• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporean are coward, pathetic and damn obedient citizen

An inspiring brave Singaporean ....

I was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer in December 2006. I was 36 year old then.

At that very moment I found out about my condition, I thought I was going to die. I asked my oncologist ‘how long more do I still have?’ That was when I gathered knowledge that breast cancer is actually treatable and chances for recovery is high. Hence I had started to read more about cancer and find out the kinds of treatments available.

During the period of my treatment, I was practically counting down to the end of my 8 chemotherapy sessions, and 30 radiation sessions. What’s all on my mind was to get it over and done so I could continue to lead on with my normal life – full working schedule, travelling overseas and my favorite golfing activity!

Now that all is over, I keep my fingers crossed that I will not have any relapse. Even if it happens, I am definitely prepared to fight the Big C again!

Looking back, I am very grateful, for my parents were always around to take care of my every need. They accompanied me through my check-ups, to seating with me through my treatment period. In addition, they would also read up on articles from the website, newspapers to find out more about cancer. As we become more self-aware, we would be clearer of the dos and don’ts for a person seeking cancer treatment.

Besides my closest kin, the most commendable group of motivators/supporters during the harsh period was the doctors and nurses. They are my pillar of support and were always on the lookout for small little facial expressions I gave out whenever there were any discomforts during treatment. My oncologist had provided his mobile number too so that I can call him directly should there be any complication after each chemo treatment. My company’s doctor even opened his clinic on a Sunday (they are not opened on Sundays) just for me to obtain my daily-dose of injection in view of my cancer treatment. I was very touched by this special arrangement the doctor did for me.

Cancer has definitely changed my perspective towards life.

Before I had cancer, I was physically active, engaging in golf, brisk walking and jogging. Right now, I still exercise regularly and on top of that, I’ve adopted a healthier diet by eating in moderation and include more fruits and greens which I used to dislike. In addition to that, I am now a less workaholic as compared to before. And I now take time to ‘smell the roses around me’!

A piece of advice personally to young people who are diagnosed with cancer; Fear not. Keep Calm and Fight On. Cancer is not a death sentence. Many have been diagnosed with cancer and many have walked out of it as awesome warriors and survivors.

Hopefully cancer researchers will find a ‘cure’ for breast cancer and all other forms of cancer soon so that no one has to go through such unpleasant experience. We definitely need more support with cancer research. Doctors and researchers need our assistance to arm them with the equipment and manpower necessary to understand cancer and to search for a cure. However, they cannot do this alone and will need our support. Our support through monetary means will help them go a long way in their cancer research.

The Run For Hope 2012 is an event to raise funds for the NCC Research Fund with the purpose of paving the way for a cancer cure through research. I have been supporting the Runs for cancer research by assisting the organising team with the event communications. Prior to the run, we have many internal company activities to help raise fund in conjunction with the run and I would actively participate in them as well.

In my mere presence, I would like to call out to as many runners as well as non-runners to step forward and be part of the 10,000 runners this year for Run For Hope 2012. Let’s create a milestone towards a cancer-free future.

Another very brave awe-inspiring Singaporean.....

ezzy-wang.jpg

I was diagnosed with a rare bone cancer 15 years ago, which eventually resulted in the loss of my right hip. Today, I am free of the disease and supporting the fight against cancer. I dive, I swim, I drive, and I run.

In 1989, I was diagnosed with synovial chondromatosis of the right hip joint. Treatment for this was mostly conservative for several years until I went for surgery in 1995. The following year, I was diagnosed with secondary chondrosarcoma that arose from the right hip and extended to surrounding muscles. A few years later, I had a hindquarter amputation, after which there has been no evidence of cancer.

At the prime of my life, the cancer diagnosis dealt me with a huge blow. To me, the hardest battle was in trying to comprehend why I was so unfortunate to have an uncommon strain of cancer and having to accept the loss of a leg. It was a constant struggle, but I dealt with the situation to the best of my ability and started to regain my confidence after the last surgery. Support from my family, friends and colleagues made a difference during the challenging time.

I managed to move forward with my life, personally and professionally. I found my life partner, got married, and I continued with my career in financial services.

