Singapore to merge with Malaysia

JurliquE

Singapore to merge with Malaysia.

Any possibilities?

Singapore have faster internet, better economy and currency, better facilities and infrastructure etc but limited land area.

Malaysia have more natural resources, more land for exploitation.

Why would any sane person want to go back to MY. It's like taking 5 steps back and having the majority of our population be subjected to pro-bumi policies. And like Red Amoeba mentioned, it doesnt really benefit us

if my history neber failed me...

sg was once part of msia, wich msia dun wan us and we declare independence.

msia was sumhow eye sore seeing our economy grow as such sml island.
honest speaking, would you share sumting wif another person?

History must go back to why Singapore wasn't part of Malaya in the beginning from British colonisation. The Malay states were part of Malaya, whereas Singapore, Malacca and Penang weren't; these were Straits Settlements, administered jointly from British East India. If you look at the map, it made no geographical sense, doesn't it?

However, it made all political sense. Singapore, Malacca and Penang didn't have state sultans and were turned into Chinese immigration calling ports without much political or grassroot resistance since there wasn't a Malay sultan there. The rest of Malayan states with sultans were guaranteed protection of their status and interests and didn't question what the British was doing with Singapore, Malacca and Penang.

At Malaysian independence in 1957, the British returned Malacca and Penang to Malaysia whilst retaining Singapore as a colony because of lingering unsettled strategic and economic interests. In 1963, the British saw no point retaining that position anymore but recommended that Singapore was too small to be viably independent. Therefore, joining Malaysia was the natural course.

To cut the story short, by then, Singapore had already developed into an overwhelmingly Chinese majority colony and LKY apparently wanted use the merger as lever to PM of whole Malaysia eventually. Also, Singaporeans wouldn't want an Islamic state, even the Malays. The "marriage" was "annulled" after 2 years when Malaysia kicked Singapore out due to "irreconciliable differences."

Maybe get Johor to "Join" Singapore loh. you don't need the whole Malaya, just Johor would do. ;)

bro...if my history don't serve me wrong...Malacca was exchanged from Dutch or something...British gave up Bencoolen was it?

actually Straits Settlement was an evil front - for East India Company to legally bring in opium.

if we go back even further - i think Singapore was once ruled by Johor sultan....or under its juridiction but Raffles manged to cede it and history changed ever since. So, historically we were part of Malaya but that does not mean we should ever go back again.

You're right. Singapore was under the sultan of Johor who signed it over to Sir Stamford Raffles. That's why there's a Jalan Sultan. Behind Jalan Sultan is Aliwal Gate. Behind Aliwal Gate is the old Istana. The descendants of the sultan who chose not to return to Johor still live there.

Malacca used to have a sultan too, he was driven away by the Portugese down to Johor. The Johor sultanate was from the Malacca lineage. Then the Dutch drove the Portugese away from Malacca. Then the British came and overpowered the Dutch, though in quite a friendly rival manner. A number of exchanges took place between them, the most famous being exchanging Java for New Amsterdam, later known as New York. :cool:

In the first place, they dun want us. With our progress now, is thru sweat n blood thru our former ancestors. We have come so far, yet they still lacking behind. Would you want to have a partner, everyday slowly slowly, relac one corner and seldom used their brain?

You're right. Singapore was under the sultan of Johor who signed it over to Sir Stamford Raffles. That's why there's a Jalan Sultan. Behind Jalan Sultan is Aliwal Gate. Behind Aliwal Gate is the old Istana. The descendants of the sultan who chose not to return to Johor still live there.

Malacca used to have a sultan too, he was driven away by the Portugese down to Johor. The Johor sultanate was from the Malacca lineage. Then the Dutch drove the Portugese away from Malacca. Then the British came and overpowered the Dutch, though in quite a friendly rival manner. A number of exchanges took place between them, the most famous being exchanging Java for New Amsterdam, later known as New York. :cool:

You still try to smoke people again, the current Johor Sultanate bears no lineage to the Malacca Sultanate. The current Johor Sultans are the descendants of Temenggong of Johor who took the throne with the backing of the British upon Sultan Ali of Johor's death who left no issue.

