• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie businessman loses $26m at RWS casino over 3 days

silverfox@

What the owners of RWS have resorted to is a big scam by granting huge credits to punters and consequently gaining stellar profit figures to boost up their share price.

I had pointed out earlier that from the recent 60c rise in Gentings S'pore share price, the owners are richer by more than $3b.

Now that it has become so controversial and the CRA are investigating, we will not see this kind of stellar result Gentings S'pore produced for Q2.

Besides Henry Quek, there about 12 others owing $5m to $11m and about 200 Malaysians and PRC owing from $500,000 to $2m.

Just take a look at Sands who don't resort to aggressive offering of credits; they don't make the kind of obscene profits RWS makes.

The next quarter of Genting will not be as high as Q2.

Reason is for Q2, singapore has a sudden influx of tourists. Part reason IRs. Main reason is all the foreign tourists who were supposed to go to Thailand actually scrapped all their travel plans (because of the red shirts demostration crippling the city) to fly over to neighbouring Singapore instead for the new Universal Studio and the openings of the IRs. Hotels were packed, air flights are full but after Thailand settled their domestic issues, tourists slowly flock back to where they really wanted to go.

Genting caught this bandwagon and also coincided with their opening. That was why in Q3, very likelihood, we will not see the same impact again.

Samthaikong

%E5%93%81%E5%9A%90-Justin-Quek-%E7%9A%84%E7%BE%8E%E9%A3%9F%E5%82%91%E4%BD%9C_reference.jpg

Is this man related to Henry Quek ? Also a 'Quek'. Except one sell seafood, the other cook seafood...

longbow

Folks, Merl's info has always been good. Heard same thing about Jopie even when he was on casino ships.

BTW he himself tried to get into gambling business but his ship sank.

As for this businessman, I suspect that he will come out fine. Seafood is huge business given China's growth. Then you have huge property appreciation in Singapore. So his bungalow (I assume he is living in a GCB) probably has $10M equity in it. Then he likely has a few "investment prop" and his business, shares.

All in all 26M will not KO him but give him big haircut. On the other hand RWS wants to settle as this is very bad PR. So probably some haircut and payment over time.

myo539

funny leh, a businessman. MD of a multi million dollar company. cant get hold of himself in gambling? i thought someone his calibre will just pay up and fuck off than to keep on wanting to win back or going back to gamble dont know for what. maybe RWS use black magic to control his mind, make him cannot stop.

Ya hor, he can't quit because he has a girlfriend with him (he's 50 years old, by the way). Girlfriend is wondering what she could do with the $26 million - or even half of that?

Cannot lose face lah with girlfriend next to him! May be a big businessman, but little or no education leh. Afterall he is in the fishing industry! He likes fishing -he was sure he could get the big fish that got away. His name and company is in the newspaper.

Anyway who is to say anything? The money is his, he can do anything with it. Spectators like us can only watch and marvel at their guts! Better than taking on the gahment or PAP!

boundThunter

Whether he have donation to charity or not I dunno.
But I know he is very good tipper. He likes to drinking teh halia and whichever server on duty that goes out to seah im hawker centre to tapao for him will receiving $500 tips. :biggrin:

Good on him for the tips but that wasn't charity, that was pure hao lian.:o:o:o

B

BCR101

>

[B said:
ecclesiastes the teacher[/B];540077]sorry his name is henry not andy...an absolute idiot.:wink:

>

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...-avoid-paying-2m-casino-debt-unfair-game.html

>

Billionaire gambler wins High Court bid to avoid paying £2m casino debt for 'unfair game'
By Beth Hale
Last updated at 10:39 AM on 4th September 2008

Comments (19) Add to My Stories .

'Fat Man': Fouad al-Zayat was let off a £2million gambling debtA billionaire gambler known as the 'Fat Man' has won a bid to avoid paying a £2 million debt to an exclusive casino.

Businessman Fouad al-Zayat totted up the massive loss in just one night's play at the roulette and blackjack tables at Aspinall's in London.

But the 66-year-old withheld payment after a row over a croupier.

Last year the Syrian-born gambler - one of an estimated 180 high-rolling international gamblers known as 'whales' - was told by a judge to pay up.

