• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SNAKE SHAN play race card! First the shitskins, next the local indians!

Cottonmouth

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...m-and-xenophobia-take-root-shanmugam-14786372

Singapore will fail if racism and xenophobia take root: Shanmugam

Minister for Law and Home Affairs K Shanmugam was speaking in Parliament, after a filthy indian bitch was allegedly kicked and subjected to racial slurs while she was out exercising.

Minister for Law and Home Affairs K. Shanmugam in Parliament on May 5, 2021.
By Zhaki Abdullah
11 May 2021 04:15PM(Updated: 11 May 2021 06:16PM)

Bookmark
SINGAPORE: Singapore will fail if the country allows racism and xenophobia to become prevalent, said Minister for Law and Home Affairs K Shanmugam on Tuesday (May 11).

Mr Shanmugam was responding in Parliament to a question from Mr Murali Pillai (PAP-Bukit Batok), who pointed to an incident last Friday when a 55-year-old woman of Indian descent had allegedly been kicked in the chest and subject to racial slurs for not wearing a mask while brisk walking.

The alleged assault - which is currently being investigated by the police - drew condemnation from several ministers, including Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, who said it “goes against everything that our multiracial society stands for”.

Mr Murali asked Mr Shanmugam for his assessment of “the security situation arising from this racial incident connected with the pandemic”, and what steps the authorities would take to address the situation.

Noting investigations need to be done before conclusions can be drawn, the minister said the attack appeared to be racist based on the victim’s claims.

READ: Police investigating case of a man who allegedly used racial slurs, kicked woman for not wearing mask

READ: PM Lee Hsien Loong and other ministers speak out against racism after alleged attack

This was consistent with other cases of racism that had risen internationally amid the pandemic, he said, pointing to incidents in the United States where Asians - particularly Chinese - were attacked for supposedly spreading COVID-19.

Such behaviour should be condemned, said Mr Shanmugam.

Singapore has been able to manage racism and over time “sought to reduce it”, he said, though this has been stirred up recently.

“Around the world economic pressures have led to populism and the populists have been seeking political profit by exploiting people's fears over jobs and economic insecurity, blaming foreigners, blaming immigrants, for all of their country's problems,” he said.

While Singapore has avoided the worst of such populist attitudes, there are legitimate concerns about foreigners taking jobs from locals, said Mr Shanmugam.

These have been fuelled by unacceptable practices, he said.

“For example, unfair employment practices that favour hiring foreigners and discriminate against our locals. It is a minority who behave like this, but it naturally makes Singaporeans unhappy,” he said, adding that the Manpower Ministry has taken steps to deal with such practices.

On top of this, Mr Shanmugam said that certain parties - which he did not identify - had been “deliberately stoking the fears, encouraging racism and xenophobia, and dog whistling”, which is “dangerous for Singapore”.
“Because first, it will be the expat Indians. Then, it will come to Singaporean Indians,” he said, noting not all would be able to distinguish between Indians born in Singapore and those born overseas.

The lady who was attacked has been a citizen for 25 years. If we go down this route, eventually all Indians can be a target of hate,” he said, suggesting this could create an “outgroup” based on race.

“The majority of Singaporeans are decent and not racist, but if we continue to fan the flames of racism, we will get to a more uncomfortable position,” he said.

Mr Shanmugam pointed to certain websites which were anti-government - which he said was “perfectly okay” - but also deliberately fomented racism, with comments describing Indians as “cockroaches” and “rapists”.
READ: CECA does not give Indian nationals automatic access to citizenship, PR status, employment: MTI