Knn Ramshit, Kiang dio ho mai gei kiang! You everytime do this kind of sai dai chi :oIo:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sultanate_of_Johor

You still try to smoke people again, the current Johor Sultanate bears no lineage to the Malacca Sultanate. The current Johor Sultans are the descendants of Temenggong of Johor who took the throne with the backing of the British upon Sultan Ali of Johor's death who left no issue.

Knn Ramshit, Kiang dio ho mai gei kiang! You everytime do this kind of sai dai chi :oIo:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sultanate_of_Johor

In this type of matters, I'd believe what I heard from Malaccans and Johoreans rather than Wikipedia random writers.

HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! see lao ah gua, still want to smoke. If you even bother to look carefully, the sources are quoted from REAL history books and not what Mat Malek and Mat Jaafar told you. LOL :D

It's alright if I'm wrong. I can't be right all the time. However, I could be right in my choice of belief, history textbooks prove nothing except that victors wrote them. I could be wrong too of course, but no big deal.

One of my wishlist is to visit Christmas Island which used to be ours.

It's alright if I'm wrong. I can't be right all the time. However, I could be right in my choice of belief, history textbooks prove nothing except that victors wrote them. I could be wrong too of course, but no big deal.

And you said it with so much conviction that you almost believe your original story was correct, here's the truth for you and your hommie Capt (NS) GMS - both of you are liars, liars have zero credibility. `Nuff said

It's clear that somehow you're getting personal. Enough said here too.

Future Joke History:-

1) Close Down Chinese University to Built English Science Technology University.
2) Reduce Poor Chinese Speaking Population by stop at 2 policy and increase Elite population with migrate citizen to 10 millions.
3) Unable to be Malaysia PM create Independent Nation

christmas island at 135 km2 is 1/5 the size of singapore.
for a country so small, we are really stupid to sell away a territory of this size. that island is of any use to australia?

You can still visit it by "attempting" to land in Australia by the sea. Just go towards Australia and the friendly Aussie navy would provide an escort to Christmas Island. Accommodation and food are also provided on your arrival. Just don't complain that there is a lot of FThrash there. ;) I heard they may expand the facility on the island due to overwhelming arrivals there recently.

christmas island at 135 km2 is 1/5 the size of singapore.
for a country so small, we are really stupid to sell away a territory of this size. that island is of any use to australia?

Christmas island had a phosphorous mine (for making bombs) and they are strategically important for Australia. As Ash007 said, this is the current holding place for asylum seekers by boat.

I also know about this. Then the sultan took 2 chinese wives who like to drink and dance to retro music. That's why got Dajie and Madam Wong on Mohammad Sultan.

Singapore to merge with Malaysia.

Any possibilities?

Singapore have faster internet, better economy and currency, better facilities and infrastructure etc but limited land area.

Malaysia have more natural resources, more land for exploitation.

The Malaysian politicians may be stupid, but they are not THAT stupid. Accepting Singapore as part of Malaysia would have them accepting PAP as part of Malaysia political party and most likely an opposition party against the current ruling party.

No ruling political party would want to commit political suicide by letting a potentially strong opponent into their territory. That is why I think Umno and the BNP would never want a strong contender like PAP to become their competition.

The Malaysian politicians may be stupid, but they are not THAT stupid. Accepting Singapore as part of Malaysia would have them accepting PAP as part of Malaysia political party and most likely an opposition party against the current ruling party.

No ruling political party would want to commit political suicide by letting a potentially strong opponent into their territory. That is why I think Umno and the BNP would never want a strong contender like PAP to become their competition.

Might be an unthinkable scenario now. But in 10/20 years time this could be a reality. If merger is inevitable, then PAP and UMNO will definitely do their homework before this deal goes ahead. UMNO will most likely absorb PAP into their party if that is the case. No point getting together to fight.

The political transition will be like when East and West Germany unified in 1990.