But Mr al-Zayat appealed and was given leave to argue that the casino had effectively allowed him unlawful credit under the Gaming Act.

Yesterday Mr Justice Teare, sitting at the High Court, rejected Aspinall's claim for payment.

But he also rejected a counterclaim by Cyprus-based Mr al-Zayat for the return of a further £10 million - which he lost at the club after being allowed to continue gaming in its exclusive Mayfair casino over the next six years.

The success of the businessman's bid to avoid paying up comes after some spectacular losses at the gaming table.

In evidence the court was told how Armani-wearing Mr al-Zayat first began visiting the Mayfair club in 1994 and continued gambling there until 2006.

The dispute unfolded in the middle of a 12-year run of losses in which he gambled an incredible £91.5 million - and which cost him £23.2 million.

In the early years he gambled tens and hundreds of thousands of pounds in a single night.

Then in 1999 and 2000 he began to gamble more than £1 million in a single night - the traditional definition of a 'whale'.

As Mr Justice Teare noted: 'Not surprisingly he was regarded by the club as an important client who demanded and was shown respect.'

The night in question came on March 10, 2000. He drew four house cheques for £500,000 of gaming tokens and lost it all.

During a hearing last year it emerged that the gambler asked for a change of croupiers but was told there was none available.

It was claimed that at 3.30am he found out there had been croupiers who could have taken over, became angry and demanded the return of the house cheques.

He said Aspinall's agreed to accept his own cheque for the house cheques on the understanding that it would not be presented until their dispute was settled.

The gambler then told his bank not to honour the cheque and claimed in court it represented credit which is unlawful under the Gaming Act.

Gambling den: Mr Al-Zayat lost £23.2m at Aspinall's Casino in London

The businessman, whose assets at the time of last year's hearing included a Boeing 747 and a £200,000 Rolls Royce, told the club in 2001 that he was suffering 'a financial low'.

He asked the club to allow him one year to pay, during which time he would continue to play at its tables. He said he would make repayments from the winnings.

Mr al-Zayat, who owns an aviation company, was allowed to keep playing at the club, but in cash. He gambled £40.8 million between March 2000 and April 2006, and lost £10.5 million.

But it was not until three days before the end of the six-year limitation period for a claim on the cheque in 2006 that proceedings were lodged.

The 15 stone businessman, known as a huge tipper, said that the club's actions meant it had given him unlawful credit.

But the club argued that all it had done was to forbear from suing its well-heeled client, and that forbearance could not amount to providing him credit.

Dismissing the claims, Mr Justice Teare commented that as a judge at an earlier hearing had remarked: 'This is one of those cases which have everything to do with the law and nothing to do with justice.'

He ruled that credit had been allowed, and since that was the case the cheque was unenforceable.

A spokesman for Aspinall's said he had not comment on the outcome of the case. But a gaming source said that both the club and industry figures felt the judgement 'flew in the face' of what they had understood in relation to the case.

In March 2002, the Ritz Casino issued a writ against Mr al-Zayat for allegedly bouncing seven cheques together worth £3 million. Court papers revealed he gambled £30 million at the hotel in four years and lost nearly £14 million in 156 visits.

The case was settled out of court and friends of the gambler said the Ritz later sent a team to persuade him to return to its club.

Confronted at his Cyprus villa last year Mr al-Zayat said: 'Casinos give a service, and if the service is not good, considering the price which you are paying, then you do not pay.

'If you go to a restaurant and you do not like the food, you do not pay. If you go to the whorehouse and do not get the pleasure you were seeking, you do not pay.'

He said he would never bet again in London.

>

B

BCR101

>

[I said:
ecclesiastes the teacher[/I];540889]To all bros,let us not envy those high rollers who have lost millions at the casino...i have seen many rich sporeans in the casino and i dun care how much they lose or win and i am not jealous of their riches...sometimes i feel these jerks can put their riches to better use like visiting the old folks home,the salvation army orphanage chidren home or poor folks tat may need financial help...you noe something like buying food and clothing for them instead of spending time in the casino...to be honest..most of them tat i knowof have not done anything at all to help the poor..it doesnt mean he is a nice guy just buy tipping the server $500..he tip because he is fithy rich and is in a good mood... nice guys are those tat has make it in life and decide to give something small back to society.

