• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Save the cyclist! Ban cycling on roads!!

renren

before you flame me.. because I know there are proud nylon, spandex wearers here... hear this out...

Cyclist get killed on the road because of stupid drivers....Drivers are not intentionally trying to kill cyclists, but sometimes they fuck up and cant see them. People make mistakes but cyclists shouldn't die because the drivers mistake.

Admittingly, this is a silly suggestion but this might stop primary school brothers from cycling to school.

Very good suggestion. Cyclists don't pay road tax, slows down traffic and treat congested Sinkie roads as some vineyard path in Marseilles, France.

i don't understand, now got park connectors. why must they ride on the road? then now got those car decal asking cars to keep 1.5m from bicycle riders, road so busy, congested and narrow how to keep 1.5m? nothing against those riders, but pls use common sense for road safety. it's fatal.

drivers also get killed on the road because of stupid drivers....

so how?

i don't understand, now got park connectors. why must they ride on the road? then now got those car decal asking cars to keep 1.5m from bicycle riders, road so busy, congested and narrow how to keep 1.5m? nothing against those riders, but pls use common sense for road safety. it's fatal.

who put those stupid 1.5m decal on their cars? cyclists themselves lah but more often than not, these cars with the stupid decal also drive recklessly. just this morning, an idiot with that decal on his rear wind screen anyhow cut into my lane while turning right at the junction. knn, lucky i slow down, if not the car would have impaled into the divider.

... Cyclist get killed on the road because of stupid drivers....Drivers are not intentionally trying to kill cyclists, but sometimes they fuck up and cant see them. People make mistakes but cyclists shouldn't die because the drivers mistake ...
lidat shud ban drivers la ...

lta shud cum up wif a test 4 drivers 2 assess their stoopigdity ... oni drivers who pass ze test r allowed drive on roads ...

Better ban human beings too. Cos many of them are stupid. Stupidity can be dangerous.

Singapore is simply the worst place for cycling. And stupid people continue to cycle.

drivers also get killed on the road because of stupid drivers....

so how?

riders got not protection and on 2 wheels only, more dangerous. common sense. 2 cars langa still can survice. try bicycle langa by car, higher fatality rate. dont teekee what stupid riders or stupid drivers. stupid riders and stupid drivers dont deserve to die this way. they are park connectors for them, why must ride on road? LTA should bar them from riding on road.

Cyclist die cos they are where they are not suppose to be. And they cause accidents as they r slower than cars n ars have to make way for them. Which is stupid as Roads are for cars..

before you flame me.. because I know there are proud nylon, spandex wearers here... hear this out...

Cyclist get killed on the road because of stupid drivers....Drivers are not intentionally trying to kill cyclists, but sometimes they fuck up and cant see them. People make mistakes but cyclists shouldn't die because the drivers mistake.

Admittingly, this is a silly suggestion but this might stop primary school brothers from cycling to school.

if they cant see you
they crush you

invent some wireless detection system for truck and car to detect closing bike.

This government avoid regulating such activities because it strongly believes in respecting personal liberty! People should have the common sense to recognize the risk of cycling on a busy road and motorists to stay clear of them to avoid incidents which would cause unnecessary delays in their daily commute. Besides, enforcing regulations on cycling on roads costs money. Who will pay for increased enforcement? Sounds like a tax dollar sink and we cannot have that if not how will i find enough revenue to justify promoting my loyal vassals to superscale?

I have seen cyclist cycling double-file on the left most lane. :mad:

You give them 1.5m and they will take the whole damn left lane. :oIo:

1. aiyoh!
2. roads, streets and things are just not cycling friendly or safety mah:D
3. literally, you die your biz hoh.

Hopefully this will serve as a warning to cyclists. Don't always expect cars to give way to you hor!

yangchangxin.jpg

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013
The New Paper
By Lynette Tan
SINGAPORE - Four years ago, Mr Yang Changxing was leading a group of cyclists on a leisure ride in Jurong when a car ran into him at a junction.

Mr Yang, 52, thought he had the right of way, but the car made the U-turn anyway and collided into him.

He injured his collarbone and had to be hospitalised for a week. He was also blinded in the left eye and underwent eye surgery.

With his sight fully restored and his collarbone fixed, Mr Yang, a technical specialist in a shipping firm, continues to cycle regularly but is more careful.

He will be one of about 1,000 cyclists attending Safe Cycling Day on Sunday. The event is organised by OCBC Bank as a part of a public outreach programme on cycling.

The theme of this year's campaign is "Respect".

When asked about drivers in Singapore, Mr Yang said in Mandarin: "Many drivers are very inconsiderate, they overtake you and cut into your lane suddenly, without any regard for your safety.

"I was unable to cycle for three months and even now, the vision in my left eye is not as good as it once was. My right arm is also weaker due to the collarbone injury. I am unable to lift heavy objects."

Mr Yang also revealed that he had fallen three times while jogging due to his poor vision.

Although he still cycles regularly in the mornings, Mr Yang is much more cautious, especially of cars which try to overtake him.

The OCBC Safe Cycling campaign aims to reduce the frequency of such incidents by raising the awareness of road users about how best to use the roads.

At Sunday's event, cyclists will be wearing jerseys sporting the word "Respect" and will set off for various locations islandwide to spread the message.

Members of the public can also collect free jerseys from 6am to 8am on Sunday from the Longhouse coffee shop in Upper Thomson Road.

Mr Chris Robb, managing director of event management company Spectrum Worldwide, which helped organise the Safe Cycling Campaign, said: "Last year, the key focus of the campaign was to encourage motorists and cyclists to maintain a 1.5m separation when travelling on the roads, but this year we have shifted our emphasis to 'Respect'.

Yang_Changxing_7.jpg

oh pls sinkies, when you stupid PAP govt is not capable to building cyclist lane, and you ban cyclist on the road?

go and fuck your PAP govt first. they are useless shits who can't do anything right. but of course you need citizen with balls then you can get the govt to do things right.. enough said.

Bro , park connection do not connect to every single part of Singapore . some ppl ride to work place .

If you are not careful dont say ride biscyle , any kind of transportation will also Kena accident .

oh pls sinkies, when you stupid PAP govt is not capable to building cyclist lane, and you ban cyclist on the road?

go and fuck your PAP govt first. they are useless shits who can't do anything right. but of course you need citizen with balls then you can get the govt to do things right.. enough said.

Why didn't they build a forum for morons like you to fuck one another?