• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies ruined by PAP's casino

Force 136

400yahoo_georgeyeo.jpg

Do you think George Yeo has regrets?

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/most-difficult-moment-not-politics-foreign-min-george-20110413-071346-793.html

Mr Yeo said he was severely criticised by fellow MPs and the public alike when he floated the idea in Parliament.

"They know the problems which it can cause. My own father used to gamble so I know how difficult it can be for the spouse, for the children," he said.

But the Minister said due to changing trends in the region, Singapore's tourism industry risked becoming irrelevant and boring. Thus, it was important to not just introduce casinos, but to implement an integrated concept."

CheeByeKiaTonyChat

Casinos don't ruin anyone as millions of people gamble without ruining their lives at all. It's a form of entertainment and as long as you set a limit to your spending, it's no different from going on a shopping spree once in a while.

People ruin themselves. If they indulge in criminal acts in order to feed an addiction, they only have themselves to blame.

Absolutely 100% agree with your words of wisdom. Just like how some people have a choice to chose to walk/take bus/mrt to work but decide on riding bicycle. You cannot stop them from getting mauled by taxis.

Agoraphobic

hmm, IMHO, as long as you have to make a choice with money such as investing, it is also classified as gambling.

That's right. The way things are with Capitalism as a social system, it is not wrong. Whether we like it or not, money makes the world go round. Gambling may or may not be bad, but you and me, we have a choice. Myself, I dislike gambling for money and don't participate in card games or mahjong except during CNY when nobody else around can be bothered to be the dealer for the kid's table, then I do it - for the kids (wished they could be running around outside firing crackers!)

It's always very easy to blame others when you fail or fall from grace. Blame the casinos for everything that made you a bankrupt or an addict. I remember, long before the casinos were built here, there were already many gamblers and addicts who had committed hideous crimes.Some hanged themselves and many just disappeared after their massive losses.

Blame yourselves first instead of putting the blame on the casinos.

Absolutely 100% agree with your words of wisdom. Just like how some people have a choice to chose to walk/take bus/mrt to work but decide on riding bicycle. You cannot stop them from getting mauled by taxis.

you have a choice to go into the gambling den or just walk past the den...it's your life. it's your own destiny.

greenies

The Casinos are a MISTAKE! It breeds CRIME - Corruption, Loansharks, Harassments, Money Laudering, House breaking, Snatch Thiefs, etc...

THIS IS ONE THING I AM AGAINST THE PAP! :mad::mad::mad:

The economic benefits does NOT outweigh the amount of SOCIAL PROBLEMS that it has caused.:mad:

Totally agreed.
It shows Pappy cares only for money growth.
That decision alone can justify their mindsets.

ILovePAP

casinos and gambling are not the issue
the real issue is one's character and upbringing

Kopi, I disagree with you. The 2 casinos are too readily accessible, that is the CRUX.
Previously, if you want to gamble, there are natural "barriers":

- Genting = long bus ride;
- Star Cruise = costs and limited availability
- Other ships = troublesome

Now by paying a mere 100 bucks, you can gamble all your assets, family and everything away!

Casinos don't ruin anyone as millions of people gamble without ruining their lives at all. It's a form of entertainment and as long as you set a limit to your spending, it's no different from going on a shopping spree once in a while ...
got any ppl ruin their lives on shopping sprees? ... :rolleyes:

Casinos aren't the killers. You need cash before you gamble. The killers are betting accounts where you bet on credit and settle account on Mondays.

Agree....these online betting syndicates are getting worse.

Not many players in this market now according to my bookie and runner friends. Many in bad shape. If add in those who lost heavily in the 2 casinos, many have no spending power now. Maybe that's the key reason why nightspots are so quiet these days. Underground gambling dens died a natural death when the casinos opened. Underground economy no longer as flourishing as the recent past.

in las vegas, they give me money to join their member program, so i will go to their casino.
in singapore i have to pay 100 bucks to go in for 24 hours, fxxk you.

those losers who pay money to pap to go inside casino for 24 hours, you dun have to bother with them. they deserve it.

peppertail

those losers who pay money to pap to go inside casino for 24 hours, you dun have to bother with them. they deserve it.

Agree, but sadly most of the time this kind of loser pulls others (family, friends) down with them. That's just not right.

Kopi, I disagree with you. The 2 casinos are too readily accessible, that is the CRUX.
Previously, if you want to gamble, there are natural "barriers":

- Genting = long bus ride;
- Star Cruise = costs and limited availability
- Other ships = troublesome

Now by paying a mere 100 bucks, you can gamble all your assets, family and everything away!

If we don't have casinos, the billionaires won't move here. LHL wants more billionaires here ...more casinos to come. Maybe the PAP can have their TC run heartland casinos as well.

LauCheeBye

If we don't have casinos, the billionaires won't move here. LHL wants more billionaires here ...more casinos to come. Maybe the PAP can have their TC run heartland casinos as well.

It is the most stupid to have billionaires and ordinary Sinkies work to their death to fight inflation and at the end of the day...economic benefit does not give one a quality of life and graciousness expected of a ddeveloped country.