• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Silat - can really fight?

What are the objectives of those moves in Tae Kwan Do?

When we were kids, where got analyse the objectives or application aspects of the art? Just master roundhouse kick, slamming kick, back-thrust and all the jumping kicks that's all! Only when I started doing other traditional chinese kungfu, did I begin to study the application part. Then I realised that TKD has so many flaws such that if one is to used it in an actual fight against a skilled martial art opponent, sure kena humtum terok terok!

When as a kid, I already questioned the mechanical moves in TKD; real street fight got so swee swee use these moves one meh?

Instructor explained; that TKD moves are just to strengthen and stretch all the muscles and train basic reflex. Sparring is basically to put the reflexes to test and train oneself to endure pain, and the ability to continue to fight. Last man standing wins.

I no expert to name the flaws, but as teenagers, when we "pia jui" with Tua Gu (big cow), Siow Lang (mad man) and their teenage runners who looks after those coffee shops in Redhill, the training was useful.:) Trail and tested.

When we were kids, where got analyse the objectives or application aspects of the art? Just master roundhouse kick, slamming kick, back-thrust and all the jumping kicks that's all! Only when I started doing other traditional chinese kungfu, did I begin to study the application part. Then I realised that TKD has so many flaws such that if one is to used it in an actual fight against a skilled martial art opponent, sure kena humtum terok terok!

When as a kid, I already questioned the mechanical moves in TKD; real street fight got so swee swee use these moves one meh?

Instructor explained; that TKD moves are just to strengthen and stretch all the muscles and train basic reflex. Sparring is basically to put the reflexes to test and train oneself to endure pain, and the ability to continue to fight. Last man standing wins.

I no expert to name the flaws, but as teenagers, when we "pia jui" with Tua Gu (big cow), Siow Lang (mad man) and their teenage runners who looks after those coffee shops in Redhill, the training was useful.:) Trail and tested.

I agree with u! Street fight is still the best method of training by far! The more u fight, the better u become. You may be whacked in the process, but it's a good form of physical conditioning that'll help u to overcome the initial shock of a chaotic fight and increase your threshold to pain gradually! Practice makes perfect!

一胆,二凶,三功夫。First be brave, then be fierce, then talk about skills. The history of street fighting is littered with bodies of supposedly martial art exponents crushed by unskilled coolie fighters. Only police can beat them; police shoot them.

It's true. Did hear of martial arts exponents even a couple of famous ones got killed by street hooligans in one of those confrontations.

Yes, guns are still the best against these street toughs. Short and sweet.

It doesnt matter which art u learn. Most importantly, r u able to apply wat u learn. In order to apply, u must understand the moves. finally, how well conditioned is the fighter? Ultimately, it's the fighter that matters, not the art. Eg, many muay thai boxers would easily beat the shit out of a lot of kung fu fighters. Muay Thai as a martial art is considered far inferior compared to kung fu because kung fu has many intricate and sophisticated moves whilst Muay Thai has only a few basic moves. Wat happened? Muay Thai boxers r very well conditioned physically so they r able to take hits on them and they fully understand the few moves they're taught. Many Kung Fu fighters do not fully understand their complicated moves plus they have poor physical conditioning. Same goes for TKD, silat , etc.

Best martial arts is run and throw, stone is the deadliest weapon, you can find it anywhere.

All you have to do are:
1) Throw the stone at the opponent
2) Opponent running towards you, you run the opposite direction
3) Try to keep the same distance between the opponent
4) While running, pick any stones you can find along the way
5) Repeat No.1

Tae Kwan Do almost killed me long time ago even while I was a bystander only, not involved in the fight.

Saw this guy who I think is TKD yellow belt or around there about to fight with a street Ah Beng. I recognise the stunts bcos I was forced to learnt until yellow belt in the army.

While this TKD guy was going through his motion of the various stunts trying to hit Ah Beng, the Ah Beng rained blows on this TKD guy, felling him after a few 'anyhow' (aka no stunts blows) blows to TKD guys head/body, nose bleeding et al.

I almost died laughing. Man, TKD can be deadly even if you are only a bystander.

Best martial arts is run and throw, stone is the deadliest weapon, you can find it anywhere.

All you have to do are:
5) Repeat No.1

What kind of fight is that? Faint!

You stare at your opponent with your eyes big big like on fire, grab whatever nearby grabbable, e.g. chair, bottle, glass, eating cutlery etc. whatever. Don't blink, don't think and dash at your opponent with whatever you've got and a single-minded intention: one of you have to land in hospital and it's not going to be you.

Please show me how to pick up stones, throw them at your enemy while running, and yet keep the same distance from him / her.

I think it'd be easier to master wing chun than be able to do all of the above.

All you have to do are:
5) Repeat No.1