• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG's biggest failure - too many elderly people cleaning tables & public toilets

You Are Right !

tumblr_lkd3y1zWe41qjztdvo1_500.jpg

Old farts should be recycled.

I like that statement. This will teach them not to vote for PAP the hard way. So, guys ... make it a hell for them. For the sake of our republic !

ya lor...i think he going to do again very soon cos the 1st time not very much response

maybe you are right , he just wanted some attention if not he wouldnt have ride that pink seatless bike on the street ;)

ya lor...i think he going to do again very soon cos the 1st time not very much response

whahahahaha...lets not give it to him and make him cry like a baby begging for attention ;)

Weird Logic

I was with my boss having lunch at Redhill Food Centre the other day. We saw a lot of old folks(looks like in their 60s -70s) sitting around doing nothing, talking cock, playing chess at the Pavilion right next to Shop N Safe. His immediate reaction was why is the government allowing this. Why doesn't the government allow/encourage these pple to continue working. If they can continue working, we won't need so many foreigners in SG. Just look at Japan. They don't need as many foreigners because a lot of the services are handled by old folks

On the other side of the equation U got pple like the one in the article complaining about old folks working.

image.axd

Your boss and you are like Hitler ? Hitler looked at people as labour and land as materials. Exactly like that stupid accounting books and ledgers. There's no people, there's no furniture, just $$$

Men's lives are not about works. More works, more studies, more ... the environment will suffer, the animals will not lose their jobs but their lives. Men are pests of the highest order. That's why there's a need to eliminate men.

i use 2 neh neh as avatar afterward other forummer wink at me leh..:eek:

hey i think i can hear clinton making a lot of noise in his cage...i go and feed him then i go sleep la.....chat another day bro.

next time use 2 huge neh neh photo for your avatar confirm he wont wink at you liao ...;)

i use 2 neh neh as avatar afterward other forummer wink at me leh..:eek:

hey i think i can hear clinton making a lot of noise in his cage...i go and feed him then i go sleep la.....chat another day bro.

ok bro...dont feed him too much ...later he full liao also become sleepy then no entertainment liao ...good night bro .

Its all about balance. I think old folk working few times a week or a few hours a day is fine. LKY is a good example :)

LKY a good example? Are you serious? His circumstances are two worlds apart from an ordinary old folk. LKY gets to decide on his own pay, picks and chooses what he wants to do for the day, goes to office and leaves office any time of the day he likes, selects the countries he wishes to visit or tour at taxpayers' expense from time to time, uses official time paid for by taxpayers to write books at his own leisure much of the work is done using the resources of SPH and other GLCs. And all these he does without having to account to anyone. Of course he wants to continue working. If I'm in his shoes, even if I live to 200 years, I would want to continue working.

So LKY in fact is the worst example in the context of what is being discusses in this thread

well if you see so many elderly people cleaning tables & public toilets, why would you not immigrate from the country, you think you would not be the one? you should be gone, who know one of your kids might suffer the same fate in future.

Your boss got bird brain, that's why you are still employed.

I was with my boss having lunch at Redhill Food Centre the other day. We saw a lot of old folks(looks like in their 60s -70s) sitting around doing nothing, talking cock, playing chess at the Pavilion right next to Shop N Safe. His immediate reaction was why is the government allowing this. Why doesn't the government allow/encourage these pple to continue working. If they can continue working, we won't need so many foreigners in SG. Just look at Japan. They don't need as many foreigners because a lot of the services are handled by old folks

On the other side of the equation U got pple like the one in the article complaining about old folks working.

Look at it this way: the bottle is not half empty but half full.......... we have elites making tonnes of money doing very little, so dun just look at old fogeys.

in Sickapoor Ah Kong and Ah Ma got to clean table after the children and grand children dirted afte eating.

Only happened in Sickapoor the old the sick taking care of the young, only papaya gahmen highly approved

policies!! blame it on the 60%!!

a lot of old folks , you said.
then we should have new law : all old folks 65 will have to register for national service , to clean tables and utensil at hawker centres and food courts.
they will undergo a 2 weeks basic cleaning course at tekong camp.
this way we solve the problem of homeless old folks. some may sign on for life. :D:D

How come Char Azn and his boss never come back to this thread huh?

Those old folks should have joined MLM earlier, can retire shiok shiok by now.

To me the biggest failure is that too many elderly people are cleaning tables at food courts or washing public toilets instead of playing with their grandchildren at home.

In worse cases, they collect used cardboards for sale or sleep in street corners.

Retirement age is 65 and the government has said it wants to raise it to 69.

But, an extensive practice of bosses replacing workers once they reach 50 with younger, cheaper people – particularly foreigners – has made retirement age a bit redundant.

Many Singaporeans believe that the government should use the city’s huge reserves to take care of the older generation which had contributed much to build this country.

Some have appealed for a minimum wage structure, which is vehemently rejected.

“Instead of investing them in foreign ventures we use the reserves to provide S$200-S$300 (RM488-RM730) a month to every citizen once they reach retirement age,” suggested a reader.

That is unlikely to happen.

http://thestar.com.my/columnists/st...ightdownsouth/11017095&sec=Insight Down South

I pretty much agree with you for the sake of those who are really in need of money.

Then on the other hand old folks nowadays(very unlike their previouse generations) really refuse to stay at home and take care of grandchildren. I am one of the many mothers who cannot go to work because no old folks love my son enough to want to take care of them. This generation of old folks are of a very different breed. I can safely said they are more 'self-centered' now. In this case, instead of staying at home having so much idle time, and at time creating conflicts among family members, they might as well make themselves productive by working right? At least be independent enough to be able to afford whatever they want? The living expenses here is so high, if the child(NB: this generation of old folk only have few children) is already working so hard, they could only help by staying independent until such time when they really needs asistance?

NB: This is only my own opinion. You are entitled to yours. :)