• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sincere call for KJ to withdraw and endorse LLL

It is not too late to turn things around. You have to accept the reality if you press forward, you are going to lose deposit and see the legacy of your father destroyed. Putting on a brave face and denying this will only delay the truth from coming out in a few days.

It is difficult but the RIGHT thing to do now is to announce that you withdraw and endorse Lee Li Lian as the candidate for Punggol East.

If you do this, you will earn the gratitude of a nation straining to get from under the yoke of the PAP. Singaporeans are by nature a forgiving lot. They respect a person big enough to admit his mistake and do the thing for the greater good.

A softly-softly approach now because the death threats didn't work? You WP samsengs and bigot are turning out to be even worse than the PAP.

Death threat? It was more like an online quarrel with a troll that got out of hand. KJ, for reasons known only to himself, chose to take it to absurb lengths. The threat was about as credible as the threats issued by Aaron "face palm" Tan.

A softly-softly approach now because the death threats didn't work? You WP samsengs and bigot are turning out to be even worse than the PAP.

Yes, I think I remember LTK said that (WP respect the right of all parties to contest any constituencies. ..)

If that is how the party boss feels, why are all WP supporters keep asking other opposition to withdraw....

Because the WP supporters have their own brain and opinion?

KJ is a spent force, me deduce... but JBJ lives on in the hearts of many thousands, in mine too :o:o:o

salah liao lah.............KJ was never a force.............he was a farce............

that pic of his rally with less than 100 people..............never fail to cheer me up when i really need a laugh.............

er.. i wp supporter but i respect everyone rights to contest. personally i wont stop anyone from burning his/her own $$.

That's the spirit. Although I must say it does reduce her chance of winning. Anyway, with so many kiasu and kiasi people here, PE will think PAP is the 'safest' bet even if they know that they are bad.

Another day gone and another wasted opportunity.

We are almost at the point where a face saving withdrawal no longer becomes feasible.

KJ appears to continue his campaign in a bizzare fashion, the latest being sending an invite for Desmond Lim to speak at his rally. Was he hoping that Desmond would somehow endorse him?

Shameful is the only word I can use to describe what KJ has become.

the objective of this piece of trash is to sabo wp and help pap dogs to win pungol east. this sabo king is unlikely to withdraw. he is waiting for his reward from his pap master.

Another day gone and another wasted opportunity.

We are almost at the point where a face saving withdrawal no longer becomes feasible.

KJ appears to continue his campaign in a bizzare fashion, the latest being sending an invite for Desmond Lim to speak at his rally. Was he hoping that Desmond would somehow endorse him?

Shameful is the only word I can use to describe what KJ has become.

Pulling out in the middle of a campaign is never ever an option, particularly if the campaigning period is only 10 days. (In fact, if I were the PAP, I would extend the campaigning period to 1 month. That is probably going to screw up a lot of opposition parties). The nomination day is the point of no return. I think all the ballot papers are already printed, and cannot be reprinted at such short notice. If the point is to make sure that you no longer take any votes from the WP, why not instead purposely put out a lousy campaign? That way you achieve the same purpose (making sure that people who might have voted WP don't vote for you) without having to go through the embarrassment of a withdrawal.

You are quite wrong about that. Anyone can pull out of a campaign even though their name remains on the ballot. All they need to say is that they are bowing out and instruct those who had intended to vote for them to cast their ballot for another candidate instead. You often have this in the US presidential primaries where candidates bow out even though their name remains on the state ballot. They do this to avoid a humiliating result and to appear magnanimous.

That said, I prefer Mr Jeya to remain in the contest (in the same way that I wanted SDP to be in the contest). That's because I know how it will end for him and I am looking forward to observers' remarks.

You often have this in the US presidential primaries where candidates bow out even though their name remains on the state ballot. They do this to avoid a humiliating result and to appear magnanimous.

Yes but did it escape your attention that primaries are about nominations and not elections?