My cancer journey provided me with a respected perspective on the need of financial planning due to life’s uncertainties. I have since moved on to a new role managing training and competence.

I’m now leading my life to fullest. I took on hand-cycling some years back and have been participating in hand-cycling competitions. Supporting the cancer cause is one of my current passions and I have been participating in the Run For Hope for the past 8 years. I believe that everyone and anyone can do their part to support and promote cancer awareness and the continual need for resources to be directed towards cancer research. I look forward to being one of the 10,000 runners at Run For Hope this year.

Singapore has its own kind,gracious and helpful people....these are the unsung heroes.....

woodlands_residents_rescue_maid_from_falling_to_her_death-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer GISingapore wrote in to commend three Woodlands Drive residents who saved a domestic helper from falling down twelve storeys of a HDB block yesterday (Jun 3).

According to a report in The New Paper, Nuraini's cries for help, while grabbing onto the metal pole supports outside her home, were heard by Louis Chan, a neighbour from a unit below the employer's flat.

He tried to support her from below and push her back up as Nuraini's employer held onto her from above.

However, both the employer and the 29-year-old maid lost their grip and she almost fell all the way down if not for her ankle being wedged against the metal pole supports outside Chan's flat.

Two other neighbours, who heard about the situation from Mr Chan's wife, then came to grab the maid and swing her onto the ledge of the flat.

Nuraini was then rescued into the flat by Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) officers.

After reading the report, STOMPer GISingapore wrote in to salute the three neighbours for saving a life:

"It's not often that you get to call someone a hero but Louis Chan and the two other neighbours deserve a tag like that for their actions.

"Without Louis grabbing tightly onto Nuraini's ankles after she lost her grip, we may be talking about a totally different story now.

"Great to see that Singaporeans are willing to come to the aid of their neighbours when the situation calls for it.

"Louis Chan and the two neighbours who came to help after that -- a real Singaporean hero."

Courage and Compassion. Selflessness and Sacrifice. Ordinary people. Extraordinary spirit. People who have gone before us, whose fortitude and passion inspire and impact us. These are our heroes. We all have heroes - whether they are the medical personnel who go beyond their call of duty to save lives, athletes who go against all odds to put Singapore on the world map, other trailblazers who excel in their respective fields to fly the Singapore flag internationally, or the teacher or parent who has personally touched our lives.
Another brave Singaporean....

662824.jpg

Elizabeth Choy Su-Meiwas born on 29 November 1910 in Kudat, Sabah. She was a Hakka from North Borneo. During the Japanese Occupation, together with her husband, she worked as a canteen operator at a hospital where patients from General Hospital had been moved to.

Elizabeth Choy and her husband secretly brought food, medicine, money, messages and even radios to British internees. Unfortunately, they were caught by the Japanese. Her husband was arrested on 29 October while she was arrested on 15 November 1943. The Kempeitai thought that they had given information to the British which led to the sinking of several Japanese ships in Keppel Harbour in 1943.

Elizabeth Choy was imprisoned in a small cell for 193 days with 20 other prisoners in the old YMCA building. During her imprisonment, she was badly tortured by the Kempeitai. The Kempeitai made her kneel down on a frame of three-sided wood. They tied her hands behind her back and also her legs. She could not move at all. Then, they brought her husband and he was made to kneel beside the frame to watch her being tortured. They slapped and kicked her and gave her the ‘electric shock’ treatment. The pain was extremely unbearable.

Despite being terribly tortured, Elizabeth Choy refused to confess. After 193 days, she was released from the prison. Her husband was released much later. After the war, she was awarded the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in recognition of her valour in 1946 during the Japanese Occupation of Singapore. She was known as a war heroine.

Elizabeth Choy also became Singapore's first woman in the Legislative Council in 1951 and she was also recognised as a dedicated educator. She started teaching first at St. Margaret's School and later St. Andrew's School; and was the first principal of the Singapore School for the Blind in 1956. At the age of 96, Elizabeth Choy passed away on 14 September 2006.

These blood donors are the unsung heroes....who sacrificed selflessly to help others in need.

