means my previous post in this thread sucks after I re-read now... lol.

Anyways, in maths, there can be more than 1 methodologies towards a result.

So why did applei state:

Thanks ah jw5. You are still that same personality/character that I remember back on the old forum.
I heard or thought that there was a change of forum host after the virtual relocation, i.e. Sam is not the same person that Sam was back in the Delphi forum?!

Anyways, I dun care about any forumer may think I am a he or she... that doesnt really matter. Anyone is entitled to think as they like :D

"IS" he/she representative, not "Does". :o

Btw, it's "she". You forgot her already from delphi huh? :o

Thanks ah jw5. You are still that same personality/character that I remember back on the old forum.
I heard or thought that there was a change of forum host after the virtual relocation, i.e. Sam is not the same person that Sam was back in the Delphi forum?!

Anyways, I dun care about any forumer may think I am a he or she... that doesnt really matter. Anyone is entitled to think as they like :D

No lah, the forum host is same person lah, although sometimes he likes to pretend he is different......................... :o

Most forummers don't care, unless u are a chiobu willing to provide a picture, then they will. Chiobu without picture, I think they still don't care. :D

Btw, I wasn't helping u but trying to correct his english. He frequently reminds us of the difference between "advise" and "advice" and claims to be a singlish exterminator.

Yup you are 1 of the mods and mods must try their best to be objective, fair and just... like that statue holding the beam balance :D
I was laffing at some review over the 4 mods and the first 3 are really diligent and peifu !
My laffs went to "equalisation", then again, I think he must be doing something good that I probably unaware before, otherwise he wont be a mod around the folder.

Thanks for the update anyways.

No lah, the forum host is same person lah, although sometimes he likes to pretend he is different......................... :o

Most forummers don't care, unless u are a chiobu willing to provide a picture, then they will. Chiobu without picture, I think they still don't care. :D

Btw, I wasn't helping u but trying to correct his english. He frequently reminds us of the difference between "advise" and "advice" and claims to be a singlish exterminator.

So why did applei state:

n x 9, which infers that the common denominator and in this case multiplier is 9. another way of looking at it is the constant of 9 multiplied by an integer where integer is n from 1 to timbuktu. either way is correct. there is no one shithole where shit comes from.