Thank you for sound advice ... tk u

i just listened to a interview by BROTHER STANLEY HO ,

THE KING OF GAMBLER , enjoy :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tiq4bjGYMV8

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

By the way, casinos all over the world operate in a similar manner. They have a hidden credit line that is internal for all whales. This line is determined by assessing his net worth including businesses and assets. The credit report is detailed and it will stand scrutiny in court and they will back it up with recordings from the sessions where the whales are have insisted on credit based on who they are.

It certainly does not fall within the spirit of responsible gaming and the term responsible gamimg is used to appease the general public. Henry Quek's can weather this storm. Just a bruise and the loss of a few properties.

I am sure some cabinet ministers are wondering if they are going to lose their SME entreprenuers soon or later and regret having a casino in such close proximity.

Baroko

I too would be too embarrassed to discus anything that is unreliable. You sure picked the wrong forum and the wrong person.

No prize to win here and nothing to be embarrassed about.
btw how would you guys know he isn't a developer too as I was informed?

Aiyah, the way you phrased it is the issue. Nothing to do with the information itself. Just say you heard that so and so is the one. Now you are clutching at straws with the developer angle.

Merle's business and expertise is properties. Anything that moves in the property world big or small, he knows. His track record is impeccable.

Look and learn. Finding excuses is not making you look any better. You just digging a deeper hole. Don't be privy to unreliable information, it tends to lead to hallucination where you are actually think you are not embarrassed.

No prize to win here and nothing to be embarrassed about.
btw how would you guys know he isn't a developer too as I was informed?

silverfox@

By the way, casinos all over the world operate in a similar manner. They have a hidden credit line that is internal for all whales. This line is determined by assessing his net worth including businesses and assets. The credit report is detailed and it will stand scrutiny in court and they will back it up with recordings from the sessions where the whales are have insisted on credit based on who they are.

It certainly does not fall within the spirit of responsible gaming and the term responsible gamimg is used to appease the general public. Henry Quek's can weather this storm. Just a bruise and the loss of a few properties.

I am sure some cabinet ministers are wondering if they are going to lose their SME entreprenuers soon or later and regret having a casino in such close proximity.

If you pay up, no one will know who you are, if you don't pay up, you will end up like Henry. Everyone knows him now. :o

B

BCR101

>

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1544687/No-more-London-bets-for-me-says-The-Fat-Man.html

>

No more London bets for me, says The Fat Man

By Malcolm Moore in Nicosia

Published: 12:01AM GMT 06 Mar 2007

Fouad al-Zayat, known as 'The Fat Man', has been ordered to pay Aspinall?s £2m Fouad al-Zayat?s home in a Nicosia
This is the gambler known as "The Fat Man".

Fouad al-Zayat avoids publicity, rarely gives interviews and photographs of him are almost unknown.

But yesterday The Daily Telegraph tracked down the Syrian-born businessman to Cyprus where he agreed to talk about his gambling.

In the High Court last week Mr al-Zayat was ordered to pay the London club Aspinall's £2 million, plus £50,000 costs, in a dispute over an alleged bounced cheque. He said he was "disgusted" at the decision and would never gamble in London again.

It was revealed in court that he had visited Aspinall's more than 600 times in 12 years, staking £91 million and losing £23 million. He fell out with the casino when it took him to court to recoup one night's unpaid gambling bill.

Locating him in Cyprus, where he has lived for more than three decades with his Lebanese wife, proved a challenge and it was only through enquiries in the Syrian community that he was found.

Mr al-Zayat 65, spoke at his office, close to his villa where he has lived for 35 years. His two-storey house in a quiet suburb sprawls over an entire block, and has a large swimming pool overlooked by olive trees and date palms.

Three large satellite dishes are mounted on the roof while giant terracotta amphorae and carved stone lions sit in the grounds. The driveway is full of BMW and Mercedes cars.