More than 1,600 Blood Donors Recognised as Heroes

National Blood Programme celebrates World Blood Donor Day 2012 with
carnival dedicated to the voluntary ‘heroes' who give blood to save lives

Singapore, 16 June 2012 – In celebration of World Blood Donor Day 2012, the National Blood Programme honoured individuals and corporations with a celebratory event today at the Singapore Flyer.

Attended by more than 6,000 blood donors and their families, the Champion Blood Donor Ceremonies were respectively graced by Dr Amy Khor, Minister of State, Ministry of Health and Mayor, South West District; Dr Teo Ho Pin, Mayor, North West District; and Associate Professor Fatimah Lateef, Member of Parliament, Marine Parade GRC. A total of 1,644 donors were awarded, including 42 Champion of Champions1 donors and nine Medal for Life2 winners. A total of 36 Bloodmobile Organisers were awarded for organising blood drives collecting more than 100 units of blood.

Dr Khor said, “World Blood Donor Day pays tribute to individuals who voluntarily and regularly donate their blood without expectation of any reward, except the knowledge that they have helped to save lives and help those in need. For many patients, blood donors are their lifeline. On this occasion, we salute the blood donors for their selfless contributions."

Celebrating Heroes
Held annually, this year's theme is ‘Every Blood Donor a Hero', which celebrates the silent, unsung heroes who save lives every day with their blood donations. Mr Tee Tua Ba, Chairman of the Singapore Red Cross, said “'Every Blood Donor is a Hero' focuses on revealing the care, concern and love that each individual has for humanity. Blood donors are the real heroes who put the needs of others before their own. Only 1.8 percent of Singapore's residential population are blood donors. We encourage more Singaporeans to come forward to give to those in need.”

Ms Angie Al-Johary, the only female recipient in the Champion of Champions awards category for females, donated blood 125 times over more than 30 years, considers it a personal achievement whenever she donates blood. Women make up about one third of blood donors in Singapore.

She adds, “What the world needs are everyday heroes who are willing to come forward to save lives and to make that difference. It is indeed humbling to know that my blood will go towards helping someone and I hope to be able to do this for as long as my body allows me to do so.”

lim-hock-siew-st.jpg

An inspiring Singaporean ....

Dr Lim Hock Siew is not a man of the past. His ideas of fairness and equality are as relevant today as they were more than 50 years ago when he started to espouse them. More and more Singaporeans including many in the establishment are now openly expressing ideas on tackling extreme income inequality in our midst. In this respect, Dr Lim Hock Siew was ahead of his time with his ideas of socialism. He had the foresight to see far ahead of his political opponents. His untimely passing amidst the resurrection of the national debate on ideas of economic inequality that were so close to his heart, is a great loss to us who treasure his thoughts and humility. But he can rest assured that his struggles would not be in vain but would continue in the many young people that he had influenced and inspired. We will carry the torch and will surely succeed one day and make Dr Lim Hock Siew very proud. May you finally rest in peace, Dr Lim Hock Siew.

Sinkies are coward losers and lose thier right in the political scheme of thing which will affect their life and being bully.

we must learn to see the good of others instead of concentrating on the bad ....
we must learn to see the courage of others instead of focusing on their weaknesses....
we must learn to see the heart of the matter instead of pointing out the cover....
when the truth be told, action will speak louder than all the words....

really? am i a migrant? i am still in sinkieland leh.

you r a roti prata words twisting sissy std carrier.
Yesterday you said you not in singapore but now you said you here
None of your words is true.lousy stupid liar.

you r a roti prata words twisting sissy std carrier.
Yesterday you said you not in singapore but now you said you here
None of your words is true.lousy stupid liar.

Where the fuck am i is non of your fucking business. Why do u care in the first place?

If the cowardice sinkie problem is limited to a few person. It is still ok. But when the whole bloody population is like that and it will affect thousand and future generations to come. Then it is a serious problem which need to address.

Only low life cock suckers like pap ball lickers will deny all these shit and look at the small good positive dirt while the whole country collapse by their own govt who runs it.

Tony your new avatar very nice sial, very retro.