“We should be ashamed that in the name of free speech, we allow such comments,” he said.
“This bad behaviour and open expression of racism – I invite all here to condemn.”
Such racist behaviour cannot be justified by saying “the Indians are behaving badly” or blamed on Government policies such as the India-Singapore Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA), he said.
“There have been several canards about CECA, promoted by a whispering campaign,” he said, adding that any Members of Parliament who believed the agreement was a problem could put up a Motion for debate.
He singled out Non-Constituency MP Leong Mun Wai, who had previously said he was “deeply disappointed” that DBS Bank did not have a “homegrown” chief executive and whose Progress Singapore Party (PSP) had called for agreements such as CECA to be reviewed.
“I am looking at you, Mr Leong. I invite you to put up a Motion to debate CECA. You know that most of what is said about CECA is false,” he said.
Racist comments could become normalised if the country is not careful, said Mr Shanmugam.
“I hope responsible opposition parties will take a stand on this, notwithstanding that many of these sites that promote xenophobia support you.”
Mr Leong later responded by saying neither he nor the PSP were xenophobic.
“We are just stating the economic effects (that) some of these free trade agreements have had on our economy,” he said, adding he intended to take up the challenge from Mr Shanmugam for a debate at “an appropriate time in the future”.
Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh later said the Workers’ Party was in agreement with Mr Shanmugam’s statement.
“There is no place for racism in Singapore - no ifs, no buts,” he said.
Closing his speech, Mr Shanmugam said: “Singapore is 725 sq km of rock. We have to make a living by being open to the world.
“We will fail if we allow racism and xenophobia to become prevalent, and it's contrary to everything that has made us successful and proud to be Singaporean.”

mahjongking

black mamba very busy disciplining fatty ng and asking murali not to chobolan, must at least show face in parliament.
cheebye, all paid millions to talk cock about 1 non mask wearer

talk about cpf reserves lah

LITTLEREDDOT

Conditional warning for racism. No fine, no jail.

YouTuber Preetipls and brother Subhas given conditional warning by police over rap video on 'brownface' ad
1620731070783.png

Preeti Nair and her brother Subhas, who have drawn flak over a controversial rap video. They have been given a conditional warning by police. PHOTOS: ST FILE, SUBHASMUSIC/INSTAGRAM
ngh.png

Ng Huiwen

AUG 14, 2019

SINGAPORE - Local YouTuber Preeti Nair and her brother Subhas were on Wednesday (Aug 14) given a conditional warning over their controversial online rap video made in response to a "brownface" advertisement.
A stern reminder has also been issued by the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) to those involved in the "brownface" ad.
In a statement on Wednesday, the police said they had completed their investigations into the video, which allegedly contained offensive content.
The police said they considered the circumstances of the case and consulted the Attorney-General's Chambers (AGC), and had given the siblings a 24-month conditional warning.
This means they must remain crime-free for 24 months or they may be dealt with in court for both their original and new offences.
A police report was made on July 29, after the video was posted on Facebook and YouTube on the same day.

The siblings later admitted to the police that they had produced and published the video.
"The video was in clear contravention of the Penal Code," the police said in their statement.
"If this video were to be allowed, then similar expletive-laden, insulting, offensive videos, targeted at all communities will have to be allowed."

The police added there is clear evidence around the world, including in the past week, that such paths inevitably lead to more racism, more racial tensions, and, eventually, violence.

