Sengkang murder: Man accused of killing elderly mother escorted back to crime scene

I burn and let you see’: Man torches flat after grandma refuses entry, jailed seven months in Singapore​

Malay Mail
Fri, 4 July 2025 at 5:00 PM GMT+82-min read

Malay Mail

Malay Mail
SINGAPORE, July 4 — A man who became enraged after his grandmother refused to let him into their home in Singapore set fire to a piece of cardboard and wedged it in the entrance of their flat, endangering her safety. Today, he was sentenced to seven months’ jail for mischief by fire.

Channel News Asia reported that Lenard Tan Yong Jia, 27, had returned to the flat he shared with his stepfather and grandmother on April 18, only to find the metal gate locked despite the wooden door being open.

After knocking and calling his grandmother six times without a response, Tan became furious. Unknown to him, his 67-year-old grandmother had deliberately ignored his calls as she was afraid of him, suspecting he was a drug addict. The two had previously had an undisclosed dispute.

160th News say…only 2 cases of family murder in 2025??

Singapore family Cohesion seem improving de woh!???
rubbish, shit times is just too lazy to get scoops.

That Lim Yuen Li, looks more to me like kena mentally tekan everyday until buay tong ki siao liao.... this one more like manslaughter than murder.... If it is indeed the case of kena tekan mentally everyday by toxic boomer, 79 years old liao..... + multiple PCB garbage zhams and boosters, all the heavy lifting has been done for you liao mah.... just sit back and watch the zhams work it's magic can liao mah. Alternatively, "reconcile" and then bring out for dinner and then bring her for the latest PCB garbage zham again for even faster results lor.... haiz... now need to go in squat.... maybe tio hang.... not worth it.... not worth it.....
I noticed both my parents' personalities change with age. My dad, who was a cheerful, talkative and humorous man, has become quiet and withdrawn. My mom, who was always mindful to set a good example to her children, has become more critical, negative and prone to stirring up misunderstandings between her adult children and siblings.