• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shane Todd's murder cover-up

ray_of_hope

I will not be surprised if the FBI now follows the US Embassy in giving a statement. The FBI will confirm that the parents have been lying all this while, and that the hard drive was in fact given to the parents by the SPF and not what the parents alleged, that they chanced upon it. These Americans are a complete abomination. Also, it seems that, for the smallest things, they are given to suicide: that American guy charged with having sex with a minor, and his apparent attempt at suicide, is a case in point. If Americans cannot handle Asia then they should stay put in the red-neck states they hailed from, including Montana.

MortalKombat

Verdict in Singapore: U.S. engineer Shane Todd killed himself

<iframe src="//www.youtube.com/embed/rYl8DgK4_rE?rel=0" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" width="560"></iframe>

By Kevin Lim and John O'Callaghan
SINGAPORE | Mon Jul 8, 2013 6:29am EDT

(Reuters) - American engineer Shane Todd committed suicide in Singapore last year, a coroner's inquiry in the city-state concluded on Monday, a verdict at odds with his family's belief that he was murdered because of his work.

The case had threatened to become a diplomatic issue as Senator Max Baucus, who represents Todd's home state of Montana, had pressed for more U.S. involvement in the investigation.

The possibility of damage to U.S.-Singapore ties appears to have diminished, even though Todd's parents have vowed to push for an investigation at home. They allege Singapore's Institute of Microelectronics (IME), where their son had worked, was involved in the transfer of sensitive technology to China.

After the verdict, the U.S. embassy in Singapore said: "The inquiry into Dr. Todd's death was comprehensive, fair and transparent". The statement expressed "heartfelt sympathy" to his family, friends and colleagues.

Todd, 31, died of "asphyxia by hanging" and there was "no foul play involved in the deceased's death," said the summary of the findings by District Judge Chay Yuen Fatt, issued after two weeks of testimony by dozens of witnesses in May. Singapore law requires an inquiry into any death not resulting from illness.

Singapore sees the case as closed but will be open to the Todds "if they want to talk to us, if they want to come over and look at things again", K. Shanmugam, the foreign minister and law minister, told Reuters.

"This is not a case like a civil litigation where one side wins and one side loses. It is a sad situation."

Through their lawyer, the Todds said they would issue a statement after they had gone through the 145-page report.

U.S. AUDIT OF SINGAPORE COMPANY

Todd was found hanging from the bathroom door of his apartment in June 2012, two days after he left his job at IME. He was researching an advanced semiconductor material called gallium nitride (GaN) that has commercial and military uses.

Todd's parents believe he was murdered over what they said was his role in a project between state-linked IME and Chinese telecoms equipment giant Huawei Technologies Co Ltd.

Shanmugam said a "process audit" of IME by U.S. officials had begun to allow them to "satisfy themselves there has been no such illegal transfer (of technology) as has been alleged".

"The process has started. It will be continuing through this month," he said, adding U.S. experts would arrive in mid-July.

Huawei and Singapore officials have denied the accusations, saying they did not proceed beyond initial discussions into a possible project involving GaN, which can be used in equipment ranging from mobile phone base stations to military radars.

The judge concurred.

"The potential GaN power amplifier project did not even materialize. Even if it did, which I did not find, the listed specifications show it would not have violated general export control laws, nor could it have been used for military applications," he said.

"(Todd) was not in possession of confidential and valuable classified information in the course of his employment."

Huawei has been blocked from some projects in Australia and is deemed a security risk by the U.S. Congress on the grounds that its equipment could be used for spying.

Rick and Mary Todd attended the inquiry for several days before pulling out and leaving Singapore, saying they had lost confidence in the system investigating their son's death.

"What has made us say that we can no longer stay here is the testimony from the beginning, saying they are always only looking at suicide, never murder," Rick Todd told Reuters Television on May 22. "The outcome was pre-determined."

During the inquiry, Singapore government lawyers presented forensic reports that showed Todd died by hanging, based on injuries around his neck. Their findings were backed by two U.S. pathologists, who said the manner of death pointed to suicide.

The parents walked out of the hearing after a U.S. medical examiner they had hired retracted a statement that Todd had been garroted and the judge refused their request to delay testimony by another witness so they could go through it.

