• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie bride asked wedding guest why only $100 red packet

Very inspirational what you said, As in the old days, weddings in villages were like that. The whole village came out to help. It was the closeness of friends and family that makes the wedding a good marriage. Long time ago, was about to kenna retrench and my colleague was getting married. He told me, no problems,,,ask me to help out with his wedding and so on. He appreciated my help more than my ang pow. Still good frens with him and his family today.

Nowadays, if i get wedding invitation from these 'leeches' I just throw the invitation in the bin. I only attend for good frens and family. Now for family, turn out the last wedding will be mine if I ever get married. I have always been the poorest and my relatives never ask me for ang pow and all that crap. But I always volunteer my time. So always even out. Good to have good frens and family.

Only invite close relatives and kam cheng friends will do ....

For me, I intend to have a wedding buffet in my HDB unit with a budget of $1000 food for all my guests. If close relatives and kam cheng friends turn up and did not give ang bao, also never mind. I take it that it is my wedding treat.

Normally it is the ladies' side who want face and demanded the guy to have wedding dinners in luxury hotels. Worst till, inviting people who do not have spending power of giving $200 ang bao then complained a lot after seeing ang bao do not meet their expectation.

Such people are not true friends la, no money still held expensive banquet dinner and expecting others to give big ang bao is not right.

Normally I give $30 for those not-true friend who invited me. Let them bang own balls :D

Not " true friend " I don't even bother to attend .

Red packet is against their religion. Try green packets, preferably those printed with a star and crescent.

Or just don't bother inviting Muslims. It is a logistical nightmare to set aside halal food for the few of them.

If that Muslim is your friend you won't find it troublesome too ;)

If I'm that couple wedding planner I would change the ang bao traditional culture to hang flower concept .. Let all the guest in the wedding how much they hang for the couple ... Flower above $1000 will get to win a place a place in heaven .

Pui! I thought the flower hangers above $1000 will get to bonk the bride.

Yet there are daft Sinkie couples who expect to recoup their losses, maybe even make a profit from the collected ang pow money.

In fact, some of those wedding dinners fully deserve a lesser amount of money. For example, the 'saving Gaia' couples don't serve real shark's fin. The 'Jesus is my Lord' couples don't serve alcoholic drinks. Just be glad that I even bothered to attend. :rolleyes:

hmm, maybe Government can impose something like COV Valuation for Wedding Dinners and make it compulsory to pay
COV(Wedding Dinner).

Only the worst type of Sinkie will give $50 to a friend for a once in a lifetime happy occasion.

this cannot be in sg as it's a huff post gripe column, there's a $40k student loan and a minimum wage job. sounds more like in the u.s. :rolleyes:

Wedding banquet has been getting too expensive these days.
Just because of face, many couples wish to held it at those luxury hotel restaurants and expect good ROI ang pao?

Fuck it. I'll have me wedding dinner at McDonalds.

You come early, you get upsized meal of your choice. Come late, only apple-pie for you.

They organize wedding parties in HK.

article-1320488-0B9BD344000005DC-263_468x300.jpg

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...Couples-marry-fast-food-chain-HK-January.html

Nabei Chow Chee Bye..Limpei young Kao Ein at Kopitiam...why young people so troublesome nowadays...:oIo::D

Come even later, got cream pie? :D

My friend had his wedding earlier this year, he invited a couple of malay colleagues. Some never give, and some clown even give a $4 ang bao.

Likewise malays like to invite chinese........angmo big big.
Chinese also got share of losers lah........back then some like to pao big sweep tickets even.
Hainanese style back then is best.......because ang pao open on the spot at the door and announce and recorded. Cannot siam cannot cheapskate.

If that Muslim is your friend you won't find it troublesome too ;)

lianbeng ever lined up at a Muslim wedding lunch and got a plateful of raisin rice, kambing curry and cabbage for free! :D after eating just return plates n utensils to the soap tubs and buzz off lah!

Chinese weddings in Singapore really show how fucked over the culture has become. A joyous occasion becomes one that looks to money as the pathway to happiness. Where the food is more important than the occasion. Celebrate your culture with French Cognac and western dances. Good luck to all you Chinkie types. Have fun.

Agree....this is the epitomy of Singapore society

No money also want to how lian, throw big wedding dinner at hotels! That's the Sinkie bride nowadays.

If no money, can always have a small gathering at a friend's house or something. It's the spirit that counts.

Throwing wedding dinners at big 7 star hotels bound to lose money one, and this one is a true Sinkie - still want to cover her costs and make profits. Wtf!

As somebody said, might as well sell tickets to the dinner.