"It will be the minority communities, specifically the Malay and Indian communities, who could suffer more in such a situation.
"Singapore has taken a clear approach, to say no to offensive speech, targeted at race and religion," they added.
Ms Nair, who is better known as Preetipls, and Mr Nair, a rapper, subsequently issued public apologies for their actions.
Ms Nair's video was made in response to an advertisement featuring Mediacorp actor and DJ Dennis Chew. He was pictured as four characters - apparently a Chinese man and woman, a Malay woman wearing a tudung, and, with his skin darkened, an Indian man.
The ad was created for epaysg.com, an e-payments website.
Mr Chew also apologised for his role in the ad, saying: "My role in a recent ad has caused much disappointment. For many days I held back what I have to say, afraid of making things worse. I feel terrible about how things turned out."
Mr Chew's post comes after several apologies on the incident, including those by e-payment firm Nets and creative agency Havas Worldwide Singapore.
Home Affairs and Law Minister K. Shanmugam said Ms Nair and her brother's video crossed the line and was unacceptable. "When you use four-letter words, vulgar language, attack another race, put it out in public, we have to draw the line and say 'not acceptable'," he said.
He also said the siblings had every right to discuss racism, but the manner in which they did so was wrong.
"We want to build a cohesive society, but racism corrodes and deepens the fault lines in society. We do a lot to counter it, and we have set out what we do," he added.
In their statement, the police said they also received reports on the e-pay advertisement, which had been referenced in the rap video.
The AGC had advised that there was no criminal offence disclosed in respect of the advertisement, the police said, adding that no further action would be taken.
In a separate statement on Wednesday, IMDA said that it had issued a stern reminder to those involved in the "brownface" ad on the importance of paying attention to racial and religious sensitivities.
IMDA, which completed its assessment of the ad, said that while it did not breach the Internet Code of Practice, it was done in poor taste and had caused offence to minority communities.
All advertising companies and other content producers are expected to be similarly mindful of these sensitivities, the authority added.
IMDA said that it would not hesitate to take action against any content found to be in breach of its Codes of Practice and guidelines.
Ms Nair also issued a statement on her social media accounts on Wednesday evening, saying "the case is closed" and thanking those who offered her help in the past two weeks.
"Don’t get me wrong - I understand exactly why people got offended with the (music video) so I’m not here to justify it, I am here to say thank you and let’s hope we don’t see anymore painted faces and 'offensive rap videos' ever again," she wrote, adding that "we should all strive to be more accountable, both individually and as corporations."

Tiongs call this 拉一派打一派. Divide and conquer, the oldest trick in the book. :wink:

Stop getting distracted by the drama and focus on the real enemy: the PAP govt. :cool:

Sinkapore already failed when pap opened the legs for thousands of foreign trash to cum inside the country.

Don't blame Singaporeans you black snake

Well... it's a numbers game they are playing. Quantity, not quality.

Hope everyone is enjoying their 'Strong Singapore core' now. :wink:

P.S: By the way, excellent 'editorial integrity' in this ST infographic. :biggrin:

popwhitepaper1.jpg

Lizzert

So why the fuck cant an Ah Neh become PM ..isnt that institutional racism
Snakes speak with forked tongues..knn

Ralders

Tiongs call this 拉一派打一派. Divide and conquer, the oldest trick in the book. :wink:

Stop getting distracted by the drama and focus on the real enemy: the PAP govt. :cool:
Black mama read suntze
Soon after lhl will use 第三十六计。

To the 61%, you dumbfucks voted for the people who are quick to fuck you, me and every true blue sinkie at every chance. Have you woken up?

Ralders

To the 61%, you dumbfucks voted for the people who are quick to fuck you, me and every true blue sinkie at every chance. Have you woken up?
They are being told those on india flight are here to build bto.
Strawman reply .only the old and low educated believe them and of course the lower IQ ppl.

birdie69

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...m-and-xenophobia-take-root-shanmugam-14786372

Singapore will fail if racism and xenophobia take root: Shanmugam

Minister for Law and Home Affairs K Shanmugam was speaking in Parliament, after a filthy indian bitch was allegedly kicked and subjected to racial slurs while she was out exercising.

Minister for Law and Home Affairs K. Shanmugam in Parliament on May 5, 2021.
By Zhaki Abdullah
11 May 2021 04:15PM(Updated: 11 May 2021 06:16PM)

Bookmark
SINGAPORE: Singapore will fail if the country allows racism and xenophobia to become prevalent, said Minister for Law and Home Affairs K Shanmugam on Tuesday (May 11).

Mr Shanmugam was responding in Parliament to a question from Mr Murali Pillai (PAP-Bukit Batok), who pointed to an incident last Friday when a 55-year-old woman of Indian descent had allegedly been kicked in the chest and subject to racial slurs for not wearing a mask while brisk walking.

The alleged assault - which is currently being investigated by the police - drew condemnation from several ministers, including Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, who said it “goes against everything that our multiracial society stands for”.