The Todds' belief that their son was murdered was based on documents on a hard disk drive they said they found in his apartment. Singapore disputes the Todds' account, saying police had returned the hard drive to the family after examining it.

(Editing by Clarence Fernandez and Ron Popeski)

escher

Come come, you guys want US sanctions dont you?

What the fuck are you doing here?

GO FIND A PUBLIC TOILET BOWL THAT IS NOT FLUSHED AND GO STICK YOUR HEAD THERE BELOW THE WATER LINE AND INHALE GOOD AND DEEP AND NOT COME BACK HERE

The Todds' belief that their son was murdered was based on documents on a hard disk drive they said they found in his apartment. Singapore disputes the Todds' account, saying police had returned the hard drive to the family after examining it.

The info on this hard disk, hopefully, is in the hands of congressional investigators. Yes, Shamu and LHL will be spending more time courting US law makers to thwart any exposure of sinakpore's role in illegal transfer of technology to PRC.

If this is not handled well, this can be Obama's next major scandal. Obama had better stayed neutral on this and cautioned US embassy in sinkapore to not be so gung ho on endorsing the kangaroo court process.

Obama scandal? Obama is more worried about the Republicans, let alone some stupid suicidal scientist.

That's the point ...if the Republicans smell blood on this issue, this will become an Obama scandal. Picture this headline 'Obama official turns the other way on island state's role in illegal transfer of US technology to China".

That's why Obama is remaining neutral despite LHL and Shamu's pleadings to his officials.

We will both be happy if the sanctions happen; let's work towards that happening.

DuYunQi

If the US embassy accepts the SG court's ruling and says "it is fair..." then.. what else can the Todd family do?

Who knows if any negotiations had been undertaken and any agreement reached..

Either way, the Todd family won't be happy because of what they felt was a block in the way the SG court handled their son's inquiry.. and I don't understand why the judge didn't allow the Todd's request to delay testimony.. I mean.. why not allow it to happen?

steffychun

If the US embassy accepts the SG court's ruling and says "it is fair..." then.. what else can the Todd family do?

Who knows if any negotiations had been undertaken and any agreement reached..

Either way, the Todd family won't be happy because of what they felt was a block in the way the SG court handled their son's inquiry.. and I don't understand why the judge didn't allow the Todd's request to delay testimony.. I mean.. why not allow it to happen?

Then family will try ICC and UN.

Ban Ki-Moon says, sorry, your been watch too many Hollywood movies.

Fact is fact: Shane Todd should have known the risk of working for IME. He could have worked in an AMERICAN institute--where by he would also claim his is being threatened to sell GaN to China--but no, the bugger wanted to live in Singapore. Find Filipino girlfriend through a dating site--WTF? then cry to mommy I'm being forced to betray America.

Snowden would laugh.

Then family will try ICC and UN.

Alamak, UN and ICC got no jurisdiction lah. ICC only for war crimes ...if LHL orders the shooting the sinkees in an uprising, you can haul him up to ICC for trial.

Fact is fact: Shane Todd should have known the risk of working for IME. He could have worked in an AMERICAN institute--where by he would also claim his is being threatened to sell GaN to China--but no, the bugger wanted to live in Singapore. Find Filipino girlfriend through a dating site--WTF? then cry to mommy I'm being forced to betray America.

Is this an admission that you agree Todd was forced to participate in the illegitimate transfer of US technology to Ah Tiongs? If it is, we are one step closer to a common perspective.

Why did he want to work here? The lure of sinkapore and the money. IME willing to throw good money at angmos. If you are angmos, why not take it and use the time to explore Asia?
How would he know that sinkapore has all these hidden dealings with Ah Tiongs?
You are very sore about Shane hooking up with a Filipino. Why? You should thank him for not hooking up with a SPG. By the way, the Filipino is a 'foreign talent' leh. You don't like her too?

Aside, do we have a sinkapore snowden?

Snowden would laugh.[/QUOTE]

steffychun

Alamak, UN and ICC got no jurisdiction lah. ICC only for war crimes ...if LHL orders the shooting the sinkees in an uprising, you can haul him up to ICC for trial.