His office building is resolutely anonymous on the outside, with no number on the door or clue to what lies within. Inside, however, it is immaculate, decorated with French furniture and strewn with Persian carpets.

Wearing a black Armani pullover and drinking Arabic coffee, Mr al-Zayat said of last week's court case: "If my name was an English name, not an Arabic name, this would never have happened.

"Aspinall's is an English institution, it is the most aristocratic of the casinos, and I am a foreigner. For me, England is a country without a God, where money is the god. In my experience, there is no justice in England, whatever they may say," he said.

A Christian Syrian, Mr al-Zayat said he was a man of faith. "I can't call myself a religious man, but I have a lot of faith in God."

Mr al-Zayat lost the £2 million in a single session of blackjack in March 2000. However, the casino waited six years - the end of the statutory period after which the cheque would have been legally worthless - until it began proceedings against him, freezing assets including his £158,000 Rolls Royce and his Boeing 747 jet.

In court last week Mr Justice David Steel ruled against Mr al-Zayat. The judge said: "The scale of both his wealth and his gambling instincts are revealed by the fact that between October 1994 and April 2006 the defendant visited the claimant's club on over 600 occasions.

"In this time he purchased gaming tokens to the value of over £91 million and lost over £23 million."

Damian Aspinall, the club's owner, successfully argued that Mr al-Zayat's case was so weak that the matter should be disposed of without trial. The judge agreed and ordered Mr al-Zayat to pay up.

The Syrian is one of a select few gamblers known in the gaming industry as "whales".

The traditional definition of a whale is a man who stakes at least $1 million, or £520,000 every time he sits at a table. There are thought to be around 180 of them in the world, including Adnam Kashoggi. Generally, they are worth at least £500 million.

Mr al-Zayat is renowned for being exceptionally generous, often tipping waitresses thousands of pounds. But despite being well-known in London's gaming circles, he has stayed out of the limelight.

He explained that he had been unhappy that the casino had refused to change a croupier during the game, and that he had deliberately not dated his cheque so that the two sides could negotiate.

"Casinos give a service, and if the service is not good, considering the price which you are paying, then you do not pay," he said. "If you go to a restaurant and you do not like the food, you do not pay. If you go to the whorehouse and do not get the pleasure you were seeking, you do not pay."

He added that he was "surprised" when the casino decided to raise the matter later, and that they dated the cheque for him without his consent. "I have a fax that was sent to the casino, signed by me, saying they should not date the cheque without our agreement. However, the judge would not accept our statement."

Now, he said, he would never bet again in London. "The English casinos will give you anything you want, as long as you can pay. They surround you with public relations people to help you spend however much money you have," he said.
Mr al-Zayat is now retired, but remains a consultant to Samata Enterprises in Nicosia. He said he made his fortune in "construction, aviation, investment and oil, all over the world, in the Gulf and so on".

He strenuously denied rumours that he dealt in arms. "I did not make my money in arms, contrary to what people say. I never bought or sold arms. People like to say this because they are jealous of people who have money. I do not know the difference between a gun or a tank or a pistol."

James Osborne, the managing director of Aspinall's, said yesterday that there had never been any question that the casino would not bank Mr al-Zayat's cheque.

"The Gaming Act states that we have to bank the cheque within 48 hours - that is the law." He said the casino had taken legal action very reluctantly and had waited almost six years for the debt to be settled. "To suggest that we are anti-Arab, or anti-Chinese for that matter, would be commercial lunacy. In fact I rather like Mr al-Zayat and he is very charming."

>

B

BCR101

I think a lot of people (exp businessmen who know him) will laugh at him behind back for being stupid :biggrin:

Hi, any brothers knows which law firm in town is acting for

Henry Quek . I read and re-read the papers but name of

law firm and name of the lawyers were not mentioned .

got bros thinking of taking some actions against MBS...

many thanks ...

cheekenpie

If you want any chance of winning.... Davinder Singh.

If just play play, then you can get free service from M. Ravi or chia ti lik

B

BCR101

The Potential Case Against MBS
-----------------------------------------

1. MBS did not extend credit line to him but

allow "moneylender" inside the casino to

extend credit to him .

2. Plus things i reveal later ...