Mr Murali asked Mr Shanmugam for his assessment of “the security situation arising from this racial incident connected with the pandemic”, and what steps the authorities would take to address the situation.

Noting investigations need to be done before conclusions can be drawn, the minister said the attack appeared to be racist based on the victim’s claims.

READ: Police investigating case of a man who allegedly used racial slurs, kicked woman for not wearing mask

READ: PM Lee Hsien Loong and other ministers speak out against racism after alleged attack

This was consistent with other cases of racism that had risen internationally amid the pandemic, he said, pointing to incidents in the United States where Asians - particularly Chinese - were attacked for supposedly spreading COVID-19.

Such behaviour should be condemned, said Mr Shanmugam.

Singapore has been able to manage racism and over time “sought to reduce it”, he said, though this has been stirred up recently.

“Around the world economic pressures have led to populism and the populists have been seeking political profit by exploiting people's fears over jobs and economic insecurity, blaming foreigners, blaming immigrants, for all of their country's problems,” he said.

While Singapore has avoided the worst of such populist attitudes, there are legitimate concerns about foreigners taking jobs from locals, said Mr Shanmugam.

These have been fuelled by unacceptable practices, he said.

“For example, unfair employment practices that favour hiring foreigners and discriminate against our locals. It is a minority who behave like this, but it naturally makes Singaporeans unhappy,” he said, adding that the Manpower Ministry has taken steps to deal with such practices.

On top of this, Mr Shanmugam said that certain parties - which he did not identify - had been “deliberately stoking the fears, encouraging racism and xenophobia, and dog whistling”, which is “dangerous for Singapore”.
“Because first, it will be the expat Indians. Then, it will come to Singaporean Indians,” he said, noting not all would be able to distinguish between Indians born in Singapore and those born overseas.

The lady who was attacked has been a citizen for 25 years. If we go down this route, eventually all Indians can be a target of hate,” he said, suggesting this could create an “outgroup” based on race.

“The majority of Singaporeans are decent and not racist, but if we continue to fan the flames of racism, we will get to a more uncomfortable position,” he said.

Mr Shanmugam pointed to certain websites which were anti-government - which he said was “perfectly okay” - but also deliberately fomented racism, with comments describing Indians as “cockroaches” and “rapists”.
READ: CECA does not give Indian nationals automatic access to citizenship, PR status, employment: MTI

“We should be ashamed that in the name of free speech, we allow such comments,” he said.
“This bad behaviour and open expression of racism – I invite all here to condemn.”
Such racist behaviour cannot be justified by saying “the Indians are behaving badly” or blamed on Government policies such as the India-Singapore Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA), he said.
“There have been several canards about CECA, promoted by a whispering campaign,” he said, adding that any Members of Parliament who believed the agreement was a problem could put up a Motion for debate.
He singled out Non-Constituency MP Leong Mun Wai, who had previously said he was “deeply disappointed” that DBS Bank did not have a “homegrown” chief executive and whose Progress Singapore Party (PSP) had called for agreements such as CECA to be reviewed.
“I am looking at you, Mr Leong. I invite you to put up a Motion to debate CECA. You know that most of what is said about CECA is false,” he said.
Racist comments could become normalised if the country is not careful, said Mr Shanmugam.
“I hope responsible opposition parties will take a stand on this, notwithstanding that many of these sites that promote xenophobia support you.”
Mr Leong later responded by saying neither he nor the PSP were xenophobic.
“We are just stating the economic effects (that) some of these free trade agreements have had on our economy,” he said, adding he intended to take up the challenge from Mr Shanmugam for a debate at “an appropriate time in the future”.
Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh later said the Workers’ Party was in agreement with Mr Shanmugam’s statement.
“There is no place for racism in Singapore - no ifs, no buts,” he said.
Closing his speech, Mr Shanmugam said: “Singapore is 725 sq km of rock. We have to make a living by being open to the world.
“We will fail if we allow racism and xenophobia to become prevalent, and it's contrary to everything that has made us successful and proud to be Singaporean.”
I am quite worried Singapore would fail without CECA agreement.