"If the cowardice sinkie problem is limited to a few person. It is still ok. But when the whole bloody population is like that and it will affect thousand and future generations to come. Then it is a serious problem which need to address.
Only low life cock suckers like pap ball lickers will deny all these shit and look at the small good positive dirt while the whole country collapse by their own govt who runs it. "

Tony you're RIGHT!

Even our "leaders" themselves succumb to "FEAR" easily what can we expect of the future of Sinkieland.
Here are some examples :

1. "Mr Lee Kuan Yew said in February 2008: I have not quite been sold on the idea that we should have 6.5 million. I think there’s an optimum size for the land that we have, to preserve the open spaces and the sense of comfort. But then, out of desperation perhaps, he now changes tune saying that we are short of workers today. We have 5.2 million people… We need more.”

2. "It is strange that Mr Wong now talks about listening to, understanding and engaging the various groups when last month, he hit out at netizens for politicizing everything (‘Lawrence Wong hits out at netizens for politicizing everything‘)"

Obviously the admiinistration has mastered the art and applied the "FEAR" factor subtly on them successfully.

The very monster that they created has turn around to haunt them.

Your Title "Singaporean are coward, pathetic and damn obedient citizen" obviously refers to politics in Sinkieland, but some doggie find it convenient to post some articles not related to obfuscate the main issue.
This same doggie has been trying to manipulate the forum using old school methods fear, reward and punishment to alter and reinforce forumers behaviour to accept and praise the incumbant works. If you
take a look at some his posting you can see the pattern.
This doggie obviously do not care about the bread and butter issues, he is more concerned about pleasing his masters. This doggie must have convinced his masters that he can control the internet. LOL

"If the cowardice sinkie problem is limited to a few person. It is still ok. But when the whole bloody population is like that and it will affect thousand and future generations to come. Then it is a serious problem which need to address.
Only low life cock suckers like pap ball lickers will deny all these shit and look at the small good positive dirt while the whole country collapse by their own govt who runs it. "

Tony you're RIGHT!

Even our "leaders" themselves succumb to "FEAR" easily what can we expect of the future of Sinkieland.
Here are some examples :

1. "Mr Lee Kuan Yew said in February 2008: I have not quite been sold on the idea that we should have 6.5 million. I think there’s an optimum size for the land that we have, to preserve the open spaces and the sense of comfort. But then, out of desperation perhaps, he now changes tune saying that we are short of workers today. We have 5.2 million people… We need more.”

2. "It is strange that Mr Wong now talks about listening to, understanding and engaging the various groups when last month, he hit out at netizens for politicizing everything (‘Lawrence Wong hits out at netizens for politicizing everything‘)"

Obviously the admiinistration has mastered the art and applied the "FEAR" factor subtly on them successfully.

The very monster that they created has turn around to haunt them.

Your Title "Singaporean are coward, pathetic and damn obedient citizen" obviously refers to politics in Sinkieland, but some doggie find it convenient to post some articles not related to obfuscate the main issue.
This same doggie has been trying to manipulate the forum using old school methods fear, reward and punishment to alter and reinforce forumers behaviour to accept and praise the incumbant works. If you
take a look at some his posting you can see the pattern.
This doggie obviously do not care about the bread and butter issues, he is more concerned about pleasing his masters. This doggie must have convinced his masters that he can control the internet. LOL

And the more Sinkees Kia See, the faster Sinkees die.

There are two countries in the world that I can think of which has very coward and obedient citizen – North Korean and Singapore...............

Tony, I share many of the sentiments you express, however our perceptions are not shared by many others. Singaporeans, as human beings in this world are actually quite contented with the political situation in Singapore. The have repeatedly relected the ongoing govenment - because they are happy with their economic status and the wealth and stability they enjoy. It's just that the PAP is the only true politicians playing the game here - the rest are just an idealistic bunch on opportunists hoping to gain votes from those disliking the rulers. Sorry, but that is the way I see things happening. You think people here give a shit about Human Rights? As long as they have three meals a day, a job, kids go to school, they could care less about other issues of Humanity. Of course, things need to get better year-to-year, and on that, Sg has done well because of world peace. Someone just knows better how to reap the credits for themselves in this area.