Is this an admission that you agree Todd was forced to participate in the illegitimate transfer of US technology to Ah Tiongs? If it is, we are one step closer to a common perspective.

Why did he want to work here? The lure of sinkapore and the money. IME willing to throw good money at angmos. If you are angmos, why not take it and use the time to explore Asia?
How would he know that sinkapore has all these hidden dealings with Ah Tiongs?
You are very sore about Shane hooking up with a Filipino. Why? You should thank him for not hooking up with a SPG. By the way, the Filipino is a 'foreign talent' leh. You don't like her too?

Aside, do we have a sinkapore snowden?

Snowden would laugh.
[/QUOTE]

Shane Todd is a loser from start to death. From some unknown crapped up American college. Come to Singapore measn he's not hot enough to work for American firms--which work on my high tech stuff than just GaN and have more leaks to Chinese spies than IME. Come to Singapore, live off our benefits, committ suicide and then parents want to KPKB. Esp Mrs Todd--call yourself a Pastor.

Shane Todd is a loser from start to death. From some unknown crapped up American college.

I didn't know that U of C is a crap school. Sure or not? Todd had earned his bachelor's and master's degree in electrical engineering at the University of Florida in 2003 and 2005, respectively. He then pursued doctoral studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara, where he researched silicon-based transmission lines.

Come to Singapore measn he's not hot enough to work for American firms--which work on my high tech stuff than just GaN and have more leaks to Chinese spies than IME. Come to Singapore, live off our benefits, committ suicide and then parents want to KPKB. Esp Mrs Todd--call yourself a Pastor.

Wah lau eh, you spewing nonsense leh. If sinkapore wants to pay him good money plus all the perks, why wouldn't he want to take it, especially when in 2010 US economy was still in doldrums? Lots of people outside are not as dumb as sinkees. Do you know that lots of young angmos like to work in sinkapore ...they get paid well, serve by sinkees and they get to explore Asia. That's a good deal.

steffychun

I didn't know that U of C is a crap school. Sure or not? Todd had earned his bachelor's and master's degree in electrical engineering at the University of Florida in 2003 and 2005, respectively. He then pursued doctoral studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara, where he researched silicon-based transmission lines.

Wah lau eh, you spewing nonsense leh. If sinkapore wants to pay him good money plus all the perks, why wouldn't he want to take it, especially when in 2010 US economy was still in doldrums? Lots of people outside are not as dumb as sinkees. Do you know that lots of young angmos like to work in sinkapore ...they get paid well, serve by sinkees and they get to explore Asia. That's a good deal.

It was his first job. He probably got rejected by American first which show what a loser he is.

Plus the fact he used a dating website to get a Filipino who did nothing to calm him down and prevent his suicide.

It was his first job. He probably got rejected by American first which show what a loser he is.

Some Americans are very adventurous, gung-ho to try new thing. 2010 - US economy was in bad shape. If you were in a similar situation, you would jump at the same opportunity when the carrots are dangled at you.

Plus the fact he used a dating website to get a Filipino who did nothing to calm him down and prevent his suicide.
Even this you object? Why? It is cheaper to go to dating website than to go to bars to pick up girls. Why is that a problem with you?

steffychun

Some Americans are very adventurous, gung-ho to try new thing. 2010 - US economy was in bad shape. If you were in a similar situation, you would jump at the same opportunity when the carrots are dangled at you.

Even this you object? Why? It is cheaper to go to dating website than to go to bars to pick up girls. Why is that a problem with you?

Who picks girls from dating site? Tells you he was a loser--no high school or college girl wanted him.

steffychun

America has bigger job prospects than Singapore. He could have worked in even a small company where he mighted not have the delusional fact of "betraying America"--as I pointed out before, so many American companies are leaky with secrets getting out--but no one dies!

No he was a loser since he probably couldnt get a job there.

America has bigger job prospects than Singapore. He could have worked in even a small company where he mighted not have the delusional fact of "betraying America"--as I pointed out before, so many American companies are leaky with secrets getting out--but no one dies!

No he was a loser since he probably couldnt get a job there.

You tell me how much was Shane Todd getting at IME and then we decide if that is a loser job.

In 2010, there were not many jobs in US. The loser label doesn't jive.