The main issue is not as you suggest but to avoid a humiliating result. What is a humiliating result? I suggest 2-3%. Other than fringe candidates no candidate from the 2 main parties in the US presidential elections has ever come close to that. Perhaps Mr Jeya considers himself merely a fringe candidate. That being the case, I say fine and God Bless.

I didn't say that KJ shouldn't ever pull out. What I said was that once you are nominated, you don't pull out. I think he should not have nominated himself, but now that he's gotten this far, he should just get on with it. Even primaries in the US last much longer than 10 days so there's no basis for comparison.

And KJ taking away WP's votes is not an issue? Come on...

As I had written previously, there is good empirical data to suggest KJ will poll about 2%. There is small standard deviation but the gap to keeping election deposit is so large that it is statistically impossible. The turnout at his rally is empirical validation of this outcome.

KJ needs to face reality and stop listening to those whisphering to him what he wants to hear.

By your judgement, PAP has only 300 attendees at their rallies. They going to lose their deposits as well? Only the Empress-Designate Lee Li Lian will win, won't she?

As I had written previously, there is good empirical data to suggest KJ will poll about 2%. There is small standard deviation but the gap to keeping election deposit is so large that it is statistically impossible. The turnout at his rally is empirical validation of this outcome.

KJ needs to face reality and stop listening to those whisphering to him what he wants to hear.

That's not the way it is done. You need a proper quantitative study to determine the base level of support for each candidate. Operationally, it is not viable to continuously update the level of support. You therefore use events like rally attendance as a proxy of whether any candidate is surging since your baseline.

In KJ's case, if he had attracted 2000 to 3000 people, I would say he is surging and there is empirical ground to continue his campaign. The turnout of 200 to 300 people suggest his numbers are not moving.

For WP, it is useful to note their rally numbers went up from 5000 to 7000. This is suggestive that numbers are improving from the baseline.

No data to update on PAP as they only had 1 rally and there is distortion from the RC/CC participaton.

By your judgement, PAP has only 300 attendees at their rallies. They going to lose their deposits as well? Only the Empress-Designate Lee Li Lian will win, won't she?

KJ is a spent force, me deduce... but JBJ lives on in the hearts of many thousands, in mine too :o:o:o

Imo, anywhere below 5% and KJ can pack up and leave for London. Finished politically. Looks like that's going to take place.

So if you discount the RC/CC participation and distortion, shouldn't it follow that PAP should lose its deposit? You know that that is not the case. PAP supporters do not bother to attend rallies. Do not assume that RP supporters do.

Punggol East are mainly Yuppies. Even if they are not at the rallies, they will watch the rallies online. No one who bothers to watch the rallies will consider Kenneth inferior to Li Lian. In fact the reverse is true although by the same standards Desmond is roadkill.

Kenneth should not withdraw. The Workers Party was painstakingly rebuilt by the efforts of his late father and the way it is run will only make him turn in his grave.

No data to update on PAP as they only had 1 rally and there is distortion from the RC/CC participaton.

If he does not withdraw, he is going to have to face the media after the results are announced. Am looking forward to what he has to say.

Imo, anywhere below 5% and KJ can pack up and leave for London. Finished politically. Looks like that's going to take place.

There is plenty of empirical data to support the assertion that PAP supporters do not attend rallies. There is no empirical data to support the assertion that RP supporters exhibit similar behaviour.

So if you discount the RC/CC participation and distortion, shouldn't it follow that PAP should lose its deposit? You know that that is not the case. PAP supporters do not bother to attend rallies. Do not assume that RP supporters do.

Punggol East are mainly Yuppies. Even if they are not at the rallies, they will watch the rallies online. No one who bothers to watch the rallies will consider Kenneth inferior to Li Lian. In fact the reverse is true although by the same standards Desmond is roadkill.

Kenneth should not withdraw. The Workers Party was painstakingly rebuilt by the efforts of his late father and the way it is run will only make him turn in his grave.